Skip to content

oktoberfest & october goals.

October 4, 2010

hello! how was your monday? it is always rough for me to wake up monday morning, but because i go into work an hour earlier on mondays—the work day seems to fly by! that’s always nice.

yesterday was my friend amber’s birthday. amber is the clearly delusional friend who hates pumpkin and whipped cream. i love her to pieces regardless of this small flaw.  to celebrate her birthday, we headed to brunch at market street grill.

i started things off with one of their famous, fresh baked orange cinnamon buns.

IMG_0427

i <3 these buns. i am surprised i didn’t eat seven.

i usually get their eggs benedict but i was feeling like a change, so i ordered the signature omelette. i promise it tasted 342 times better than it looks..

IMG_0431

MARKET STREET GRILL OMELETTE
Sauteed Onions, Peeled Fresh Tomatoes, Fresh Mushrooms, Green Chili Peppers, With an Ortega Pepper stuffed with Cheddar Cheese and a Broiled Tomato.

the omelette was delicious, but after seeing some of the other plates at the table, i knew i should have got the benedict. that’s what i get for changing it up!  at least i still enjoyed my meal and their broiled tomatoes with bread crumbs on top are always my favorite part.

IMG_0430

unfortunately, our service was extremely horrible (and the restaurant wasn’t even crowded!) so we were there for almost three whole hours. ridiculous. once we finally paid our bill and got out of there, we drove up the canyon to snowbird ski resort.  each year, snowbird hosts an annual oktoberfest festival.

IMG_0441

it runs from august to october.  i was glad i waited until the tail end of the festival to head up because all the leaves had started to change and it made for gorgeous sight seeing.

IMG_0454 IMG_0452

IMG_0434

while we weren’t in it for the beer or the food like in years past, we still enjoyed the festival and had a great time (and saved a lot of money!)

IMG_0444 IMG_0446 IMG_0447 IMG_0450 IMG_0455

i bought $25 worth of scentsy scents. i am such a sucker!

IMG_0457

thought this sign was funny ;)

IMG_0458

good times in the mountains!

IMG_0459

GOALS!

i have mentioned more than once that i wanted to go over my october goals. seeing as how it is only the 4th of the month, i think i am still in the clear on doing a beginning-of-the-month-goal-post. so yes, i am finally getting around to it.

truth be told, i haven’t set any goals in a long time.  not since before my wedding, in fact.  since i am typically such a goal-oriented person, this has been strange for me.  while i am enjoying my life as a newlywed, i feel like i have let a lot of things slip away from me in various aspects of life.  these aspects include food, fitness, organization, knowledge and the ol’ blog.

while i have been sticking to relatively healthy eating and regular exercise, i feel like goals help me remember to accomplish things i would otherwise slip by the wayside. and it’s no secret that i am a procrastination station.. i have lived in my house for almost 3 months and am still living out of boxes. that has got to go.

i always break my goals into each area in life. here they are:

eating, etc.

  1. drink a gallon of water a day. this used to be something i did without thinking, but i have barely been drinking 48 ounces these days. it’s very important for me to stay hydrated because, as i have mentioned in the past, i suffer from chronic UTIs. if i don’t drink a gallon a day.. well.. it’s not fun.
  2. eat more protein. my body likes it when i eat a ratio of 40% carbs, 40% protein and 20% fat. i have been eating more of a 55/25/20 ratio. this month, i aim to hit the 40/40/20 ratio. when i don’t get enough protein, i end up snacking randomly and unnecessarily. this can lead to me being uncomfortable in my own skin, so i am fixing this issue before it reaches that point.
  3. remember to take my vitamins! first of all, vitamins are good for me! second of all, i didn’t spend ridiculous amounts of money on quality vitamins for them to sit on the shelf. it’s not hard to take vitamins, but i have the memory of a goldfish. this month, i WILL remember to take them.

exercise

  1. increase mileage. long time readers know that at the beginning of this year, i set a goal to run 400 miles. this is not a lot to some people, but it is a lot to me.  according to calculations and the fact that there are 3 months left in the year, i should be 300 miles in.. but i am a little shy of that number. i aim to run a few more miles each week so i can stay on track with my mileage goal.
  2. be consistent. lately, i have taken over a week off from strength training a specific muscle. when i do that, i get incredibly sore when i finally do work that muscle.  i love training my lower body so i always opt for that, and neglect my upper body. i need to be more consistent with my training. this month, i will train each muscle/group at least once a week.

organization

  1. flipping finish unpacking!! i am sick of living out of boxes. i am sick of two rooms in my house AND my garage being un-usable because they are full. of. boxes. i am SUCH a procrastinator, but i really need to get a grip on this one. i mean, it is going to snow soon enough.. i need to be able to park in the garage! and i would like to have the office and spare bedroom set up. and i would love to finally have a house warming party.. just gotta make that house a little more organized first ;)
  2. put things away. i will admit it, i am lazy. i take my shoes off and leave them all over the house. instead of hanging my jacket up i throw it on the floor or armchair. i need to put that whole “touch it once” rule into play. this is where you only touch something once and that one time is when you are putting it in the proper place. i am notorious for putting things in piles. i am a pile addict! instead of folding clothes and putting them away, i sort them into “hang up” and “fold” piles. and then the piles sit for days and get mixed up. i will sort through mail and put it in three piles, and then leave the piles there. instead of doing the pile technique, i could just touch it once and put it where it needs to go the first time.

knowledge

  1. read a book. i have a couple books i want to read. one is on food and one is on fitness. ideally, i want to read both this month.. but i am going to set a goal to read at least one.
  2. look into going back to school. this has gone on for far too long. i need to get a grip and get back to class!

the blog.

  1. create more meals & moves pages. i blog about new recipes and workouts daily, but i never put them into the proper meals and moves pages. it is so easy to do this at the same time i am publishing my posts.. i should just do it then.

there you have it! my october goals. it may be a lengthy list, but the more goals i have the more chances i have at succeeded at at least one. i kid. i am going to work hard on at least half of them! ;) i will check in with these mid-month. special thanks to my friends susan and monica for always reminding me how good it is to keep a set of goals, even small ones.

well, i would love to stay and ramble, but today is national taco day and marshall is making me his famous tacos for dinner. i love that guy.

check ya later, skaters!

Qs~

1. do you attend any annual festivals in your town? what are they?

2. what is one of your current goals, large or small?

xo. janetha g.

47 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 5:55 pm

    First off, I have to say that the pumpkin pancakes you made a few days ago looked so incredibly delicious that I HAD to make them for myself this morning for breakfast. And wow, they definitely didn’t disappoint. I’ll be posting photos tomorrow : ) Thanks for the idea.

    And to answer your questions: 1) I’ve been to Oktoberfests in Colorado with my family because we’re German and my dad usually rallied us to go. And although I don’t care for beer, I love a good brat and always had a good time there. I live in Portland and honestly there’s like a festival or parade or carnival going on every day. It’s crazy how much people celebrate here for almost no reason. I’m not complaining, I just can’t keep up!

    And 2) My current goals are to be more productive during the day, keep up on my writing and reading, serve and give when I feel called to, and focus on a balanced, healthy lifestyle.

    • October 4, 2010 6:52 pm

      glad you made them and liked them! i love brats, too :) those are all good goals.. being more productive–love that!

  2. October 4, 2010 5:58 pm

    You know I love brunch out! I always regret when I don’t get my parfait…I’ve contemplated trying one of their omelets lately too. The Oktoberfest looks like fun. One of my friends & I are actually throwing an Oktoberfest party in two weekends. Your goals look awesome. I’m always working on water and more protein.

    1. do you attend any annual festivals in your town? what are they? Yes! Berry fests & beer fests

    2. what is one of your current goals, large or small? you know :)

  3. October 4, 2010 6:01 pm

    All excellent goals!

    I know you’re not lazy. I think my leaving shoes around and my laundry in piles is rebellion (lazy people don’t rebel). I think I just don’t want to have to be a grown-up. I’m finally facing reality and taking care of it on the spot. Our house has never been cleaner.

    PS. I’m a Scentsy fan too! It’s really the only thing I’ve found that works, smells great and looks stylish. I even snuck one of the scented discs into Chris’ closet, and he liked it.

  4. October 4, 2010 6:02 pm

    I’m so goal-oriented as well. And I love reading other people’s goals too! One of mine is to walk twenty minutes on the treadmill by the end of the month.

    • October 4, 2010 7:00 pm

      i love reading other peoples’ goals, too. it’s motivating! that is a good one for you to work on :)

  5. October 4, 2010 6:09 pm

    I feel SO much better when I drink a shit ton of water and I did that last week and felt great. Gotta remember to do that!

    I am goal oriented but I can only handle like 1 or 2 goals at a time :)

  6. October 4, 2010 6:13 pm

    I love all of the fall festivals and Octoberfests! Such a great time of year.

    Great job on setting these goals! You always have the best goals. I think I’ll steel some of yours and we can work of them together! :)

    Love you!

  7. October 4, 2010 6:52 pm

    Great goals, I need to set some myself. Mine are ususaly…don’t stress so much. haha! We have ACL festival this weekend as well as October Fest. Love fall!

  8. October 4, 2010 6:56 pm

    Kind of drooling over those cinnamon buns right now.

  9. October 4, 2010 7:26 pm

    Ok, not gonna lie-that omelet looks funkalicious. But I would probably try a bite (or five) if you put it in front of me. I hate when I have food envy of others who I dine with–it just stinks.

    Your Oktoberfest looks fun and geniune. Ours is in the middle of the flea market parking lot with lots of space so kind of ghetto. However, I do attend the Greek and Italian Fest that they have here and love going to festivals!

    One goal I have–start running. Thats it.

  10. Sarah permalink
    October 4, 2010 8:15 pm

    I totally wish I knew of some festivals here! My boyfriend and I just moved to Salt Lake, but I’m really not sure where or when any festival type deals go down :[

    Current goals: Find a second/new job, because I HATE RETAIL. Aaaand I’m also saving for a personal training certification :D Yay! Also, I think I need to spend more time outside because ohmygeez fall is gawgeous here.

  11. October 4, 2010 8:47 pm

    Hey love, I think it’s great to have goals. I need to set some out for myself too but honestly I know for me, tackling ONE goal at a time is best for me.

    PS You are always doing FUN things. I am so damn jealous of your life sometimes. I need to be more adventurous and just overall fun!

  12. October 4, 2010 9:02 pm

    Love your goals. I’m one of those people that likes goal setting, but tends to forget about the goals. I have such a bad memory. ;) I find it motivating to read other people’s goals though.

  13. October 4, 2010 9:19 pm

    Great post! I love reading about your weekends. I need to really get better about taking photos and blogging about when we do fun stuff. Lol, I usually only blog on the rare occasion we do nothing.

    You’ve inspired me to write a goals blog…eventually. One of my goals is definately to blog more consistently and better quality

    1) We go to SXSW every year. We also attend some festivals in the region as well, mostly music related. Planning on doing more of the food and crafty type fairs in the coming year.

    2) I’m still hoping to preserve as much muscle mass as possible through marathon training. 6 more weeks until I find out the results from that!

  14. October 4, 2010 9:27 pm

    I love reading other people’s goals. It helps me set my own goals cause I look at go, “omg that’s a good idea!” and add in some more goals.

    That being said, my goals for this month are:

    1. Eat at home more.
    2. increase protein intake (my body loves this. I need to work on it)
    3. run more, increase mileage. (I’d like to do 100 more miles before the end of the year.)
    4. Lift weights! I’ve put it off and my body can tell.
    5. spend more quality time with Andy. Just talking more, hanging out more, we need it!

  15. October 4, 2010 9:53 pm

    I dont attend local festival, but you’r inspiring me to do so! The Oktoberfest in LA is coming up soon, so I think you’ve done a good job of pushing me to actually check it out this year!

    I too need to set some organization goals! I’m super lazy too. Please update on that front throughout the month to let me know whats working and not working to help achieve those goals. I too slack off with blog page organizations! such a shame because I have cool recipes that I forget to organize!

    I always have this image of heidi klum and my grandmother when I think “germany”. Obviously, cause they are both german, but its a weird association! I love those signs! I would have bought some for my kitchen!

  16. Christin L. permalink
    October 4, 2010 11:21 pm

    I live in Austin, where we have tons of festivals including SXSW. I go to some of them, but I often forget about a lot of them and take for granted what a cool town I live in.

    My biggest goal this month is to get a handle on my schedule and time management. I just started massage therapy school and am still working my full-time job, so my goal is to figure out how to best manage all of this including homework so I am efficient and not overwhelmed! :)

  17. elise permalink
    October 5, 2010 1:26 am

    i love goals. thank goodness i didn’t start work right after the wedding/honeymoon because i DEF needed that time to unpack. it really is the worst. living out of boxes sucks, but sometimes there just no more room…blah. i can totally relate.
    i like the goals.

  18. October 5, 2010 1:27 am

    I can’t wait till 16th of October because its my towns bonfire night! Lots of drums and music with loads of fireworks and a massive fire love it! x x

  19. October 5, 2010 2:40 am

    Great goals! Good luck with them :)
    I want to be part of that parade so bad. Or just wear the costumes everyday of my freakin’ life.

  20. October 5, 2010 5:56 am

    have i mentioned i’m a tad envious that you live in utah? snowbird looks fuuuun, even in the fall! i’m hoping to get out west to ski for the first time this year!

    i attend food festivals a bit too often. and one of my goals is to focus more on my (graduate) school work, which i’m supposed to be doing right about now. oops!

    • October 5, 2010 11:45 am

      i always love seeing the food festivals you attend. i drool every time!

  21. October 5, 2010 6:30 am

    we used to have a summer fireman’s carnival in our town EVERY year, but this past year, our town wasn’t willing to fork up the $$. :(

    i’m like you, i always forget to put things away!! i get sidetracked and then totally forget…that’s one of my goals :)

  22. thedelicateplace permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:21 am

    1. i still can’t believe she doesn’t like pumpkin. i can eat my weight in the stuff!
    2. i attend street fairs mainly, we don’ have too many festivals where i live
    3. my current goal is to sell my friggin house! it’s been on the market since the end of july and i want to move to a larger city and be closer to my fam. doing great on the mental stimulation, food/exercise realms

  23. Tamara permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:27 am

    1. Yes! This year we went to Arts, Beats, and Eats (just what it sounds like, art fair with live music and lots of food booths) and DIY (Do It Yourself) festival, which also had live music and a bit of food but which was mostly about the local arts/crafts/goods trade. Saw some very cool vendors at DIY, especially liked this woman who made handbags out of vintage t-shirts. And we got chair massages by friends whom my fiance met at the previous year’s DIY festival. Very cool chicks!

    2. A current goal: Get a freelance side job. My bills are out of hand and getting worse by the month! I need a little extra income to start paying stuff off. Interestingly, serendipity is on my side, as I have received word of three different potential freelance opportunities in the last week. I need to find time to sit down and apply for them. I guess it’s true what Emerson said: “Once you make a decision, the universe conspires to make it happen.”

    Thanks for the thought-provoking post. Your goals are fantastic and inspiring!

  24. October 5, 2010 7:29 am

    Great goals, missy!

    I blogged about my Octo-goals last week and already feel I need to “revise” them. Like LisaOU11 said above, I think I need to stick with just a handful. I get overwhelmed too easily. DOH!

    Some of my “doable” goals are to also drink a gallon of water a day and flippin’ f-l-o-s-s everyday.

  25. Tamara permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:41 am

    Also, don’t feel too bad: We moved into our apartment in late MARCH and we still haven’t unpacked our books, DVDs, or CDs. My bookcases are at my mom’s house and we can’t seem to get them over to ours, for a variety of less and less valid reasons, as time goes by!

    I really need to take a cue from you and get organized… after the wedding (getting married in Vegas on 10.22!).

    • October 5, 2010 11:46 am

      congrats on your upcoming wedding! 22 is my favorite number. what a great date to get married!

      • Tamara permalink
        October 5, 2010 11:50 am

        Thanks so much!! 22 is my favorite number too, and luckily my fiance was totally okay with using that as a factor in choosing the date! ;)

  26. October 5, 2010 7:49 am

    Looks like a great day- that bun looks to die for!!

    There are SO many festivals in Toronto, we hardly ever make it to as many as we want to! But Caribana, Gay Pride and Beer fest are some of the best in our town.

    As for goals… I have lots this month as well! All of yours are great, I’m sure you’ll attain them. Some of mine include…
    -being more organized
    -keeping up with fitness as the cold weather rolls in
    -work on eliminating my food intolerances
    -keep to budget
    -be more creative!

    xo
    Kris

  27. SkinnyRunner permalink
    October 5, 2010 8:00 am

    i love that all your goals are attainable and broken down into different segments or genres. nothing like “lose 20 lbs this week and make my life totally awesome!”
    my immediate goal is to cook dinner this week at home and use up all the stuff in the fridge!

  28. October 5, 2010 8:21 am

    I love festivals! I wish there were more around here.

  29. October 5, 2010 10:41 am

    One of my goals is to incorporate healthy fats (And new ones…I always stick to PB!) into all my meals.

    Also I would like to keep running some longer distances even after race season is over. Last time I let my running slip away and it hasn’t been fun getting back into it!

  30. October 5, 2010 11:43 am

    i LOVE festivals this time of year in new england! the foliage is beautiful and so many fresh foods using apples and local fruits and veggies! I DO Love festivals!!

    holy cinnamon buns those look so darn good!!! i always loved the icing on top! :)

    my goal is to read more for sure!!! I also have another fitness certification and my goal is to order the materials to start studying!!

  31. October 5, 2010 11:43 am

    Great goals! I am totally a “pile addict” too – I plop my stuff on the floor (shoes, purse, jacket, whatever) the second I walk in and Adam hates it. As to the vitamin, I have a little trick for ‘remembering” – set a daily reminder in your calendar. It pops up on my computer screen every day at 2 (calcium) and 5 (multi). Good luck!!!!

    • October 5, 2010 11:51 am

      thanks for the tip. i have one of those HUGE old people pill cases and i STILL forget, haha!

  32. lowandbhold permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:50 pm

    There is an OktoberFest near my town this month that I’d really like to go to. I hope it happens!

    My goal for this month is to get in a 20-miles training run. I’m scurred!

    I just got really curious about Scentsy, I kind of want to buy some but I have sooo many candles that it seems unnecessary.

  33. Nicole C permalink
    October 6, 2010 12:10 pm

    1. Annual festivals are something we culturally lack in vegas like most things. We do have a handful of things that are fun that I do. This past weekend was the 48th Annual Art in the Park (quality goes down every year) and I ALWAYS go to the Super Summer Theater to see the plays.

    2. I had a bucket list for 2010 and just found the virtual sticky note on my lap top. Once I found it it was a reminder that i haven’t been on vacation this year. One of them was to go to Glacier National Park and Banff in Canada. SO this weekend I am outta to accomplish that goal. Another was to visit national parks and I have been to: Zion(2x), Grand Canyon and Yosemite this year.

  34. October 6, 2010 7:32 pm

    Le sigh – your pics made me miss Utah like crazy. I need to make a trip back there sometime :)

  35. Jennie permalink
    October 6, 2010 9:14 pm

    I was in SLC this weekend (I live in Gilbert, AZ) to go to a friend’s wedding. The reception was at Market Street Grill. So funny that you mentioned it. We stayed in a hotel right across the street. Loved the weather, fall colors, the mountains, and the old houses in the neighborhood by the church. Felt like moving to Utah this weekend. :)

  36. October 7, 2010 10:44 am

    I just did my goals post, love some of yours. Mine also include reading a book and taking vitamins. I think I need to add put things away or do laundry regularly!

  37. October 11, 2010 1:12 pm

    Ahhh, I totally missed Oktoberfest this year so I am especially glad that you made it AND I got to read about it!!! But ummm, where’s the beer? :P Great goals too. Would you believe that I still have a little unpacking left too? I feel ya on that one. My biggest goal right now is to get my work life in order! Being without internet at home for two weeks has really put me behind on important work projects :(

Trackbacks

  1. Reasons I Haven’t Posted In Ages « Kelly B Well
  2. something old, something new. « meals & moves
  3. goals & a giveaway. « meals & moves

Leave a comment