Skip to content

spooky food.

October 25, 2010

saturday night i went to my friend summer’s annual non-dress-up halloween party. summer is really into decorating and themes for holidays. i mean, all of her framed photos in the house showcase photos of halloweens past. and when november comes, thanksgiving photos will fill those frames. this girl is on top of it.

if i had to name one of my friends that most reminds me of rachael ray, summer would be the one. that’s why i was so excited to see what was on the menu for saturday’s party. i got there a little late, but i was still able to snap photos of all the halloween themed eats and treats.

the first thing she made me do when i walked in the door was take a candy corn shot. it was not optional, i soon found out.

IMG_1663

not sure what it was.. some sort of vodka, mixer and a candy corn. i hate candy corn.. i hate shots.. so yeah, didn’t love this. but it was cute!

onto the cute food..

“mummy meatballs”: meatballs smothered in pesto & cream cheese, then wrapped in fettuccini noodles.IMG_1672IMG_1674

“spider web bean dip”: pretty self explanatory.. a 7 layer dip made to look like a web. loved this! glad i caught a shot of it before it was devoured.

IMG_1670

bat wings”: okay, so they were really chicken wings.. but we can pretend ;)

IMG_1675

i enjoyed them.

IMG_1695

“witches fingers”: rolls shaped into fingers and topped with an almond fingernail.. served with marinara sauce for dipping.

IMG_1676

“pink eye”: these were devilled eggs colored pink.. and i am fairly certain bacon was involved.. with an olive for the eyeball!

IMG_1671

and some veggies & green colored dip, which i consumed mass amounts of all night..

IMG_1673

i also consumed mass amounts of these nuggets of heaven:

IMG_1680

i cannot be trusted around pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. seriously.

there were also some other cute, spooky sugar cookies. i don’t love sugar cookies, but they sure were adorable. i mean—scary.

IMG_1678

not sure what is so scary about mister moon.. we decided that he was not a moon at all, but a possessed banana.

IMG_1681

spooky goblet!

IMG_1684

my friend katie had her little pup there and she was dressed in her costume. IMG_1688

so stinkin’ cute! she was jumping up trying to get everybody’s spooky food.

IMG_1690

friend photos!

IMG_1700IMG_1702IMG_1701IMG_1687IMG_1696IMG_1697IMG_1693

it was a really fun party and a great way to get in the mood for halloween.

i can’t believe halloween is already this weekend! that’s crazy. it really snuck up on me.. pretty sure it was just august, no? i did get my costume over the weekend, i love dressing up!

so, i pre-wrote this on sunday to publish on monday, knowing that monday would be pretty crazy! i am likely working 9 hours, then running some errands with my mom, then hitting the gym, then stopping by my sister’s for her birthday as well as my nephew’s birthday, then making dinner. we will see if i have time to post tonight.. if not, i will check you guys on tuesday!

Qs~

1. are you dressing up for halloween this year? what are you going to be? if you have kids, what are they going to be?

2. what was the highlight of your weekend?

xo. janetha g.

 

40 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 12:57 pm

    you’ve got the best friends! That’s seriouisly some martha stewart rachel ray stuff going on there!

    Im gonna be a magic 8 ball….i think!

  2. October 25, 2010 12:58 pm

    What a fun time! I like Halloween, but don’t like dressing up. Well, sometimes I do. It just always depends.

  3. October 25, 2010 1:04 pm

    That is like the cutest stinkin party ever. I love halloween! The mummy meatballs are incredible! And I totally want to make the fingers! I am not dressing up this year. But we are having a little get together that night to hand out candy. Highlight of the weekend…TOSH!

  4. October 25, 2010 1:05 pm

    SO FUN!!!
    I haven’t really dressed up in years… I tend to just wear a cute happy halloween shirt at work! I do love the candy though :)

  5. October 25, 2010 1:06 pm

    I dont know what I am doing, maybe Katy Perry and my BF will be Russell..

    This weekend I slept until 11 AM on Sunday and I never do that :)

  6. October 25, 2010 1:13 pm

    I am so not creative to come up with food ideas like that. Love the spider web dip though and the mummy meatballs (could totally do a veg friendly “meat”ball). I am sooo with you on candy corn.

  7. October 25, 2010 1:15 pm

    You have GOT to be kidding me with those decorations?! Holy smokes, that is AWESOME! Musta been a great party! SO creative! Props to your friend for all she did to make it so festive!

    I think I’m dressing up as the SCARIEST thing I can think of–the Progressive car insurance girl. UGHH, i cannot stand her. However, I do have red hair (currently, at least) and thought it’d be funny to go around saying “Discount!” all night. I’ll probably get kicked out for being so annoying, though HAHA!

    The highlight of my weekend was having my sister visit from Texas. We went to Kennywood Fright Nights and to a pumpkin patch. Super fun!

  8. October 25, 2010 1:37 pm

    How fun, looks like a great party!!!! I will not be dressing up, but my kids will be. Tyler will be a vampire, Karlie will be bat girl and Aiden will be a dinosaur.

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  9. October 25, 2010 1:38 pm

    Were those little olive pieces for the mummy eyes? Cuz chocolate chips would be weird.

    I don’t think I’ll get around to making those for the party we’re going to this weekend, though I could probably make the 7 layer dip (er, I mean decorate a store-bought dip).

    I’m dressing as Cruelle deVille and Chris is going as Steve Zissou from The Life Aquatic.

    (My brother’s *this close* to moving to Park City in the spring. Whoohoo!)

  10. October 25, 2010 2:34 pm

    The spooky food looked awesome! That’s so creative…I’d never have thought of something like that at all. And kudos to you for choking down the candy corn shot, I’m not sure I could do it.

    I’m not dressing up at all. I’m not big on dressing up for Halloween! The last time I did was in 2007 maybe? And before that I think I was 14. Haha.

  11. October 25, 2010 2:36 pm

    oh my gosh, rachel ray indeed! I’m so impressed!

    I don’t like shots but I love candy corn, so I’m intrigued :)

  12. October 25, 2010 2:45 pm

    I was supposed to dress up but I’m doing a 3hr spin class that day so I think I’ll be in need of my bed!

  13. October 25, 2010 2:49 pm

    Ew, I hate shots and the candy corn would not have helped, but yes, cute idea. Those fingers were kinda creepy. The sad thing is, those nails looked better than mine (hey, when your a chef, it comes with the job).

    I dont think Ill be dressing up this halloween. But i was have creative costumes. I was a Caesar salad last year with a roman-esque dress, croutons glued to my earrings, and a salad bag glued to my back. The year before that I think I was “queen frostine” from that game, “candyland” and I bought this awesome silverish dress at a thrift store and i went around with a frosting can putting it on peoples noses!

  14. October 25, 2010 3:01 pm

    What creative food ideas for Halloween! :)

  15. October 25, 2010 3:34 pm

    How cute!!! I love theme parties :) And I LOVE dressing up for Halloween so um yes I will be dressing up! I’m going as either a Giants player (Buster Posey) or the Tin Man. Or both, depending on if we do something Friday and Saturday nights. And the highlight of my weekend was the Giants winning the pennant!!! Oh yes.

  16. October 25, 2010 3:39 pm

    I seriously have no idea what to dress as for Halloween this year. I’m stumped!

    I had a fun blog meet-up over the weekend and it got me super stoked for Foodbuzz!

  17. Nicole C permalink
    October 25, 2010 3:40 pm

    1 – Missed the zombie walk this past weekend and I was a killer zombie last year..but this year will be quiet im sure. My good friend, who I always hang out, with decided we shouldn’t be friends over something trivial. So no plans for this girl.

    2- Highlight this weekend was seeing Christina Perri singing live..man is she talented!!!! Plus I booked a Zumba class for Monday nights. Please pray I don’t make a fool of myself.

  18. October 25, 2010 3:59 pm

    oh my god WHY are your friends so friggn awesome. hahaha like that is ridicullously awesome. the friggn linguini eyeballs are INSANE! i want to be invited to your friends next party. i hate dressing up and love eating so i think these parties are better then my friends hahahaha

  19. October 25, 2010 4:13 pm

    Um, so I kind of want to be this Summer person…seriously, that is definitely some of the most creative party food I’ve ever seen!!

    I’m keeping my costume a secret until next weekend :)

  20. October 25, 2010 4:14 pm

    I can only WISH I was that creative!!! I love it all.

    And I’m going to be a jack o lantern for halloween. Nothing fancy. Just wearing an orange maternity shirt and finding a way to stick some black cut outs in the shape of the eyes/mouth on my preggo belly in the shirt. :D

  21. October 25, 2010 4:32 pm

    omg I am LOVING those mummy’s! what a cute idea! I love when food becomes spooky! my mom always took baby carrots and topped each one with a black olive and called them witches fingers haha it was lame, but oh what a memory! that cobb webb dip is an awesome idea too!!! what creativity I love it!

    I have NO idea what I am dressing up as if we DO go out…i usually like to stay home and hand out candy and see what the kiddies dress up as!!

  22. October 25, 2010 5:03 pm

    ahhhh ahhhh haaa! I love this! That spider web bean dip is AWESOME!!! Don’t think I could eat the fingers. too much for me but love the idea!

  23. October 25, 2010 5:15 pm

    I love all of the halloween food ideas!! The mummy sticks are so funny :)

    I have NO CLUE what I am dressing up as, but I really want to get a costume for my dog kid…what is a good one for the Stellinator??

  24. October 25, 2010 5:51 pm

    What a spread! (TWHS!) I love it all—especially the witches fingers. I am not a huge dress up for Halloween person. I like to contribute by eating Halloween candy :)

  25. October 25, 2010 6:01 pm

    Such a fantastic Halloween Party. Doesn’t it always seem that Halloween Parties are so much better than any other holiday party? What a great night!

    Gosh you do sound busy today so I’ll just catch up with you tomorrow. Love you!

  26. October 25, 2010 6:08 pm

    skylar is going to be a princess, 3rd year in a row, her choice, not mine. took her to a costume superstore and she picked out the EXACT SAME disney pricess outfit she was…last year. I blogged about it b/c you cant even make this stuff up

    the HWeen food..omg your friend is talented! The mummies are sooo cute! And the candy corn shot, that would have been my fave thing of the party. For sure!

    I am dressing up. But will not be blogging about it.

    Btw lmk if you found a dress for Foodbuzz or what you’re bringing or what workshop sessions you opted for…basically just seeing if you’re totally stoked to go! :)

  27. October 25, 2010 6:15 pm

    Looked like a fun time. Love all the Halloween food! I am not much of a Halloween person…I hate dressing up. I know I am such a party pooper, haha

  28. October 25, 2010 6:22 pm

    Wow, Summer = Martha Stewart. I am very impressed. The meatballs were my favorite. Not dressing up this year, but we really want to dress our dog Einstein up as a pirate. Not sure why, but I think he would look adorable with a patch and parrot. Maybe our other dog Radley can be the parrot! :)

  29. KatieRK permalink
    October 25, 2010 6:34 pm

    Fun party! The food looked both good and creatively fun! I would be all over any of those cookies lol.
    I don’t think I’ll be dressing up for Halloween this year…maybe ill wear a witch’s hat when I pass out candy. we’ll see.
    Janetha do you think you could repost your protein muffin recipe? It seems to be a dead link. Hey thanks!

  30. October 25, 2010 8:11 pm

    oh my gosh HOW FUN!!!! your halloween party puts mine to shame!! i love all those cute foods! I was a ninja turtle this year!

  31. October 25, 2010 8:24 pm

    I’m not a huge fan of shots either, but I kind of love that shot glass!

  32. October 25, 2010 8:45 pm

    Gah! All this food is so cute! I think I like the pink eyes the best. Weird?

    1. I’m going as April O’Neil from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, the 1980s cartoon version with the yellow jumpsuit. A little late, as I’m no longer a television reporter. But she was my hero growing up :P

    2. Changing into flannel pants at 5pm on Friday, eating yogurt for dinner and watching Mad Men all night. It was awesome.

    Ummm, I just flooded your inbox. It’s cause I <3 ya!

  33. October 25, 2010 9:23 pm

    That’s gotta be the cutest party ever. I love all the spooky food.

  34. Heather permalink
    October 25, 2010 9:27 pm

    Those were the some of the cutest and most creative Halloween eats I’ve seen! Love the mummies! Not dressing up this year, but when I usually do, I love going to thrift stores for inspiration! ;) The highlight of my weekend was a co-worker hosted chili “cook-off” on Saturday! We had an awesome turnout…14 different pots of chili! Great eats, great conversation, and a HUGE bonfire complete with s’mores makings! So much fun! Plus, it gave me an excuse to try out a recipe for a vegan chocolate avocado cake with avocado buttercream that I called my Ghoulishly-Green Icing! I love making my co-workers my guinea pigs! ;)

  35. October 26, 2010 7:14 am

    more people need to have non dress up halloween parties! so much less stressful! haha dressing up can be fun, but more often than not, it just stresses me out about the perfect costume!
    XO. look slike a blast!

  36. October 26, 2010 2:44 pm

    this is why I LOVE halloween. I go nuts for the themed stuff. sadly, I don’t think I’m going to dress up this year. but that doesn’t mean I still can’t enjoy the spooky goodness of the holiday!

  37. October 26, 2010 10:43 pm

    such an awesome party!! love how well the theme was carried out with the food :)

  38. Sweet and Fit permalink
    October 27, 2010 8:44 pm

    love all these ideas! mummy meatballs?!?! too freaking cute! so excited to see you again in about a week! =)

Trackbacks

  1. stuffed. « meals & moves

Leave a comment