Skip to content

flashback friday: oldies but goodies.

September 24, 2010

i kind of want to scream.

at the top of my lungs, as loud as i can.

not into a pillow or anything.. maybe somewhere that will be extra echo-ey and the scream can go on and on and on.

that would feel good.

i don’t have an echo-ey place to go scream.. but i do have a blog. and, believe it or not, rambling on my little space on the internet really lifts my spirits!  sorry if my negative whining brought yours down.  let’s cheer up!

guess what? i had cereal again this morning.

IMG_9918

it’s like an abusive relationship.  it doesn’t satisfy me yet i keep going back for more. at least this morning’s bowl had a little extra oomph..

IMG_9922

some stonyfield’s plain yogurt.  and trader joe’s blueberry muesli (so good, you should try it!)

IMG_9916

this did the trick in filling me up.  it’s a good thing, too, because lunch didn’t happen.  i had no food at work. and no time to go grab anything. i actually couldn’t leave the office because i had to wait for someone to bring something in. i was a prisoner. that’s what i get for thinking, “i won’t pack a lunch today, it is friday.. i will grab a sandwich from my favorite deli!” haha. yeah, right. that didn’t happen!

what did happen, around 12:45, was this:

IMG_9885

*angels singing* good thing my awesome co-worker brought some homemade zucchini bread today! and good thing she gave me a slice! and it was so rad that i had to make a ridiculous sign about it!

IMG_9888

it was heavenly.

but, sadly, i was still hungry.

i finally got to leave the office at 2:30.  i had to run a super important errand and THEN, at THREE O’CLOCK, i was able to hit up sunflower market.  i wanted to buy the whole grocery store!  i refrained.  i picked up a few items (tofu, chobani, larabars, more cereal, laughing cow blue cheese(!!), apples) and immediately upon hopping back in my car, i literally inhaled this..

IMG_9891

it was so tiny! (TWSS) it took no more than 45 seconds to eat. and then it was gone.

IMG_9897

i did, however, have time to muster up a few thoughts on the new-to-me flavor of larabar. it was tasty! but it also was supposed to taste like carrot cake.  carrot cake it was not.  it was way too fruity.  it could have used some sort of spice element in there.. the pineapple flavor was STRONG.  it actually hurt my tongue (i have geographic tongue) but not enough to stop me from eating it.  don’t get me wrong, it was delicious, but i didn’t bite into it and think “carrot cake” the same way i think “coconut cream pie” when i bite into the coconut cream pie larabar. kapeesh? moving on.

when i got back to the office i was able to sit down at my desk with some food.. (look at all that paperwork.. grumble..)

IMG_9902

and then 30 minutes later, after a brief meeting with the boss, i was actually able to EAT the food.

IMG_9903

lentil salad: lentils, green peppers, red peppers, yellow peppers, parsley, olive oil, pomace oil, red wine vinegar, chili powder, granulated garlic, black pepper, paprika, salt & lemon juice.

IMG_9904

it was good! i just wish i’d had 3 times this amount ;)

IMG_9908

hydration with a side of husband.

IMG_9906

i was at the office 2 hours later than i anticipated to be. sad. i hate working late any day of the week, but working late on fridays is the absolute worst.  geez, i am a complainer today!

when i finally made it home, i collapsed on my bed with my favorite furry friends :)

image

penny does this thing. we call it “face laying”.. if marshall’s beard was as soft as penny’s fur, i’d never ask him to shave.

********************************************************************************

truth be told, i had a really thought out, deep flashback friday post planned for today.  but after such a hellish week at work, topped off with the worst friday in a long time.. i decided to just get silly and post some old photos that i love.  i will save the elaborate flashback post for next week.

i have a LOT of photos on my hard drive. like.. thousands. consider this a small handful. enjoy!

mable & mimosas in flaming gorge. camping. i miss mable! she is gnawing on her football.

flamer 017

story: once upon a time i met slug from atmosphere. we kissed. the end.

1 176

while in europe in 2007, we visited the sex museum in amsterdam..

IMG_3248 IMG_3246

and ate lots of ice cream.IMG_3360

apparently i also ate a caprese sandwich in amsterdam. i bet i loved it. i know i loved the side braid.

DSCN0628

i dog-sat a pomeranian for 3 months. her name was punkin. she was an alcoholic.

punkin

this was me. in a shark. on the boardwalk in santa cruz.

moms 167

in yellowstone. in the back of a truck. riding to go float the river. i love it. it was bright.

jellowstone 003

we used to have friends who lived in a cabin. hanging out at that cabin was probably the most fun ever.

tysbday 254

once i was having a party at my house. and my bedroom door got locked. and nobody was inside.. it was dramatic.  i was clearly very concerned.UPLOAD 311

last but not least, it pains me to post this and admit i used to go to LOTS of raves.. but i just HAD to. my old friend, jenny, just started reading  my blog (hi jenny!).. and i came across this one of us. i couldn’t resist. you are allowed to laugh. circa 2000. ten years ago, people.

springer3

did you participate in flashback friday? i know these two boos did! so did monica! oh and liz did probably without meaning to ;)

the winner of the movie tickets is comment #7! image

congrats melissa! send me your mailing info and oh nuts! will get those movie tickets in to you :)

my poor marshall is still at work. as soon as he gets home we are going to eat somewhere delicious for dinner. no idea where, but i think i need some tasty dinner served to me.  and i definitely am designating today as my day off from exercise. there, i said it.

hope everyone has a great weekend!

Qs~

1. what is your favorite way to blow off steam or stress? running always helps me feel better. then again.. so does eating cereal. and ice cream. together ;)

2. have you tried the new larabar flavors? thoughts?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 10:36 pm

    I just gave up larabars. They are too small to satisfy me.

    That being said, I loved the new Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip flavor.

    • September 24, 2010 10:39 pm

      “They are too small to satisfy me.” twss ;)
      i know, i usually don’t eat them because they really do nothing for me. i was so intrigued by the new flavors and.. meh..

  2. Christin L. permalink
    September 24, 2010 10:49 pm

    I also have a picture with Slug! In fact, I will FB it to you! :)

  3. September 24, 2010 11:04 pm

    Sucks you had to skip lunch. I am incredibly grouchy when I am hungry and pathetic.

    Someone gave me that larabar flavor to try and I really liked it. Unfortunately I didn’t read the ingredients and it made me SUPPPER sick. (I’m way allergic to pineapple.) I understand what you mean about the spice, though.

  4. September 24, 2010 11:13 pm

    Sorry your week was so rough.

    That pomeranian is so cute but not as cute as Penny. You know how I love her!

    I used to go to lots of raves too. I always feel dumb when I admit that. I was never into the bright colors or pacifiers stuff though. However I did wear angel wings and dance with light sticks. He he!

    You look so pretty in all those pictures. I love your FFs.

  5. September 24, 2010 11:23 pm

    I thought the CC Lara tasted so much like carrot cake. I love pineapple in my carrot cake so maybe that helped? I agree though, it’s so frickin’ tiny. It literally took me 2 bites to finish it.

  6. September 24, 2010 11:42 pm

    I did participate in flashback friday, it was my first time too. no longer a virgin! woo hoo!
    I’m printing that pic of the alcoholic dog and sticking it on my fridge. I hope thats not creepy. I start cleaning like a mad woman when I get stressed. nothing like letting out steam by using a little elbow grease.
    As for larabars, i dont like them. i know, shocking, but they are so teeny.

  7. September 25, 2010 12:47 am

    ha ha ha ha I have photos of me and my friend doing exactly the same thing in the sex museum in Amsterdam!

    I exercise to let of steam especially running, my thoughts can go into overdrive then after about 30 minutes everything is sorted and I can relax x x x

  8. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    September 25, 2010 3:37 am

    1) running helps a lot and spending time with your loved one too! :)
    btw… i hate hate hate working late, specially on fridays. I think it’s inhuman!!!
    2) I’m not a larabar person :( tried several times to convince me that.

  9. September 25, 2010 4:53 am

    Well first I do actually scream really loud, in my car or in my apartment. PEople must think I am crazy sometimes WHICH I AM> then go to town and start cleaning (like Eden said). If I don’t feel better after that then I just start crying. Feels good to release it. SOrry about your stress, I don’t like being a grown up sometimes. But that little Penny would cheer me up anyday. Happy weekend to you friend!

  10. September 25, 2010 4:54 am

    oh and I have tried the new lara bars. They are good but they don’t taste like any of their actual flavors. Tropical Flavor does!

  11. September 25, 2010 5:27 am

    Sounds like a hectic day- to say the least! I hope you get in lots of rest and stress relieving activities this weekend :) I cannot function without food….I become mean Erica. Glad you were finally able to get some foods in! I haven’t tried the new carrot cake lara, but I did try the chocolate chip and PB chip- both were good. I’ve heard the carrot cake is just meh. haha face laying- Love that! Frank likes to neck lay.favorite way to blow off steam= gym/running/or coffee with a good friend

  12. September 25, 2010 5:27 am

    Love your fun FBF post!

    Running helps me blow off steam. As does baking. And then eating said baked goods. I may or may not have eaten a small slice of pie this morning.

    I have tried a couple of the new larabar flavours… wasn’t a huge fan of carrot cake. I really liked the chocolate brownie, though!

    xo
    Kris

  13. September 25, 2010 5:45 am

    i almost NEVER eat cereal, but when i pair it with some yogurt i feel quite satisfied with a bowl of it, and its a neat trick to help you feel more full and energized than just cereal alone. mmm and ur bowls of it look SCRUMPTIOUS <3

  14. September 25, 2010 6:04 am

    I swear that Larabars have shrunk recently. They definitely used to be bigger, right?

    I like to run to relieve stress too.

  15. September 25, 2010 6:04 am

    Cardio always helps me. It is my stress relief! I love to lift but it doesn’t give me the same release.

  16. September 25, 2010 6:13 am

    Haha yes running helps…but I’m with you…ice cream might be better! That or a very large glass of wine.

  17. September 25, 2010 6:17 am

    lara bars are too puney to satisfy my inner fat kid. i’m a volume eater i guess.

    sounds like you had a shittay week :( glad it’s over and i hope your weekend is 100,000x better :)

  18. thedelicateplace permalink
    September 25, 2010 6:41 am

    sometimes i scream into a pillow haha.
    i was really let down by the carrot cake bar. pineapple?! wtf. anyway, i’m making a variation of a bindi bar (think indian spiced fig “larabar”) so i’ll let you know how it turns out
    ::hugs:: for your craptastic week! hopefully the weekend will be exactly what you need!

  19. andrea permalink
    September 25, 2010 6:47 am

    right now my ways of de-stressing are not healthy they include happy hour on fridays and an occasional cigarette:(((…I also incorporate some deep breathing throughout the day when Im stressing as well. As far as Larabars I find them to be incredibly vile, Ive tried to like them but I cant plus they have way too many calories for me to use as a snack…..I really want to try Zucchini bread it looks really good!

  20. September 25, 2010 7:22 am

    Hi sweet cheeks! I was gonna swing by yesterday to say hi, but time ran out on me.

    So many things to say:

    Hilarious: like an abusive relationship- not satisfying but you go back for more- HAHA! hilarious!
    Penny’s Face laying- thank goodness it’s not Face Sitting! :-D. Mable chewing her football- hee! The penises- ha!

    Oh, and FYI. There is no bread in Zucchini “bread”. It’s CAKE. It’s always been CAKE. It will always BE cake. That is why we love it so. And yes, your lentil salad looked teeny weeny. As did the Lara bar- see size DOES matter! ha! I can’t believe you were caught at lunch sans food- don’t you keep at least a portion of nuts and 4 energy bars and a nut butter packet on your person at all times?? (guilty).

    Miss you! Loved this post. Hugs!!

  21. September 25, 2010 8:02 am

    awww how cute is the pup in that picture?! I want, no NEED, her!!!! Ok, lets be realistic here…you most likely wont give her away to me but can I at least dog sit for you???? hehehe :)

    A massage is the most stess relieving thing ever for me. I love them so much!

    • Kelly permalink
      September 25, 2010 8:04 am

      I agree about the pup! I need one of her too!!

  22. Kelly permalink
    September 25, 2010 8:03 am

    Hold it right there…You kissed Slug?! I just about fell over (if I wouldn’t have already been laying down) when I read that statement. You cannot just torture people like that with one sentence and move on! Details please!!

  23. mqdn permalink
    September 25, 2010 8:49 am

    Awe; such a cute pic of you and your pup! I love all your posts, but always look forward to seeing your FF ones! :) You always look so great in all your pics! :)

  24. September 25, 2010 8:57 am

    I’m sorry you had such a poo poo day. Be kind to yourself this weekend, k? This may be a dumb question but is that a real shark? I am kind of obsessed with them. And I have tried the carrot cake lara. It’s pretty good, but pb cookie is still my fave.

  25. Sara permalink
    September 25, 2010 9:38 am

    I would laugh at the raves but I was totally going to them circa 2000 also! =X Hope your Saturday is shaping up to be 10x better than Friday!!

  26. Maren permalink
    September 25, 2010 10:42 am

    I love all of the old pics! I hope your Saturday is going great! What a bummer of a work-week! Just be thankful it’s over and you can start fresh on Monday! When I’m stressed or angry or something, running always helps me…or any intense workout. It’s like I sweat out the frustration! Larabars were on sale at Bakers a couple weeks ago for a dolla! (holla!) so I got PB Chocolate Chip, Chocolate chip cookie dough and I think Chocolate chip brownie or something like that. Wow they were all awesome! I liked the brownie one the best! also, I just picked up banana bread! I can’t wait to try it! :)

  27. September 25, 2010 10:55 am

    Haha we went to the Erotic Museum in Copenhagen and it was just as naughty. What’s up with us Europeans and all those museums?

    I also love running.. and yoga. It’s incredibly relaxing ;).

    Have you ever tried the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Lärabar? It’s to die for.

  28. September 25, 2010 10:56 am

    really? an abusive relationship joke?
    when is that ever appropriate?

    • September 25, 2010 11:34 am

      M, As someone who has been in two abusive relationships (one physical and verbal and another verbal), I can speak from experience. That is what abusive relationships are: unsatisfying but you keep going back. If you didn’t, then it wouldn’t be a relationship. My words above were an analogy, not a joke. But I am sorry you were offended.

  29. September 25, 2010 12:02 pm

    walking, running workin gout taht always destresses me to the fullest! its just my release!! usually listen to angry or techno music too hehe

    that homemade zuchinni bread looks so good! i love your pictures, whatever new camera you got, its amazing! and makes me drool everytime I look at your close up pics! SCORE for a co-worker bringing it it!!

    I havent tried any of the new larabar flavors but I think the SAME thing which is they are way too small!! i always want more, and end up unsatisfied…BUT with that said I am DYING to try the new flavors!!

    xoxoxoxox

    love you!

  30. September 25, 2010 1:53 pm

    omg. Just noticed the huge penis you are hugging. I love it!

  31. September 25, 2010 3:32 pm

    This SO described my relationship with cereal too: “it’s like an abusive relationship. it doesn’t satisfy me yet i keep going back for more.” Haha I just can’t stay away though!! I love your flashback. Amsterdam sounds awesome!

  32. September 25, 2010 9:09 pm

    Working late on a Friday does suck. I try to go in early on Fridays so I can leave around 4P and get the wknd started early–sometimes it works, sometimes not so much. It just blows when it does happen.

    Ahhhhh—-I want Punkin! And I wish Sunflower was near me, I love that store.

    I havent tried any of the new Larabar flavors. I havent been overly impressed in the past to spend the money on them and will only buy them if they are on clearance (which I see every now and again) but am kinda meh towards larabars in general.

    Blowing off steam? Taking my dog for a long walk and seeing him smile destresses me a bit. Beer works also :)

  33. September 25, 2010 10:16 pm

    Aww…I’m sorry your Friday was so awful :(

    I think the carrot cake Larabars taste like potpourri. And yes, I do know what potpourri tastes like because sometimes potpourri looks like granola. True story.

    Hope your weekend has gotten better!!!

  34. Heather permalink
    September 25, 2010 11:00 pm

    Oh my gosh, I feel the same way about the Carrot Cake Lara Bar! Severe disappointment. I love the Tropical Fruit flavor…THAT is where the pineapple belongs! Oh and I just have to say that Mama Pea’s comment above me is HILARIOUS! Haha!

    I like to get a good sweat session in when I’m frustrated about something. Oh and it doesn’t hurt to have some “angry” music in the background! ;)

    Sorry you had such an awful Friday. Hope your weekend is fantabulous!

  35. September 26, 2010 6:45 am

    I thought the same thing about the carrot cake Lara!! Good, but not carrot cake. The cookie dough flavor is the bomb though :)

    Fave ways to blow of stress = running, chocolate and cuddling. Preferably all in the same day.

    Hope you’ve had a great weekend!

  36. September 26, 2010 9:42 am

    Sorry work has been stressing you out. As much as I miss my job, I don’t miss days like that.

    Big hugs!

  37. September 26, 2010 12:04 pm

    ugh larabars i actually don’t even like them anymore because their size just sucks. i think they’re overrated. i mean if i want carrot cake i’ll probably just take my 220 calories and have a serious piece of carrot cake. hahaha sorry larabar rant!

    i hope you’re feeling better booface! i understand your stressness! i’m feeling the same. i just like to kick back and relax when i need to wind down.

  38. lowandbhold permalink
    September 26, 2010 5:10 pm

    I hope this weekend has helped you feel better!

    I like to run or just go hang out with friends and have a bitch-fest.

    I haven’t tried any of the new larabar flavors. I think I’m kind of over Larabars, I don’t even remember the last time I had one. The Coconut Cream Pie ones are the best though!

  39. September 27, 2010 8:07 am

    workouts are def. great for de-stressing.

    i’d rather chow on a clif bar than larabar…only because they’re more filling to me for some reason even though they’ve got similar stats.

    i do love the carrot cake though.

    anddddd my fave is coconut cream pie hands down.

  40. September 27, 2010 4:57 pm

    This might be my FAVORITE flash back friday yet – I LOVE old photos and travelling and penny’s face laying and the alcoholic pup, and, and, and….

    all of it :D

    Love ya!

  41. Liz @ Blog is the New Black permalink
    September 27, 2010 5:51 pm

    Love your owl spoon- so cute! :)

  42. September 28, 2010 8:12 am

    “it’s like an abusive relationship. it doesn’t satisfy me yet i keep going back for more”

    HA!! That is me with so many foods. Like crackers. They never fill me up, but I always go back for more.

    That carrot cake Larabar would kill me for sure since I’m allergic to pineapple. Clearly, it’s missing the cream cheese frosting which is THE best part of any carrot cake.

    My favourite way to de-stress is doing what I’m doing right now. Laying around in my peejays and catching up on my favourite blogs <3

  43. Jenny permalink
    September 28, 2010 1:46 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! That picture is TOO funny! We were some crazy kids. HAHA! Luckily I have lost weight since then…YIKES! I can’t believe how tight my pants are!

    I’m with ya on the running for stress relief. I also enjoy I nice long hike and yoga. Yoga has changed my life!

    I have yet to try larabars. I usually will get whatever is on sale on the grocery store that have as least 6gms of protein and under 220 calories. Luna bars are what I usually end up with and latley Kaski bars (on sale at smiths !)

Leave a comment