Skip to content

momma b’s travels: costa rica.

October 21, 2010

hey everyone! i am turning the time over to my mom tonight. she has a luxurious life and is always traveling to far and fun places. i like to live vicariously through her and have asked her to write up guest posts on all her fun trips.

here is the first installment~ hope you enjoy. here’s momma b!

**************************************************************

It feels like I have been on the go for months – with not a minute to spare and, well, I guess I have been pretty busy: Costa Rica, wedding, grand baby 1, San Antonio, grand baby 2, St George…….these have all been wonderful experiences and I still have to throw my job in there, too!  But I did have to eat all the while so here I am sharing a few of my meals with you.

Costa Rica in June is splendid – we have had the chance to go often and it certainly is one of my “destinations of choice” – you should all try it!  We love to stay at the Iguana Lodge on the Osa Peninsula.  It is a wonderful resort with pretty rustic casitas and fabulous breakfasts and dinners!

We fly on a tiny plane from San Jose to the beach, awesome.

clip_image001

These places are so cute. Screens on the windows, no locks on the doors and, of course, the required bug netting! 

clip_image001[5]

Wonderful open air showers!

clip_image001[16]

Now here’s a kitchen Janetha could get used to!!  They cook all of the meals here, they have a wonderful chef who will whip up just about anything you want!

clip_image002[4]

I’m always a sucker for flowers and beach shots – most of my photos are scenery but, boy, is it ever beautiful – private beaches and warm, warm water, ahhhhh the life! 

clip_image001[14]

The cute little fluff ball is a dog we named Scrappy  – there is another cute photo of him down below, he followed us everywhere.

clip_image002

clip_image003

Here’s Scrappy’s buddy Curly – lodge dogs!  

clip_image004

The first night there we had a wonderful Italian buffet – plenty of food.  Lasagna, eggplant, fresh veggies, mmmm good!

clip_image005

The Iguana Lodge is famous for their pecan pie, totally melts in your mouth – I have the recipe just in case you may want it Winking smile

clip_image006

Holy mortar and pestle!!  I needed a good workout.

clip_image007

We ate at a small restaurant next to the lodge called the Pearl.  I had the BEST gazpacho I have EVER tasted.

clip_image008

Along with  two darling chicken tacos (janetha here.. did my mom just call the chicken tacos “darling”? i love her!), which were SO flavorful.clip_image009

And, last but not least, a side order of Scrappy! 

clip_image010

Moving on to a darling pizza place high in the mountains by the volcano Arenal… we had this refreshing lime drink, makes my mouth water just to look at it! 

clip_image011

I’ll let the pizza speak for itself.clip_image012

Of course a visit to a beautiful butterfly farm is always in order, isn’t this fellow just grand?

clip_image013

Oops –this one got away from me way too soon – it was an awesome chicken sandwich with spinach, tomatoes and pine nuts, sounds crazy… but as you can see, it was delicious!

clip_image014

Typical breakfast for me!

clip_image015

Well, I sure don’t want to spoil your appetite, but wanted to share my awesome injury with you!  I was repelling down a waterfall (I’m a very clumsy uncoordinated momma b) and lost my footing and this is what I came away with. Yep, it hurt about as bad as it looks!!

clip_image016

One final shot of the beautiful San Jose Marriott – I love this place and could be ready to go again in, oh, say about 20 minutes!!

clip_image017

This is such a great vacation spot and I hope someday to be able to get our whole family there to enjoy all of it!!

**************************************************************************

thanks, mom! i sure wish you could get our whole family there to enjoy it, too (wink, wink, nudge, nudge!) i loved seeing the photos of all the fun, food and pups. can’t wait to hear about your next adventure!

before i go—the winner of the nature made tripleflex giveaway is #36! kristin of cook, bake & nibble. congrats, lady. send me your mailing address. thanks to everyone who entered!

see you guys tomorrow for flashback friday Smile

Qs~

1. where was your most recent vacation destination? mine was arizona in august.. but next up is san francisco in two weeks for the foodbuzz festival. hooray!

2. if you had to name one vacation you’ve been on that had the best food.. which vacation would that be? my answer is definitely my trip in 2007 when i went to london, amsterdam and norway. we ate SO much great food—but the best was the home cooked meals that my norwegian friend’s dad made for us. delicious!

xo. janetha g.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 8:59 pm

    Such a cool trip! My family went to Costa Rica but it was a longgg time ago. I think I need to revisit. Definitely a unique resort- we all totally need that pie recipe. That bruise? YIKES! I love fresh fruit on tropical vacations. Last vaca…I think Jamaica. We’re going to Disney World soon too. Favorite destination? Thats a toughie- probably Hawaii. Much love to Momma B!

  2. October 21, 2010 9:05 pm

    Momma B is soo cute! And what a luxurious and awesome vacation! Costa Rica is definitely going on my list of places to visit!
    I can’t believe Foodbuzz is only two weeks away! So excited for it!

  3. October 21, 2010 9:22 pm

    my mind is reeling re: that bruise.

    janetha, i can’t wait to meet you at foodbuzz!!! get ready for a huge psychotic hug!

  4. October 21, 2010 10:32 pm

    Awww, Mama B. So glad you shared your travels…but ahhh…that bruise!

    Our last trip was Disneyland but the best food was either in Vancouver or San Francisco!

    J, I seriously can’t wait!!!! You are my girl!

  5. October 21, 2010 10:40 pm

    Momma B is the cutest. I love this post. Andy and I have always wanted to go to Costa Rica. It’s been a dream of ours for a long time.

    That bruise is gnarly! Battle scar for sure.

    Last trip was to Kauai over the summer. Andy and I try to go somewhere every summer. Next up, San Francisco!!!!! :)

    I’m so excited to see you!

    Best food vacation: ITALY!

  6. October 21, 2010 10:53 pm

    Oh my goodness–that is the biggest bruise I’ve seen…maybe ever?! Yikes! What beautiful photos otherwise, Momma B!

    Can’t wait to finally finally finally meet you in San Fran, Janetha!

  7. Nicole C permalink
    October 21, 2010 11:21 pm

    Last trip was 2 weeks ago to Banff in Canada!! Check that one off the bucket list but it is stunning and I want to go back.

    I honestly can’t say one place that had terrific food. Id love to say ireland but not really. Hawaii..mmm good but not memorable. Id say home cookin’ on this one.

    • mom permalink
      October 22, 2010 8:19 am

      Banff is on our “bucket list” the photos I’ve seen are incredible!

      • Nicole C permalink
        October 22, 2010 9:47 am

        I have lots of photos and can manage my way around should you have any questions. Just note: the road to Moraine Lake closes after Canadian Thanksgiving and won’t open back up until next year.

  8. October 21, 2010 11:31 pm

    wow this looks too amazing for words! what a wonderful experience!!

  9. October 21, 2010 11:54 pm

    Costa Rica is, and may always be my favorite vacation ever! I loved it! And loved this post :)

  10. October 22, 2010 12:57 am

    As everyone has said, I’m very excited to meet you at SF! My family is all over the place so I’ve been to so many countries to visit them all.I think the best food is always in my dad’s hometown in Belgium. Although Australia has so pretty awesome eats as well!

    Momma B, thanks for posting! you seem like so much fun to travel with! I miss traveling with my mother. She died when i was thirteen and I always feel closer to her when i travel because i remember how much she loved it. Take me on your next vacay! I promise i am very cool!
    that bruise doesn’t scare me, ive had worse in college!

  11. October 22, 2010 3:14 am

    ahh omg love this because Janetha as you know my family LIVES in costa rica…Q for momma B–did you try Cafe Britt coffee?? thats my uncle!!! He owns the company! I used to go to costa rica at least once ayear for 13 years. I love it there, feels like home :) amazing pictures and that pizza…wow I let it speak for myself!

    • mom permalink
      October 22, 2010 8:21 am

      We aren’t coffee drinkers but I always bring it home for others :) We do love the Britt candy and cocoa – your uncle owns it WOW!!

  12. October 22, 2010 4:36 am

    I love Momma B and her adventurous life! :) OMG though, how awful that she fell during off the waterfall. That looks so painful!!! What a tough chic!! :)

  13. October 22, 2010 5:17 am

    This post made me super excited and jealous at the same time! I went to Costa Rica last March and I’m pretty sure I ate at the same pizza place as your mom! There were monkeys in the trees as we ate our pie! So neat. :) Definitely one of the best vacations I’ve been on.

    I think the best vacation food-wise has to be my family trips to Lake Placid. We always stay in an amazing hotel and the food is just unbelievable. They make this muesli that is, to quote momma b, darling. :)

  14. October 22, 2010 6:19 am

    That’s a nasty bruise!! You’ve got one tough mama!

  15. October 22, 2010 6:34 am

    That looks like an awesome vacation! But holy bruise, Batman! I’ll have to add Costa Rica to my list of places to go. :)

    My last vacation was to Miami — South Beach, more specifically. I’m not sure what my best vacation food-wise has been. I’d really have to think about that. :)

  16. October 22, 2010 6:39 am

    Love it! So gorgeous, reminds me of Jamaica!

    Our most recent vacation was to Destin Florida (our usual). Dan is limited on his vacation time because he only gets 2 weeks a year. He uses 1 week the first week of Jan to go skiing for a week and most of the 2nd week he goes home to his family for Christmas.

    My favorite vacation was definately Jamaica. I want to go back SO badly (it was 4 years ago). Dan hated it though, even though I kept reminding him it was a 3rd world country, he couldn’t get past some of the pushy locals

  17. October 22, 2010 6:45 am

    oh my gosh that bruise is HORRIBLE, i cringed!!

    my last vacation was to Kennebunkport, Maine and then Boston. It was AWESOME!

    We try to make foodie vacations out of all our trips, but I must say we outdid ourselves on the last trip…tried over 20 ice cream flavors in the few days we were there :)

  18. October 22, 2010 6:53 am

    momma b you are too cute. writing a guest post is not something my mom would EVER consider doing…i don’t think she really even reads mine…j.g- you are lucky to have such a supportive momma ;) she’s adorable too! xo.

  19. October 22, 2010 7:33 am

    This looks like an incredible vacation! I haven’t been on a good vacation in a while, aside from back home to the States!

    But the best food, by FAR was Italy!

    xo
    Kris

  20. October 22, 2010 8:36 am

    Looks like lots of fun, besides the huge bruise!

    I guess most recent favorite vacation was Vegas.

    It used to not feel like vacation, but now that I’m living further away, best eating is New Orleans. I’ll be there in one week!

    Very jealous about everyone going to Foodbuzz, next year though!

  21. October 22, 2010 8:53 am

    Great post from Momma B! That is a nasty bruise. Yikes!

    I’m looking forward to the rest of her posts as we’re thinking of a trip to San Antonio or St. George in the future.

  22. thedelicateplace permalink
    October 22, 2010 9:22 am

    what a beautiful kitchen! ahh i’m jealous! omg what a bruise!? yeeeouch! hope you feel better :) my most recent destination(s) was hilton head, SC in september and paris in march. best food? it’s a tie for paris and when i spent a month in india (may 2006) i STILL remember such amazing flavors i was in the northeast so the food was very mongolian/tibetan influenced. omfg so good

  23. October 22, 2010 10:45 am

    What a great post Momma B!! :D I would love to try ‘darling chicken tacos’ !!!

    My last vacation was camping up in King’s Canyon Nat’l Forest back in May (?!)… We’re planning on booking a Mexico cruise for mid december to celebrate both of our birthdays (will be 29 this year – WHOA NELLY!) and to get some warm sun this winter. It will be our FIRST, real vacation together ever (other than camping). SO excited!! Wish we could cruise the carribean or hawaii, but don’t have the time this year… so, Mexico it is!

    The best food on a vacay… well, since we camp… would have to be my own cooking *toot toot* lol! Remember when the black bear came into our campsite after making balsamic chicken?! I look forward to a vacay where I don’t have to fight Misty (what I named the bear) for dinner ;)

  24. October 22, 2010 12:00 pm

    Does the B in Momma B stand for Badass? Because it should ;)

  25. Katie permalink
    October 22, 2010 12:17 pm

    My most recent vacation destination was to South Carolina with my mom and our family friends for a girls weekend. My parents have their retirement house down there, so we go as often as we can!

    Our next stop is Arizona for Christmas! We are doing a very non-traditional Xmas this year (just my parents, me, my brother, and his wife) and are staying at a resort for a long weekend. I’m thinking a spa day during Christmas sounds amazing!

    The best food I’ve ever eaten were at three different locations – 1) Paris 2) Jamaica, and 3) Hawaii

  26. October 22, 2010 1:05 pm

    I just visited St. Petersburg Florida –my boyfriend is there!

    Best food would probably be…Italy. Little hole in the wall places with fresh bread, pasta, and pizza. MMM

  27. October 22, 2010 1:25 pm

    Luxurious life indeed! I would LOVE to go to Costa Rica… the place you stayed looks amazing! And as for your bruised leg: you are a warrior! Such a great story.

  28. October 22, 2010 2:24 pm

    Thanks for the guest post Momma B!

    Costa Rica looks absolutely gorgeous! The food looks so fresh, and except for the repelling accident it looks like you had a great time!

    Unfortunately I can’t remember the last vacation I took; I think I was in high school? So four years? Gah, too long ago!

  29. Maren permalink
    October 22, 2010 3:13 pm

    Thanks for posting momma b! Loved seeing all of your great pictures! man that bruise is one to write in the books, holy cow!!!!

    The last place I vacationed to was Minnesota to the lake! I went to Ireland in March though and WOOOOWW…best food EVER!

  30. October 22, 2010 9:56 pm

    Great guestie, Momma B!

    I was in Costa Rica almost 10 years ago for a month. I got my 1st level of yoga teacher training certification. I was on the west edge, in Nosara, in the Guanacaste Peninsula. It was remote then. Rustic, primitive, howler monkeys throwing do-do at our huts at night, but it was one of the best months of my life. Both for yoga, and personal growth. I was newly married, as in married for 4 mos and left without my husband. Almost flew home and quit many times, but the beauty of Costa Rica kept me there…and looking back now, so glad I stayed.

    Loved your trip pics! Aside from that bruise..yikes!

    See you in San Fran, Janetha!

    :)

  31. October 26, 2010 6:06 pm

    Momma B: let’s hang out!

    I could totally get used to that kitchen. The morter and pestle cracked me up- I thought you were doing what I would have done…used them as weights! :-) I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gobbled up a meal and then thought: Hmm, should have taken a photo- woops! Looks like you had a fabo time!

    Last trip: Portugal, England. Next trip Barcelona. Best food- JAPAN!

    Sorry to miss you Janetha bean and all the posse at Foodbuzz- just too many travels right now to get away then also! Have a BLASSSSSST!

Trackbacks

  1. farm fresh food & a flashback. « meals & moves
  2. Eats and Lessons of the Week | Eden's Eats

Leave a comment