Skip to content

why yes, i do love peanut butter.

March 1, 2011

hola! happy march!

marshall & i are picking up where we left off on the office.. which is way back on season six, episode eight. we are way behind. so, what i am trying to elude to, is that i am going to try to breeze through this post as fast as possible.

here goes!

i mentioned that today was national peanut butter lover’s day. i eat a lot of peanut butter, but i don’t eat it every day. i made a point to eat some with my breakfast this morning to start the holiday off right.

IMG_8944

6 oz plain greek yogurt + 1 cup kashi go lean + 1 banana + a glob of mighty maple peanut butter.

the celebration continued at the office, where i set out freshly baked peanut butter cookies.

IMG_8947

the recipe is a simple one that i have used for over a decade:

  • 1 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten

mix the ingredients, roll into teaspoon-sized balls and drop onto greased cookie sheet, press down with a fork and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

sometimes i throw in chocolate chips, vanilla extract or turn them into thumbprint cookies and fill them with jam.. but today, i kept it simple with the three ingredients and made it a double batch. the recipe above makes 20 cookies, so my doubled batch made 40. enough to share with the whole office!

IMG_8948

the rest of my day was typical.. leftovers for lunch, cottage cheese & crackers for my snack and a heart pumping 45 minutes on the stairmill for my workout. marshall came to the gym with me again. makes me happy.

i made pumpkin mac & cheese and chicken strips for dinner.. recipe can be found here.

while dinner was cooking, i made a FOURTH batch of my latest addiction: protein cereal.

after trying out mama pea’s homemade version of cinnamon toast crunch cereal, i had the itch to experiment. i love adding protein powder to my baking adventures, so i decided to try it out on the cereal recipe.

i started last night and experimented with various types of powders and different combinations of fat (earth balance, peanut butter, coconut oil, etc.). the experimenting continued into today and i made a couple different batches.  i ultimately came out with, what i think, is a great recipe for protein packed cereal.

oh, and you better believe it is peanut butter filled.. in honor of the national holiday, of course!

IMG_8969

peanut butter chocolate protein cereal.

adapted from mama pea’s original recipe

  • 1/2 cup garbanzo bean flour (i used bob’s red mill)
  • 1/4 cup peanut flour (i used trader joe’s)
  • 1/3 cup EAS vanilla premium protein powder (this is a blend of whey, soy & casein protein)
  • 1-2 TB unsweetened cocoa powder (depending on how chocolaty you want it)
  • a couple pinches of salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 TB coconut oil
  • 1 TB natural peanut butter
  • organic cane sugar for sprinkling (optional)

*note: i think the type of protein powder will make or break the recipe. i tried it with pure soy protein powder and it was a flop. feel free to experiment with your own kinds of powder and let me know how they work!

directions:

combine flours, powders and salt in a bowl.

IMG_8950

add water and mix well before adding coconut oil and peanut butter.

IMG_8957

line an 11” x 17” rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. pour contents of bowl onto pan.  to be honest, it makes a tad too much batter.. so i didn’t use it all. probably all but 1/4 cup. after a few experiments, i realized it is best to have the layer of batter suuuper thin, so instead of changing the measurements of everything, i just didn’t use all the batter.

IMG_8960

spread the mixture to the edges and corners of the pan. sprinkle with a bit of sugar, if desired. bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes.

when it is done baking, the edges will be curled up and the cereal sheet will be crisp. it might be a tad soft in the middle, but that is just because the batter was a little too thick. no big deal. just keep following the steps!

IMG_8963IMG_8961

grab a pizza cutter or a knife and cut the cereal into small squares.

IMG_8964IMG_8965

if the middle pieces are still a little soft, go ahead and pop them back into the oven for a few minutes so they can crisp up.

or, if you are like my second batch, you spread the batter a little too thin and baked it for a tad too long, and when you try to cut it it will crumble like this:

IMG_8966

don’t worry if that’s what happens. it will taste the same and actually it is even better when it is ultra crunchy! and perfect squares are overrated, right?

once your cereal has cooled (assuming you didn’t eat it all straight from the pan) you can put it in a bowl and top it with your favorite kind of milk.

IMG_8970

it also stores really well.. but i can’t tell you for how long, because it won’t last more than 24 hours in this house.

enjoy!

nutrition information per serving (one serving is 1/4 of the batch):

image

you may think it is high in fat.. yes, it is.. but remember: it’s good fat! the fat comes from coconut oil and peanut butter.

i can’t wait to make other flavors of protein cereal. stay tuned.. this could be happening very regularly.

move over, kashi go lean, there’s a new protein cereal in town.. it is cheaper, it is delicious and it’s from scratch.

Q~

if you ate peanut butter today: how did you eat it? what kind/brand was it?

xo. janetha g.

58 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 9:56 pm

    Today was national everything day and I missed it all. Tomorrow I’ll have to eat pancakes with pb, lol.

    I like the idea of homemade protein cereal!

  2. March 1, 2011 9:58 pm

    I wish I worked with you! You are always bringing in such yummy treats! PB cookies are my 3rd favorite. Snickerdoodles being 1st, oatmeal choc chip being 2nd.

    I’ve got to try making that cereal. YUM!

    No pb for me today. I forgot!

  3. March 1, 2011 10:04 pm

    Love me some peanut butter! Yum, yum!

    I used to LOVE The Office. My husband and I still watch, but I don’t think it’s as good anymore. Not sure how much longer we will continue to watch.

  4. jackie permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:19 pm

    i made me some peanut butter with white chocolate and pretzels! it was tasty but not as good as the $10 jar from spread…. working on perfecting it.

    cereal looks amazing! going to try it asap.

    where are you getting mighty maple around here? they used to sell it at the smiths by me but now they only have the raisin one.

    love the office. one of my favorite comedies ever. i also love modern family and arrested development. if you haven’t watched either of those ones you should start. hilarious!

    • March 1, 2011 10:47 pm

      i haven’t watched either of those! i don’t watch a lot of TV but i have heard those are good. mighty maple is at all whole foods locations and at sunflower market!

  5. March 1, 2011 10:49 pm

    I did not have any PB today (sad) but the kind we currently have in our fridge is a huge jar of Maranatha Organic Crunchy PB. You’re so sweet to set out cookies!

  6. March 1, 2011 10:54 pm

    I ate a peanut butter chocolate chip larabar to celebrate! I want to work in your office so I can have some freshly baked cookies! ;)

    Love the office! I just got a legal pad from Target that says ‘That’s what she said!’ haha My family is crazy with the saying and when we’re together we literally can’t say anything that even almost applies!

  7. Ciria permalink
    March 1, 2011 10:58 pm

    I loved the idea of making your own protein cereal, plus it looks absolutely delicious!!
    By the way, how do you get the nutrition facts of something that you make from scratch? I’m dying to know, I always struggle with that.

    • March 2, 2011 1:02 pm

      I use the recipe creator on thedailyplate.com and it spits out a label!

  8. March 1, 2011 11:21 pm

    Damn… I love your spin on the cereal. I’ve gotta get my act together and make some of this stuff!!! I eat peanut butter every day… today it was stuffed in dates.

  9. March 1, 2011 11:25 pm

    Thank you for posting this recipe! I wasn’t going to go back through our texts to write it down :)

  10. March 2, 2011 12:19 am

    oh damn, yummy. i’m only just getting into peanut butter & those cookies, yum!

  11. March 2, 2011 4:09 am

    i can’t believe your pb cookies only have three main ingredients! that’s fantastic! and they look wonderful. now that is my kind of recipe – and i like that you can sub in options.
    thanks for experimenting with the protein cereal recipes so that we don’t have to! THAT looks wonderful, too!
    i love kraft all natural pb – kept in the cupboard so that it’s runny. in the states, i found naturally more pb and THAT is my ultimate fave, but cannot get in canada. i also love the maranatha crunchy pb. yes, i love pb to pieces!!!
    have a great wednesday! hope you enjoyed your tv time with marshall!

  12. March 2, 2011 4:27 am

    Ow! What an easy PB cookie recipe. I’m going to have to try this sometime soon. Maybe with AB? I’m a little obsessed with AB lately. And the thought of pumpkin mac & cheese makes me hungry :) Glad your protein cereal experiment turned out well- how fun. Josh and I had AB noodles & veggies for dinner last night….its not peanut butter…but its nut butter, so I’m counting it ;) Enjoy your day!

  13. March 2, 2011 4:30 am

    Love peanut butter! I had some white chocolate wonderful yesterday.

  14. March 2, 2011 4:38 am

    Amen for National PB day! I’m a little bummed I found out so late though or else I would have tried to incorporate it into every meal. That’s okay, in honor, I immediately rushed into the kitchen and took a finger lick from the Mighty Maple! :)

  15. March 2, 2011 4:46 am

    Wow I LOVE the protein packed cereal idea! I sooooooooooooooooooo am going to have to make this yummyness!! Love you! U rock! U know this ; )

  16. March 2, 2011 4:47 am

    I think I ate like half a jar. LOL.

  17. March 2, 2011 4:55 am

    I had PB&Co’s Dark Chocolate Dreams yesterday :)

  18. March 2, 2011 4:59 am

    I feel like such a bad PB lover – I didn’t even know yesterday was National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day! That’s okay, I’ll make sure to have a few tbsps. to make up for it! ;]

  19. March 2, 2011 5:33 am

    I did, I did!! It was my own homemade peanut butter!!

  20. March 2, 2011 5:41 am

    I love peanut butter too! I ate some peanut flour paste if that counts?
    This recreation of Mama Pea’s recipe is amazing and I actually have all of the ingredients on hand! :)

  21. March 2, 2011 5:57 am

    I don’t think I ate peanut butter yesterday, but I currently have Trader Joe’s Valencia Almond Butter and some sort of Nuttzo butter in my house.

  22. March 2, 2011 6:05 am

    I love peanut butter! I had a pb&j sandwich for lunch. My peanut butter yesterday was Skippy Natural. So good! :)

  23. March 2, 2011 6:06 am

    Ahhhhh, HERO! I’ve actually been wondering about making my own cereal. Holy crap, I don’t think there could have been a better recipe to get me started!

  24. March 2, 2011 6:08 am

    I ate White Chocolate Wonderful yesterday on Van’s WW waffles with banana, Greek yogurt, strawberries and Chia seeds. I die!

    Today I had overnight oats and I didn’t use PB, but I did use my homemade raw coconut almond butter. Your cereal looks amazing!

  25. March 2, 2011 6:11 am

    the only thing peanut butter i had was half of a Snickers peanut butter candy bar…’twas alright, but nothing like a straight spoonful of peanut butter from the jar ;)

  26. March 2, 2011 6:22 am

    Oh my gosh, those cookies look amazing! It may sound weird, but I think my favourite thing about PB cookies is the fork-marks that are always on top – so cute :)

    My favourite regular PB is MaraNatha smooth natural, but I’m also a huge White Chocolate Wonderful fan <3

  27. March 2, 2011 6:39 am

    Oh that cereal sounds fantastic! What if you can’t get your hands on PB flour though :-( I did indeed have some PB with my oatmeal. It was Natural Balance chunky (because the hubs can’t read and keeps getting chunky not creamy).

  28. March 2, 2011 6:40 am

    I love how simple your cookie recipe is. Three ingredients?! I’m on it. Thanks.

  29. March 2, 2011 7:08 am

    yesterday i ate pb & co’s dark chocolate dreams in my breakfast! mmm, so good!

    that’s great that marshall is coming to the gym with you now. couples who sweat together, stay together. ;)

  30. March 2, 2011 7:15 am

    As I was reading this post, I was eating the exact same breakfast; greek yogurt, kashi golean cereal, and a big scoop of peanut butter! Yum!

    I’m going to have to give the protein cereal a shot. I tried Ashley’s cracker recipe last night and I found that the middle pieces were not as crunchy as the rest. So I definitely want to try again and I’ll have to make sure the batter is super thin like you suggested :-)

  31. March 2, 2011 7:50 am

    i love how simple that cookie recipe is!

  32. March 2, 2011 8:15 am

    Wow, the cereal looks AMAZING! I am itching to make my own now!!

    I eat peanut butter straight from the jar!! Hehe, it’s pretty much the best way :)

  33. March 2, 2011 8:17 am

    Who doesn’t love pb?! I celebrate pb day everyday ;) Yesterday I mixed it with cottage cheese, yogurt, bloobs, and cocoa almonds. Yum!

  34. movesnmunchies permalink
    March 2, 2011 8:42 am

    PB CEREAL!!!!! AHHH LOVE THIS

  35. March 2, 2011 9:01 am

    I’ve never tried using garbanzo flour before. I love the protein in this recipe. Hopefully there is garbanzo beans in the bulk aisle at Wholefoods.

    I am thinking of adding coconut extract and chocolate shavings to mix in the cereal before I bake it. I hope it works.

    Thanks for the recipe

  36. March 2, 2011 9:29 am

    The first thing I thought of when I saw that recipe was that I wanted to add protein to it!!

  37. March 2, 2011 9:44 am

    I love that pb cookie recipe–perfect for making treats at the last minute on Sunday morning before church when I forget it’s my turn to teach the lesson ;) Love that mac n cheese too. It’s SO good! Now I will have to try that cereal. We are twins. I think I may try it with all peanut flour though b/c I am too lazy to go buy garbanzo bean flour. Lay-z!

  38. Kate permalink
    March 2, 2011 10:37 am

    I had an English Muffin with Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter and 4 oz milk. Yum!! Thank you for talking about all your awesome peanut butter flavors – I branched out and tried DCD and LOOOOOOOOVE it! Next up to try: Mighty Maple.

  39. March 2, 2011 10:44 am

    Happy National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day! I’ll be eating lots of PB tonight! :-)

  40. March 2, 2011 11:13 am

    Oh man, I have everything needed for this recipe! I’m dying; I wanna make it now. I wonder if it would work with a rice protein powder? that’s all I have. It’s worked fine when I’ve baked it other times?

    • March 2, 2011 1:02 pm

      I say try it! If it is not vanilla or chocolate flavored, you may want to add some sort of sweetener.. because my source of sweetener for the cereal was from the protein powder :) Let me know!

  41. March 2, 2011 11:51 am

    Oh I love the idea of that cereal! Protein packed, low carb, higher in fats- definitely my kind!

  42. March 2, 2011 12:45 pm

    Just wanted to say I love peanut butter. Plain and simple.

  43. March 2, 2011 1:16 pm

    i need some of that cereal… but i think it’d be dangerous ;) i had some creamy almond butter with sea salt from tj’s yeseterday… right off the spoon!

  44. March 2, 2011 6:05 pm

    I celebrated Peanut Butter Day in a savory way–with my Ginger Peanut Tofu Salad:)

  45. March 2, 2011 6:38 pm

    I love that you PB cookies and brought them to work! I totally want to do that! :D

    Peanut Butter is AMAZING! :D

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  46. March 2, 2011 8:00 pm

    I love your dedication to national peanut butter lovers day!
    I also had kashi cereal with banana and PB- Great minds think alike!
    Also, I was going to try the protein cereal but I dont have garbanzo bean flour, can I use regular flour or whole wheat flour?
    thanks for the help!

    • March 3, 2011 10:14 am

      I have heard that the garbanzo flour is needed for the specific texture, but I say try it out with another and let us know how it is!

  47. March 2, 2011 8:31 pm

    Love you for many reasons, but especially b/c you give stats for number nerds like me. LOVE the stats on those. So it’s a crunchy cereal- hmmm. fun stuff!

  48. March 3, 2011 9:35 pm

    Oh my gosh…Genius! I just hope I have enough protein powder to make these babies tomorrow!

    That cookie recipe can’t be beat! The best method for creamy doughy cookies!

    I celebrated PB Day with some extra fluffy PB&J pancakes! Sooooo good!

  49. March 21, 2011 11:58 am

    Oh yum! I must try making this pb protein cereal! :)
    <3

Trackbacks

  1. BFD. « meals & moves
  2. Five Favorites Friday – 3/4/11 « A Voracious Appetite
  3. the peculiar coconut | The Healthy Everythingtarian
  4. OMG. Peanut Butter Cookies.
  5. Peanuuuut, Peanut Butter… « A Voracious Appetite

Leave a comment