Skip to content

farm fresh food & a flashback.

October 22, 2010

momma b says thanks to all those who commented on her guest post about costa rica. she also replied to some of your questions in the comments section, so make sure to check back if you asked anything :)

since i took last night off from blogging, i do have some meals & moves to share from yesterday.

thursday.

moves

i have no idea what has gotten into me, but i’ve been loving the cardio lately. i think the extra stress at work has something to do with it.. i just have a lot of steam to run off ;)

yesterday i did this simple 30 minute escalating speed treadmill routine:

minute # speed (MPH)
0-1 6.0
1-2 6.3
2-3 6.6
3-4 6.9
4-5 7.2
5-6 7.5
6-7 7.8
7-8 8.1
8-9 8.4
9-10 4.0
10-20 repeat minutes 1-10
20-30 repeat minutes 1-10

3.5 miles total

this was an easy way to knock out the miles. the run was steady and engaging, plus it was pretty intense during the last 3 minutes of each ten minute block. i would have kept going for another couple blocks, but we had dinner plans!

meals

kristen & rory invited us over for dinner. they even cooked! rory had visited his friend’s farm and picked fresh produce. it made for a fresh, delicious meal.

hand picked corn that was cooked on the grill.

IMG_1525 IMG_1529

a little protein action with some steaks.

IMG_1517

potatoes from the farm roasted in olive oil and topped with cheese.

IMG_1523

it was DELICIOUS. and kristen says she can’t cook.. lies!

IMG_1537 IMG_1535IMG_1534

 

thanks for dinner, guys!

friday.

finally, finally, FINALLY friday. i say that every week, don’t i? yep. get used to it ;)

i woke up early this morning because i had the lucky task of taking my sister in law to the hospital. my nephew, greyson, is still in the ICU and his momma goes out to see him a few times a day. since she can’t drive yet (post c-section orders), she has to hitch a ride. knowing i would get to see my sweet little nephew was reason enough for me to get out of bed earlier than usual!

i actually was ready with time to spare, so i decided to make my breakfast at home. wow, that never happens.

IMG_1541

on the left is 1/3 cup oatmeal with 1/2 of a diced banana and a dollop of maranatha peanut butter.

IMG_1556IMG_1555

i also had 3 egg whites + 1 whole egg for some protein.

IMG_1542

like my cute venice plate? it was a wedding gift from deb! (deb, i promise i am working on my thank you cards, i am a bad bride.)

IMG_1551

love it! (the set came with a few other cities, too.)

i was surprised that i woke up early enough to get ready, eat, make coffee AND still be on time to pick up my sister in law. maybe i could attempt a morning workout sometime next week. (i won’t get my hopes up.)

i hung out at the hospital for a bit this morning. i love this little guy!

IMG_1559

sure hope he gets to go home soon. we are praying hard for him :)

i got to work and it was business as usual.  it was actually kind of strange not to eat breakfast at work.. i think i like the whole eating breakfast at home thing. i may have to try it more often.

i am going to save my lunch deets for another day. you will understand why when the post goes up. ;)

flashback friday!

nothing long and drawn out.. just one little detail.

i’ve had penelope jane for two years!

we picked her up on october 21, 2008 <3

IMG_8031

you’ve seen these photos time and time again, but come on.. look at them.. do they ever get old? i didn’t think so.

IMG_7981 IMG_8004 IMG_8001 IMG_7995 IMG_7984 IMG_8062 IMG_8027 IMG_8055

LOVE MY LITTLE PENELOPE BEAN.

i am real excited for the weekend! to start things off, we are going to see kevin nealon (of weeds) tonight. super excited.. he is hilarious!

image

[source.]

there are a lot of other fun things going on this weekend, but i will be sure to check back in sometime. i do plan on catching up with all my favorite blogs.. i only have like five hundred new posts in my google reader. no biggie.

since this post has been less than entertaining, i leave you with some links to lurk:

 

 

 

 

good stuff!

Qs~

1. who is your favorite comedian? i love jerry seinfeld. classic. i also love joel mchale and daniel tosh!

2. how early do you get up in the morning.. just early enough to get out the door on time or with lots of extra time to lounge? i am ALWAYS darting out the door, usually running late. i am the epitome of a non-morning person. i need help!

36 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 3:04 pm

    oh my gosh! That dinner looks delicious. I would be happy with just the fresh corn and cheesy potatoes alone. I’ve been on a big scrambled egg kick lately- such a great way to get in protein. I’m going to a comedian this weekend too! Daniel Tosh! Hes my favorite right now. My wake up time varies from 4:30 AM- 6:15 AM during the week. Weekends- usually 7:30-8:30

  2. October 22, 2010 3:05 pm

    Oh my gosh… such a cute pup!
    And thanks for the shoutout. :)

  3. October 22, 2010 3:10 pm

    Oh my goodness, your nephew looks like such a bundle of joy. I hope he’s doing okay!

    In terms of comedians, I LOVE Robin Williams’ stand-up routines. He is so raunchy and hilarious! And I am a true morning person. When I was teaching, I used to wake up at 5:45 in order to shower, eat a leisurely breakfast, and get to work early. Now that I’m not teaching anymore, I can eat breakfast at work, so I leave myself 30 minutes to wake up, shower, get my lunch/workout clothes together, and hit the road. I’m always at least five minutes early with everything, so I don’t rush too mush in the morning…even when I need to spend fifteen minutes trying to pull my boyfriend out of bed! :)

  4. October 22, 2010 3:18 pm

    oh so precious. Praying for your little nephew! Glad you got to see him today.
    Favorite comedian is Brian Reagan. HE IS HILARIOUS!! You must google him. Happy Friday Janetha G!

  5. October 22, 2010 3:26 pm

    I have blog stalked you for probably about a year and I LOVE your blog! I am in Utah too!!! My favorite comedian is Daniel Tosh… pretty sure I check tosh.O regularly! Your nephew is adorable! I am glad you got to eat breakfast at home, I wish I could do that everyday but work gets in the way of that:)

  6. October 22, 2010 3:59 pm

    I definitely thought your breakfast this morning was popcorn. LoL I really had to go back and look to make sure. ;)

    Have a fantastic weekend darling girl. Love you always and forever!

  7. Nicole C permalink
    October 22, 2010 4:00 pm

    1. I love me some Dane Cook and Josh Blue off of Last Comic Standing was brilliant!

    2. I try so hard to get out of bed early but it never, ever happens. We had a work meeting where lateness was was talked about..and I was still late this week. Being at work at 7 is still new to me..

    ps- our nephew is adorable, fingers crossed he gets to go home soon! Happy Friday!

  8. Nicole C permalink
    October 22, 2010 4:01 pm

    That was supposed to be YOUR nephew is so adorable…hehe oops!

  9. October 22, 2010 4:25 pm

    I don’t take my own advice (comment on other blogs!) – and I’ve been e-stalking you for quite some time ;) Thanks for the link post today!! Love your blog.

  10. October 22, 2010 4:33 pm

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  11. October 22, 2010 4:44 pm

    LOL – Was Penny an odd size claim? That sign cracked me up!

    You’re right. I could look at picture of Puppy Penny forever!

  12. October 22, 2010 4:48 pm

    I think Jim Jeffries is hilarious. BUT, he does not touch PC with a 10-foot pole, so be wary if you have a: religion; ethnicity; gender; or beating heart!

  13. October 22, 2010 4:57 pm

    1) That’s funny you mentioned Jerry Seinfeld because my husband and I just started Seinfeld season 1 and we intent to go all the way through to the end. I’d say my favorite comedian besides Jerry is Brian Regan. He’s tasteful yet consistently hilarious.

    2) I prefer getting up with lots of extra time to spare to ensure that I get a shower, have time to pick out an outfit and fix my herr properly, and of course, get in a hearty breakfast.

    Love the pics of your puppy!

  14. October 22, 2010 5:21 pm

    I never get sick of seeing cute Penny pictures!

    Jealous of Kevin Nealon! Have fun!!!

    ps. 2 weeks!!!!

  15. Liz @ Blog is the New Black permalink
    October 22, 2010 5:27 pm

    Didn’t know your dog’s name was Penelope! I love it!

  16. Helena permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:27 pm

    Hi!

    first- the photos in this post are sooooooo cute (the baby and the dogs) =D

    second- I’m from Portugal and here we don’t have many peanut butter brands and the few we have here have some strange ingredients in them, and well, they taste horribly! but I noticed every american blogger loves peanut butter and as I am a person who enjoys almost every food tastes in the world I find it weird that I don’t like a thing that most people seem to love.

    So the problem must be the ingredients list. Can you tell me the ingredients in your peanut butters?

    finally- you are SO cute! really! like…i want your hair!

    I hope the baby gets fine soon :)

  17. Katie permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:36 pm

    I am a HUGE morning person now. Lately, I have been getting up at 5:00 am and going to a spin class at 5:30. It perks me up and it’s nice to be up when hardly anyone else is. :)

  18. October 22, 2010 6:40 pm

    Yay, flashback friday! I love flashbacks! I’m on a roll with them myself!

    You like Jerry Seinfeld? I am very good friends with his personal assistant! Its so funny, we’ll be having lunch and Jerry will be calling every two seconds bugging her! I can hook you up with tickets to his show when he comes to your town!
    Before I was a chef, I went to drama school in college to become a stand up comedian! Its so hard and actually very scary!
    I like Jerry too, but I also like George Carlin and Chelsea Handler. I’m a big supporter of up and coming comedians like Aziz Ansari and Randy and Jason Sklar.

    I used to be the anti anti anti morning person, but I’ve had to work on it and I’m way better. I think I just need to set myself up the night before. If i get to bed on the early side, it makes all the difference. I also turn my clock 10 min fast so I “think” I’m late when I have a few minutes to spare.

  19. October 22, 2010 8:49 pm

    1. Mitch Hedberg. He is amazing and I sort of can’t believe he died before I got to see his show.

    2. I want to be one of those people that gets up at 5am and works out and has a leisurely breakfast. But it just isn’t happening. Now I get up 30min-1hr before I have to leave the house. (Unless I don’t have class until the afternoon) (Except sometimes, yeah, then too.)

  20. October 22, 2010 9:46 pm

    love the links…jessica’s food always rocks and i saw angela’s crackers and i make some ones that are GF and vegan and i love seeing new recipes and inspiration!

    grayson. omg my heart pours open with love and healing and healthy vibes being sent to him when i see how sweet and small he is…but getting stronger!

    love that youre driving your SIL. Any woman with a c-sec and a baby in the ICU…bless her heart. And yours for being a great SIL to her :)

  21. October 22, 2010 9:58 pm

    I am no a morning person either! Always rushing, always in a hurry, always waiting to get up until the last possible moment! Yep, sounds like a fun time, huh?

    I dream of being a morning person, and I especially would love get my work out out of the way in the morning. BUTT, the chances are slim to none!

    I LOVEEE Penelope, what a freakin cutie!! :)

  22. October 22, 2010 10:08 pm

    ohhh my gosh- seriously the most adorable puppy EVER! and im going to see jerry seinfield in a month!! whoooo! i am soo excited!
    gah i wish i could lounge- but i am in such a hurry all the time bc of class!

  23. October 22, 2010 10:28 pm

    You and Marshall both look so in love with little penelope!

  24. Sarah permalink
    October 22, 2010 11:46 pm

    Penelope’s baby face is almost as cute as Moose’s was. There is nothing more adorable than a puppy…The eyes, the freakin’ fluff, the belly. I could die from the cuteness that is puppy belly. It’s just so pink! Gah!

    Favorite comedian is Dane Cook fer sher, and of course Jerry Seinfeld. Seinfeld is my all time favorite show, no battle.

    And let’s not discuss how much time I give myself to get ready in the morning. If you knew how much time there was between when my ass rolls out of bed and when I finally rush out the door, you’d wonder how on God’s green earth I could possibly be late. Trust me, it’s an art. I am, without fail, at LEAST 1 minute late to everything. I just wish this was something that my boyfriend/boss/past bosses/everyone found to be an endearing quality :]

  25. actorsdiet permalink
    October 23, 2010 12:12 am

    seinfeld’s pretty great. i also like dimitri martin.

  26. elise permalink
    October 23, 2010 1:27 am

    boo…my comment got deleted. recap:

    1) thank you cards = boo. still working on mine too, sigh.
    2) praying for your fam
    3) puppy penelope = ADORABLE
    4) seinfeld = awesome. joel mchale and chelsea handler are runner ups
    5) im an annoying early for everything freak. i leave more room for error than any human could ever need.

  27. Robyn permalink
    October 23, 2010 3:08 am

    My favorite comedian is Brian Reagan. He is seriously HILARIOUS! He’s funny to begin with, but then his facial expressions and body language put it over the top. Saw him at Thanksgiving point a few years ago and it was great. I also love Jim Gaffigan. Definitely check them out on Youtube!

  28. hayleycepeda permalink
    October 23, 2010 5:50 am

    I just want you to know that I’m still following your blog I just don’t always have time to comment. I could never stay away from your quirkiness! :) I love the flashback of your adorable pups and I can only hope and pray that that little baby goes home soon! Lots of love to you J! xoxo

  29. October 23, 2010 8:51 am

    I love Ellen DeGeneres. So classy. Here and Now is delightful. I also love comedy shows like Flight of the Conchords, The Office, 30 Rock, SNL, Daily Show…the list goes on!

    Little Greyson looks like he’s getting a little bigger and a little stronger! My thoughts to your family.

  30. October 23, 2010 6:23 pm

    Dude! Did your treadmill routine (the one in this post) today and it was awesome. YOU ROCK.

  31. October 24, 2010 10:15 am

    Sending good wishes the the little guy – hope he gets better soon! :)

    And your puppy is the cutest thing ever.

  32. Sarah W. permalink
    October 25, 2010 7:03 am

    I just went to the DC Improv for the first time and had a FANTASTIC time! We saw Steve Byrne – he is half Korean and half Irish.

    HE IS HILIARIOUS!!! i’m officially a fan. tickets were relatively inexpensive.

    It was a good time. I will be stalking the improv for some other good comedians to come to DC…

  33. October 25, 2010 7:54 am

    I hope your little nephew continues to get better!

    Penny was the CUUUUTEST puppy!!! Agh! I want that dog!

  34. October 25, 2010 12:26 pm

    Love the plate! So cool! What are the other cities?

    Prayers for the little man.

  35. October 25, 2010 8:33 pm

    I just thought of a very important question. Will you please bring Randy and Penelope to San Fran with you?? Kthx :)

    LOVE Kevin Nealon!! He’s hilarious on Weeds, but I also watched all the old SNL seasons when I wa sin high school and he was hilarious in them.

    Your nephew is TOO CUTE.

  36. October 31, 2010 9:50 am

    I enjoyed Kevin Nealon’s character (the boss) in the movie Grandma’s Boy.

Leave a comment