Skip to content

palm springs: dining out.

May 16, 2011

hey guys.. i am sitting in starbucks at LAX for the next couple hours.  what better time to blog, right? i managed to snag a comfy, cushy chair here at the starbucks.. now i just hope i can make my grande iced americano last for the full two hours so i can be considered a paying customer…

this past weekend in palm springs was an absolute blast.  i fell in love with the area and i was already in love with the company.. it is hard to leave!  although i do miss some VIPs (very important people AND pups) back home.. so being back in salt lake won’t be that bad.

i will miss these ladies, though.

IMG_3045

eden and deb. don’t they look like sisters?

the three of us had a great time in the desert. we did a lot of eating out and even more eating in.. that’s the best part about vacationing with fellow foodie/bloggers.  we all like the same things! 

this post is dedicated to all the delicious meals we ate out and about at the restaurants of palm springs.

our first day there, on friday, we had lunch at a really cute seafood spot called fisherman’s market & grill.IMG_2928

we started with some peel & eat shrimp to share.

IMG_2932

deb gave me a tutorial on how to properly peel the shrimp.. i didn’t need a tutorial on how to eat it, though.

IMG_2933

eden and i both got the mahi as our entrée.  it was fresh & flavorful.

IMG_2934

deb got thw calamari steak. i had no idea that calamari even came in steak form.. you learn something new every day!

IMG_2936

on saturday, we dined out at a deli called manhattan in the desert.

IMG_3058

we started things off with free pickles.. because who doesn’t love a pickle or two? especially when they are free.

IMG_3060

deb & eden split the smoked fish platter which had both salmon and white fish. it also came with rye toast and deb had a side of delicious split pea soup. i tasted it.. it was great.

IMG_3061

i decided to go with the turkey avocado sandwich, and this could have served a hungry family of five. talk about giant portions!

IMG_3065

i ended up having to pull almost 2/3 of the turkey out of the sandwich.. check out that stack!

IMG_3067

chomp.

IMG_3073

i rarely eat french fries, but all bets are off when on vacation–i eat anything and everything. when i do eat french fries, i like them super thick like these ones. they were awesome.

IMG_3068

on sunday, we went to brunch at a restaurant called elmer’s.  it is a cute diner and we snagged the corner booth.  this was the only time we didn’t dine al fresco.IMG_3138

deb got the dutch baby, which is an elmer’s signature dish. 

IMG_3140

it is basically eggs, flour and milk baked to puffy pancake perfection. it reminded me exactly of the german pancakes my mom used to make when i was a kid.

IMG_3139

eden got an omelet that was chock full of veggies with a side of sass.

IMG_3141

i got the french toast combo which came with a couple over medium eggs (for ultimate dippy yolk dippage) and chicken apple sausage.

IMG_3143

deb kept waving crazy hand signlas to the staff at elmer’s, so i knew something was up.. but i wasn’t quite sure what was up.  as soon as we finished our meals, i found out exactly what was going on.

IMG_3144

my birthday is coming up in a couple weeks, so they finagled one on deb’s famous protein cakes into the restaurant and had the staff sing happy birthday to me!

IMG_3147

isn’t that so thoughtful? and embarrassing?

IMG_3146

despite our full bellies, we managed to eat most of the cake.. it was delicious and i actually polished off the rest of it just now!

IMG_3152

sunday afternoon after a long drive around the windmills, we decided to stop for some fro yo. i was soooo full from brunch, but there is a special part in my stomach that always provides room for ice cream.

IMG_3162

you better believe i sampled each and every flavor. i had to make an educated decision when i actually committed to my selection!

IMG_3163

i ended up with four flavors: vanilla, original tart, coconut and new-to-me pecan praline. SO good, by the way. i hope i can find pecan in utah. toppings included raspberries, peaches and graham cracker crumbs.

IMG_3167IMG_2020

i left for the airport real early, so there was no dining out today.  i wish i could have stayed longer, because there were about 18 other places i wanted to try.. oh well, there’s always next time, right?

well.. one more hour to kill before my flight! hope you guys are having a great monday.

Qs~

1. what is the last restaurant you ate at and what did you order?

2. finish this: “there’s always room for __________.”

xo. janetha g.

82 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 10:44 am

    ELMERS!! We have those here in Oregon. They are super fun when you are in a diner mood. I’ve never gotten the dutch baby but I sure have stared (drooled) at it many a time. I think I just might have to order the next time I’m there. Which will probably be Father’s day since my inlaws LOVE that place.

    That veggie omelette is delight too, I might add.

    The last restaurant I ate at was Moon & Sixpence, a brittish pub. The table shared the Welsh Rarebit: savoury sauce of melted cheese and various other ingredients and served hot over toast. The cheese gets all bubbly and melty and a bit browned on top of the bread…so good.

    There’s always room for more tater tots. (if I’m at McMennamins, that is…and they are cajonized.)

    Girl, you gotta come to Portland, you’d love it!!

  2. May 16, 2011 10:47 am

    Ah, what are great vacation with GREATER company!

    I had dinner out last Friday and ordered seaweed salad, grilled asparagus and tofu! Yummmm

  3. May 16, 2011 10:48 am

    What a fun trip! All of that food looks so good! I am so jealous when I see self-serve frozen yogurt! We don’t have any places like that near me. I agree with you on the french fries! I love the thick cut ones too! :)

    “There’s always room for ice cream or frozen yogurt!”

  4. May 16, 2011 10:48 am

    So many choices at that yogurt shop – I could live there!

  5. May 16, 2011 10:49 am

    so fun!!! I love bloggy meet ups. And dining out. BOOM.

    P.S. LOVE your hair and your sweatshirt.

  6. May 16, 2011 10:49 am

    How fun! Y’all had some awesome eats. That dutch baby looks ridiculous good. Super sweet that they sang happy birthday to you :) Hope your layover goes by quickly!!

    Last place I ate out at was a local restaurant called Crave. We had brunch with friends, but I went the lunch route and got a chicken salad. It was delicious

    Theres always room for tortilla chips :)

  7. May 16, 2011 10:51 am

    “i had no idea that calamari even came in steak form” — me neither!

    and i think it’s awesome that you, deb, and eden met up. i guess i must not have been reading anyone’s blogs carefully enough b/c i am traveling myself right now but had no idea there was gonna be a meetup. yay for that!

    there’s always room for chocolate!

    • May 16, 2011 2:47 pm

      “i guess i must not have been reading anyone’s blogs carefully enough b/c i am traveling myself right now”

      The last thing you need to do it read blogs carefully when you are traveling! Plus, my blog is a snooze fest so its not like your missing much. Traveling is way more interesting than any blog I know of.

    • May 16, 2011 3:00 pm

      Yah and you could go months without reading my blog and not miss a thing! hahaha! Enjoy your trip!

  8. May 16, 2011 10:54 am

    Nice pics!

    Last Restaurant: Panera Bread- Greek Salad and Black Bean Soup
    Always room for FROZEN YOGURT! yum!

  9. May 16, 2011 11:14 am

    Looks like you guys had a wonderful time!!!! Have a safe trip home!

    Last restaurant meal? I had cold, spicy noodles at a Korean restaurant a few weeks ago.

    There is always room for cheese! :)

  10. May 16, 2011 11:17 am

    looks like a great trip! the last restaurant i ate at was taqueria jalisco and i had the combo plate. fantastic! there is always room for desserts and french fries. :)

  11. May 16, 2011 11:17 am

    Man, you three are the coolest. I love all the fun eats and silly pictures. I mean, who doesn’t want to just love you!?

    I miss you guys already and I wasn’t even there. hehe!
    safe travels JG!

  12. May 16, 2011 11:24 am

    those huge sandwiches always crack me up – I generally take at least half of the meat out too! and that dutch baby – oh YUM. we have Elmers in Oregon – it was one of those high school hangouts, you know? and now it’s still a great place for breakfast food… all of that looks great!

    sounds like you all had an awesome weekend – gotta love those girls trips! we are finishing up our vacation too, and I totally know what you mean about missing the pup. we get to see ours in a couple days! have a great week, Janetha!

    • May 16, 2011 3:03 pm

      It took me 5 yrs to go to Elmer’s b/c it looks so diner-esque but after my uncle wanted to go there and I saw the menu online (and they had the nutritional stats- win!) I decided to try it. It was soooo against my usual ordering nature to order that “baby” but I regret not a second of it, nor a calorie- it was amazing! Love that place!

  13. May 16, 2011 11:27 am

    Your trip sounds like so much fun, and all the food looks glorious!

    I ate at the Dipsea Cafe in Mill Valley, CA yesterday and ordered the egg white omelet with veggies galore and fruit on the side. It was delicious!

    There’s always room for…PICKLES! I love pickles and could eat them anytime and with anything.

  14. May 16, 2011 11:31 am

    The last restaurant I ate at was Grimaldi’s brick oven pizza. The best! We got salad, a plain pie and a sausage peppers and mushrooms pie. There’s always room for PEANUT BUTTER!

  15. May 16, 2011 11:41 am

    The last restaurant I went to was a date to Pastamore in Universal Studios’ City Walk. I ordered alfredo (the first time I’ve had it in YEARS!) and we split a slice of espresso cheesecake. Holy crap it was good! And there’s always time for chocolate of any form!

  16. May 16, 2011 11:43 am

    This looks like such an amazing weekend in great company! I’m swooning over all of the seafood!!

    In my books, there’s always room for chocolate covered almonds or dried fruit. My crack.

  17. May 16, 2011 11:52 am

    What great eats! I had no idea it came in steak form either – interesting! So sweet of them to do your birthday! Still not over how much turkey was on that sammy – wow!

    1. what is the last restaurant you ate at and what did you order? I had to look back on the blog – I think it was earlier this month at book club – we went to the grape and I got a margarita flatbread!

    2. there’s always room for FRO YO! :)

  18. May 16, 2011 11:53 am

    safe travels home, j!
    great great photos! the one of you with your bday cupcake is just wonderful – the expression on your face is awesome.
    so glad you had fun with blog friends! and tried some great eat-outs.
    last meal i had out was pizza with my dad.
    there is always room for a bowl of cereal!!

  19. May 16, 2011 11:54 am

    fun post.

    There is always, always room for ice cream or froyo in my tumm-ay.

  20. May 16, 2011 11:55 am

    I’ve never had a Dutch baby, but I am intrigued. My last restaurant meal was a terrible salad from a place called Encore. No encore, please! Also, in my book, there’s always room for pie.

    • May 16, 2011 2:50 pm

      I never trust salads in general. They always tend to be less than spectacular. Can’t say the same for pie…

  21. May 16, 2011 12:07 pm

    i’m with you – there is ALWAYS room for ice cream/fro-yo!

  22. May 16, 2011 12:10 pm

    I totally would have gotten that turkey avocado sandwich — that looks so good. And big fries like that are so good too.

    The last place I ate at was Ruby Tuesday — Jason and I went for drinks and their guac/salsa/chips plate. It is so amazing.

  23. May 16, 2011 12:12 pm

    Last ate out at Jason’s Deli….LOVE that place!

    There is always room for: fro yo!!!

    looks like you had a total blast :)

  24. May 16, 2011 12:17 pm

    The last restaurant I went to was O’Crepe. It is the cutest little crepe place. I orderd a buckwheat crepe with smoked salmon, cream cheese, and spinach. It was so good! And I have to agree with you that there is always room for fro yo/ice cream. It’s my favorite :-)

  25. May 16, 2011 12:27 pm

    Aaaaaaaagh! I am literally writhing with envy!

    Fortunately, I’ve had lunch with Deb at Fisherman’s (AWESOME fish tacos, btw), and she and I have shared many a froyo trip (I won’t say TOO many because there’s no such thing!).

    Besides you guys, I mostly miss the sun!!!!

    Big hugs!

  26. May 16, 2011 12:37 pm

    A vacation with other bloggers sounds IDEAL! How fun!!!!

    And there is always room for — dessert. I don’t discriminate on what kind. Dessert in any form will always have room in my life.

  27. May 16, 2011 12:47 pm

    I would eat that entire Dutch baby, then go home and Dutch oven my boyfriend…if I still had one.

  28. valen permalink
    May 16, 2011 1:04 pm

    I’ve been to Palm Springs quite a few times and here are some are eateries that we make sure we stop at

    Shermans Bakery and Deli, Natures Health Food and Cafe, Palm Greens Cafe, and Native Foods Cafe, just to name a few.

    • May 16, 2011 1:10 pm

      I’ve been here 5+ yrs and never been to sherman’s but heard it’s fabulous! Agreed on Natures and native foods and have been very curious about palm green! Thanks for the reminder!

  29. May 16, 2011 1:08 pm

    Gah! I miss you both so much already! You and my ‘sister’! ;-) It cooled off so much today that we went walking around the track with the kiddos- the teacher asked about you guys and said he really enjoyed having you play with them.

    Always room for popcorn or fro yo or a tootsie roll midgee.

    Next time: Ace hotel/King’s Highway, maybe NOrma’s at the Parker, maybe Tommy Bahama cafe with the secret-not-on-the-menu ceviche, One of the awesome Mexican place or Native foods- sooooooooooo many choices! Come back sooooon!

  30. May 16, 2011 1:12 pm

    saag paneer & garlic naan

    there is always room for chocolate, esp. if it’s baked into something moist and gooey!

  31. May 16, 2011 1:13 pm

    Wow, that food looks amazing. Sounds like an amazing trip!

  32. Michelle P. permalink
    May 16, 2011 1:23 pm

    Paula Deen’s in Savannah. We had the buffet. Probably the most fattening thing I’ve eaten in years but def. delicious!!! And there is always room for Gummy Candy, Gummy bears, gummy worms.. any gummy!!!!!!!!!!!

  33. actorsdiet permalink
    May 16, 2011 1:55 pm

    happy early bday! i can’t believe you sprung for $$$ wifi at LAX ( i hate that airport)

  34. May 16, 2011 1:56 pm

    um that looks like one of the best foodie couple of days EVER! I seriously want all of that food and the pancake looks DIVINE! after my competition I got a turkey sandwich that looked EXACTLY liek taht piled high and delicious and I ate every last bite too! :)

    the last thing I ordered at a restauarant was when i went on saturday night with 2 girfriends, we split this amazing arugala salad with hazelnuts, parmesan and grilled sirloin steak. AND we got miso glazed salmon which was served with pickled veggies. Tapas were to start and we chose some roasted beets with ginger, tuna tartare stuffed peppedews and fava beans with lemon and parmesan! OMG insanely delicious!!!

    there is always room for almond butter…always

  35. May 16, 2011 2:31 pm

    Last restaurant I ate at was Dublin Square in La Crosse, WI, Shepard’s pie was my food of choice, I actually just blogged about it yesterday…http://wealthshealth.blogspot.com/2011/05/sunday-funday.html

    “There’s always time for”… DESSERT! :)

  36. May 16, 2011 2:35 pm

    I need to write “Lucia” a thank you card for complying with our crazy birthday request. And somehow, I need to track down the couple that asked if Deb was my sister and send them a thank you card too.

    Funny how Deb taught you how to peel shrimp because the “g” is for genius, after all.

    PS, I just had about three grapefruits that had a “Janetha picked” aftertaste. Delicious.

    Oh, and despite that horrific tummy ache yesterday, my 6 feet of colon feels fantastic now!

    • May 16, 2011 2:40 pm

      Are you kidding? I’M the one who needs to track down that couple- I almost kissed them on the lips for asking if we were sisters!

      So glad that your 6 feet of colon is clear, and hopefully the 30 feet of small intestine is also.

      Yes, the G is for genius and I just taught Ellie to use Janetha’s click&drag trick in Windows Live Writer for her latest post. If I was a real blogger, I’d just chuck Blogger and go to WordPress with all the cool kids :-)

      Argh I miss you both!

      • May 16, 2011 2:52 pm

        I cried in the car on the way back…but at least my colon is smiling

  37. Errign permalink
    May 16, 2011 2:40 pm

    You look so happy & pretty in the surprise pictures! :)

    Last place I ate out = local place. I had a salad with citrus vinaigrette, roasted veggies, and quinoa pasta on it. And roasted vegetable goat cheese raviolis. :)

  38. May 16, 2011 2:48 pm

    there’s always room for…DESSERT!!

  39. thedelicateplace permalink
    May 16, 2011 4:10 pm

    lol about the protein cake! you all look gorgeous!! honestly, there is just something about seafood in the summer time that cannot be matched! chilled shrimp and filets with grill marks. nom :)

  40. May 16, 2011 4:16 pm

    I was just in Palm Springs and we ate at that little seafood place twice! We loved it!

  41. May 16, 2011 4:36 pm

    Elmers is a chain here in Oregon.. it’s one of the places you can always expect to find a plethora of senior citizens!
    But it’s good breakfast junk food, for sure!

    • May 16, 2011 5:58 pm

      This is why I blended in so nicely at elmers! They weren’t even weirded out when I took out my dentures!

  42. May 16, 2011 5:07 pm

    I don’t know what sounds better: a dutch baby, or a weekend with Eden and Deb. Love you girls!!!!

    Also, I only ever eat french fries on vacation too.

    Also also, re: your birthday. Keep an eye out for a small package from a company soon. I maaaaay have ordered you a small gift and it maaaaay arrive early! *hint it’s something you’ll use working out*

    • May 16, 2011 5:48 pm

      I’m gonna say the Dutch baby is sub par to a weekend with such fabulous company. You need to join us next time and that would be heaven.

  43. May 16, 2011 5:16 pm

    Last place I went out to eat was Husker Haven in Columbus NE and we had Crab Legs. Hmmmm…I think there is always room for cookie dough blizzards.

  44. May 16, 2011 5:50 pm

    Looks like a great time with new friends! The last restaurant I ate at was Chipotle – does that count? I had a burrito bol!

    There’s always room for… granola.. and peanut butter.

  45. May 16, 2011 6:27 pm

    oh what a fun time and amazing ladies to spend it with!

    there is always room for dessert…haha in my family we joke that we have a separate stomach just for dessert

    happy early bday girl! what a fun surprise from Eden and Deb…love u all.

  46. May 16, 2011 6:36 pm

    There’s always room for chips & salsa!

  47. applesnoats permalink
    May 16, 2011 6:45 pm

    that dutch baby looks terrific and so does all that fresh fish..yum!
    looks like you had a great time, they seem so sweet and fun to be around!!!

    • May 16, 2011 11:13 pm

      Deb is sweet. Me? I’m sour, but undoubtedly fun….I should hope…

  48. May 16, 2011 6:46 pm

    I LOVE delis! I know that’s a weird statement from a semi-vegetarian–it’s because I love me some pickles.
    The last time I ate out was at Bonefish Grill where I got some rockin’ rainbow trout with mango salsa.

  49. May 16, 2011 7:09 pm

    Excuse me while I freak out for a second…
    DUDE! I love Elmer’s. Hahah. I am a sucker for any breakfast diner. Seriously. I have had that dutch baby before too.

  50. May 16, 2011 7:25 pm

    That is such a cute story with the protein cake!! Too much fun :)

  51. May 16, 2011 8:11 pm

    its been so long since I’ve been to a restaurant I don’t remember. I’m pretty sure I’m the restaurant and it never closes. I’m not complaining..

    I love froyo..Orange leaf has pralines sometimes.

  52. May 16, 2011 8:31 pm

    I went to Matsu, this whole in the wall Japanses place that has the best sushi. Remember the Regal Begal from 3’s Company…? …the bar there totally reminds me of it, so we call it ‘the begal’… ;P anyway, for lunch today, I ordered a rainbow roll. Hit the spot !

    There’s always room for cake batter froyo!

  53. May 16, 2011 8:41 pm

    Looks like a blast! :)

    There is always room for yogurt. :)

  54. May 16, 2011 10:13 pm

    Love those girls. I think you forgot to take something to Palm Springs with you. Me.

    • May 16, 2011 11:41 pm

      We love you too, and we forgot way too many things. You included.

  55. May 16, 2011 11:08 pm

    I LOVE Manhattan in the Desert! We stop there every time we go to Palm Springs. :) Yum!

  56. May 17, 2011 4:25 am

    Such great pictures!! Looks like you gals are having a blast! :D

    There’s always room for…cheesecake. Haha! :D

  57. May 17, 2011 4:37 am

    i’m glad you had a good time! i’m from the palm springs area so it’s always fun to see it from a visitor’s point of view!
    1. last restaurant i ate at: a seafood market that my mom requested to dine at for mother’s day & i ordered steamed mussels over a grean salad (great briny broth!)
    2. there’s always room for … more love in your life. :)

  58. May 17, 2011 8:15 am

    Awwwwwwww so jealous! I wanna hang out with you guys in palm springs!!!!!! The last restaurant I ate in was an American style diner and I had some fries : )

    There’s always room for………..CAKE! x x

  59. May 17, 2011 8:35 am

    same on the french fries issue. i just had some myself on vacation and though… what am i doing??? no rules woo!

  60. May 17, 2011 10:01 am

    I’m with you in that I always have room for ICE CREAM!

  61. May 17, 2011 11:43 am

    Looks like a fun time! I have to say the worst dining experience in my life was post dinner in Palm Springs though- we went to an Italian place and I got some normal herbed buttered pasta dish. Then I returned to our hotel. Approximately 5-6 hours later, I woke up with the most incredible twisting/ cramping, dying feeling in my stomach. I thought I wouldn’t make it through the night. I lived, but I couldn’t look at either pasta or butter for about 6 months. Weird. I have no idea if it was food poisoning or just something random, but I will never forget it!

    Um, sorry for being a buzzkill. There’s always room for jello and for pretzels! I suppose you could fill in anything you love though ;)

    Cheers!
    Meri

  62. May 23, 2011 6:45 pm

    Holy turkey sandwich! You weren’t kidding when you said your plate could feed five! Wow! Everything looks great…especially Deb’s dutch baby! Yum!

    How sweet of them to surprise you with the protein cake! Too funny!

    I’m with you, there is always room for ice cream… ALWAYS!

    Last place I ate out was at my favorite sushi restaurant. I got the Japanese pickle roll and a salmon skin roll. Two totally new and VERY different things and they were awesome! Loved the crunch of the salmon skin!

Trackbacks

  1. What I Gained | Eden's Eats
  2. palm springs: eating in. « meals & moves
  3. unblogworthy. « meals & moves
  4. abcdefood. « meals & moves

Leave a comment