Skip to content

the calm before the storm.

November 6, 2010

oh, hey!

i’m finally taking a break from the go, go, go and decided it would be a good idea to check in.

i had a few fun things going on before the actual start of the foodbuzz festival. let’s talk about it.

thursday night, i rode BART from the airport to my sister’s house. i was about to eat my arm off, so we went straight to mexxi’s.

the menu was mesmerizing. IMG_1723

i went with two tacos: a chicken fajita taco and a fish taco. T4 and T6.

IMG_1725

i basically inhales these. they were great.

IMG_1743IMG_1742

but what was even more great was seeing these faces.

IMG_1729IMG_1730

and this face.IMG_1734

it was great to spend the night with my sister and nieces. how convenient that she lives so close to san francisco!

friday morning, i woke up bright and early (6 AM! that is sooo early for me…) to catch BART into the city. i ate a bowl of cereal at about 6:45. this is necessary for you to know for later. promise.

i hailed a cab from the station to the hotel. i am telling you this mainly because i have always wanted to use the term “hailed a cab”.

once i dropped my bags off it was time to find some coffee.

IMG_1751

for genetha.

IMG_1753

right.

i was all alone,but not for long. a bunch of ladies quickly found me and the fun began. ashley had offered to do a little photography tutorial session for those of us interested in learning her sweet skills. and trust me, her skills are super sweet.

we crashed borders book store because it was a tad windy outside. IMG_1780

the awesome teacher, explaining something important i am sure.

IMG_1765

we really learned a lot and had fun messing with our cameras.

IMG_1787

i stole these next two photos from ashley.

(1 of 15)

apparently i thought something was hilarious Winking smile

the class crew:

(2 of 15)

thanks for your advice, ashley!

after the photography class, we walked and walked and WALKED to café gratitude.

IMG_1791IMG_1801IMG_1803

 

look who was out front!

IMG_1793

what a sweetie.

again, a couple photos stolen from ashley Winking smile

image

image

café gratitude is a vegan, mostly raw restaurant.

IMG_1809IMG_1807

seeing as how the ony thing i had eaten all day was a bowl of cereal at 6:30 and it was now almost 1 PM.. I. WAS. STARVING.

gabriella and i shared a sampler.

IMG_1811IMG_1816

it seriously amazes me that this was all vegan. it was definitely all delicious.

once i ate a bit of food, i was a happy camper. (photo source: ashley

again!)

image

for my entrée, i ordered the falafel.

IMG_1828

unfortunately.. this really hurt my geographic tongue and i couldn’t eat it. i tried to since i was SO hungry, but it really was so painful to eat. sad story.

oh well, we had a great time chatting! (photo source: gabriella)

image

after lunch, we walked back to our hotels. i met up with my roommates and things really got exciting!

i would go on, but it’s time to get ready for dinner! check ya later skaters.

hope you are all having a glorious weekend!

no Qs.. just an i love you!

xo. janetha g.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 7:23 pm

    ah! So jealous :) Glad you’re having an absolute blasty. How cute are your nieces??!! Keep the Food Buzz posts coming

  2. November 6, 2010 7:36 pm

    I love how everyone took a picture of that sweet pup… I’ve seen her on 3 other blogs so far! :)

  3. Maren permalink
    November 6, 2010 7:38 pm

    so crazy seeing my fav bloggers in pictures together! :) hope you’re enjoying yourself!

  4. November 6, 2010 7:46 pm

    aww, so fun! We love you too! Your nieces are just PRECIOUS!

  5. November 6, 2010 8:09 pm

    I bet conferences are so busy, but I can’t imagine anything more fun in the blogging world. I so wish I could have been there. I can’t wait until my first conference at FitBloggin. :D

  6. Nicole C permalink
    November 6, 2010 8:33 pm

    sounds like quite a good start! i so love san francisco and california in general! im in lovely fresno for the weekend visiting family and the weather is grand. glad you got to hail a cab..glad you found one around!

  7. November 6, 2010 8:42 pm

    Looks like a fabulous time so far! I am jealous….not only because of everyone you will be meeting but because of SF…one of my fave cities!

  8. November 6, 2010 9:15 pm

    Would have loved to try Cafe G with you girls! Looks right up my alley and ive heard rave reviews!

    So awesome to have met you….you are every bit as wonderful IRL as you are on your bloggie :)

    xoxo

  9. November 7, 2010 1:50 am

    Hey Genetha! I’m still in a daze from that Mexican menu- it was overwhelming. As was those adorable little faces. And whatever you thought was hilarious at the photo lecture.

    I miss you! I know you’re having a blast and I couldn’t be happier for it!

  10. November 7, 2010 5:56 am

    Looks like you’re having a blast! I’m horrible with spelling names so I kind of feel for that barista :(

    Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  11. Quinn permalink
    November 7, 2010 6:40 am

    I MISS youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. November 7, 2010 7:04 am

    Looks like so much fun Genetha!

  13. November 7, 2010 8:07 am

    Awww, looks like you are having a lot of fun with a lot of great people! Lately, I have been trying to try more and more vegan food and 95% of the time I think “Wow, this is so good! I can’t believe it’s vegan!” The other 5% of the time I think “Ew, this tastes like grass!”

    LOL – Keep having fun! :D

  14. thedelicateplace permalink
    November 7, 2010 8:21 am

    wow that’s so great you got to connect with some family on this trip too. if i could afford to live in SF right now, i would pack up all my things in a heartbeat. man those must have been supa spicy falafel!

    • November 7, 2010 9:17 am

      Not spicy at all– it’s not spicy that bothers me, just anything acidic. Weird and lame!

  15. November 7, 2010 8:38 am

    FIRST, I have to comment that my heart leaped to see the picture of the Jack Russell Terrier (JRT) outside the restaurant! If anyone has read my blog, they would know that JRTs are one of my top 3 favorite things in the entire w-o-r-l-d! Seriously, they make my heart smile. Love, love, love the pic! So cute!

    SECOND, looks like you are having a fabulous time! I wish I was there! That’s also really cool that you got to spend time with your sister and nieces. Double awesome! :)

    THIRD, I laughed at “Genetha”. I know all too well what it is like to have a unique name and it seems nobody says my name right. I get Tonya, Tallya, Natalia, Holly, Polly, Latoya (<–what?!) or else they say it with a Spanish accent. HA!

  16. November 7, 2010 9:43 am

    Great update!
    I would have been very tempted to dog-nap that cutie sitting out front!

  17. November 7, 2010 10:11 am

    doggie looks like julius!!!

  18. Becs in Britain permalink
    November 7, 2010 11:32 am

    Looks like you’re having an awesome time! It’s so funny that you feel like you ‘know’ other bloggers too! My boyf thinks I’m a bit crazy when I talk about your blog like I actually know you! Ha! Anyway, looking forward to reading about the rest of your weekend – have fun! x

  19. November 7, 2010 3:11 pm

    Awww, looks like fun!

    Reading this I was thinking “Oh! I know Cafe Gratitude!!” Haha, my small connection to all of this. Apparently there are several locations since the one I went to was inside a Whole Foods. ;)

    I can’t wait for your next recaps! :)

  20. November 7, 2010 4:26 pm

    Those tacos look so good! Your nieces are adorable, I love having nieces and nephews! Can’t wait to hear more about Foodbuzz! Can I have your hair please?? I love it.

  21. November 7, 2010 5:16 pm

    I didn’t realize that your entree hurt your mouth to eat!! I totally would have shared some of mine with you…there was more than enough to go around. Bummer.

    It was great finally meeting you in person this weekend- I had so much fun!! Hope you have a safe trip back to Utah and hopefully I’ll see you again soon! Let me know if you’re ever in NYC or Philly :)

  22. November 7, 2010 6:21 pm

    Sounds like you’re having a blast! I’m loving all the pictures of all the fun so I can live vicariously though you.

  23. November 7, 2010 6:42 pm

    haha no one EVER spells my name right either! its always Naomy or Naoemi…sometimes if i am feeling on the egde i lie what my name is and say “kate” or something really simple! i have been to an all vegan raw restaurant and it really is crazy what they can whip up!

    I am LOVING the pics! :) have fun!!

  24. November 7, 2010 7:24 pm

    It’s so weird seeing all of you together in one picture :D So happy you guys had fun though!

  25. November 7, 2010 7:55 pm

    The picture where you’re cracking up is great! I’m sure you’re a ball to hang with!!
    What a fun weekend:) Glad you’re having such a good time!

  26. Sweet and Fit permalink
    November 7, 2010 9:32 pm

    awww! it looks like you had sooo much fun! wish I could have been there, theres always next year =)

  27. November 7, 2010 11:55 pm

    great meeting you this weekend! :) i know we didn’t get to chat much, but i suppose that’s what blogs are for – keeping in touch. ps – your bangs are super cute!!

  28. elise permalink
    November 8, 2010 2:08 am

    no Qs!?!? whatever will i comment on. sigh.

    i need to get that camera lesson from ashley.

  29. November 8, 2010 7:25 am

    ha. love you too!! :)

    wish i was at foodbuzz. my weekend was pretty lamo. except for a cute halloween party…oh and watching the new saw movie in 3d with the sister…

  30. November 8, 2010 11:49 am

    Hey lovely lady!
    I can’t wait to read your recap of Food Buzz – that’s all I have to say really! Except that I’ve missed reading up on your lovely life since I’ve been away. Hearts x

  31. Bridget permalink
    November 8, 2010 1:34 pm

    Just curious — what is “geographic toungue”? I think I recall you saying this before….in reference to the carrot cake larabar I think, but I never knew what it meant! :)

    • November 9, 2010 2:13 pm

      I am planning on posting about it sometime. It is something I was born with and certain foods make my tongue hurt SO incredibly bad. Also, it swells up in certain spots and looks like a map–hence the term. Sorry I don’t have a better description!

  32. November 8, 2010 4:02 pm

    what foodbuzz fun! did you pretend like i was there? hahahaha ;)

  33. November 8, 2010 4:53 pm

    It is so fun spotting bloggers in the pictures! Hope the rest of your trip went well!

  34. November 8, 2010 5:42 pm

    your nieces look just like you! so adorable!! :)

  35. November 10, 2010 5:05 pm

    LOVED all of your recap posts!!!!!!!! Is it really over? :( Holy amazing room you stayed in!! xo

  36. November 21, 2010 8:03 am

    I want to know who had the job of actually having to write out that menu – so IMPRESSIVE lol!

    Your nieces are so freakin’ cute, Genetha…hahahaha, I wish you could’ve saved that cup just for the “uber cool” pronunciation of your name.

Trackbacks

  1. The second day… « hungry hungry hippie
  2. abcdefood. « meals & moves

Leave a comment