Skip to content

video post!

February 21, 2011

hey guys! i want to welcome those of you who came over from carrots’n’cake. thanks for coming! hope you stay awhile.  it’s fun over here. promise.  i am actually in chicago right now, so my regular posting schedule is all out of whack, but i assure you things will be back to normal soon. while you are waiting for me to get back into town, feel free to check out my about page to see what this little blog is all about.

today is actually my last day in chicago. sad to go, but excited to get home to see marshall & the pups.

i have a video for you today! it is basically a post for you to hear how i sound when i speak. you know, dialects, accents, all that.

i first saw this on lisa’s blog and then again on several other blogs. i had been meaning to do it myself, and i finally did!

basically, i rattle off a list of words in the first part. in the second part, i answer some random questions to give you an idea of terms i use for different things.

here are the words:

Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

and here are the questions:

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

enjoy!

well. that was fantastic. i am a goon.

i think the whole concept of accents are crazy. for instance: when i lived in london, i loved all the british accents i was surrounded by.. and my british friends loved my american accent. i always tried to fathom how an “american accent” sounded to THEIR ears.. but it’s just to hard to imagine that. and, in turn, it’s so hard to think of their british accents the way they hear them: no accent at all.

wow, did i lose you there? i think i lost myself. i hope you get what i was trying to say. if not, disregard and just answer my questions.

see you tomorrow! hope your monday is all you hoped for and more!

Qs~

1. what words on the list do you pronounce differently than me?

2. what is your favorite accent (to listen to)? i love scandinavian accents.

xo. janetha g.

49 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 10:31 am

    Hi Janetha! I did stumble over here from Carrots n’ Cake and love it! I actually gave your blog a shout on in my post today on healthy eating. (I’ll have to watch this video when I get home from work as they won’t let me watch it here:). Have a safe flight home!

  2. February 21, 2011 10:35 am

    i love hearing you talk. Random posts are awesome! Your random thoughts are even more awesome.
    We talk the same by the way, every coupon!! I mean Q-oupon!

  3. February 21, 2011 10:35 am

    LOL that was awesome!! You seriously cracked me up SEVERAL times. I also loved the “holy cow that’s thunder” and your face when you heard it. :P I think you & I say most of the words the same way, but I do say coupon the way you don’t like it! And I was equally confused about what some of the alternatives would be to things such as “RAIN!” I’m from San Diego and I say a lot of the same things you do – gonna, hey guys, etc. – maybe it’s just a West coast thing?! In regards to accents I love – nothing is sexier than a british accent on a hot man! hehe ;)

  4. February 21, 2011 10:41 am

    loved the video! I didn’t hear an accent at all in your voice, compared to how i talk. we say like all those words the same, and the thing about not pronouncing the “t” in some words, i do that too haha weird.
    loved seeing the puppers :) they are cute children

  5. February 21, 2011 10:43 am

    I looooooooooooooooove you!!!! You’re the cutest EVER. I can’t stand the pronunciation coo-pon either. I also DESPITE spiders, but I won’t allow mouse traps either. Alex calls the remote “the mote” too!! And thanks for the link love, darlin’! Happy Monday! xo

  6. Liz @ Blog is the New Black permalink
    February 21, 2011 10:48 am

    Love hearing your voice! I say “bagel” weird and a lot of other words that have nothing to do with my accent!

  7. February 21, 2011 10:51 am

    I was just in chicago myself! I love it there, but glad to be home. My favorite accent is british and my friends love it when I talk with it haha. i might have to do a video blog with my accent sometime haha

  8. February 21, 2011 10:54 am

    Accent blogs are bomb. I’m from SC and I did one. It was really fun hearing what you sound like after reading your blog for quite some time!
    http://healthyteacherblog.com/2011/02/13/accent-vlog-southern-style/

  9. February 21, 2011 10:56 am

    I loooooove Australian accents ;) And you say kombucha completely different than me! I think I say it differently than most people though cause of the whole Japanese thing. Oh, and Canadians do the dropping the t thing too, like everyone called Toronto “Torono” :)

  10. February 21, 2011 10:58 am

    Somehow, in the last 6 months, I picked up a slight Canadian accent. I tend to absorb the way people talk, which was hilarious when I lived in Ohio. I’m not sure who gave me the ooooh instead of owwww Canadian thing, but my husband finds it hilarious.

    Otherwise, I talk normal, like all the people you see on TV. California sets the speech standards these days, folks.

  11. February 21, 2011 11:33 am

    You are so cute. and I love your hair :)

  12. February 21, 2011 11:48 am

    you sound so different than what i imagined you would sound like! we say most words the same, except for aunt – you said ant and that is NOT how i say it! :)

    my favorite accents are australian and british!

  13. February 21, 2011 11:56 am

    LOVE french accents. My husband better hope we never have a french neighbor..j/k…sorta

  14. February 21, 2011 12:16 pm

    haha “I call that snow” you never fail to put a smile on my face! Video posts are great because I love hearing blogger’s voices. Thanks for the post!

  15. February 21, 2011 12:18 pm

    soo strange actually hearing you talk!
    and being british I lovee american boys! they talk soo nice and smooth.

    a bubbly carbonated drink is called a fizzy drink :)
    gym shoes are trainners,
    we use a trolley to carry ‘groceries’ also just called food shopping ha,
    change the TV with a clicker..
    I find it fasinating aswell how we say tuna ‘choona’ and vase ‘varse’,
    americans always say it right! haha

  16. movesnmunchies permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:27 pm

    i LOVE australian accents!! ahah we say route and caramel differently!

  17. JessieBee permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:33 pm

    Hello! There are a couple words I say differently… Aunt and route… But the questions are where I found the most differences. Kids “TP” houses… I wear my “sneakers” to the gym… I use a “grocery cart” at the supermarket and it’s a “sun shower” when the sun is out during a rain storm :-) I’m from Mass but I pronounce my R’s which confuses people, because they can’t tell where I’m from, but I guess I say “Bahston” instead of Boston which has given me away before.

  18. momma b permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:39 pm

    well if you aren’t just the cutest videoer ever (new word)! Loved seeing and hearing you, miss you…. travel safe!
    xoxoxo

  19. lowandbhold permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:46 pm

    Your the cutest. I pronounce coupon the same way. And also say “gonna” a lot. Can’t help it. I also say “fixin to” it’s so redneck.

  20. February 21, 2011 12:55 pm

    I love british accents.

  21. February 21, 2011 1:02 pm

    Hola to you as well!

    I love New England, NY and English accents. I live in Charlotte and cannot stand southern accents on the men here, it drives me nuts and is a turn off to me.

  22. February 21, 2011 1:41 pm

    Love the video, and Ive seen the accent vlogs all over but I am too shy? or self-conscious? I dont know…to do one! Crazy but true :) But I love yours!

    Glad that Chicago has been fun and safe travels home.

    I used to live in the South and some of the accents there were so thick that I couldn’t even make out what they were saying. I love British accents!

  23. Nicole C permalink
    February 21, 2011 2:21 pm

    So I don’t write on my own blog but I read yours. High five to you!

    I don’t pronounce words differently but I will say thank you for pointing out that I also don’t pronouce T’s. Crap. I do remember a long while back our mutual friend Tyler pointed out that I said whipped cream and whup cream.

    I could listen to an Irish accent forever. I think it just brings back good memories.

    Here one you may or may not know: Pittsburgh accents. I remember Ben saying once ‘When are Yinz is going to red up the house’. It was like alien talk to me. That means when are you going to clean the house, or ready it up for. Oh and a vacuum to him is a sweeper.

  24. February 21, 2011 2:25 pm

    Coming over from Tina’s blog. Fun video. And I ADORE your dogs! We used to have a Basset Hound (miss him terribly) and are looking at getting some pups probably within the next year or so. We keep going back and forth on what breed but I’m almost 99% sure they will be Basset Hounds.

    What brought you to Chicago? I live about an hour or so away in the NW burbs.

    Nice to meet you!

    • February 22, 2011 4:37 pm

      Ah! If you get some little bassett pups, you MUST send me photos :)

      I was in Chicago visiting a friend. WOW, I loved it!

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  25. February 21, 2011 3:19 pm

    Your so cute! love your hair! and your accent!
    You sound different than what I expected but I really reeally like it!

  26. February 21, 2011 3:30 pm

    haha you are so darn cute! i say CARAAAAMEL…not CAR-MEL :)

  27. Ali permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:23 pm

    It might be a midwest thing, but I call it TP (teepeeing), when referring to toilet papering a house. Also, pop instead of soda! I went to a southern university for a conference and at least 6 people asked me to repeat myself when I asked the waiter “what kind of pop do you have?” They thought it was the funniest thing. And I call “potato bugs” pill mills. I have no idea why.

    I love italian accents–they sound so full of life and happiness!

  28. February 21, 2011 4:24 pm

    aaaaaahhhhh, you sound different. it’s ok, i still love you.

    out of all the accent vlogs, your voice is different than i imagined.

  29. February 21, 2011 4:47 pm

    I don’t think you have a heavy accent at all. I drop “t”s, too.

  30. February 21, 2011 5:07 pm

    I love random posts! Enjoy Chicago! :D

  31. February 21, 2011 5:42 pm

    haha you are too cute! I love the random thunder comment. :)

  32. February 21, 2011 5:50 pm

    You are so funny!! Love your humor! Glad to put a voice to the name!!

  33. krobb permalink
    February 21, 2011 6:21 pm

    i’d never even heard of a potato bug. and i’d say TP but you’ve already been told that. and i say coupon like you but MANaise! and i’d rather you NOT say your T’s than OVER annunciate them. my daughter’s name is natalie and other parents will say naT uh lee – drives me crazy. we’re not deaf, dumb OR foreign. :) it’s fun hearing how bloggers actually talk and your gestures too. cute!

  34. February 21, 2011 6:37 pm

    You are so cute and funny :) Loved the video. And we are not fans of spiders either! Hope you have fun on your trip.

  35. February 21, 2011 7:21 pm

    haha I love this post! Randomness is awesome, lol I’m extremely random so its nice to know others are too!

  36. February 21, 2011 8:13 pm

    I love that you did the accent vlog! I don’t know why, but you sound exactly how I thought you would! I totally say “cue-pon” and not “coo-pon” but I am guilty as charged when it comes to “man-aise”! I also say “gunna” ALL the fricking time…soooo lazy!

    You are so cute and funny and I love that we got to see Penny and Randy!

    Hope you’re enjoying Chicago!

  37. Ashley permalink
    February 21, 2011 9:41 pm

    THANK YOU for not saying caramel like a normal person and not the retard on the McDonalds commercial.

    Just like PEEEcan. Ugh. Nails on a flipping chalkboard!

  38. February 21, 2011 9:55 pm

    This was such a cute video, especially the intro :) I say again, aunt and coupon differently but I feel the same about mayo-naise! (though I guess I don’t say or use it often)
    Can’t wait to hear your Chi recap!

  39. February 21, 2011 11:10 pm

    This video reminded me how much I miss you!
    I’m still trying to get the guts to do a video post but I’m so shy about my voice and the way I talk! Hope you having a blast in the windy city! Actually, I know you are!

  40. February 22, 2011 6:02 am

    ha! you’re so cute :) i think i say all of the same words the same way you do but you still definitely have a different accent than me…EXCEPT for it’s a roly poly…and i call all carbonated drinks Coke :) i feel like i would make my accent different if i did this video!

    i love my Southern accents, but Australian and South African ones are pretty neat-o too!

  41. February 22, 2011 6:18 am

    This is a cute video! I say coupon like how you do and I always get made fun of for it.

    I love British or southern accents! I wish I had an accent. :)

  42. Carla in Sydney permalink
    February 22, 2011 3:49 pm

    I am Australian and I LOVE American accents….from any part of the US really. It reminds me of the awesome trips I have had there and how much I would love to be able to live in your country. Whenever I am there, I need to use different words so that people know what I am talking about. For example, I call a bubbly carbonated drink a “soft drink” but when I am over there I call it a “soda”. One I always forget is that what you would call a Sprite or a 7 Up, we just call “lemonade”. I got caught a few times ordering lemonade and ended up with a traditional lemon squash drink instead of a Sprite/7 Up!

  43. February 22, 2011 6:27 pm

    Gah!!! I do the T thing too! I always say “winner” instead of “win-Ter” and people always laugh at me. My cousin has a daughter named Payton and I never say the T, it’s so hard to correct. Oh and I think your pronunciation of mayonaise is so original/wacky. I have never heard it like that before.

  44. Ash permalink
    February 22, 2011 6:41 pm

    LOL i love your video!

    You don’t sound at all like I thought you would though!

  45. February 22, 2011 6:51 pm

    You’re so cute! I think I might copy this idea and do this for my bloggie in the next couple of days :) Its a fun idea!

  46. elise permalink
    February 22, 2011 8:16 pm

    some of these were very confusing. like, how many ways are there to pronounce “fire” ??? i disagree with mayo and coupon, otherwise we’re right in line with each other. i cant even remember how i say “data” – but im def back and forth with “sure.”

  47. stavvie permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:09 am

    Being South African (and previously a British colony) we use a lot of British words, its a ‘shopping trolley’, a cart is something you load up with potatoes and get a horse to pull :-). Our pronunciation is kinda a mix between British and Australian

    Carbonated drinks are ‘colddrinks’, if you wanted to be more specific you would add ‘fizzy’.

    Gym shoes are ‘tekkies’, pronounced TACK-ies

    Laughed out loud at your ‘I call it rain’ comment. It’s called a monkey’s wedding! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunshower

  48. February 24, 2011 8:56 pm

    I think it’s pretty funny that you said leaving the t’s off of words is a Utah thing. I am from New Jersey and all my friends who grew up here too don’t pronounce t’s, so I totally thought it was a Jersey thing. My mom is from Europe (with English as her second language) and she pronounces her t’s, and my dad is from Chicago and he does too. But I, being born and raised here, don’t. So maybe it’s a Jersey&Utah thing?

Leave a comment