Skip to content

a run & a bun.

November 9, 2010

if you miss me blogging about my daily food, let me show you that there is nothing to be missed:

IMG_2203

1/2 a turkey sandwich on wheat & a cup of chicken noodle. at my desk. reading elise’s foodbuzz recap.

now that you know i am not leaving you in the dark when it comes to recent eats, let’s rewind to something more exciting: saturday morning in san francisco!

saturday morning, susan forced me, against my WILL, to get up and go for a run. at 6:00 AM. okay, i kid, she didn’t put a gun to my head. but after only 5.5 hours of sleep, it sure felt like torture.

we all met at the drake hotel.. there was probably about 15 runners in all. i quickly found teri and we realized that we were seeing eye to eye. upon a back to back comparison, we realized we were the same height!

mail.google.com

although i think she cheated and was bending her knees in the photo ;)

it was so hard for me to adjust to an exercise session in the morning. as you know, i always work out after work. never in the morning. but once we got moving, things were much better. i woke up quite a bit and started gabbing with teri. teri is a fellow utah native and it turns out we have a LOT in common. not only are we both from utah and super shorties, we both were raised in the same religion, we both love dogs, should i stop now? yeah.. probably. anyway, what i am eluding to is that we ran a solid 4 miles and managed to lose the rest of the group and find ourselves trekking up an incredibly steep hill! luckily teri had GPS on her iphone and navigated us safely back to the drake, where we randomly showed up just in time for a group photo! odd.

image

(source: biochemista)

after our run (and realizing i had no idea where susan was) i went back to the room and hopped into holly & elise’s bed, where we cuddled profusely, read blogs, and hoped that susan would find her way back. yes, i was worried. eventually, susan DID make it back, and then it was right back out the door!

we drove to a bakery susan had raved about (read it here)—tartine. after finding a nearby parking spot, we made the colorful walk to the bakery.

image imageimage

there was a line out the door, so you knew it had to be good! we patiently waited.

image image

susan, me, danica, the husband (jay) and elise.

once inside, we all spotted the bread chandeliers. these people don’t mess around with the baked goods!

image

the menu was extensive and the baked goods were abundant.

image

image image image

blogger in action :)

image

after a good look at the menu, i realized that i simply HAD to order the morning bun that susan had been raving about non-stop.

image

morning bun. with orange cinnamon sugar.

i made my selection and marched to the register.. but THEN i was distracted by the savory display of a gruyere gougere…

image

basically a puffy hollow piece of bread lined lovingly with cheese. sign me up.

i filled my coffee + soy milk..

imageimage

and then we parked it on the bench outside, ready to devour our selections.

photos first!

image

the gougere was seasoned perfectly with thyme and black pepper.

imageimage

dense with cheesy goodness.

image

but the bun. oh the bun. let’s please take a moment of silence to remember the bun.

 image

this was the flakiest, softest, cinnamonniest bun that has ever entered my mouth. i typically don’t love cinnamon buns because of the thick frosting and cardboard-like edges. but this one? none of that nonsense. it was perfectly sprinkled with cinnamon, sugar and a hint of orange. every square inch was soft and delicate.. not just the middle.

but the middle. oh, the middle. it was by far the most coveted bite of the bun.

image

i don’t want birthday cake next year. i just want a big bowl of bun middles. thanks.

delicious, buttery pastries paired with piping hot coffee obviously made us smile.

image

real big.

image 

after consuming both of my delectable pastries, i realized just exactly WHY they were so damn good.

image

exhibit A: vat-o-cream

image

exhibit B: bowl-o-butter

image

no wonder it was melt-in-your-mouth amazing.

that’s ok.

image

we can walk it off.

Q~

1. what is your favorite bakery item?

xo. janetha g.

58 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 5:28 pm

    a big bowl of bun middles, hehe :) that is totally the best part!!

  2. November 9, 2010 5:29 pm

    Ahhhhhh I would LOVE to go to Tartine!!!

  3. November 9, 2010 5:29 pm

    omg. I want it all.!

  4. November 9, 2010 5:31 pm

    I first must ask, do you know how much I love your face? Because I really do. You are so damn adorable.

    Moving on.

    I’m not a huge pastry kind of girl, but that cinnamon bun looks mighty delectable, as does your savory cheese bun thing. I love thick, warm pieces of delicious bread from bakeries… and cupcakes. And really most anything that has pumpkin in it.

  5. November 9, 2010 5:32 pm

    I want some Tartine NOW.

  6. November 9, 2010 5:33 pm

    Hahaha I didn’t see the butter and cream but I don’t care–my scone from Tartine was delicious!! We got the croque monsieur and it did not disappoint. I sometimes work out in the morning but that definitely didn’t happen this weekend :).

  7. November 9, 2010 5:34 pm

    Mmm Tartine looks luscious! I’m a big fan of breads – gingerbread, banana bread, zucchini bread, pumpkin bread…I love them all.

  8. Nicole C. permalink
    November 9, 2010 5:37 pm

    I don’t know how to answer your question! I LOVE all bakery items, bread, pasteries..mouth watering goodness. All those middles remind me that I do have a birthday coming up and vacation time to take. Hmmm!

    You guys should have gone to AsiaSF..if you like boys in drag but they have good food and great entertaining!!

  9. November 9, 2010 5:41 pm

    I basically want to marry that bun.

  10. November 9, 2010 5:43 pm

    So much fun :) We are about the same height too! So we will have to take a back to back pic once we finally meet!! Holly is hilarious. The baked goods look amazing- I would have been all over those morning muffins. Favorite baked good…..I love bakery granola and a really good bagel

  11. November 9, 2010 5:44 pm

    i’ve never once had a cinnamon bun, i’m going to wait until i go here to have one.

  12. November 9, 2010 5:51 pm

    Girl, I ♥♥♥ your recaps! You and Teri make me proud to be a shortie, too! 5’1 1/2″ here! Heck yes- good things come in small packages:)

    Those cinnamon bun middles look divine. I’m jealous. I could almost taste the cinnamon-y sugar-y gooey-ness. Swoon!

    My favorite bakery item will *always* be a ginormous cupcake. Any flavor, really, so long as it’s got a little “cupcake to go along with a giant Mt. Everest mound of icing”. Yeah, that’s pretty much heaven to me! ;)

  13. November 9, 2010 5:55 pm

    Morning bun sounds dirty, I like. Adding Tartine so the evergrowing list of places I need to visit on my next trip to SF!!

    I am equal opportunity when it comes to bakery items. In a perfect world, I would be served a platter with a single bite of everything but if there are cupcakes, thats what I go for while croissants take a close second.

  14. November 9, 2010 6:04 pm

    can i tell you how much i LOVE that you were in bed reading blogs with other bloggers hahaha that’s like pretty close to having the perfect blog life experience haha :)

  15. November 9, 2010 6:06 pm

    Give me a huuuuge muffin and I’m a happy girl :)

  16. November 9, 2010 6:08 pm

    Oh my heavens, that bun just looks wrong!! No I mean it looks so right but so wrong. LoL if that makes any sense. YUM!!! I’m desperately craving a cinnamon roll but all i have is some Cinnamon Toast Crunch. That will have to do for the time being.

  17. November 9, 2010 6:13 pm

    Grrrr so bummed I never made it to Tartine this weekend. Looks. So. Good. I loooove a good chocolate croissant. Cupcakes are a close second, but only because they come with the cake part and all I’m interested in is the frosting :)

    My leg looks deformed in the group running photo.

  18. November 9, 2010 6:19 pm

    That looks amazing! I don’t even like cinnamon buns and that is making my mouth water.

  19. lowandbhold permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:22 pm

    I have to pick just one?! I don’t know if that’s possible? Cream cheese danish? Doughnut? Cinnamon roll? I can’t choose!

    Looks like another fun and wonderful day. Still jealous.

  20. mom permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:23 pm

    Whoa is my mouth ever watering now!! Between the photos and your description I could almost taste those awesome buns……..!!

    Sign me up for the center of a cinnamon roll.

  21. November 9, 2010 6:40 pm

    hmmm, favorite bakery item??? that is tough since I bake all the time, but I love freshly baked chocolate chip cookies!!! But the cinnamon roll sure looks amazing.

  22. November 9, 2010 6:50 pm

    Love that chandelier!!

  23. November 9, 2010 6:55 pm

    Oh yes! The cinnamon buns from Susan’s blog. Oh how I’d love to read through the screen and eat one of those. My favorite bakery item would be cupcakes or doughnuts. Mmmmm

  24. November 9, 2010 7:08 pm

    now those are some San Francisco TREATS!

  25. November 9, 2010 7:29 pm

    I wasn’t bending my knees. I just have really bad posture and slouch. But I assure you that I AM 5’1″. I loved our run. I loved our chat. I love everything about you. And I miss you.

    And how did I visit Tartine and walk straight up to the counter?? Good timing I guess. My favorite bakery item of the moment is the hazelnut biscotti I got at Tartine. Mmmm….

    And I LOVE the kouign amann at Les Madeleines in SLC. Please tell me you’ve had one. If not, GO TOMORROW. Go early. Weep at the deliciousness.

  26. November 9, 2010 8:25 pm

    Oooohhh you loved the 6am workout ;) And I still recall you freaking out over the middle of that bun. If you were a celebrity, I bet you could totally order a bowl of morning bun middles without too much flack :P

    Favourite bakery item? Easy! TARTINE CROISSANTS!! My life will never be the same.

  27. November 9, 2010 9:01 pm

    I’m still impressed to you went running at 6:00 a.m.! I already decided to put Tartine on “my list” after reading about it on Holly’s blog!

    Favorite bakery item: good, simple bread. But I’d gladly take a bun, too! :)

  28. November 9, 2010 9:13 pm

    ohhh my those buns look SO good!!! I love bakeries! the smells, interesting foods, creative goodies…it just always feels so homey and cozy in bakeries!!

    running at 6am with 5.5 hours of sleep—NICE! what a great looking group of gals, you are all so pretty!!

  29. November 9, 2010 9:14 pm

    I just HAD to say I love this title!! He he!!

  30. November 9, 2010 9:49 pm

    I so wanted to join in on the run, but i didnt have susan to drag me.
    bakery item, I’m a purest so a well made loaf is fine with me. and of course any sort of cinnamon bun is fine with me. They complement my “buns of steel”.

  31. November 9, 2010 9:55 pm

    So simple — but tricolor cookies. They are so light and remind me of when I was a little lady. Mmmm, I want!

  32. November 9, 2010 10:18 pm

    Thats whats been missing in my life, a bread chandelier.

  33. elise permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:41 pm

    im loving the recaps…i dont care how many times i see the photos, i still laugh at them.

    what im really scared for are the workout pics from sunday morning. they arent on photobucket so that means that you are planning some serious blackmail or they were completely hideous. i dont know which im hoping for…

  34. November 9, 2010 11:18 pm

    Tartine is mere blocks from where I live, but I never go because the line is always CRAZY.

    I went once on a Tuesday, around 10 a.m., when it was raining, and there was no line. But that is the only time. The food speaks for itself, though.

  35. November 10, 2010 12:03 am

    I wish I’d gone to Tartine with you guys! In fact, I wish I had done a whole lot more with you guys. I’m glad we got our chat on our walk though. I absolutely adore you. <3

  36. November 10, 2010 12:18 am

    its so much easier to run with other people! :) all that food looks amazing! glad you had good fun!

  37. November 10, 2010 3:00 am

    cinny bun middles are god’s gift to us on earth. along with butter and cream.
    i cant eat any of that anymore. good thing i ate enough as a kid to last me a lifetime…but what i wouldnt give for a cinny middle!

    :)

  38. November 10, 2010 3:30 am

    My friend lives out there and goes to Tartine everyday. Lucky bitch.

  39. November 10, 2010 7:23 am

    Oooh, Tartine. One of my DREAM places to go!!

    Cinnamon buns and Croissants. It’s a toss up, but I love ’em both.

    x0

  40. November 10, 2010 7:30 am

    Ummm seriously, I NEED that bread chandelier! So great to meet you…see you next year!! :)

  41. November 10, 2010 8:44 am

    mmmmM! i love biscotti. i’m a crunch kinda gal :)

  42. November 10, 2010 9:10 am

    Way to run in the morning! Watch out… You may become addicted to it :)

  43. November 10, 2010 10:31 am

    Wow. Those look amazing.
    I think a simple chocolate croissant from paris would win.

  44. November 10, 2010 12:10 pm

    I’m kicking myself for not making the trek to Tartine. Ugh that all looks so amazing! Next time…

  45. November 10, 2010 12:28 pm

    i adore coffee cake!
    sounds like foodbuzz was so much fun! i love hearing your tales..thanks for sharing!

  46. November 10, 2010 12:29 pm

    Yum! Those buns look amazing!!!

    I think my go to would have to be cookies!

  47. November 10, 2010 12:59 pm

    Bread chandelier!?? That is so hardcore and awesome. My favorite bakery item is a plain croissant. There is nothing better in my opinion. However, if it comes from a bakery – chances are that I will love it. :-)

    Glad you had such a good time in San Fran!!

  48. November 10, 2010 1:51 pm

    OH YUM! I was in SF in September and wanted to go there but didn’t make it. Maybe next time!

  49. November 10, 2010 2:48 pm

    Ahh! Tartine is my FAVORITE bakery in San Francisco…possibly my favorite bakery in the world. I’ve never tried their morning buns, but have enjoyed their scones, croissants and quiches. They changed my life. So glad you were able to experience the deliciousness too.

    Favorite bakery item is probably a fresh, flaky, buttery croissant. Simple, but amazing. :-)

  50. November 10, 2010 4:59 pm

    my favorite bakery item would have to be a soft warm cookie or huge and delicious muffin ! yummayy

  51. November 10, 2010 11:13 pm

    Okay seriously why didn’t I walk over to Tartine with you guys? I have always wanted to go there. I’m going to try to go to San Francisco again over Christmas break because I NEED to hit up a ton of places that I missed.

    I love cinnamon rolls. Esp. the middle. I’m so with you on the middle!!!

  52. November 14, 2010 7:43 pm

    i am very interested.

    i also want you to know that i brought my laundry downstairs with every intention of doing it. and i didn’t

    i also had every intention of going to the gym. and i didn’t.

  53. November 21, 2010 8:16 am

    You know I have been dreaming about those “buns’ ever since we had one! I seriously vote we meet FIRST (or I can run there) before we go to Alcatraz…You know to “fuel” our trip ;)

    I can’t wait – only 2 days left of work!

Trackbacks

  1. Gala-vanting at the Ferry building « hungry hungry hippie
  2. will blog for food. « meals & moves
  3. You are so dumb, you are really dumb, for real « hungry hungry hippie
  4. abcdefood. « meals & moves

Leave a comment