Skip to content

crock pots and elephants.

December 19, 2010

YO. i haven’t blogged about food for a minute. well, that is about to change. starting now.

IMG_4116

yesterday, marshall & i hosted a holiday party for all of his friends. who, of course, are my friends, but you know what i mean.

IMG_4113

for the occasion, i used four other people’s recipes, went to three stores and borrowed two crock pots.

IMG_4117

and, as surprising as it may sound, i was only in the kitchen for a couple hours.. even though i cooked lots of different things.

IMG_4119IMG_4149IMG_4118

IMG_4123IMG_4121

i baked a few things, dumped everything into the crock pots, tidied up a bit and called it good.

IMG_4167IMG_4169IMG_4170

lots of people brought food to share, but here are the things i made myself:

mama pea’s spicy african peanut stew

by the way, SO good.. you all should make it.

IMG_4129

vegan chili (made up my own recipe as i went along)

IMG_4158

turkey chili (slightly followed my recipe here)

IMG_4143

jessica’s corn bread

IMG_4164

vegan cornbread (recipe here)

IMG_4161

roasted russet & sweet potatoes (just seasoned with 21 seasoning salute & olive oil)

IMG_4182

vegan peanut butter bars (my recipe here)

IMG_4121

some of the other tasty bites at the party~

IMG_4180

chips!

IMG_4125

sun dried tomato hummus

IMG_4173

7 layer bean dip without the beans and missing about 3 layers (i love you sabrina)

IMG_4175

cream cheese, pesto & sun dried tomato tower (from costco)

IMG_4177

veggie tray

IMG_4181

vegan mac & cheese (this is SO good, i keep trying to get my friend dave to do a guest post about it but he refuses)

IMG_4183

apple tart (most amazing dessert!)

IMG_4186

there was even more food than this.. including pumpkin cheesecake, vegan bruschetta and vegan stuffed bell peppers.

after eating lots of delicious food, we played the white elephant game. this was actually a last minute decision.. as in, an hour before the party. i thought it might be a little bit too short of notice, but everyone was able to scrounge up a white elephant gift to bring to the party! i think the short amount of time everyone had to find a gift made it even better, actually.

IMG_4189IMG_4190IMG_4191IMG_4193

everyone had pretty hilarious gifts.

IMG_4215IMG_4198IMG_4200IMG_4202IMG_4205IMG_4206IMG_4207IMG_4208IMG_4210IMG_4212IMG_4214IMG_4195

the rest of the night was full of lots of laughs, peanut butter bars and sleepy dogs.

IMG_4217

time to get some christmas shopping done! less than a week? yikes.

don’t forget to enter the seventh giveaway of christmas.. #8 will be going up tonight!

Q~

have you ever participated in a white elephant exchange? what did you give/get?

xo. janetha g.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 4:14 pm

    I love White Elephant exchanges. They are often quite hilarious. I once ended up with a Homer Simpson USB port. :P

  2. December 19, 2010 4:14 pm

    Sounds like a fantastic Christmas party! Way to go on all of the yummy food!

  3. December 19, 2010 4:15 pm

    I have watched a white elephant exchange (I forgot to bring a gift so I couldn’t participate). Two of the funniest gifts were diapers and a feminine douche.
    Of course a guy would get the douche. ;)

    All that food looks GREAT! YUM!

  4. December 19, 2010 4:18 pm

    Fun! I love white elephant gift exchanges. They crack me up. I love it when all the of the gifts are super crappy except one or two and everyone is trying to get those!

  5. December 19, 2010 4:20 pm

    WOWWWWWWWWWWWW! Look at all that amazing food. You truly are an awesome hostess. I am totally looking up and book marking that Mama Pea recipe (she is truly a genius). And that vegan mac n cheese- we NEED a guest post! Pleaaaaaaaase! Josh has a white elephant at work tomorrow. Last year, he brought in an AWESOME gift and ended up with this super old crock pot from like the 70’s…this year hes bringing back in the super old crock pot haha.

  6. December 19, 2010 4:20 pm

    I just participated in my first White Elephant gift exchange. I gave a Sponge Bob Chia Pet and I got this like Apple Cider Lager Beer, which I accidentally left in DC in my hotel room fridge. OY! Your recipes look amazing. That’s what I’m doing today- cooking up goodies for the week. ;-)

  7. December 19, 2010 4:34 pm

    Looks like a fun get together! I would eat all the mac and cheese and sit on your lap if I was there.

  8. December 19, 2010 4:42 pm

    Nice gift exchange, and HOLY HELL NICE SPREAD OF FOOD. I want to come live with you guys. For realz yo! :D

  9. December 19, 2010 4:43 pm

    looked like a great turn out of people and food! yum lovin all the foods

  10. December 19, 2010 5:05 pm

    Sounds like a great party! Great spread of food :)

  11. Elyse permalink
    December 19, 2010 5:15 pm

    YUUUM-o! What wonderful spread! I love the idea of having a crock pot theme partay :) Thanks for sharing.

  12. December 19, 2010 5:16 pm

    i could really use that tv tray. So versatile. haha. I’ve got Elk Antler candles from my last white elephant. Maybe I should do a giveway, jk!
    I love all the cozy eats. :)

  13. December 19, 2010 5:26 pm

    I love the crock pot! Everything looks delicious!!! I haven’t done a white elephant in forever….I don’t remember what I got or gave ha!

  14. December 19, 2010 5:38 pm

    the food looks wonderful!

    vegan chili or any kind of chili, i agree, is just one of those dump it in, hope for the best a few hrs later type things :)

    the peanut butter bars…oh forgot about those. I.want.them.now!

    White elephant gifts? yes. so ugly and heinous i cant even recall…it’s been years since ive had the pleasure of doing one of those exchanges. lol.

  15. December 19, 2010 7:07 pm

    Wrong post to read when I am hungry, just sayin’!

    The spread looks amazing and I am envious of your two crockpots. I barely have room for one on my counter!

  16. December 19, 2010 7:10 pm

    Girl your hosting skills are off the chain! I can’t believe all of the delicious food that you made. And two types of cornbread? I die.

    I played white elephant one year, and got a plastic fish that sang christmas carols.

  17. Emily permalink
    December 19, 2010 7:17 pm

    Pressure him into doing a guest post, please ;) I neeeeeed that vegan mac n’ cheese recipe!

  18. December 19, 2010 7:35 pm

    FUN! FUN! FUN!

    All the food looked yummy and we hope to a have a While Elephant type party with our family this Thursday, cannot wait.

  19. December 19, 2010 7:48 pm

    Holy holiday spread!! Everything looks awesome! Do you and Marshall have a spare room because I really think I need to move in with you! I made MP’s African Soup last week! Isn’t it abso-freakin-lutely amazing?!?

  20. December 19, 2010 7:52 pm

    I just attended a white elephant exchange last Tuesday with strictly ornaments. I had my gift stolen from me FIVE times–what bad luck! I still ended up with a cute ornament though.

  21. December 19, 2010 8:18 pm

    Thinking about you while the Packer game is on :)

  22. December 19, 2010 9:19 pm

    I have never seen such fabulous party food! It all looks so good- I am not craving chili and cornbread and I have never even had any!

  23. December 19, 2010 9:20 pm

    we did a white elephant gift last tuesday night…i ended up with a prism thingy that i don’t even know what to do with! maybe use it to freak the dogs out in the summer?! :)

  24. December 20, 2010 2:02 am

    thats sooooooo much food, j, i’m impressed by your three crockpots going at once.

  25. movesnmunchies permalink
    December 20, 2010 4:30 am

    wow! so much yummy food- i am salivating over those vegan pb bars!

  26. lowandbhold permalink
    December 20, 2010 9:20 am

    I love white elephant exchanges. It’s been awhile since I’ve done one though.

    Everything looks super delicious!

  27. December 20, 2010 5:51 pm

    ’tis the season for chili!!

  28. December 20, 2010 6:42 pm

    My family does White Elephant at our annual party. It’s great because there’s so many of us (5o or so) and it can get overwhelming but fun!

  29. December 20, 2010 7:20 pm

    My heart just exploded when I saw that picture of Penny.

    I haven’t been to a White Elephant party in a while. :(

  30. December 20, 2010 9:03 pm

    I’ve never done a white elephant exchange, but every year I say I want to!
    And oh em gee that food looks fanfreakingtastic.

  31. December 26, 2010 9:52 am

    omg, I think MARSHALL (which by default, means YOU) lucked out! Killer massager, great brand, and now he has no reason to not give you free massages for life! Ah, the perks of being married!!! lol
    Your party looks amazing Janetha! such a great vibe!
    Barbara

Leave a comment