Skip to content

the day.

December 28, 2010

IMG_4627

this was the ornament marshall & i bought for our tree this year. it is so fitting because we call each other “bear”!!

although we went to sleep around 1 AM, marshall and i were still up bright and early to open gifts we had for each other.

at 8:15 AM.

yes, that is “bright and early” for us. i know that many of you laugh and shake your head at that… but the facts are the facts! and gone are the days of waking up at 5:30 AM to see what santa brought for us. my poor parents, they sure were good sports when i was a kid.

we woke up to see that, indeed, santa had come!

IMG_4633

looks like santa left the grinch for marshall. how fitting ;)

santa filled our stockings with lots of goodies. penny and randy even had stockings of their own. it may sound silly, but opening my stocking is my favorite thing about christmas morning. i just like little odds and ends. this year was extra special because santa filled my stocking at my house and at my parents’ house.

i don’t really feel like posting details on what i got for christmas because i honestly don’t think you all want to hear it. but i will tell you the top 3 things marshall got me.

1. uggs

let me tell you something about me. i don’t have expensive taste. i could shop at forever 21 and target for the rest of my life and be content. i had brown sweater boots on my list.. just the cheapie knock off brand. when i opened these, i was so shocked! marshall said he knew i would like the knock off brand, but that i would REALLY like the real deal. he’s right. these are so much cushier and nice.. i guess you get what you pay for. but really, i never thought i’d own a pair of these, only because i never buy expensive clothes or shoes. however.. i am not complaining :)

image

2. an ice cream maker!!!!!!!

at long last. i can’t wait to make vanilla bean ice cream from scratch!

image

3. a zagg charger

this is something i NEEDED and didn’t even know it existed until christmas morning! my phone is always, always, ALWAYS going dead or is dead. (anyone else with a droid have that problem?) anyway, this handy little gadget holds a charge—you plug it in for awhile, it charges up, then you can take it in your purse and plug your phone or ipod into the box and it charges your device! no wall or outlet or car chargers necessary. how cool is that? i charged my phone at the movies sunday night.

image

after opening our gifts from each other (and giving the kids more bones than they could handle!) we headed up to my parents’ house for breakfast and gift giving.

my mom made an ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS breakfast casserole. seriously, it was amazing.

IMG_4641

it had shredded red potatoes, diced bell peppers, diced red onion, diced ham, shredded cheese, eggs and milk.

IMG_4646

i topped mine with salsa and sour cream.

IMG_4650

after breakfast, my siblings and their families came up and we opened gifts with my parents.

there were some surprised faces and lots of laughs. here are a few candid shots…

IMG_4676

my dad got my mom a brown carhartt jacket…

IMG_4678

and guess what my mom got my dad?

IMG_4693

haha.. YEP, a brown carhartt jacket!

IMG_4694

i had told my mom about a vintage diet book (from the 60’s!) that i had seen at a consignment store. she ended up going to the store and buying it for me. it was a fun and funny surprise.

IMG_4665

i mentioned in my last post that i got marshall a painting from an artist he loves. i’d been storing it at my mom’s house so i gave it to him there. he was pumped!

IMG_4682 IMG_4683 IMG_4684

in case you can’t tell.. that is a painting of a bunch of ships, and a hybrid shark-octopus (sharktopus, as the artist calls it) attacking one of the ships. the artist is kat and her website is kat’s creepy art.. she takes paintings and adds in her own creepy touches. her website is here!

IMG_4685

this is my FAVORITE photo. my mom wanted to buy marshall some green bay packers sweats, but they came and were flipping GIGANTIC! i knew about this so when i saw them i started cracking up.

IMG_4689

he’s gonna have to eat a lot of christmas cookies to fit into these.

IMG_4691 

priceless face when my dad opened a gift from my mom.. money for his harley fund :)

IMG_4701

he was so happy! i love this photo.

IMG_4703

hahah.. another great one of my dad.

IMG_4709

here’s something you don’t see every day. or ever. marshall holding a baby! our nephew, ben.

IMG_4711

IMG_4736 IMG_4742IMG_4754 IMG_4756 IMG_4759

the photo calendar always makes my mom cry. mission accomplished!

IMG_4751

it was a great time but we missed my oldest sis & her fam. they moved to san diego and went to the beach on christmas! how would that be?

we spent the rest of the day eating, napping, visiting marshall’s side of the family, exchanging gifts with kristen and rory and ending the night with some toy story 3. i fell asleep before it was over so don’t tell me the ending!

and that, my friends, is my christmas in a nutshell. hope you had a great holiday with your family and friends! back to regular scheduled blogging soon. oh, and regular scheduled working out.. i haven’t been to the gym for a week! woops!

xo. janetha g.

51 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 9:13 am

    WONDERFUL celebration!

  2. December 28, 2010 9:14 am

    With your love of icecream that is a great gift!

  3. December 28, 2010 9:20 am

    I just got a Droidy and I LOVE it- I have never had so much fun with a phone, nor have I ever had a smartphone- but the battery is such a flippin’ pain!!! I just ordered another charger off of Amazon because I left my outlet-prongy part plugged in on the bus… I ripped it out of the outlet but didn’t realize that only the USB cord came out D: I will definitely look into that magical charger you got!
    Merry (belated) Xmas to you!

  4. December 28, 2010 9:21 am

    I teared looking at your mom hugging your dad! How precious…my folks passes when is was 20/18 so that is a great!

  5. December 28, 2010 9:25 am

    AWESOME GIFTS :)

    By 8:15, I have already ran and showered ;)

  6. December 28, 2010 9:36 am

    david LOVES kats creepy art!! we bought a little piece by her at craft sabbath.. love her!

  7. December 28, 2010 9:52 am

    Looks like a fun and amazing day!!!!! :)

    And that zagg charger looks interesting. My droid is ALWAYS dying on me!

  8. December 28, 2010 9:53 am

    Looks like a wonderful day with the family :)
    I also got (fake) uggs, an ice cream maker, and gave my sister a painting!! So similar ;-)

  9. December 28, 2010 9:56 am

    your sister lives in San Diego?! You HAVE to come visit her…and then we can have a meetup!

    love your uggs and your charger gadget…and your great family pics…your momma always melts me when i see her :)

  10. lowandbhold permalink
    December 28, 2010 9:57 am

    I love all the gift opening photos!

  11. momma b permalink
    December 28, 2010 9:57 am

    A perfect recap of a perfect day!! Priceless photos! Thanks neef I love you xo!

  12. December 28, 2010 10:11 am

    oh my gosshhh! i need one of those things for my driod. my battery is CONSTANTLY draining. i’m literally looking one up on amazon to buy right now. yay for christmas money! :)

    xo.

  13. December 28, 2010 10:14 am

    What a kickass Christmas Day, girlfriend! I am soooo excited to see your first batch of vanilla bean ice cream!

  14. December 28, 2010 10:33 am

    What a fun Christmas!! You are never going to want to take your uggs off. They are the best things ever! That charger looks so cool. I’ve never even heard of that!

  15. Patricia Braithwaite permalink
    December 28, 2010 10:38 am

    So awesome! I loved being able to share Christmas with all of you. The uggs are so adorable! Loved Marshall’s sweats, too. It looks like you all had a fantastic Christmas. Hugs to everyone!

  16. December 28, 2010 10:50 am

    Marshall is a DANG good gift-giver. I’d say that’s an excellent husband quality to have ; )

    And what a fun and unique gift you got for him as well! Clearly you guys know each other back to front.

  17. December 28, 2010 10:53 am

    aww i love the pictures of the family!!! glad you had a merry christmas!! :) you got some GREAT goods there ms Janetha :)

    tha tpic of marshall holding the baby—precious!

  18. December 28, 2010 11:07 am

    I love all the faces! SO surprised! You gotta share some of the tips from that vintage diet book, hilarious!

  19. December 28, 2010 11:23 am

    That ZAGG charger looks great! I have the same issue with my DROID but I love it and can’t imagine using a different smartphone, so this is an awesome solution. And those Uggs look soooo comfy. I definitely a little bit jealous of your Christmas loot!

  20. December 28, 2010 11:35 am

    Um, can I come to your Christmas next year? It looks so FUN! haha ;)
    LOVE those Ugg boots. I’m a bit obsessed with Uggs – but they’re sooo comfy!

  21. December 28, 2010 11:37 am

    I have the Evo, but, yeah, my battery is always dying. I bought a second battery with the intention of keeping it charged and handy, but that never happened, so I find myself limiting my phone time (aka having to stop taking silly pictures) when I go out with friends because I killed the battery checking in on foursquare and playing angry birds. Stupid phone.

  22. December 28, 2010 11:43 am

    All your gifts are awesome but I am most jealous of that ice cream maker!!!!!!!!!!

  23. December 28, 2010 12:27 pm

    Looks like you had a fabulous day, love ya knew boots the real deal is always better! x x

  24. December 28, 2010 12:50 pm

    Your family is so cute! And that breakfast casserole looks so good…

    And about your phone, my biggest battery sucker is the screen itself – set the brightness level as low as you can tolerate, especially when you’re inside. And when you’re in an area with wifi, make sure you use it – it takes more battery power to send/receive over your carrier’s data network than over wifi.

  25. December 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    I absolutely love these pictures. I can just see the joy and love in all of your faces. I know that sounds totally cheesy. But you are blessed, blessed, blessed to have such a wonderful family!

    Merry Christmas!!!

  26. December 28, 2010 12:59 pm

    You guys have extra stocked stockings!! I always love the stockings too….filling and receiving :)

  27. December 28, 2010 12:59 pm

    I think I cried a little but reading this!

  28. December 28, 2010 1:02 pm

    It looks like you had a wonderful holiday! I have those Uggs in gray and heart them so much!

  29. December 28, 2010 1:05 pm

    Homemade ice cream machines are the best! These are all such funny pictures. I love that your parents both got each other carhart jackets. I’m pretty sure that has happened in my family too.

    Uggs are amazing. I’m currently wearing mine at my desk. With my suit. I put on my heels when I have to walk down the hall to the restroom. True story.

    P.S. Um, Marshall is hot. In case you didn’t know.

  30. December 28, 2010 1:06 pm

    That charger thing is so cool. Wish I’d known they existed before Christmas- my boyfriend would LOVE one!!

  31. December 28, 2010 1:10 pm

    Your holiday looks beautiful! I died laughing at Kat’s art– it looks like Cthulhu rising from the deep!

  32. December 28, 2010 1:34 pm

    looks like you had such a great christmas! and A LOT of food, watch out, mexico is coming up pretty quick hehe :P

  33. December 28, 2010 1:35 pm

    looks like a SUPER FUN day!! Great fun photos of everyone, and I love the photos of your dad – happy happy! The painting is awesome! I’m looking at her website now – crazy cool stuff!

    HAPPY HOLIDAYS !

  34. December 28, 2010 2:39 pm

    Such a great post…looks like you guys had a great Christmas!! Love those boots and have wanted them myself for 2 years now… :)

  35. December 28, 2010 2:58 pm

    I really enjoyed this post :)

  36. elise permalink
    December 28, 2010 2:58 pm

    hahahaha…i love those huge ass packers pants…he looks like the after pic of jarod holding them up!

  37. December 28, 2010 3:46 pm

    What a wonderful time!

  38. December 28, 2010 3:48 pm

    you and your family look so much alike!

  39. December 28, 2010 4:14 pm

    Uggs are seriously the best. I’m the same way- NOT an expensive shopper…but uggs are SO worth it. The painting you got Marshall is beautiful. I love. Glad you guys had so much fun. Um…I just got home today and had a nice little surprise in my mailbox…. <3 ya! I will email you soon

  40. December 28, 2010 4:23 pm

    omg your family is sooooo adorable. You can really see the love you all have for one another! speaking of marshall holding a baby, when is there going to be a little J? lol :)

    xoxo
    Lo

  41. December 28, 2010 5:22 pm

    what a fun recap!!! marshalls swears = hilarious!!!

    and i made a photo cally for my boy too!! he didn’t cry though…………..

    LOVES YOUZ.

  42. December 28, 2010 6:12 pm

    Loved this post, Janetha!
    Such lovely/awesome pics!
    Your family is really the sweetest :)
    Btw – loved that charger you got from Marshall!
    I really need one myself, haha.

  43. December 28, 2010 7:56 pm

    Ohmygosh, I checked out that creepy art site. LOVE it.

  44. December 28, 2010 9:58 pm

    Those are such great candid shots of your family! Your dad has the cheeriest smile…he makes me want to laugh with him!

    Also, Meeker doesn’t EVER hold babies either – I think he’s scared of them – but this Christmas he held his niece for over an hour and it melted my heart!

  45. December 31, 2010 11:02 pm

    Oh wow. I seriously laughed hysterically when I saw that photo of Marshall holding up his “GIGANTIC” sweatpants. So freaking funny. haha….

  46. January 3, 2011 8:15 pm

    This post made me smile. Your family is so cute… and so HAPPY!

Trackbacks

  1. ready to go. « meals & moves

Leave a comment