Skip to content

day uno.

February 5, 2011

i need to start recapping my vacation before i forget what i did! short term memory here, folks.

we left for the airport early, early saturday morning. i was working off a whopping 3 hours of sleep. i ate a huge bowl of shredded spoonfuls+banana+skim milk before hitting the road, in hopes it would hold me over.

the sunrise from the airplane was UNREAL. the clouds looked like a blanket of cotton in the sky. i was really impressed with the sights.. thanks for giving me the window seat, marshall.

mexico 023mexico 015

we had a layover in phoenix and then on the second flight i snacked on an apple + justin’s almond butter, some annie’s cracker+pretzel snack mix and a few dried apple rings.

mexico 037mexico 031

happy travelers.

mexico 007

after nearly 12 hours of traveling—a car, an airplane, another airplane and a shuttle bus—we arrived at our resort!

mexico 043

by the way, we were in playa del carmen, mexico and stayed at the iberostar tucan resort.

the room was pretty decent! i had been to this resort once before (two years ago) so i knew what to expect.

IMG_7088IMG_7085

it was almost dark by the time we arrived the resort, but we did take a walk on the beach and capture some nice photos as the sun went down.

IMG_7093IMG_7100IMG_7089IMG_7092IMG_7097

we hadn’t eaten an actual meal all day, so we journeyed to the good ol’ buffet for the first of many all-inclusive meals.

for the record.. all inclusive meals are not my thing. i would much rather spend my vacation eating at local restaurants and enjoying lots of different cuisine. all inclusive is just so… blah. BUT, it is free, so we did eat a lot of the resort food.

starting with this.

IMG_7111

i typically ate a big huge salad with all the veggies available.. and this plate had some random potatoes and fish. i never was quite sure what i was getting myself into when piling food onto my plate, but more often than not it tasted fine and i ate it. i wouldn’t say any of the resort food was earth shattering delicious, but it was good. i especially liked the caprese salad that i piled onto my green salad.. i went back for more of that basil-coated cheese.

IMG_7114

also, i had a welcome to mexico pina colada.

IMG_7110

after dinner, we checked out the entertainment for the night.. a magic show! i was skeptical, but it was actually really exciting and i was fooled by some of his crafty tricks. pulling birds out of thin air and even making a goose appear from out of nowhere. good job, magician.

by the time the show was over, i was literally falling asleep in my seat. we retired to the room for some MUCH needed ZZZZs.

day dos, coming soon!

Q~

have you been to mexico? what part? did you like it?

xo. janetha g.

56 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 11:29 pm

    I’ve been to Mazatlan for 2 weeks and Puerto Vallarta for 1. I like Mexico for the weather and the sandy beaches but I hate the beach peddlers and the dirty water.

  2. February 5, 2011 11:30 pm

    ooh i’m happy to see this re-cap so soon! i actually live in mexico, though sadly not on the coast. i moved to monterrey (northeastern mexico, surrounded by mountains) in august and haven’t even been to a single beach yet!! ridiculous. for now i’ll live vicariously through this trip of yours.

  3. February 5, 2011 11:43 pm

    1) How jealous am I??? (hint: very)
    2) I’m always skeptical of magicians, always trying to think about how they did it. But they always surprise me and outsmart me….although thats not difficult

  4. February 6, 2011 12:12 am

    I have been looking forward to the vacation recaps:) I always have to have the window seat on airplanes! I have been to Juarez (SCARY) and Cozumel for one day as a port stop on a cruise! It was beautiful!! I agree on the food part, I would much rather spend money eating at unique places while vacationing (we mainly do cruises) but we never do that because we are cheap and it is free to eat on the ship!! Can’t wait for more recaps!!!

  5. Nicole C permalink
    February 6, 2011 12:24 am

    I’ve never been to mexico and have no plans to ever go. Ben would rather walk with no shoes on a frozen ice tundra before going there. My dad has been a few times to cancun but hasn’t raved about it like he does maui.

  6. movesnmunchies permalink
    February 6, 2011 1:20 am

    ahh i have never been! it already lookks gorgeous though and i can imagine how much fun it must have been!!

  7. February 6, 2011 1:26 am

    I’ve been to Zacatecas, where my parents are from and also to Mexico DF!

  8. February 6, 2011 2:44 am

    Yay! A recap so soon! I’m super excited to read.

    I loooove Mexico, but I’ve never been to the beachy/resort areas. I’ve only been to border cities. I think the beach looks a lot better. :)

  9. February 6, 2011 3:32 am

    Have i been to mexico?
    Yes probably 25+ times. Spring break, family vacays, yoga retreats.

    Cancun, Cozumel, Playa del Camen, Maya Tulum, Cabo, and I live 10 mins from the Mexico border so back in the day would park here, walk across, taxi it thru Tijuna and head on down to Rosarito for some party time!

    And then walk back over in the US when the night was over.

    Love your vacay pics and so glad you’re back!

  10. February 6, 2011 4:11 am

    welcome home, janetha! missed you! :)
    can’t wait to hear about your week…just a blast to get away on vacation, i’m sure.
    i’ve never been to mexico, but have done all inclusives (aruba) and i am with you on the food – usually bland, but as you say, free, so why not (plus, it’s only a week!).
    magician shows are fun! don’t know how they do the tricks, but i am always fooled!
    happy super bowl sunday!

  11. February 6, 2011 4:21 am

    I am sitting here freezing covered with a fleece blanket and dog next to me to keep me warm and I feel like your pictures of the beach are warming me up!

    I love the idea of all inclusive b/c I am a frugal gal but like you, want to go out and explore the area I’m in, local flavor, etc. I’ve been to Cancun for spring break in college-meh. Then I went to a resort about an hour north of Puerta Vallarta two yrs ago–Costa Azul. It was a great deal $100 a night-that includes room, food, beer and activities. Plus I have enough frequent flier miles to get a free first class flight.

    I think I am going to look up vacations in the next few minutes. I’m loooooong overdue.

  12. February 6, 2011 4:22 am

    First of all, I’m so glad you’re home! I missed you like whoa! I’ve never been to Mexico, but I’ve always wanted to go. The sunset looks amazing in your pics!

  13. February 6, 2011 4:55 am

    I have been to Mexico twice – once for our honeymoon and once for a 1-year anniversary trip. We went to Playa del Carmen both times. We loved both resorts we stayed at! I’m hoping to book another trip to Mexico this spring for a little QT time with hubby! Not sure if we will go back to Playa del Carmen or try another destination?

  14. February 6, 2011 5:32 am

    I actually have never been to Mexico! I hope to go one day ; )

    The pics are great, I like how you have your blog name on your pics now too, god idea ; )

    Mmmmmmmm Pina Colada, I swear I can only drink those if I am on vacation on a beach somewhere, they are just meant for that ; )

    Magic shows are fun when they are good, glad the one you saw was cool!

    Cant wait for day 2 recap! love ya! xoxo Go Packers for Marshall!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. February 6, 2011 5:49 am

    I feel the same way about the food on a Cruise. I’m not sure why people go CRAZY over it. Maybe because it’s just all you can eat? To me, it’s just average and I would definitely rather shell out big bucks for the BEST food on vacations.

    At least the alcohol is free! Now that is worth it. :)

  16. February 6, 2011 5:59 am

    traveling wipes me out! I bet you guys slept like babies, especially after a pina colada. BEAUNO!!

  17. February 6, 2011 6:17 am

    Loved the pics!
    I’ve been to Mexico the last 4 years… Cancun, near Tulum, and Puerto Adventurous.

    However, due to the safety issues emerging.. I sadly won’t be going back for a while..

    Good luck today, from the Steel City.

  18. February 6, 2011 6:21 am

    I agree on all inclusive eats….but not having to pay extra always wins out.

  19. February 6, 2011 6:37 am

    Free food is always a plus ;)

  20. February 6, 2011 7:34 am

    Happy to see you are back! Looks like a beautiful trip. I wish I could get away from this weather here in Indiana!

  21. February 6, 2011 7:36 am

    I went to Cancun in 2009. We went in the off season so it wasn’t full of Spring Breakers. It was fun, but I thought the food at our resort was gross.

  22. February 6, 2011 7:42 am

    Aww:) I’m so happy you guys got to get away! :)
    This makes me SO excited for our trip to the Dominican Republic next month!!

  23. February 6, 2011 7:47 am

    WOW. The beach is beautiful! So is your hotel room!
    Can’t wait until the other recaps!

  24. February 6, 2011 7:49 am

    Sounds like so much fun already! I’ve been to Mexico several times, and I loved visiting Playa del Carmen. I think my favorite place in Mexico, though, is this tiny town called Todos Santos where they claim the original Hotel California is! It’s a tiny, hippie town way out in the desert and it’s gorgeous. I’m so glad you’re recapping so soon!

  25. February 6, 2011 7:59 am

    I have never been to Mexico, but I am looking forward to all of your recaps! :)

  26. February 6, 2011 8:18 am

    I’ve only been to cabo for like, major stereotypical cabo spring break :D It was really fun, but basically EXACTLY what you expect (ie: kind of sketch) so if i went again, it would be to a nice resort to relax, SATC style…rather than crazy college style. But I’m stuck in the snow so I don’t really want to talk about it :D

  27. February 6, 2011 8:25 am

    I’ve never been to Mexico…I’ve never been anywhere really, but I plan on changing that as soon as possible! I love traveling! I love the pic of the lifesaver…very artsy fartsy! ;)

  28. February 6, 2011 8:35 am

    I went to Mexico once while I was in high school, it was so much fun. I think the best part was the sun (obviously) but also learning about the different culture.I just remember little kids selling gum everywhere. It was a great vacation- I would give anything to be on that beach right now!

    Happy superbowl sunday- go pack go!

  29. lowandbhold permalink
    February 6, 2011 8:36 am

    I’ve been to Mexico three times – Cancun, Cabo, and Cozumel. I’m going back again this summer for a friend’s wedding.

    Looks like a great first day. I love sunrises and sunsets!

  30. February 6, 2011 8:38 am

    i am so jealous of your trip…I need to get out of this winter weather for a bit! i’ve been to Puebla, Mexico which is about 2 hours from Mexico City…never to a resort-y area though. i loved it! the culture was amazing :)

  31. February 6, 2011 8:46 am

    We just got back from Mexico 2 weeks ago, we actually stayed at the other Iberostar in Rivera Maya (the Del Mar/Paraiso Beach). I’m interested to see what you think of that resort, but I will have to agree, resort food can be pretty blah!

    I hope the weather was better for you guys than it was for us!

  32. thedelicateplace permalink
    February 6, 2011 9:23 am

    i’ve been to mexico–once to cozumel. it was HOT haha and dry. i liked it! but next time, i’d prefer to spend my time at a resort of some sort. (oooo rhyming!). i’m so jealous of those sandy pictures. what i would give to feel that between my toes right now! gah i hate winter!

  33. February 6, 2011 10:28 am

    I went to Cozumel as the third stop on my honeymoon cruise with my ex-husband. We did a Jeep offroading tour where we got to feed some crocodiles, visit a private beach, tour a lighthouse, check out some Mayan ruins, and finally take the Jeeps on some serious offroading… pretty bitchin’ time, I must say. I love your vacation recap photos… I am totally living vicariously through you! xo

  34. February 6, 2011 11:09 am

    Love your blue shirt + scarf! Your eyes really pop- so pretty :)
    Glad you guys made it back safely. Looks like the first day was pretty fun…after such a long time traveling.
    Good to have you back :)

  35. February 6, 2011 11:28 am

    WELCOME HOME!! :)

    i’ve only been to Mexico once and it was bc of a weekend cruise I was on… we stopped at a port city… it was ok. I’d love to go to a resort sometime though ;)

  36. February 6, 2011 11:40 am

    I may be a dork, but I love a good magic show.

  37. February 6, 2011 12:01 pm

    I’ve only been to Cabo San Lucas but it was incredible. My favorite part was running on the beach early in the morning. There’s nothing more beautiful than watching an ocean sunrise.

  38. Dayna permalink
    February 6, 2011 12:08 pm

    I love Mexico! I’ve been four time, once to Mazatlan for six weeks, Cancun twice for two weeks and Puerto Vallarta for two weeks.

  39. February 6, 2011 12:09 pm

    i stayed in that exact resort!!! oh gosh the buffet food there…after about 4 days its hard ot look at there is SO much of it! but the hotel was perfect for a vacation and the beautiful beaches were the best part!!!

    I am so glad you two lovebirds had a great time!!!

  40. February 6, 2011 12:41 pm

    I missed yooou!

    Welcome home and I hope you two had a great time :)

    I’ve never been to Mexico but quite fancy checking it out.

  41. February 6, 2011 2:13 pm

    I stayed at that resort when I was there a few years ago too! I was wondering why that room looked so familiar!

  42. February 6, 2011 3:41 pm

    I have been to all-inclusives in Mexico a few times. I love not worrying about money, but the food is never very good:( They need to make a “local restaurant all-inclusive” resort!

  43. February 6, 2011 4:40 pm

    Never been to Mexico, although my aunt bought a condo and told me I could stay there whenever. I am thinking a trip to Mexico is somewhere in my foreseeable future! Love your pictures!

  44. Rachel permalink
    February 6, 2011 4:57 pm

    I have been to Akumal, Mexico and it was absolute PARADISE!! My favorite part was the ocean and beach (of course) snorkeling, the random friendly dogs and cats, margaritas and fish tacos. I hope to go back there again some day.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your trip (and see more pics from your trip). Welcome back.

    BTW, all of your guest bloggers were really good. Thanks.

  45. February 6, 2011 6:05 pm

    sunrises and sunsets out of airplanes are always so insanely cool. it’s like you think wow i’m so much closer to it up here then down there where you usually see it

    greenbayyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! if i marry aaron rodgers do you want to be my maid of honor?

    • February 6, 2011 6:28 pm

      haha YES, it’s a deal :) i love you. i just learned a little bit about football, maybe next season i will like it ;)

  46. February 7, 2011 6:10 am

    Hey! I read your first two recaps- sounds like a blast! We went to Riviera Maya for our honeymoon and LOVED it! I’m not usually for all inclusives either- but its so nice for a vacation. Now having to go anywhere or think about money is just awesome! You loved the ice cream cones, I love all of the tortilla chips ;)

  47. February 7, 2011 7:13 am

    2 years ago for our honeymoon we went to Grand Xcaret in Riviera Maya…also an all-inclusive. They had a bunch of themed restaurants so we were able to enjoy those instead of just the buffet every day. If we go back to the area though I definitely want to enjoy local cuisine more!

    Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your trip!

  48. February 7, 2011 12:32 pm

    I’ve never been to Mexico, minus swimming across the Rio Grande in Big Bend National park ;-)

    Gorgeous Pics! Glad ya’ll had fun

  49. February 7, 2011 2:23 pm

    When I was researching location for my destination wedding, I looked into this place. It was pretty nice.

    Did you see any weddings during your stay there? I wouldn’t be surprised if you did.

    We ended up deciding on another location but then, inclusive resorts in Mexico is really a great place to go to get the best bang for your buck.

  50. February 7, 2011 9:24 pm

    I’ve never been to Mexico, but it’s on my “list” for when the toddler gets a bit older! Beautiful photos!

  51. Jenny permalink
    February 9, 2011 1:16 pm

    I have been to Mexico twice. Once to Cancun with my sweetheart Grandma. She is all about the all inclusive tropical vacations and was generous enough to invite me to join her. My aunt was there too so it was a fun family girls trip. The second time was for a friends wedding in PLAYA DEL CARMA! We even stayed at an Iberostar too! Not the Tucan though, I think it was the Paraíso Maya. I recognize the beach loungers and umbrellas! All inclusive is nice for a large group, but I totally agree with you that I would rather venture off the resort and try out the local food.

Trackbacks

  1. day dos, part uno. « meals & moves
  2. day dos, part dos. « meals & moves
  3. day tres. « meals & moves

Leave a comment