Skip to content

my secret bloggie valentiiiine.

January 14, 2010

HOLA!

i interrupt my regularly scheduled blogging because i have an announcement of sorts.

listen up.

today is january 14th AKA 1 month from <3 valentine’s day <3 which is a holiday that, depending on your sitch, you may love or may hate.  i hear the term “hallmark holiday” often.. so many people think of it as a negative hollday.  but really, it should just be about the love.

well folks, learn to love it.  i’ve got a plan.

bloggie

i know that there is a whole lot of love in this here blogosphere.  am i right or am i right?  of course i am right.

i thought it would be ultra fun to do a secret bloggie swap amongst all of us blog friends in honor of the holiday of loooove.  because let’s face it, i love all of you and i am fairly certain the love is mutual all around the table.

and who doesn’t like getting mail?!!

and this is fun. even if you don’t have a valentine of your own.. now you do!  and if you already have one.. well now you will have two :)  move over marshall, i’ve got blog lovin’ to spread!!

here’s the details!

  • bloggie valentine package should include something you love and want to share with a fellow bloggie friend. anything goes. just try not to mail live animals.. i mean, i love puppies but i ain’t gonna mail you one.
  • package can cost a dollar, five dollars, whatever.  but it should definitely not exceed $25~ we’ve all got budgets!
  • if you would like to participate email me your name & mailing address to janethabenson (at) gmail (dot) com no later than friday, january 22nd
  • i will issue you your secret valentine information (name & mailing address) on saturday, january 23rd~~nobody will know who it is except you and i!
  • send your secret bloggie valentine package out so it will arrive on or before valentine’s day (february 14th!)
  • everyone will receive a surprise valentine’s day package from their secret bloggie valentine!

YAAAAY!  so, if you would like to participate~ email me today! right now! let’s start spreading the la la la loooooove.

oh and feel free to spread the word about this fun exchange and ALSO go right ahead and use that super sweet image i made in paint. yeah, i know, i got skillz.

i have a birthday party to attend, i will be back tomorrow with details of todays meals & moves (just finished a killer lower body workout and drank a yummy protein shake!)

sign up for these shenanigans. the more the merrier.

Qs~

1. what is your favorite holiday? christmas. hands down.

2. do you loveee or hateee V day? thoughts? discuss. i don’t really love or hate it, marshall and i celebrated it big time the first year we were together, spent lotsa $$$ on gifts.. realized that was ridic and now we don’t do anything. last year we hung out at home and made dinner and cuddled with the pups! that is what i love most.

okay, gotta jet! send me your info and let the secret bloggie valentine love begin!

xo. janetha b.

87 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 8:24 pm

    Sweet idea!!! Christmas is mine, too, but Thanksgiving is a close 2nd. I love VDay and I always have! :)

  2. Megan permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:25 pm

    ah such a great idea! i’m totally e-mailing you right now.. i love bloggie swaps!

    1. fav holiday = definitely christmas too! minus the cold weather, kind of hate that part.

    2. ehh.. i don’t really mind v-day.. it would be nice if i had a special someone to celebrate it with ;)

  3. traynharder23 permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:38 pm

    hahhah hey hey!!! christmas is the best. coz it’s 2 days after my birthday! =D

    hate the cold tho.

    hmm v day? ehhh. i call it single awareness day. HOWEVER to get over my bitterness, i make valentine poems for moms, and my sisters.

  4. Liz permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:46 pm

    1. Christmas is my fav… with 4th of july as a close second, mainly because i love summer!

    2. v-day is so-so, i always feel like it’s hyped up so much and is generally a let down. I’m all about low-key nights in with your sweetie!

    i don’t have a blog… can i still do a bloggie swap?!

  5. January 14, 2010 8:47 pm

    You sooo did not have a yummy shake. :-)

    Great and cute idea Bean. love it.

    fave holiday? Christmas

    Vday-yeah, it’s ok. The best one was when Derek and I went on a night time mountain bike ride (with lights and the whole shebang) and had a picnic up on the top of a mountain for dinner. Sooo much better than those awkward fancy schmancy dinners where you and 59 other awkward couples sit in a restaurant whispering – each person with their dumb hallmark card and the obligatory rose for the lady. Hee hee. I mean, I’m not hating on Vday- just prefer something a bit more low-brow. or double-wide. However you see it.

  6. January 14, 2010 8:51 pm

    Omg what a great idea!
    I will defs be sending you an email for sure to participate!!
    Jenna

  7. Susan permalink
    January 14, 2010 8:57 pm

    This sounds great! Am emailing you right now!

  8. *Andrea* permalink
    January 14, 2010 9:03 pm

    omg – love this! cant wait for it!
    my fav holiday is definitely christmas too! i love presents and family and the holiday cheer

  9. January 14, 2010 9:11 pm

    Such a great idea! I just sent you my info. My fave holiday is Christmas also!!!

    xoxooxo

  10. January 14, 2010 10:08 pm

    man, you are amazing!!

  11. January 14, 2010 10:09 pm

    what a GREAT IDEA!!
    janetha, you da you da best
    fav holiday: christmas, original, i know
    LOVE v-day..cause i gota sexy man!

  12. January 14, 2010 11:22 pm

    I am sooo in!!!!!!! You freakin rock for coordinating this! emailing u now!

  13. January 15, 2010 12:02 am

    BRILLLIANT IDEA
    I love Valentines day <3

    you are amazing!

  14. January 15, 2010 2:16 am

    Cool idea! I guess being in the uk I can’t sign up!? I will be willing to send to the us if anyone is willing to send to uk!?

    Favorite holiday has to be May Bank Holiday, its a good one in the town I live.
    Valentines day hmmmmmmm I’ve been single for 8yrs! so I’ve forgotten what holiday that is! ha ha ha x

  15. January 15, 2010 3:12 am

    I kept hearing people comment about you on their blogs so I felt like I needed to see what was up in this corner of the blogosphere! Low and behold a wonderful, cute idea! (that I want to participate in!)
    I like you already :) Excited to read more!

  16. January 15, 2010 3:23 am

    What a fab idea!
    But i second tamizn’s Q (except that I’m not in the UK but Europe nevertheless). Can we participate as well? Please please please (puppy eyes)?? ;)

    Fave holiday: Christmas

    & I feel very “neutral” about V-day. I don’t celebrate it (because my boyfriend’s boring. kidding. a bit.). Bloggie v-day sounds fabulous though! I love sending/receiving gifts!

  17. January 15, 2010 4:12 am

    YES! Secret Valentine!

  18. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    January 15, 2010 4:16 am

    great idea sweetie, you always come up with amazing things to do and to think! I’ll definitely participate because it’s soo good to receive love! :)
    fav holiday: christmas, aka my birthday too!
    I like V-day but not super excited because everyday could should be celebrated if you have a loved one! ;)

  19. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) permalink
    January 15, 2010 4:32 am

    Great idea!

    Christmas is definiely my favorite holiday!!

    I like Valentine’s Day only because it’s the anniversary of when my husband and I started dating. We’re coming up on 11 years this year!

  20. January 15, 2010 6:13 am

    What an awesome idea. You are amazing, and so is M&M!!

    I’m a big fan of Valentine’s Day. ‘Cept this year the husband and I will spend that day traveling.

    I def want to participate…emailing you now:)
    PS I totally sang the title of this post haha

  21. January 15, 2010 6:15 am

    Fave is Christmas by far because of the festive decorations and family. Love Valentine’s day and the spreading of love!

  22. eatolive permalink
    January 15, 2010 6:41 am

    love this!!

    christmas is mine as well. no contest! i love the month & a half leading up to December 25th…just such a fun & happy time to be in the holiday spirit!

    I have mixed feelings about Vday…sometimes like it, sometime don’t …but i’m alllll for spreading the love!

  23. January 15, 2010 7:02 am

    I love it! I’m totally in :)

    The hubbie thinks Valentine’s Day is a Halmark holiday but I love it! I used to just love giving the little cards to all my friends as a kid and coming home with a boatload of candy/cards myself.

  24. January 15, 2010 7:05 am

    I’m so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Surprises are the best!
    Christmas is my fav holiday. Twinkle lights… need I say more?
    Valentines Day is lovely as well. Any excuse to leave people random gifts of love is fine by me!

  25. lowandbhold permalink
    January 15, 2010 7:26 am

    You’re so full of great ideas :)

    1. Fourth of July maybe?
    2. Ugh, well I don’t hate it but I’ve been single for almost every V-day in my life (funny how that works out) so I don’t really have a fondness for it either. I like it when I get chocolate from the fam though :)

  26. January 15, 2010 7:29 am

    Ah! LOVE this :)

    1. Christmas–just the whole season is holiday-filled

    2. I could take it or leave it, but I do love any excuse to be festive and throw a party, so I like to have fun with V-day!

  27. January 15, 2010 7:42 am

    i wannnaaa do it :D

  28. Patricia Braithwaite permalink
    January 15, 2010 7:50 am

    Christmas is my fav holiday. Don’t like the let down from the day after! Not a fan of Valentines Day.
    I love your ideas!! I would like to participate in the blog swap. Maybe it will change my feelings about V-day.

  29. January 15, 2010 7:56 am

    You won’t send me a puppy?!?!? Damn….

    1. Christmas and not just because of the presents!
    2. I’m kind of meh on it!

  30. lindsayruns permalink
    January 15, 2010 8:09 am

    Great idea, per usual Miss Janetha! We ignore it completely, just a regular day in my book! Wedding anniversary is the week following, so we save up the romance. But for some mail and bloggie love, I think I can acknowledge it a teenie bit! ;)

  31. January 15, 2010 8:24 am

    What a fun idea! My favorite holiday is Thanksgiving because of all the good food! I don’t really care about V-day, since I don’t think there should be only one day to show someone you love them.

  32. megzzwinsatlife permalink
    January 15, 2010 9:30 am

    What a great idea!!! My favorite holiday is Halloween.. I use to love it when I was a kid!!

  33. January 15, 2010 10:02 am

    My favorite holiday is Halloween. I love the colors, the decorations, the costumes, the candy corn… I can take Valentine’s Day or leave it. My husband and I do not exchange gifts or anything. But, I did like handing out valentines when I was a kid in elementary school.

  34. January 15, 2010 10:06 am

    awesome idea!! this just sounds like so much fun. My favorite holiday is definitely Christmas just because I love being with family so much. Valentines day is kinda weird. Im on the fence on it. I think its cool to go out and do something but I really never put too much thought into it.

  35. Beth permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:12 am

    Just found your blog and am loving it– Hilarious! Mable looks like she was so sweet. I have a 3yr old yellow lab who is neurotic and soooo energetic, but that sweet blonde face of his gets me every time! Also, it is great to know that someone out there is my height! Can’t wait to read more! (woa with the exclamation points)

  36. mom permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:16 am

    Wow this sounds so FUN! You are such a thoughtful little lady! Please count me in, I will send Nielsen’s Frozen Custard :) haha.

    I love ALL of the holidays for different reasons! Christmas because of what it is and the chance to have a lot of family time, hugs and more hugs! Then July 4th would be a close second, it is warm, relaxing and I can reflect on my freedoms. Halloween is a riot for me now because I can enjoy all of the other little ghosts and goblins without having to figure out another costume and the kids have such a fun time. Whew.

    Valentine’s Day was awesome when I was a little girl, my dad ALWAYS brought home two of those trashy, velvety, decorated heart shaped boxes of candy…..one for me and one for my mom……I would save it for about 4 months – I felt so grown up…..that is such a sweet memory for me, miss ya dad!!

    Now I believe it is sort of just another day hmmmm yep, February 14. Thanks for this fun idea for us all to “share some love” with each other it will be a riot!!

    xoxoxo

  37. julie permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:20 am

    SO FUN! i’m down for it you know it mang.

    favorite holiday? UM NATIONAL POPCORN DAY!! emailing you like…NOW.

  38. January 15, 2010 11:34 am

    Great idea!
    1. Favorite holiday: Christmas. My bday is 12/24…I have multiple reasons to celebrate:)
    2. I have always been a V-Day hater, but that might have been because I’ve never had someone to celebrate with before…we’ll see if that changes this year.

  39. January 15, 2010 11:45 am

    Christmas is my absolute #1 and Thanksgiving is close behind.

    I’ve always loved Valentine’s Day since I was a kid. My mom always helped make it special. Now I continue by wearing red and pink, sending cute messages to friends and family, etc.

  40. January 15, 2010 11:58 am

    LOVE LOVE this idea! i am emailing you right after this post! I am on the fence about loving/hating v-day. Now that I have a BF i Think its cute to celebrate uit, but if i were single, i wouldnt hate it but I would just not raelly pay attention to it. Its just another normal day…MY favorite holiday? anything that incluces lots of good food, halloween? hannukah? <3 you!

  41. January 15, 2010 12:54 pm

    Ahh, great idea! How fun :)
    1) Christmas for SURE
    2) Mmm, I guess I’m kind of a hater… I do like those little conversation heart candies, though! ;)

  42. January 15, 2010 1:12 pm

    What a fun idea! I’m kind of scrooge around Christmas time. Not sure why… I love 4th of July for the summer fun stuff and Halloween for the fall stuff. :)

  43. Alyson permalink
    January 15, 2010 1:35 pm

    Such a fantastic idea! I’m in for sure :)
    – Fave holiday: Thanksgiving
    – Depends on my mood. Generally am so-so about it, as more & more of my friends are getting engaged & married, I think the less I like it haha

  44. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth) permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:29 pm

    ah i really want to participate!!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  45. January 15, 2010 3:41 pm

    HONEY MUFFIN I LOVE YOU SO MUCH IT’S CRAZEEEEEEEEEEEE <3 emailing you in t-minus one minute. hollaaaaaa <3

  46. January 15, 2010 4:02 pm

    Cool idea. I will email you!

    I like Thanksgiving because it’s usually the one holiday where I see my family.

    I’m like you on Valentine’s Day. I can take it or leave it. Jason and I usually end up getting Chinese takeout.

  47. January 15, 2010 4:36 pm

    I did one of these at Christmas with some other writers, it was fun; we had a big chat party and opened them all at the same time LOL

    My favorite holiday is Easter because of what it is, and then Christmas.

    I’m ambivalent about all holidays, really, because I want my life to be lived in such a way that I don’t need a particular day to commemorate love, joy, peace, thanks, etc. I mean, what we really need is Happy forgiveness day or something.

  48. January 15, 2010 5:00 pm

    Yay for a bloggie swap!! My favorite holiday is my birthday! haha.

  49. January 15, 2010 5:21 pm

    Love this idea! emailing you now! my favorite holiday is christmas just because I get to spend a lot of time with my family and the people I love! and I actually really do like valentines day! Who doesn’t love a holiday that is all about love?

  50. January 15, 2010 5:49 pm

    Love this idea! Favorite holidays are Christmas, Mardi Gras, and St Patty’s day!

  51. January 15, 2010 6:36 pm

    Great idea!! Emailing you right away.

    My favorite holiday is Christmas, by far.

    I’m ok with V-day, I mean I DO think it is a “Hallmark holiday”, but it is nice to celebrate with those you love- not just bfs/gfs, but family and friends too!!

    xo
    K

  52. January 15, 2010 11:56 pm

    Woooooohoo! So fun :) I just emailed you. I love this concept. It’s so fun to get involved in bloggie goodness!

    Have a lovely weekend, Janetha!!

  53. January 16, 2010 10:50 am

    I’m in! ; ) Emailing you now.

  54. elise permalink
    January 17, 2010 12:31 pm

    hey love, just making sure you got my email and added me into this fun :)

  55. January 17, 2010 10:24 pm

    I LOVE it and am so all over it! Sending you an email now :)

  56. January 18, 2010 4:03 pm

    Yess signing up for this now!

  57. January 20, 2010 10:37 am

    Ooo YES. I will be e-mailing you my finished guest post, AND bloggie valentine info today..after I play catch up with my google reader! Right now I’m off to super comment on your 6+ posts I’m behind. FAIL.

    As for your comment(s) on my last post, they both got posted! Despite wordpress being weird. The FML part made me giggle. I love you too Janetha!

Trackbacks

  1. Fermented Veggie & Yogurt Love « Living in the Kitchen, Gym and Mall
  2. My apologies! and a giveaway winner! « EaToLive
  3. Taking the Reins « This Winding Road
  4. flashback friday round twenty one. « meals & moves
  5. Steep, Sip, Smile « Running Around Normal
  6. Homemade Pizza! Pizza! « eating bender
  7. Surprising | Don't Forget Dessert
  8. weekend recap & i’m an idiot. « meals & moves
  9. Bake the Stress Away « Nourished Fitness
  10. protein packed. « meals & moves
  11. Vegetable Chili « Salt & Humor
  12. doing cardio according to your heart rate. « meals & moves
  13. don’t mind the bump on the log « Lindsay Runs
  14. Bullets « Low… and behold!’s Blog
  15. Currents « I'm An Okie
  16. Secret bloggie valentine… « Healthy Product Reviews!!
  17. Vegan Coscto Finds « Vegan-minded
  18. “You’ve got mail” « Tangerine Trees and Marmalade Skies
  19. Average Thursday… « 365 Days!
  20. Cold Wedding Wear and Magnificent Muffins! « Running Around Normal
  21. My Secret Valentine « Vegan-minded
  22. I Heart My Secret Valentine Bloggie! | Danica's Daily
  23. Lovely late start « Low… and behold!’s Blog
  24. Gratitude « Cooking with Kate
  25. Secret Valentine + Guest Bender: Meghan from Spreading the Health « eating bender
  26. Pickles, Nails + Valentines | The Healthy Everythingtarian
  27. Have Twitter, will Roast Chicken | Healthy Twists
  28. Mail and Inspiration « Live, Love, Eat and Play
  29. Vegan Costco Finds

Leave a comment