Skip to content

cooking up a storm.

August 10, 2010

hey there! hope your tuesday has been all you hoped for and more.  i don’t have a lot of time on my hands for rambling, but you know how i like to check in ;)

i want to share last night’s and tonight’s dinners!  now that i have my very own kitchen, i am fully embracing the situation.

last night i made one of the mister’s favorites: chicken broccoli casserole.

IMG_0113

this is a simple casserole that requires little work and even less baking time, since you pre-cook each ingredient before combining them in the casserole dish. 

ingredients:

  • 4 – (6 oz) chicken breasts, diced into 1” cubes
  • 1 medium onion (color of your choice, i used yellow last night)
  • 2.5 cups chopped broccoli
  • 1.5 cups (volume when cooked) brown rice
  • 1 can campbell’s healthy request cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can campbell’s healthy request cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 cup 0% greek yogurt (i used oikos)
  • 3/4 shredded cheese (i used monterey jack & mild cheddar)
  • salt, pepper & TJs everyday seasoning blend (all to taste)

directions:

  1. in a saute pan, combine brown chicken & onion and cook through.
  2. steam broccoli.
  3. cook rice.
  4. combine cooked chicken, onions, broccoli, rice and remaining ingredients in mixing bowl. mix well.
  5. pour mixture into casserole dish. sprinkle with cheese.
  6. bake at 350 degrees, uncovered, until warmed through, about 15-20 minutes (since all ingredients are already pretty warm from cooking them).

alternatively, you can make this ahead of time and keep the casserole dish in the fridge for up to 24 hours. you will need to bake it longer (maybe 35-40 minutes) in order for it to warm through.

prebaked:

IMG_0099

postbaked:

IMG_0107

closer…

IMG_0110

douse with cholula and enjoy!

IMG_0117

(photo is pre-dousing)

IMG_0116

this makes 6 LARGE servings. nutrition info per serving:

image

ratio breakdown:

image

totally BFL friendly!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

last night marshall really wanted me to bake my chocolate chip cookies. you don’t have to twist my arm.. i LOVE to bake and, even better, i LOVE to bake with nice, new kitchen gadgets.. in my new kitchen.

i whipped up a batch of my chocolate chip cookies..

IMG_0120IMG_0119IMG_0121 

(that is our cute new dog treat jar from crate & barrel!)

i got to use my new baking sheets..

IMG_0124

store my brown sugar in my new airtight container (from kristen’s mom!)

IMG_0122

and cool the cookies on my new cooling racks!

IMG_0131

YES.

 IMG_0135

i ate two. with almond milk.  in addition to mass amounts of cookie dough while baking.

IMG_0142

hooray for my first batch of cookies in the new place!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

this morning i made an effort to wake up a bit early to throw things into the crock pot.. which ultimately led to a lot of saved time tonight when it was time to eat!

taco soup!

IMG_0152

my favorite crock pot recipe! click here if you’d like the recipe/nutrition information.

IMG_0150

the only change i made this time was i used ground beef (94% lean). and now i have a nice, fancy, new crock pot.. way better than my old dinky, dented one!

yum.

IMG_0154

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

i did insanity today after work.

image

the workout i did:

Cardio Power & Resistance:
Build lean muscle and upper-body definition with strength-training and insanity workout power moves.

[source.]

we don’t have a couch yet and we have a pretty large living room, so i had a lot of room to jump around. i figured i would take advantage of the situation before the couch comes next week.

i love this circuit because it uses a ton of body weight strength training moves, like V pushups and squat jumps.

i am toying with the idea of doing a full 60 days of insanity.  i never have, as i wasn’t able to complete it when i first purchased the DVDs due to not having a TV of my own.  now that i am able to do it.. i think i may commit. i will keep you posted.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

tonight we went to my sister’s house for cake & ice cream. it is my nephew’s 7th birthday! happy birthday, buddy.  we gave him a card and $7.  that is what i have started doing for my nieces and nephews.. just giving them a card and a dollar for each year they are old.  it is easier for me (both physically and financially) and i know it is super cool to get money when you are a kid. i will continue this tradition on for as long as i live.. or until i go broke ;)

i had a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. it is leftover from the wedding. everyone had to take leftover ice cream home from the wedding!

speaking of the wedding, i finally got to see my online proofs from the photographer, but am still waiting on the disc of photos.  i will be doing a wedding post sometime soon…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

after cake & ice cream, marshall & i came home and immediately took the dogs on a very long walk. almost a whole hour of walking and running. they loved it. i loved it. while we walked, i thought a lot about this post of holly’s.  it is a good read and i think everyone should check it out.

and then take a moment and unplug. technology is too present in my life.  well, i should say it was too present. i have made leaps and bounds and have backed off on the whole internet/social networking/blogging & blog reading thing ever since the wedding. life is meant for living, right? and that is what i am doing.

so go read holly’s post.. i have a little family to attend to ;)

night!

Qs~

1.  what is your favorite body weight strength training move? i love squat jumps and i also am a fan of the good old pushup!

2. what is your favorite casserole combo? i love casseroles. they are packed with flavor and so easy to throw together! i think my favorite one is my garbanzo bean bake.
xo. janetha g.

45 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 8:46 pm

    Hey girl! YOU DA COOKIN QUEEN!! your casserole looks GOOD! Im not a casserole girl but i LOVE me some mac n cheese (home made!!) If that counts as a casserole!!
    I love squats too! NOT a fan of push ups tho!

  2. marisa permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:40 pm

    I am going to make that casserole and see if I can get Kaylee to eat broccoli. I see my nifty spice rack in the background… looks good! Oh, and if you ever have a chance, get some silpat mats to make your cookies on. It helps them cook evenly and not burn on the bottoms- not that your’s are burned, I just love my silpat mats!

  3. August 10, 2010 11:44 pm

    yummmerz! i can see myself subbing out the chicken for tofu (or tempeh, or “chick’n”), and using all cream of mushroom soup for a vegetarian version. good job on all the dishes in your new kitchen! :D

  4. August 11, 2010 2:18 am

    Yummy casserole. I like using Campbells brocc and cheese soup.
    Do Insanity!!

  5. August 11, 2010 3:37 am

    I love squat jumps too! But I think I have to go with lunges – love/hate relationship.

  6. August 11, 2010 3:52 am

    Great job in the new kitchen! So fun to use all your new tools after the wedding. Makes me want to go buy some new cookie sheets (mine look like butt). The cookies look like they turned out just perfect. Nothing beats the original chocolate chip, right? I totally need a computer disconnect. As soon as this project I’m working on at work is done…I’m taking a total brain disconnect.

    1. what is your favorite body weight strength training move? Squats for sure. They are my absolute favorite.

    2. what is your favorite casserole combo? I made this really simple cauliflower casserole recently and it was amazing- I want to make it again

  7. August 11, 2010 3:53 am

    I’m not a fan of casseroles but both the broccoli and garbanzo bean casseroles look soo good. The hubs would really like them too.
    Don’t you just love having a kitchen to cook for the hubs?! Its fun!

    Favorite strength training, ya squat jumps and burpees are killer.

  8. Katie permalink
    August 11, 2010 4:01 am

    Nice to see you back! I agree though, life is for living. I am glad that you feel so comfortable in your new home. It sounds nice. :) I can’t wait until I have my own place with a significant other someday (hopefully with the boy I have now!), even if it’s just a dinky little apartment. It will be quaint, romantic, fun, and an adventure. It’s LIVING! Cookies sound like a great celebration treat – they look great too!

  9. August 11, 2010 4:06 am

    That casserole looks so good. And how great that it is friendly nutrition wise. I’m saving it for sure!

    Glad you are just enjoying life. It is so easy to get sucked into technology. I know I’m a culprit.

  10. August 11, 2010 4:25 am

    LOVE the crate and barrel dog treat jar! Too cute!

    Love that your cooking up a storm in your new kitchen! The cookies look delish as ever!!!!

    I hope your nephew had a great birthday, and I really like that you give them the amount of money for how old they are, so cute!

    My fave casserole would be tuna noodle!

    Have a great day love! xoxo

    p.s. LOVED Holly’s Post, read her blog everyday too, as I do yours! xo

  11. Mary Beth permalink
    August 11, 2010 4:34 am

    My brothers and I ALWAYS request that same chix/broc casserole on our birthdays! I try to make it but it NEVER comes out as good as my mom’s for some reason. It’s even better the next day reheated…mmm!

  12. ari permalink
    August 11, 2010 4:45 am

    hey! i think you already answered this question somewhere, but what recipe analyzer do you use to get the nutritional information? thanks!

  13. August 11, 2010 4:53 am

    I need to bake some cookies. I received a Kitchenaid mixer that has gone unused. Need to remedy that soon.

  14. August 11, 2010 5:05 am

    I’m loving that casserole! It looks so creamy!

    Insanity for 60 days?! Insane ;)

    My favorite body weight strength move is wall squats. I find these so hard but love to feel that burn!

    Gotta try your garbanzo bean bake!

  15. August 11, 2010 5:10 am

    Aww I love when you call him “the mister”! Not sure what I’ll call my guy… maybe “the husband” ;)

    And wow that casserole looks fab. On the list for next week!

    Love that idea for your neices and nephews. I’ll need to do that once I start having kidlets in the fam!

    You read my mind with the body weight workouts, girl- squat jumps rock, so do pushups. I also love tricep dips. Killer, but AWESOME definition.

    I love casseroles with broccoli, cheese & chicken- which is why I am SO excited to try yours! My mom also makes a killer tuna casserole :D

    xo
    Kris

  16. August 11, 2010 5:35 am

    I love chicken broccoli casserole! So comforting!!

  17. August 11, 2010 5:38 am

    Hurray for unplugging! I just joined Twitter so I am walking in the opposite direction as you! But that’s ok…I think I have a good balance.
    Your chicken casserole thingy looks amazing! What an awesome wife you are.
    Umm that Insanity DVD cover is hilarious: “get fit or get out”.
    Also, I am so glad that you call Marshall the mister. That is an excellent term (and used in our household, along with “the missus”) and basically kicks the arse of hubby, hubs, hus and anything else in that realm :)

  18. August 11, 2010 5:46 am

    Hey loved the post about unplugging, sometimes we all need a technology break. It can totally consume you. Oh by the way your counters turned out fantastic. Were they hard to do? Are they easy to maintain? Can’t wait to see the wedding pics! When you get all your furniture, you should do a house post I’m sure everyone would like to see the “transformation” !!!

  19. August 11, 2010 6:00 am

    i love “superman” holds…do you know what i’m talkin’ about??

    not sure if this counts as a casserole, but i LOVE fritattas!

  20. August 11, 2010 6:07 am

    What do you use to get those nutrition facts? Is it a programme or a website or something?

  21. August 11, 2010 6:33 am

    That’s it! I’m making that chicken and broccoli casserole for dinner with a few minor modifications (half with cheese, half without since cheese isn’t on my comp-friendly diet- b000!)

    I absolutely love your kitchen, girl, and isn’t it so much fun to use all those wedding gifts!?I really need one of those cooling racks.

    I just started my blog a few weeks ago, but I’ve already pulled in the reins a bit to how much time I spend online reading and writing blogs. I REFUSE to blog when I could be spending time with my Handsome Hunk of a Husband and though I really love writing and blogging, I’m making a conscious effort to finish all the things I NEED to do before I get to blogging. Balance is best! :)

  22. August 11, 2010 6:46 am

    Love the recipe! I am going to make it for the family I cook for! I also love the dollar a year idea! If you give it in all ones it will be fun for them to get a bunch!

    Low fat French Toast Casserole is one of my faves. Here is a recipe I use!
    http://thehealthyhostess.com/2010/01/06/low-fat-french-toast-casserole/

  23. August 11, 2010 6:59 am

    Mmmmmm…I rarely have cassarole (I have no idea why) but yours is making my mouth water! :-)
    BTW- Right now I am loving the sit-up (Have to do lots for Black Belt Training) and the plank. Yay abs! ;-)

  24. August 11, 2010 7:27 am

    i love you.

    and i think we absolutely NEED to unplug, and live our lives. in fact, last night i went over to my friend steph’s house for a lovely dinner party. we drank wine, ate yummy food (curry – i know you appreciate that), had intelligent convo, laughed a lot and not one picture was taken. it was the best, ya know?

    when i think of things like that, i realize i don’t want to be a 3x a day blogger or even everyday blogger (not that there is ANYTHING wrong with that). i think making memories involves going with the flow, not worrying about if you got a good shot of it and then rehashing it the next day, over memories alone.

    i almost forced myself to blog after dinner last night. then, i was like why force it? so i went to bed, and c’est la vie – life continues.

    have a marvelous, wonderful and utterly spectacular day my lil’ janetha bean! can’t wait to catch up!!!

  25. lowandbhold permalink
    August 11, 2010 8:05 am

    That casserole looks dee-lish! I’m excited for you/slash jealous of all your new kitchen thangs. Fun!

    I heart broccoli and rice casserole and green bean casserole.

  26. August 11, 2010 8:31 am

    There’s some great recipes in this post! thanks love.

    I agree about techonology–blogging is supposed to be about your life…it’s not supposed to be your life.

  27. August 11, 2010 9:20 am

    I love casseroles! So easy to make and they make me feel like my mom cooked them. :)

  28. August 11, 2010 9:53 am

    You know I love my push ups! It hurts so good :)

  29. August 11, 2010 10:28 am

    my favourite bodyweight move is definitely scissor lunges, where you start with a lunge, jump and land in a lunge with the other foot forward. it is TOUGH.

    unplugging is a good idea. i’m starting to feel like i spend more time glued to the computer/my blackberry than doing other things i love. :|

  30. August 11, 2010 11:50 am

    ah, i love all your new gadgets!! i want those cooling racks for the choc chip cookies i am planning to bake this week. i normally just slap them onto a plate…oops. i have the dough in my fridge cooling right now! idk, never tried making them this way but i keep hearing that fridge time is the secret trick to a perfect cookie?! i’ll just have to taste test them and see :)

  31. August 11, 2010 2:10 pm

    ahh body weight exercises. I love and hate them at the same time! My current favorite is Decline push ups. Feet on stability ball, hands under shoulders and in a plank position-PUSH UP! damn those are challenging! I love that you have all these new kitchen gadgets! all the lives of newly weds :)

    Insanity! love it, you know I did the whole 60 days and really enjoyed it (but missed my weight training) I do think its a graet to supplement here and there though! those v-push ups are KILLER!

    love you woman!

  32. August 11, 2010 3:34 pm

    Beautiful casserole! Lovin’ the broc action;)

  33. August 11, 2010 4:06 pm

    Ok, I literally just opened 4 new tabs to view all your creations… YUM! The cookies, the taco soup, and the garbanzo bean bake all look fantastic! I know what i’m doing tonight… ;)

    Yay to new gadgets! Congrats on being Mrs.!

  34. actorsdiet permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:43 pm

    i love casseroles too – especially the chop, dump and bake kind!

  35. August 11, 2010 5:48 pm

    That casserole looks SO GOOD!! It looks like fantastic comfort food for a cold winter night…yum.

    I’m a huge fan of push-ups, lately. It’s a new-found love.

  36. August 11, 2010 9:27 pm

    Love push ups. Also love burpees and jump squats.

  37. August 11, 2010 9:33 pm

    Okay, that casserole is a life-saver for a busy college student. well, for a working career woman too, but it’s perfect for me: I LOVE things like that that are cheesy, creamy, and broccoli is my fave veg!

  38. August 12, 2010 12:21 am

    Holy yummers, your a cooking goddess. incredible looking cookies

  39. August 12, 2010 5:04 am

    I want to at everything in this post. I’m going to start using your recipes more often, girl!

  40. August 12, 2010 8:57 am

    I just found your blog, and I totally love it. I’m definitely adding you to my blogroll tonight! :)

  41. August 12, 2010 9:51 am

    Favorite body weight strength moves are squats on an overturned bosu OR forward-backward lunges. I usually use weights or a bar when I do these, but sometimes I just do a ton of body weight reps which is just as good!

    My favorite casserolesque dish would be crust-less quiche. Not a fan of anything with cream of (insert veggie here) soup for some odd reason.

    Your taco soup looks scrumptious and I will be trying that…as soon as I get a slow cooker!

    Quick question – maybe you have answered this somewhere, but when you make up recipes and post the nutrition facts, what website do you use to generate them?

  42. September 2, 2010 6:25 pm

    Made the casserole and it was awesome.

    To the leftovers today, I added satueed mushrooms….It was heavenly!

Trackbacks

  1. working out outside of your work out. « meals & moves
  2. Fun Stuff « Cook, Bake and Nibble
  3. Weekly Nibbles: The Fresh & The Fury « Cook, Bake and Nibble

Leave a comment