Skip to content

nothing but good.

December 26, 2010

i was recently selected by holly as the recipient for the traveling chobani oven mitt.

IMG_4812

have you seen this mitt around blog land? i think there are actually two mitts circling.

anyway, holly is a babe who has a major girl crush on me (and i on her, naturally) and since we are soulmates, she picked me to be next in line! thanks, holly.

when a blogger gets the mitt, she/he is to create a recipe using the greatest yogurt on earth.

IMG_4782

i do not say that loosely. chobani is the #1 yogurt in this household. marshall eats over a dozen containers each week. thank god it is sold at costco.  their motto is “nothing but good” and i can vouch for that.

IMG_4784

when chobani sent me a box of yogurt to use for my recipe, i was relieved to find that it contained 0% plain, 2% plain, honey and vanilla. the only four flavors marshall doesn’t eat. muhaha.. all to myself Smile

IMG_4786

i used the chobani to make an appetizer for our christmas eve dinner at my parents’ house. stuffed mushrooms. and not just any stuffed mushrooms.. garlic crab stuffed mushrooms. and guess what? they’re healthy.

IMG_4558

yep. HEALTHY stuffed mushrooms. packed with protein, minimal carbs, ultra delicious.

IMG_4559

everyone (well, aside from my clinically insane crab and mushroom hating husband) exclaimed how delicious they were. i love it when that happens.. especially with a healthy version of a recipe.

garlic crab stuffed mushrooms.

makes twenty mushrooms

ingredients:

  • 20 large white button or crimini mushrooms with the stems pulled out
  • 3 oz lump crab meat
  • 1 stick low fat string cheese
  • 1/4 cup plain chobani yogurt (i used 0%)
  • 2 TB cream cheese (you can use low fat or fat free but i refuse to)
  • 1-2 cloves of fresh garlic
  • salt, pepper, and other seasoning to taste (i used trader joe’s 21 seasoning salute)
  • directions:

    this is the EASIEST RECIPE EVER.

    here is the trick.. you want to have a garlic press to make this recipe a breeze. if you don’t have one, simply mince everything into tiny bits.. but the garlic press really is the key to simplifying this delicious, healthy recipe.

    IMG_4788

    1. press crab meat, string cheese and garlic through press. or, alternately, mince these 3 ingredients.

    IMG_4791IMG_4794

    2. combine crab meat, string cheese, yogurt, cream cheese and seasoning in a small bowl.

    IMG_4797

    3. pop stems off mushrooms, discard.

    IMG_4799

    4. fill each mushroom with the filling, be generous. place each mushroom on a oven safe pan or sheet.

    IMG_4802IMG_4801

    you will have leftover chobani.. feel free to sprinkle it with granola and eat it as a snack.

    IMG_4804

    5. bake at 375° 15 to 20 minutes, until mushrooms are tender.

    IMG_4808

    enjoy!

    IMG_4561

    the best thing about these mushrooms is that they are both healthy AND body for life approved.

    here are the stats for a 5 mushroom serving:

    image

    what makes this recipe even better is you can accidentally eat the whole recipe as your dinner like i have done a few times (what? eating 20 stuffed mushrooms is totally normal for me) and it will be 320 calories, 10g carbs, 16g fat and 42g protein.

    another requirement of receiving the chobani mitt is to pass it along to another blogger who i think is nothing but good.

    i picked danica from danica’s daily.

    IMG_2199

    danica is second from the right.

    danica has been reading my blog since the beginning of time (well, the beginning of meals & moves) back in april 2009.  since then, we have been able to meet in person and hang out three times. i think anyone who knows danica will agree that she really is nothing but good. she is the nicest person on the planet. she is generous. she is funny. she is energetic. she makes up amazing recipes. she has a laugh and smile that is contagious. she is a great writer. she is inspiring. she is the best. that’s all there is to it.

    i am passing the chobani mitt along to danica, so keep an eye on her blog for the next post!

    thanks to chobani for the free yogurt and fun opportunity to participate in such a great activity. i love this community and being a part of it!

    hope you all had an amazing christmas and have a great night, i will be back tomorrow with some christmas recapping.

    xo. janetha g.

    42 Comments leave one →
    1. December 26, 2010 7:05 pm

      I love that! What a great little idea for the blog world. I wish Chobani made a vegan yogurt! :)

    2. December 26, 2010 7:13 pm

      Yay!! So happy you got the mitt. You know, I was just about to send my mitt your way but then I saw Holly beat me to it. These mushrooms look OUT OF THIS WORLD and what makes me even more excited about them is that I can eat a million and not gain a pound! ;)

    3. December 26, 2010 7:14 pm

      wow, nice recipe! I adore mushrooms, crab, and greek yogurt. Can’t go wrong with that combo. Nice job Janetha!
      LC

    4. December 26, 2010 7:16 pm

      that is such a cool story about the oven mitt and i have been reading your blog since ALMOST the beginning of time, i’d say june/july 09 :) and yet i have never seen this traveling mitt?! tres cool!

      love the recipe you came up with and that press thing that looks like its squirting tiny mini noodles, ive never seen one of those either.

      you’re just full of new things for me tonite!

    5. December 26, 2010 7:24 pm

      Looks great! I love Chobani :)

    6. December 26, 2010 8:12 pm

      Loved this recipe, Janetha!
      Can’t wait to try it on my own :)
      Hope you’ve had a great Christmas!
      xoxo

    7. momma b permalink
      December 26, 2010 8:19 pm

      She’s right these stuffed ‘shrooms are SO good! My appetite was on the fritz Christmas Eve but I did have 3 of em and have a few in the fridge I plan to have for lunch tomorrow. Love that they are healthy AND taste splendid!
      Thanks Neef for a scrumptious recipe xoxo!

    8. December 26, 2010 9:03 pm

      I would have never thought to put other stuff through a garlic press since I got stuck at the name garlic press. Had they called it a stuff press, other ideas may have materialized. You’re brilliant. :)

    9. December 26, 2010 9:41 pm

      ohhh…those look good! And isn’t it fun to get free Chobani to play around with?

    10. December 26, 2010 11:06 pm

      um, DROOL! i’m totally fooling nate with these suckers…

    11. December 26, 2010 11:25 pm

      I want to make this! It looks so savory and tasty. After too many holiday sweets, I need to re-embrace my savory tooth.

    12. December 26, 2010 11:32 pm

      Awwwwwww, thanks girlie! I mean, not just for picking me to pass the Chobani Oven Mitt onto, but, for all the super sweet things you said about me….Im all mushy gushy inside now.

      You are the bestest and I’d totally eat those mushrooms sans crab :D

      LOVE YOU!!!

      xoxo,

      Danica

      P.S. Ohhhhh, I just realized, I better start thinking of a delicious Chobani recipe!

      P.S.S. Linking up to you for my Buffalo Chicken Meatballs Guest Post on Friends For Weight Loss for the bottom Featured Recipe of the week :)

      Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and I almost hope it snows in California so I can take a cool picture with my yogurt like yours ;)

    13. December 26, 2010 11:53 pm

      I used Greek yogurt in my green enchilada soup! Btway I wish Costco would change up the greek flavors…I like the plainer ones….less sugar.

    14. ezzie permalink
      December 27, 2010 12:11 am

      Mmm~ looks delicious! Stuffed mushrooms are one of my favorites! It’s nice to know that you can actually make these healthy. SO trying out this recipe soon! I’ve got a container of greek yogurt in my fridge waiting for me to put it to good use :)

    15. ezzie permalink
      December 27, 2010 12:11 am

      Mmm~ looks delicious! Stuffed mushrooms are one of my favorites! It’s nice to know that you can actually make these healthy. SO trying out this recipe soon! I’ve got a container of greek yogurt in my fridge waiting for me to put it to good use :)

    16. December 27, 2010 1:30 am

      i love stuffed mushrooms sooooooooo much

    17. movesnmunchies permalink
      December 27, 2010 4:29 am

      oh my gosh those mushrooms are PERFECT for me and look insanely tasty!

    18. December 27, 2010 4:55 am

      I haven’t heard about this mitt thing! Why can’t I be a popular girl!?!?!? Your recipe looks great. Very original as I don’t see yogurt used often in a dish like this. YUM!

    19. December 27, 2010 4:58 am

      and this is why I LOVE and covet your community.

    20. December 27, 2010 8:16 am

      20 mushrooms for 320 calories?! Thats amazing! Congrats on receiving the travelling mitt! :]

    21. December 27, 2010 8:38 am

      I love the mitt idea! Such a cute way to get some creative new recipes. And with chobani, you can’t go wrong. It’s my favorite yogurt of choice in my house too! Love it. :D

    22. December 27, 2010 9:07 am

      ooh, great idea! I love stuffed mushrooms.

    23. December 27, 2010 9:58 am

      Oh my gosh, I was just thinking of dinner ideas and was thinking about making some crab stuffed portobellos! Too funny! Yours look delish!

    24. December 27, 2010 10:00 am

      yayyyyy i am so glad you gave it to danica! i was trying to decide between you, elise and her. so naturally, since we are soulmates, you took care of that tough decision for me. hearts!!!

      p.s. thank you SO MUCH for my fab b-day present! i heart it. in fact, i am drinking from my contigo water bottle as i type this. it’s hard. i don’t recommend it.

    25. December 27, 2010 10:25 am

      I think using a garlic press for the cheese is brilliant. Must try it soon!!
      PS – I’m hosting a giveaway for sustainable seafood. Check it out if you’re interested! :)

    26. December 27, 2010 11:54 am

      I am the insane one as your hubs – can’t stand mushrooms, but my hubs would be all over these. I just used my garlic press I’ve had for YEARS for the first time over the holidays – love it!

      Hope you had a wonderful holiday! :D

    27. December 27, 2010 12:24 pm

      In case anyone’s counting, these are 2 PointsPlus each! They look amazing!

    28. December 27, 2010 12:41 pm

      holy wow. i love eating an ENTIRE recipe for something. there’s something totally satisfying about that ;)

      xo.

      hope you had a MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS girly!

    29. December 27, 2010 12:59 pm

      Neat idea with the mitt and this recipe looks wonderful. I wish Chobani had a vegan yogurt also, I’d have fun with a recipe. :-)

    30. December 27, 2010 1:04 pm

      HOW CREATIVE!! i love to see greek yogurt being used in recipes that are savory and these little guys look so good!! i have been on a serious mushroom kick lately too!! mmmm

    31. December 27, 2010 1:22 pm

      What a fab idea, your recipe sounds delish x x

    32. December 27, 2010 1:43 pm

      Holy yummm! I’m generally not a fan of mushrooms, but these look so good, I’m going to have to try them!

      Danica ROCKS!!!!

      jen

    33. December 27, 2010 8:21 pm

      haven’t seen the mitt, but these mushrooms look fantastic! saving for a chance to try them out :)

    34. elise permalink
      December 28, 2010 3:03 pm

      you are so creative – i like the idea of using greek yogurt instead of sour cream in things. so good on top of mexican food. i feel like this greek yogurt is a foodbuzz roomate pass around, hahaha

    35. Jessica permalink
      January 4, 2011 6:43 pm

      Holy crap- I made these today for lunch and finshed them for dinner….SO GOOD!

    Trackbacks

    1. the eve. « meals & moves
    2. Pumpkin Walnut Muffins with Pumpkin “Cream Cheese” | Danica's Daily
    3. Chobani’s Traveling Oven Mitt | My Bizzy Kitchen
    4. Weekend Perks. « The Freckled Foodie
    5. Healthy Super Bowl Recipes & Menu Ideas | Danica's Daily
    6. Mardona Specialty Foods « The Freckled Foodie

    Leave a comment