Skip to content

special delivery.

April 23, 2011

happy saturday, folks!

i have had a pretty busy day so far and it’s only going to get busier tonight, so i thought i would take a moment (while marshall is napping) to tell you about a special delivery!

first of all, i woke up this morning and fueled with some oat bran toast + organic peanut butter, coffee + almond milk and real simple reading.

IMG_1678

once my tank was full, it was off to bikram.  i have been going three times a week consistently and loving every single class.  a very sweaty 90 minutes later, i was off to the fish market.

IMG_1728

our family, like almost every other family around these parts, usually has ham on easter.  we decided to go against tradition and have fish this year.

IMG_1708

lucky for me, i know people in the fish biz, as i have mentioned before.

IMG_1709

aquarius fish is the ONLY place to buy fish if you live in or around salt lake city.  it is located on 3rd south and about 350 west, right next to caputo’s and carlucci’s. my friend CJ’s parents own it and CJ, cody and nick run the show.  they are my fish friends.

IMG_1705

the fish hut—as it is lovingly referred to as—always has the freshest catches, the tastiest sauces and the most flavorful fish fixings.

IMG_1713IMG_1716IMG_1718

i love watching the guys in action. it was pretty busy today since tomorrow is a holiday.IMG_1693IMG_1698IMG_1704

they know their fish. their shirts even say so.

IMG_1680

on thursday, i asked CJ if i could pick up 3 lbs of mahi on saturday for easter dinner (because marshall LOVED it last friday at the ice cream social).  he told me they weren’t going to be getting any mahi in before saturday and suggested i snag some ono instead. that was the plan.

IMG_1710

when i arrived at the fish hut—as i so lovingly call it—today, CJ had a special surprise for me.  he had ordered in some suuuper freshy fresh mahi just for me! if that isn’t love, i don’t know what is.

IMG_1681

the best part was that the mahi had just been caught, flown in straight from hawaii and picked up at the airport.  if you are living in utah, you don’t get fish fresher than that.

IMG_1683IMG_1684IMG_1685

CJ immediately got to work on slicing and dicing my mahi. i had a front row seat on the action and was really impressed with his super speedy knife skills.

IMG_1686IMG_1688IMG_1689IMG_1694IMG_1697

in no time at all, i had six fresh, gorgeous mahi filets. no bones, thankyouverymuch. (because i have no idea how to remove fish bones…)

IMG_1700

talk about top notch service. with a smile.

IMG_1706

thanks so much, CJ!

we will be grilling up this very special delivery for our semi-traditional easter dinner tomorrow.  not to worry, we will still have some traditional favorites including deviled eggs and carrot cake!

hope you all are having a fabulous weekend and, if you celebrate, have a happy easter!

Q for the easter celebrators~

what are some of your traditional easter meal staples?

xo. janetha g.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2011 5:14 pm

    wowzas first commenter here! means i should probably get to my thesis haha

    anyways i LOVE the hustle and bustle of fish markets! i can’t wait for big fat fresh fish this summer :) and not to mention fish markets are a great place to meet men….

  2. Nicole G permalink
    April 23, 2011 5:16 pm

    Lucky girl to have such an awesome fish market near you! Fresh fish and friendly service :) Nice! I have to work on Easter, so does my husband. But my mom is making ham, potato salad, deviled eggs, the usual! I love it but I wouldn’t mind going the fish route too! Sounds like you guys are going to have a delicious Easter dinner!

  3. Brittany permalink
    April 23, 2011 5:18 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try Mahi! It’s just a bit pricey for my college budget! (I already spend enough to eat healthy!) But I’m a Louisiana girl, so every Easter the family has a Huge crawfish boil! with corn on the cob, potatoes and mushrooms!

  4. April 23, 2011 5:23 pm

    Mmmmmmmm I lurve fish!! this is making me want some~I bet it’s amazingly fresh. to be honest, although I celebrate easter in my “heart”, I never knew people went all out like that with feasts and all. I think it’s because my fam doesn’t celebrate it.

  5. Errign permalink
    April 23, 2011 5:25 pm

    We are not really holiday celebrators in generallll, so we’ll probs get thai food. :) my family’s idea of celebrating holidays is usually skiing & getting takeout. :)

  6. April 23, 2011 5:27 pm

    Hmmmm, I don’t know if we have a staple. Fruit Salad perhaps? :)

  7. April 23, 2011 5:38 pm

    That’s so cool that he ordered the fish especially for you. Aw. I love fish! I don’t think I’ve ever had it on Easter but I would certainly enjoy it if we had it.

  8. April 23, 2011 5:50 pm

    Love that CJ – he’s a keeper! Can’t wait for our Easter feast xoxo!

  9. April 23, 2011 5:53 pm

    That’s so cool. Nothing is fresher than that!

  10. April 23, 2011 5:56 pm

    Agh, you’re making me miss my Real Simple subscription! It expired last month, and I’m already missing its practical wisdom…
    My Easter must always include asparagus!

  11. April 23, 2011 6:17 pm

    wow – what a great idea!

    love the photoblog of the butchering and fishmarket :)
    when i was young we would usually have some lamb, these past few years my husband and I just cook whatever we feel like. When we have kids we’ll start a fun tradition :)

    have a great easter!

  12. April 23, 2011 6:18 pm

    That’s truly love! I need to make friends like that!

    My Easter meal tomorrow will consist of all-you-can eat brunch at some fancy shamancy hotel. I’m pumped about the chocolate fountain!

  13. April 23, 2011 6:27 pm

    OHHHH ONO! We used to eat everyday when we lived in hawaii. Nice! thats just gorgeous.
    :)

  14. April 23, 2011 6:53 pm

    Every year, we do an Easter egg hunt. It sounds totally lame, but my dad really gets into it!! We always find all the eggs within ten minutes, but there’s always ones we forget and he always gets excited when we find ones that he hid in a “new place”! Since I am 500 miles from the rents this year, we won’t be doing an Easter egg hunt…it’s the first Easter away from my them, so it’s going to be tough! Here’s to new traditions! Happy Easter Janetha!

  15. Ash permalink
    April 23, 2011 7:17 pm

    We don’t really have any Easter staples…

    but you have me craving fish now, lol.

    btw, that first photograph is really nice. i love the black space! i especially like the side of the photo with the toast/coffee. looks lovely against the black.

    • Ash permalink
      April 24, 2011 3:08 pm

      well, okay, just noticed the background was brownish. i couldn’t tell because my laptop’s screen brightness was low the last time i commented. but anyway. my compliment still stands, haha.

      • April 24, 2011 3:10 pm

        haha thank you :) i wasn’t even trying to be artsy! it was just my kitchen table.

  16. April 23, 2011 7:19 pm

    Glad the yoga is going well :). And that fish market looks fabulous! We have a lot of little fishy markets here in SC. I have one in particular that I love. Fresh & local…amazing. Hope you guys enjoy the meal. We are actually doing something very non traditional tomorrow too- a pot luck of sorts. My Mom, Aunt & I are each in charge of three dishes. I am making pulled pork, vegan baked beans and three desserts. Yayy! Happy (almost) Easter

  17. April 23, 2011 7:21 pm

    That’s VERY cool that they were able to get your Mahi….WTG at doing yoga 3 x’s a week too!

  18. April 23, 2011 7:23 pm

    My family has no Easter stables any more. I don’t mind. It just means something new each year.

  19. April 23, 2011 7:25 pm

    Wow! That was so sweet of them :-)
    I’m making Jim franks and beans for Easter (in my defense it is his favorite meal )

  20. April 23, 2011 7:34 pm

    We’re randomly having shish-kabobs tomorrow. Happy Easter!

  21. April 23, 2011 7:50 pm

    How nice of him to get that fish for you! Cool place.

    Easter is usually the same for us — we go out with my parents and then Jason’s mom makes a big ass ham and a turkey to feed her side of the family — and we have other holiday type dishes like sweet potato casserole, cheesy hashbrowns, etc.

  22. April 23, 2011 8:07 pm

    We always had ham and deviled eggs growing up…I can’t wait til tomorrow!

  23. April 23, 2011 10:34 pm

    Whoa! That is serious fresh fish, lady!! Enjoy :)

  24. April 24, 2011 3:44 am

    Rub with love. I always do.

  25. April 24, 2011 4:19 am

    Talk about fresh fish! It looks marvelous. What a wonderful Easter dinner you will have. :D

    Speaking of which…

    Happy Easter, girl!! :D

  26. April 24, 2011 8:23 am

    Hi Janetha,
    I’m a long time reader, but it’s my first time leaving a comment. Just wanted to say I really enjoy your blog and all your recipes. In fact, Taco Soup in the crock pot is one of my faves! Thanks for the inspiration and have a happy Easter!
    Taryn

  27. April 24, 2011 8:39 am

    That looks like such a fun day! Gotta love fresh fish!!

  28. April 24, 2011 11:10 am

    ah that market look so cute and FRESH! love it! happy easter lady! I don’t celebrate but I will be thinking of you all who are enjoyin geaster dinner and day with their fams!!

  29. April 24, 2011 11:46 am

    Love fresh fish!! Makes me miss FL :(

    Happy Easter Beautiful!

  30. April 24, 2011 12:09 pm

    Yay to Bikram I’ve been going 3/4 times a week and am a total convert so good! x x

  31. April 24, 2011 1:02 pm

    Our families are out of town so no Easter celebrations for us this year. We’re just having a lazy Sunday!

    That fish looks great, I wish we had a place like that around here!

  32. April 24, 2011 1:10 pm

    Fish cutting skills always amaze me! Your friend is a total badass for ordering that mahi for you… I’m super jealous! :D

  33. April 24, 2011 2:31 pm

    I LOVE mahi! Looks like the best fish service ever. Have a great Easter!

  34. April 24, 2011 3:03 pm

    Umm, can I come eat Easter dinner at your house?!? I bet it’s going to be awesome! I’ve been all about the seafood lately. I just put together a BIG batch of shrimp pasta and I’m sure it will be gone in a day or two haha. Happy Easter to you!!

  35. April 24, 2011 3:19 pm

    That fish looks awesome! I’m going to Hawaii in a week so I’ll definitely be eating my share of fresh Mahi!

Trackbacks

  1. easter was delicious. « meals & moves
  2. random wednesday blabber. « meals & moves
  3. eat what you want. « meals & moves

Leave a comment