Skip to content

flashback friday round seven.

September 25, 2009

oh hey!  welcome to the weekend!

so, who knew something as silly and small as mustard would generate such discussion?! you all have very strong opinions on the condiment.  i forgot to say that the only thing i liked mustard in as a kid was deviled eggs.  holy YUM.. i love deviled eggs! my mom even got me a fancy deviled egg platter a few weeks back, i think it needs to make a debut on the blog soon.

anyway, enough mustard musings, let’s jump into friday.

i have figured out the reason i was so full wednesday!  how did i figure this out?  well i am the exact same way today! full, full, fulllllll.  and i haven’t even eaten a lot.  what food is the culprit you ask? well, you will find out in a second. 

first up, breakfast! no i didn’t have something really different today, even though i have a long list of breakfasts i have been craving.. i STILL had protein oats.  they are just so delicious.  but i did eat them with a new twist…

meals_thumb
meal 1: protein oats + pumpkin butter! @ 9:30 AM

meals 545

    

remember how i told you that you would slowly be seeing the trader joe’s purchases i made in seattle?  well here is one of them!

meals 542

the stats are not too shabby…

meals 544

and then i realized that a tablespoon of this stuff would go a long way and was even happier about the stats.  i ended up only adding 1/2 a tablespoon to my oats.. which added just 5 carbs and 20 calories. stellar.

meals 543

meals 546
mmmm. pumpkin butter is legit! i had never tried it before.  it had such a creamy texture and the flavor sent me straight to the end of october.  have you guys tried this? i know some of you rave about it.. now i know why!  and since a little goes a long way, this jar is going to last for. ev. er. (sandlot style)

meal 2: another baller wrap! & cauliflower + hummus @ 12:30 PM

meals 547
you may think this wrap is a repeat of yesterday’s.. but don’t let it fool you.  it was completely different!  as far as flavor goes, it was a completely new combo and it was equally as good as yesterday’s wrap.

meals 548

  • flat out base
  • TJ’s fat free spicy black bean dip
  • grilled chicken
  • crimini mushrooms
  • sprouts
  • red bell pepper
  • annie’s dijon mustard

it is all about the condiments!  the black bean dip + dijon made this wrap super delicious.  i can’t decide if i prefer this one or yesterday’s combo of peach salsa, laughing cow & honey mustard.  lucky for me i don’t have to decide.  i am the most indecisive girl on the block.

meals 554
yesterday i had green beans on the side of my wrap.  today? cauliflower and meza hummus.

meals 553
i was not incredibly full after this lunch.. i felt great. went on with my work day. lalala!

i then had to run to the credit union to payoff my auto loan (holler!) and as i was driving back to work it hit me like a ton of bricks.  i was sooo fullllll!  it was a little funny, i declared out loud: "sneaky cauliflower!".. um yeah, i talk to myself all the time.

so yesterday after lunch i was not all sorts of crazy full.. but wednesday after lunch i was full for 7 hours.. what did i eat wednesday AND today for lunch?  cauliflower. it has never made me insanely full before, so i am not sure why it is now.. but it is definitely the reason for my to-the-brim fullness!  strange.

okay! moving on, i know i spent awhile on that but i had to share my revelation with you. now that you know WHY i was SO FULL.. i hope you can sleep at night.

so needless to say i did not eat for quite some time. i guess next time i want to get super full for hours on end i will just invite cauliflower to the party. but i don’t prefer being that full so i will scale down my cruciferous veggie intake.

meal 3: PEACHY PEACH CHOBANI! @ 6:15 PM

meals 557
yeah so those of you who guessed peach.. awe, we are best friends! you know me so well! 

i usually eat greek yogurt plain because i always balance my protein intake with my carb intake and i like to add things to my greek yogurt (like fresh fruit, cereal, vitas, etc).. and the flavored greek yogurts already have carbs in them and the ones i have tried in the past are way too sugary for my liking.  i wanted to give chobani a chance though for a few reasons:

  1. i love peach! and this is the only peach greek yogurt i have seen.
  2. the nutrition stats are already perfectly balanced.. meaning that if i liked the flavor, this is SUCH a simple go-to body for life meal
  3. chobani plain greek yogurt is a favorite of mine so i wanted to see how their flavors went over with the old palette

i was so excited that chobani sent me ALL the lovely flavors to try, but the real motivating factor to sample their goods was the peach.. which i had to try first ;) no worries, the others will not be far behind!

meals 558

 
and the verdict?

 meals 564

jeg liker! (that is norwegian for “i like!”)

the flavor reminded me of the peach yoplait yogurts i ate as a kid.. but WAY better consistency and definitely better stats~

meals 560

and i liked the peach chunks at the bottom.. i just wished there were more!

meals 566

final grade: A+!

after my peacharific party it was off to the gym for some lower body lovin!

moves_thumb

it was a regular body for life steeze workout..

hamstrings

  • single leg db deadlifts
    • 12 @ 20#
    • 30 bicycle crunches
    • 10 @ 25#
    • 30 hip raises w/ feet on bench & 15# weight
    • 8 @ 30#
    • 30 bench tuck crunches
    • 6 @ 35#
    • 30 reverse crunches
    • 12 @ 25#
  • stability ball hamstring curls
    • 20 reps

quads

  • bulgarian split squats
    • 12 @ 25#
    • 30 bicycle crunches
    • 10 @ 30#
    • 30 hip raises w/ feet on bench & 15# weight
    • 8 @ 35#
    • 30 bench tuck crunches
    • 6 @ 40#
    • 30 reverse crunches
    • 12 @ 30#
  • bench step ups w/ 20#
    • 12 reps

calves

  • standing weighted calf raises
    • 12 @ 20#
    • 20 walking lunges w/ 10# plate, twist & leg raise
    • 10 @ 40#
    • 20 walking lunges w/ 10# plate, twist & leg raise
    • 8 @ 60#
    • 20 walking lunges w/ 10# plate, twist & leg raise
    • 6 @ 80#
    • 20 walking lunges w/ 10# plate, twist & leg raise
    • 12 @ 20
  • single leg calf raises @ bw
    • 12 reps

abs

  • 75 lower ab reps on decline bench
  • 25 mid ab reps on decline bench

the end. jello leg syndrome to the max!

meals_thumb

came home and didn’t eat for a bit because i was still feeling full. weird. but eventually my appetite found me!  so i found something to fill the tummm..

meal 4: scrambled eggs on toast @ 9:00 PM

 meals 567

simple but good :)meals 568

3 egg whites + 1 whole egg + a bit of organic cheddar + 2 slices ezekiel toast.. hit the spot.

meals 570

*********************************************
time for flashback friday round seven!  in case you missed them, you can check out the previous installments here: round 1, round 2, round 3, round 4, round 5, round 6 and angharad’s special guest post on flashback friday.

in the past i have typically tried to base flashback friday on events that involved meals or food of some type.  this week i am switching it up and flashing back to some moves!  one move in specific: my first race!

the reason i waited until now to flashback to the race is because it was a year ago this week when i ran it.  i thought i was only appropriate to use today to flash back to my first 5k.

a little background.  my sister and her family (her hubs and 3 daughters) live in dublin, california (which is near the bay area, FYI).  my brother in law, eric, is always running races and doing triathalons and all sorts of fun, athletic activities.  well, janetha b is no athlete.  the only sport i can actually participate in without getting totally mortified due to lack of skills is snowboarding.  what can i say, i was just never into sports.  well, marshall and i were wanting to visit my sister and her fam in california so i conveniently booked the trip for the same time as the back to school run that eric usually does annually.  i know i am not able to do anything involving balls or baskets or goal posts.. but i figured i could run a 5k!

we got to california on a thursday.  it is always so fun to visit them.. it sucks having family that doesn’t live close! we hung out that night and kept it mellow because the next day was filled with a day trip to san francisco!

 california 003  
i love san fran, i have been there multiple times, but marshall had never been.  it was a lot of fun to show him all the touristy stuff like the golden gate bridge, ghirardelli square, the trolleys, the pier.. ah i love san fran so much!

me & my sister

california 006

me & marshall

california 019

me & my nieces at the pier. i love the seals!

california 033

riding the trolley

california 055

my sister got a little sketched out driving on lombard street ;)

california 022

of course, for marshall, no trip  is complete without a stop at the puma store..

california 061
we also enjoyed some delicious eats!  i love the sourdough bread in san fran.. obviously my niece likes it a lot too ;)

california 049
i was in the middle of my first body for life challenge so i kept the eats fairly clean the whole trip.. but sourdough bread is one thing not to be missed!

california 043

the next day was the big race.  ok, i know 5k is not that long but i was still anxious because i am not a runner.  marshall decided to do the race with eric an i, all he had with him were a pair of floppy, loosely fitting pumas.. he didn’t care.

IMG_9670  
eric, marshall and i did the 5k and the rest of the fam did the 1 mile walk/run.  i love that their whole family is into these type of events!

a little stretching and patty cake pre race..

IMG_9661 IMG_9665

and we were off!

IMG_9680
i ended up finishing in 29 minutes and 30 seconds.. i wanted to do it in 35 minutes.. so yay!

IMG_9681

post-race smiles :)

IMG_9682

so, i guess my time was good enough to get third in my division!  i had no idea though.. we were hanging out for the raffle afterwards and during the award ceremony i heard my name called!  not only was i shocked to hear my name.. i was also shocked that they pronounced it right!

medal

so i got a 3rd place medal, which i was incredibly proud of, seeing as how i had never competed in anything EVER in my whole life!  i also got a big bag of groceries, which every race participant received.. that was pretty exciting too ;) here is the uncropped version of that photo haha.. with my grocery bag!

IMG_9696

marshall and eric ran with me, marshall finished 4th in his division and was butt hurt because he said he could have run faster (which he could have) but he was running with me.  i hope he has forgiven me for slowing him down! 
it was a really fun experience and i was SO glad that i did it.  my knee hurt REAL bad afterward.. not sure why my knee acts up so bad when i run longer distances.  probably snowboarding related!

we were also there for eric’s birthday which was fun!  he got wii fit and some other fun games for the wii. 

california 069 IMG_9700

we spent the rest of the trip doing some important shopping at trader joe’s and H&M.. two favorites that i don’t have access to here in utah (sigh) and also we ate at in’n’out.. which i hate, every. single. time.  i just don’t see what the fuss is about that place! i really don’t like it. 

anyway, here are a couple more photos from the trip!

       california 052 california 054 

california 065 IMG_9694 IMG_9675

the next time i will be visiting my sister and her family is in november.. i am going to go out a few days before the foodbuzz blogger festival!!  i can’t wait to see them and i also can’t wait to be back in san fran to hang out with all of YOU!

i hope you enjoyed this week’s installment of flashback friday.  check out deb’s, susan’s & alison’s flashback friday posts!  did anyone else participate?  send me the link and i will post it tomorrow! 

well i am sure i will eat again later, i am posting this before my day is over because it’s friday! time to hang with the dudes and dudettes! yayer.

oh P.S. i haven’t seen him/her yet.. but marshall informed me that "we have a new mouth to feed"… um.. details to come.

Qs:
1. have you ever won a medal/award? what was it for?
in addition to this medal for the 5k.. i totally won a trophy for 1st place in my 3rd grade spelling bee! beeee jealous!

2. when/what/how was your first race? tell me about it! if you have not run a race before.. do you want to? why or why not? the only other race i have done aside from this one was 10k in july and i would like to do more but i have a bad knee so i don’t think i will be doing many more races.. but they sure are thrilling!

have a stupendous weekend!

xo. janetha b.

59 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzy permalink
    September 25, 2009 9:39 pm

    i’m so intrigued on how full calliflower is making you. Next time i eat it i’m going to really tune in and see if i have the same effect!

    Q’s
    1- When i was in the 5th grade my cheerleading team won first place, so i got a super awesome trophy! hahaha

    2-the first race i ever ran in was just this May! it was a 5k. I’m now gearing up for my first half in October!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. September 25, 2009 9:40 pm

    Woo hoo 1st comment, bee-oothches, so take that :) Just kidding!

    Anyway, great Pumpkin Butter score. Last season, I stocked up and had that shizzle in my cupboards til Feb. It’s a seasonal item so may as well hoard it. I love the nutri profile too.

    5k family fun? Rock on!

    I have won a few trophies and medals in various 5k & 10ks over the years. I have won numerous work related awards, but one of the coolest awards and it’s not even an award is a pic I have taken with a now deceased yoga guru from India. He was 90 yrs old in 2005 when I got a pic with him on his last visit to the U.S. Not an award but the pic feels like it to me :)

    It’s been mahh-velous, darrrling, chattin w/ you BTW on email :)
    xoxox

  3. September 25, 2009 10:24 pm

    *adding TJ’s pumpkin butter to list for tomorrow*

  4. September 25, 2009 10:35 pm

    I just bought some pumpkin butter tonight! I can’t wait to try it :)

    1. have you ever won a medal/award? what was it for? I won synchronized swimming awards when I was younger.

    2. when/what/how was your first race? tell me about it! if you have not run a race before.. do you want to? why or why not? My ‘first’ race is next Saturday! It’s only kind of my first – I used to run years ago.

  5. Katharina permalink
    September 25, 2009 10:49 pm

    I was JUST about to ask if you had sourdough bread while you were there. Oh man sourdough bread bowl soups in San Fran are awesome – and you can look out on the pier and watch the seals.

    You are so great with kids! And that’s so awesome that you got 3rd and didn’t even know it lol.

    And the Chobani yogurts sound awesome! I haven’t tried any of them yet. Pumpkin butter is where it’s at. I just finished a jar of my fave pumpkin butter by McCutcheon’s.

    1. Oh my gosh I also got some trophies and medals from spelling bees! I remember one time I went to the state-level competition and we had to study the dictionary. Let’s see I also got some awards in my German class, honor roll stuff, one for being president of a stock market group in school lol… uhh I think that’s it.

    2. I’ve never participated in a race but I would really like to! The adrenaline rush sounds amazing, and to be able to feel that accomplished would be a wonderful feeling that would last for days. Not to mention, races are affiliated with lots of great causes, and if that’s a way to help out then kudos to that!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  6. Katharina permalink
    September 25, 2009 10:51 pm

    p.s. is the cauliflower raw? because I know that’ll do it for me. But if I cook it, then I’m good to go!

  7. September 25, 2009 11:09 pm

    When my soccer team would travel to San Fran we would always get a sourdough bread bowl with clam chowder…SOOOO GOOOOD!!

    I’ve received a lot of medals from playing club soccer and softball growing up…come to think of it, I don’t know where half of them are!!

    I ran a half marathon in February of 2008 in Huntington Beach. I was a soccer player my whole life and in college, so I picked up running when I was done with soccer. The race was crazy because it POURED the whole time and was so windy! I had an amazing time and I’ll always cherish that day because sadly it will be the only race I’ll ever run again. I’ve recently had my third knee surgery and running just isn’t in the cards for me anymore :(

    Whew…that was long. :) Anyway, have a great weekend girl!

  8. WholeBodyLove permalink
    September 25, 2009 11:36 pm

    I would love to eventually run a 1/2 or full marathon! However, I have to wait for Dr’s approval to even start training for a 5k. Running gives such a sense of accomplishment and just makes me feel good! Ok, so in the beginning of training, everything is sore but I love it! I can’t wait to start running again!!

  9. September 25, 2009 11:36 pm

    I keep seeing that pumpkin butter but have yet to purchase it. I’ve been wanting to try it for YEARS (no exaggeration) so next time I think I will!

    Oh yes, cauliflower=fiberrific!!

    Hooray for Foodbuzz festival!! SO JEALOUS!

  10. September 26, 2009 5:24 am

    JUST PURCHASED SOME OF THE TJ’S PUMPKIN BUTTER YESTERDAY!! :-D

    1.) LOTS of sport, dance, figure skating, and art awards.

    2.) I don’t run.

  11. September 26, 2009 5:37 am

    Phew, glad I can sleep now that we’ve got that cauliflower thing sorted out :P That’s weird! The body is a strange thing though. I throw up every time I eat pineapple. No allergies – it just happens!

    Love your Flashback Friday this week! I went to San Fran with my family when I was 7. I have fond memories of it. Mostly because we drove past the houses from the Full House opening, and I thought I was going to see Uncle Jesse.

    1) I was given a medal for getting the highest score on a province-wide math exam when I was in grade 7. I was actually quite the math whiz!

    2) I ran my first race, a 5k, this past May! I think I almost got the exact same time as you too! Except, I apparently live with a bunch of Kenyans and didn’t place :(

  12. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    September 26, 2009 6:25 am

    I guessed peach too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    cauliflower makes a big explosion in my belly too! well…..any crucifier veggie does that too me. it’s a hate love relationship!

    Congrats on getting a medal in your first race, that’s really awesome!!!

    I haven’t run any race maybe I’m a coward. :( but I think the main reason is that I want to do (whatever it is) for fun, not to compete. :)

    have a nice weekend sweetie!

  13. September 26, 2009 6:40 am

    They have pumpkin butteR? I had no idea. My world is being opened to all the new butters. Hehe.

    I haven’t won any awards so I can’t so much answer the questions. I’ve never competed in a race but thats something I’d want to do in the future at least once. I like your bright shiny 3rd place medal!

  14. September 26, 2009 6:48 am

    yay Flashback Friday :D And that’s so awesome that 1) your whole family were in on the action that day and 2) you got a medal in your first race!!!!!! Your nieces are adorable!

    I have always wanted to go to San Fran. Looks so pretty…

    1. have you ever won a medal/award? what was it for? I won a bunch of medals/awards for my music when I was younger, but I barely touch my harp these days.

    2. when/what/how was your first race? tell me about it! if you have not run a race before.. do you want to? why or why not? I haven’t run since high school when we were forced to! I’m not a runner, though I loved hurdles and the long-jump out of our athletic curriculum. I was more into ‘game’ sports like field hockey, tennis, etc.

  15. September 26, 2009 7:00 am

    Ugh why doesn’t the freakin south get with it and open Trader Joe’s!!! So unfair!

    Mmmm I do love the chobani flavors but I felt the exact same way about like to add things to the plain flavor.

    1) I’ve played sports my entire life so my parents have boxes and boxes of trophies and metals. Not because I was some sort of prodigy or anything but when you’re a kid everyone gets a medal :) I did get the scholarly athlete award in high school (I guess that makes me a dork)

    2) My first and only race was a 5k called Turkey Trot I did a couple of years ago. I just signed up for it on a whim, not really having any running endurance because I needed extra credit for this PE type class in college. I ended up finishing in 29 minutes! It was a lot of fun. I think I would do more races now but they’re kind of expensive to do all the time…

  16. april permalink
    September 26, 2009 7:08 am

    I love pumpkin butter and honey for that same reason! Small amounts go a pretty long way!

    Sadly I’ve never ran a race.. runnings not my thing!

  17. September 26, 2009 7:22 am

    ahhhh janetha…your posts brighten my day. i swear to you if i had money, i would be on the first flight out to SLC or san fran for the foodblogger festival of fun. *sigh* this relationship will just have to continue via technology for now :(

    love that wrappage…so much prettier than mine! and yesssss, i knew it was going to be peach. there was no doubt. also, pumpkin butter…i am slightly scared but i think i need to try it. last, this might be one of my fave flashbacks. your sis + fam are too dang cute, and you killed that race. woowoo for you!

    i have medals and trophies, mostly from my days of gallavanting as a figure skater.

    hmmm, my first race? probably 5th grade track and field day at school. i am pretty sure i was last, or maybe 2nd to last.

    love you…have a marvelous weekend!

  18. September 26, 2009 7:33 am

    Um,is your niece digging the center out of that bread and eating it? That is MY GIRL! Holla for eggs and toast! That is one of my faveee meals–with ketchup. Obviously. In fact, I’ve been craving eggs and toast so much, I think it’s on my lunch list at Cottonwood Cafe :)
    P.S. Love your scarf! So stylish Janetha B

  19. September 26, 2009 7:46 am

    Your posts are so adorable! I luv em! :)

    I’ve never won a medal. I guess you can say I’m not very competitive. Easy going is my middle name. I did have an art project take 1st place in high school once and it was on display for months. Does that count? Ha!

    Running. Ohhhhh running. I wish I didn’t hate it as much as I do. I know it’s so good for you. However, I broke my femur when I was 9 (hit by a car crossing the street, EEEKKK) and my right leg is a tiny bit shorter then my left and a teeny tiny bit inverted. Not noticeable when I walk by ANY means but it messed me up good. Running is uncomfortable after a few minutes and I don’t have the greatest hips either, which I’m slowly discovering with age. But I’ll speed walk my ass off, that’s for sure. It doesn’t slow me down or anything. Running is jot not enjoyable.

  20. September 26, 2009 7:47 am

    I need to get me some Pumpkin BUTTAHHH! too bad I aint ever at TJ’s! maybe I should make a trip soon?

    love all the pictures!! and that elephant sweatshirt is SO CUTE!

    HAPPY SATURDAY MAMA!

  21. September 26, 2009 7:52 am

    I’ll have to get some pumpkin butter! Sounds perfect for my oats!

    I love all the SF pics! Looks like so much fun. And you did great in your first race! :)

    I was a rower in high school, and we won quite a few medals.

    I have only run one 5k and in the process seriously injured my already weak/injured ankle. (I was stupid enough to “cover” up the pain with too many pain killers). So I haven’t run a race since. But I would like to again; I think I’ve gotten a bit smarter over the years and now listen to my body… ;)

    Have a great weekend! :)

  22. julie permalink
    September 26, 2009 8:03 am

    awww LOVE flashback friday :) woo hoo! I definitely wanna visit there and I lvoe that you squeezed a race in and THEN came home with a grocery prize!

    I used to win volleyball medals here and there back in the college/high school days of playing.

    My first race was a a NY 10K in central park this year! it was SO much fun and such an awesome feeling finishing :)

  23. September 26, 2009 8:19 am

    Hey Janetha- another super post- I love reading them even if they take me forever because I must.read.every.word.

    SOooo exciting about the cauli- I also want to know if it was cooked or raw. GREAT to know.

    Love SF. I went to post-grad there so lived in that magical city for 5 yrs. My Dad grew up there as well, so I visited my Grammy & Grampy there all the time. 2nd home :-)

    1. Geeky awards: Debate about marijuana (ha ha!) in the 6th grade, and cheerleading (puhlease). No real wins here but I did several Bicycle centuries a few years ago (100 miles in a day) for the MS society etc, and they give you medals just for participating.

    2. No real “races” to speak of. Sadly the knees don’t like running- except on the beach!

  24. September 26, 2009 8:43 am

    Again with the wrap – looks phenom. I can’t believe cauliflower was the culprit! I will have to keep that in mind and see if it has the same effect on me next time I eat it.

    1. Award: I can’t even remember. Maybe a trophy from soccer in like 2nd grade.

    2. First race: Marathon in the Denver and it was difficult and I cried at the end. However I finished and I was proud of myself!!

  25. emilydh211 permalink
    September 26, 2009 8:45 am

    HEY BABE!!! I have missed you too!! I was so happy when I saw that comment from you! And guess what?! Im going to see the Sounds tonight, i knew you would appreciate that! haha.

    I just love your California pictures. They remind of when I went because we did all the same “site seeing” things that you did!

  26. September 26, 2009 8:53 am

    I’m LOVING the flashback!! such CUTE pics! when is your next race?? And girlie I must say that you are the wrap MASTER!!! these new creations look ‘ta die for!’ hehehe!!! Hope your having a great saturday!

  27. September 26, 2009 10:29 am

    so glad that you made the cauliflower discovery!

    ooh, pumpkin butter!

    I love san fran too. well, except for the coldness and fog.

    1. I’ve got some old gymnastics medals and some basketball awards. I think they are in storage somewhere.

    2. I used to run track. I haven’t done a race in a while now; been thinking about it, but dunno. maybe!

    enjoy some pancakes today! I think I will be :)

  28. September 26, 2009 11:19 am

    Oh my gosh with the wraps. Seriously. You’re killing me.

    Love the SF pics, esp the one with your niece and the bread :)

    That is an awesome race time, lady! What do you mean you’re not a runner?! Geeez. You rock.

  29. September 26, 2009 11:25 am

    that pumpkin butter is SOO good, I need to try it inmy oatmeal!! I am sure it melted and got all gooey and delicious!

    congrats on the 5k! looks like you had a BLAST

    oh and old school egg salad is da bomb!!

    :)

  30. Laura permalink
    September 26, 2009 11:35 am

    Cruciferous= great vocab word!

    TJs pumpkin butter looks awesome. Cant wait to pick some up!

  31. September 26, 2009 11:59 am

    That wrap looks so professional!

    I won a 1st place reward for an art project that I did in 1st grade! I think that’s the extent of my awards. I got a ribbon.

    My first race was the Silver Comet half marathon in 2005. I guess I started out big. I raced it with my father (he flew down to ATL for it) and beat him by 1 second!

  32. September 26, 2009 12:25 pm

    Oh how funny! I live right next to Dublin! (I won’t say here on the blog – but it’s like 10 minutes down the road – I don’t know if you know the area all too well). Last week I ate a whole entire cauliflower with my dinner and I was bloated beyond belief for hours!! And I LOVE the peach yogurt. I was a huge fan of peach yog as a kid – and this brings me back! Delicious. I think I still have another in the fridge. Maybe not…but I hope so!! And is that MUD PIE ice cream I see in the birthday pic? Maybe not – it just looks like the same carton. that stuff is soooo good!!

    1. I won lots of medals throughout all my swimming years. My running races I’ve done haven’t given out medals. My marathon/half marathon actually gave out Tiffany’s necklaces instead :-D

    2. I guess I technically ran a couple 5ks when I was younger – there’s a pretty popular one in my hometown. But my first “real” race was a 5k a couple years ago a few weeks before my marathon. But I really consider my marathon my first race!

  33. September 26, 2009 2:47 pm

    I love the peach chobani! And eggs + toast is such a satisfying classic!

    Medals… hmm, I won my division twice in a 5k, and I’ve won various medals in karate when I was younger.

    I don’t remember my first 5k- I’ve done SO many! I did 10+ a season for 4 years in a row! I love them though, so exhilarating!

    Love the flashback!!
    xo
    K

  34. September 26, 2009 3:33 pm

    Your workouts are SERIOUS! I love reading your recaps. That’s some dedication to the sweat sesh!

    I’ve never done a race and not sure I ever will… but your story was a good one. Third place? And never done a 5k before? Suh-weet.

  35. Brooke permalink
    September 26, 2009 3:44 pm

    SAN FRAAAAN!!!!!!!!!!!!! Take care of my city for me when you go out there :) AND I have TONS of great restaurants and names of places to go/see/eat at if you want them!!! Email me shawty!

    1) I won camper of the week at my soccer camp in 6th grade and BEST DRESSED in 8th grade in my class ;)

    2) I want to run a race so badly! I just don’t know where/when!

  36. Brooke permalink
    September 26, 2009 3:53 pm

    oh yes, ps: LoVE U GIRL

  37. Sarah permalink
    September 26, 2009 4:31 pm

    ohmigawd the tjs pumpkin butter is a serious mouth party. i wish i had some!

    loved your race story!

    q2. my first (and, uhm, only) race was a year ago. i signed up for my college 5k with a certain lilveggiepatch, who broke her leg right before the race! i ran it in a pretty slow time, but i was super proud because a month before, i couldn’t even run a mile.

    q1. um, i am actually a trophy-wielding candlepin bowler. yup. it is a useless skill, however, because candlepin bowling only exists in new england. and i am awful at regular bowling!

    i hope that you are okay with the fact that i answered your qs in the wrong order. apparently i am feeling rambunctious and disorderly.

  38. September 26, 2009 4:36 pm

    damn that cauli! glad you figured out that sneaky culprit!

    that pumpkin butter looks too legit to quit! I wish TJ’s delivered.. then life would be perfecto.

    mmm never got a medal or a reward.. wow, that makes me very dissapointed in myself. I did get some superalitives in high school, I suppose “best to bring home to mom and dad” is all I have to take pride in.

    <3!

  39. September 26, 2009 5:06 pm

    I’ve got to get my hands on some pumpkin butter! It looks/sounds deliciously amazing! (as does that wrap!)

    Cute pics!

  40. September 26, 2009 6:17 pm

    Loved this flash back friday!! And thanks for the FBF Link Love too. What a great time and a great PLACE for a first 5K! It’s so fun to look back and see what you were doing a year ago.

    I’ve run a bunch of races and I’ve placed in my age group a bunch of times, only for the smaller races usually though.

    My first race was in the spring of 2005, a 3.5 mile race and my first 5K was a few weeks later. Good times.

  41. September 26, 2009 6:24 pm

    Thank you – I do NOT get the In ‘n Out thing either!!! Back a thousand years ago when I tasted their fries, I thought they tasted like dirt. Ew.

    Great post – your nieces are TOO CUTE! I cannot wait to hear about the Blogfest.

    Another mouth to feed???? Wha???

    1. I think I’ve only gotten a medal when we all got one – like for the City of Hope Breast Cancer walk.

    2. I did run a 10k a couple of years out of college. I was not in any shape to do such a thing (and never even took up running even when I was in killer shape), but I lived with three guys and they were doing it. I finished and have a photo somewhere. Hubby and I are trying to do more 5ks, and I might even throw a skip or two in there, but mostly walking.

  42. September 26, 2009 6:50 pm

    Awww what an awesome flashback friday!
    1. I’ve gotten one medal from a race, it was because there were only 3 girls in my age division, me and the friend I was running it with and one other person, and they gave out medals by age division so I got one, it was pretty fun since it was my first 10k.
    2. I don’t really recall what my first race was, I guess it would have been in my senior year of high school when i ran xc (not fast).

  43. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) permalink
    September 26, 2009 7:03 pm

    1) All of my awards are dorky… I won the school spelling bee in the 6th grade, and I came in first in New England in a French competition…4 times in a row! Nerd alert! :-D

    2) I’ve never run a race, but I would love to someday. I’m sooo not a runner, but eventually I’d like to start a couch to 5k plan.

    I’m loving the flashback Friday! I think I’ll have to get in on the action soon. Have a great weekend!

  44. learnruneatrepeat permalink
    September 26, 2009 7:47 pm

    I have a few medals from races, usually because there were only 3 or 4 people in my division!! And my first race was when I was 12 in junior high cross country.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  45. mom permalink
    September 26, 2009 8:15 pm

    Who would have guessed…..cauliflower?!
    Love the flash back and the review of the peach yogurt – yum I want some.

    I got FIRST place in a 3k run – tada – I was the only one in my age bracket, so I got a sweet medal!!

    I used to want to run a marathon before I turned 50 – wow was I ever glad when I finally hit 50 and that goal was thrown out the window!

    I stick to the one milers with the grand kids!! xoxo

  46. lowandbhold permalink
    September 26, 2009 9:41 pm

    Hey, sorry I’m so behind on commenting, but I’ll get there! I’m totally glad you figured out the fullness mystery. And I talk to myself all the time too.

    Love the pics from the race! Your braid is super cute. Winning 3rd place is awesome! I think I need to run this race if free groceries are involved!

    1. I won 3rd place in a golf tournament when I was like 8 years old. It was my first time to ever play so I was pretty proud. I’m not sure about any other medals though. I’m not incredibly athletic, haha.

    2. I ran my first 2 5Ks this year. Loved it! I’m not a runner either, but I’m hoping to run a 10K and a half next year. We’ll see how that goes!

  47. Tina permalink
    September 27, 2009 5:25 am

    Thanks for the comments, doll! Reading your posts really makes me cheery :D

    But one thing has been bugging me (in a good way)… ever since I’ve been reading all your hummus-filled adventures, I’ve been wondering; is raw cauliflower really edible? :P I know, it sounds stupid and of course it is… but what does it taste like? The concept of it puzzles me…

    I’ve won awards for public speaking, writing and the like but nothing athletic… ever :P (must change that).

    Never raced… hahah

    xxx

  48. Ellen (Peace in Motion) permalink
    September 27, 2009 6:16 am

    Trader joes may have the best condiments ever. Seriously the ff black bean dip is SO GOOD. That wrap looks fabby fab girl. I need a traders back in my life ASAP!

  49. hayleycepeda permalink
    September 27, 2009 6:55 am

    YUMMY pumpkin butter!! I don’t know if I’ve ever seen that before. I will definitely have to pick up a jar (or 2 or 3 or 4) next time I’m in TJ’s. The thought of combining that with oats…makes my mouth water. :) Your wrap looks delicioso! I just contacted Chobani and I can’t wait to receive my samples! I love their Greek yogurts. You can actually buy a bit box of various flavors from Costco! The problem I have is finding room in my fridge to stock them.

    Thanks for all the flashback pictures! I love seeing your trips – you have such a good looking, fun-loving, relaxed family. Or at least you all looked relaxed in your photos!

  50. Tabitha permalink
    September 27, 2009 8:44 am

    If you ever have a minute this week, can you explain the importance of balancing carbs/protein? I bought garbanzos and cottage cheese today..uhm.. I wonder what gave me that idea…

  51. September 27, 2009 11:01 am

    The way you are with cauliflower, I am with lentils. I feel like everyone has that “magic food”. And sometimes it’s awesome, like when you’re really hungry for no particular reason (ahem, pms). And sometimes, it’s like “uh… I should eat some more but I am ludicrously full from a low calorie food”

  52. September 27, 2009 11:09 am

    Girl, you rock! Way to BE! :D That pumpkin butter from TJ’s looks offff the hizooook. I will have to take your word for it, as TJ’s is nowhere to be found over yonder.

  53. September 27, 2009 11:20 am

    That pumpkin butter looks awesome. I never really liked pumpkin pie growing up but as I got older I tried to eat it in different ways to get a taste for it. Love pumpkin flavored beer, the flavor is ok in cookies and cake but adding pureed pumpkin to oatmeal…? Still can’t do that. Every year at thanksgiving I eat a bite of pumpkin pie hoping I’ll suddenly love it but I always make a face and struggle to gulp it down…ick.

    Your recent wraps should be famous. They deserve their own blog….

    For once I can’t really elaborate on your questions. I’m not a very competitive person so I’ve never really won anything. And I don’t race, nor do I really have any plans to….

  54. September 27, 2009 2:18 pm

    Ooh, all your eats look delish! Love the wrap, and dang that sneaky cauliflower.

    Love the race flashback! Too cool that you placed in your division :D

    1) Yea, I’ve gotten lots of horse show ribbons, race medals, and placed/won my age group a handful of times. I also won some music stuff, like a concerto competition and such. Oh and some figure skating comps.

    2) hmm, my very first race was when i was little! i did kids dashes at age 8-9, and ran my first 5k when i was 10 or 11 or so? I was definitely pretty slow though, haha!

  55. marisa permalink
    September 27, 2009 9:43 pm

    Fun flashback…and your nieces are darling but I have to say so since I’m their mama! I wish we could have done the race this weekend- it was a much warmer weekend! I also have a spelling bee trophy and a science fair trophy from 6th grade. Are we nerds? And about In n’ Out…I love that I can feed my entire family for under $20 and they all will eat it. I hate to go out and waste half of the food. We don’t have to go when you are here next, I promise!

  56. September 28, 2009 3:35 pm

    Catching up with you is so funnnn!! Cauliflower?! Who the eff knew? Not me.
    You said “to the max” = we are bffs for life.
    Peach chobani is deeelish! I knew you’d try it first :D
    I am a BIG fan of the pomegranate variety. It’s ace.
    Your flashback is awesome! I love san fran! And Sourdough! Hurrah!
    Yay that Marshall ran that with you. Brilliant. And super cool that you were third in your bracket! That rocks.
    You are so smart too – I also have a bad knee but no real intentions of giving up running. I’ll be unable to walk by the age of 30…
    1) I won some medals and such in secondary school for swimming. I used to swim for my town! Ha ha.
    2) My first running race was my 5K this April – loved it! Going back for more this sunday (ARGH)

Trackbacks

  1. Flashback Friday, Flash Forward Sunday | The Healthy Everythingtarian
  2. flashback friday round eleventeen million and three. « meals & moves
  3. flashback friday: flashback friday. « meals & moves

Leave a comment