Skip to content

crunch time.

June 21, 2010

hey there! happy first day of summer! (and happy birthday to  my friend jessica, happy national go skateboarding day and happy national peaches & cream day!)

how was your monday? hopefully it was relatively painless.

not gonna lie, i was dragging all day. i didn’t get nearly enough sleep this weekend or last night! i have a feeling i will be sleep deprived for the next few weeks ;)

SO, my title? yeah, it is not referring to those abdominal exercises we fondly refer to as crunches. i am referring to MY LIFE and the fact that i now have 25 days, 3 hours 28 minutes and 30 seconds until my wedding.

holy balls.

it wouldn’t be so overwhelming, but we also have to have the house move-in ready before the wedding.. since we have to move all our stuff in the week prior to the big day.  EEP! we still have a lot to do with the house.  like, a lot. it is in no way, shape or form close to being done. deep breaths.

luckily almost all of the wedding details are worked out. there is still a hearty chunk of to-do’s to cross off the list, but i am not worried.

MONDAY DEETS!

image_thumb42

meal 1: another monday at the original pancake house.

you can probably guess what i ordered, right?

eggbeaters.

meals 1120

oatmeal (with a cherry cinnamon and SF syrup on top).

meals 1119 meals 1121

coffee. water.

meals 1118

nothing new!

work is surprisingly mellow and i am grateful for that because the rest of my life is a tangled web of busy-ness. i have no stories or rants to report, so how about i show you lunch?

meal 2: most random sandwich in town.

yeah i have not been grocery shopping in awhile, so i had to use what i had on hand.

meals 1122

this sandwich was 2 slices of whole wheat bread, toasted, 1 wedge laughing cow light cheese, mustard, ketchup, chicken breast (about 4 oz) and 1/3 cup egg whites (nuked).

meals 1125

told you it was random.

meals 1124

served with cucumber chips.

meals 1123

hey, it did the job! i also had ~15 cashews for some added fat.

i ended up leaving work an hour later than anticipated, even though it was mellow there was still a lot to do! i had to run straight to the mall after work so i snagged a mini apple pie larabar for the road (no photo).

i went to the mall to drop my ring off so it can be resized from a 5 to a 4.5. i have midget fingers! i also picked up marshall’s wedding band!!!!!

image

eep. so exciting. i can’t wait until he sees the engraving. :)

i got home and ate my weight in honeydew. we will call that meal 3. i can’t believe i went the majority of my life thinking i hated that stuff. it’s so dang good! cantaloupe has the same story, i didn’t eat it for the majority of my life and then when i gave it a chance i was hooked. melon=crack. 

image_thumb39

i can’t lie to you guys, i really didn’t want to workout today. i lollygagged for a good 45 minutes after eating the melon. finally i decided to change into my workout clothes and that is what did the trick! whenever i need to get motivated i change into my workout gear and i usually get the pep in my step that i need for a workout.

i am not officially doing the insanity DVDs right now (like the 60 day set program) but i have found that the DVDs give me a great workout and since i can do them at home they have been a big time saver.

i do need to get to the gym to lift some weights, as these DVDs are basically all cardio, but they are great to get me going.

i ended up doing the pure cardio DVD + the cardio abs DVD for a total of 55 minutes of insanity, 333 calories burned. not bad for a living room workout!

i showered (a COLD shower!) immediately after. it was soooo hot in my house!

image_thumb42

meal 4: smoothie in a bowl!

meals 1127

because cups sometimes aren’t big enough to do the job.

meals 1128

this had:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup ice
  • 1 scoop (30g) vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 TB unsweetened cocoa powder

may not be the most appealing looking thing, but it was delicious and cooled me off after a super hot workout!

meals 1129

since this was protein-heavy and lacking in the carb+fat department, i also had two wasa flatbread crackers+2 tsp naturally more peanut butter.

meals 1135

yum. reminded me of saltines with peanut butter which i used to ALWAYS eat as a kid.

i haven’t had anything else to eat tonight but my stomach is rumbling so i will probably go throw something together.

this week is MADNESS and i’ll probably be hit and miss. on the agenda:

  • painting & packing tomorrow
  • painting wednesday
  • hair appt thursday
  • shopping for wedding odds & ends friday
  • 5k saturday morning
  • bridal shower saturday afternoon
  • arts festival sunday

plus 8 hours of work every day. ay ay ay.

i will be back when time permits! maybe i will throw up another goofy giveaway this week. i have lots of stuff to get rid of!

hope all is well with you guys. oh and YEP.. if you follow me on twitter, you already know this.. but i marked all as read on the ol’ reader. starting fresh and hoping to catch up with you all sometime soon!

oh, and no BLT list because i mentioned it all here in the post! go me!

Qs~

1. what methods do you have to motivate yourself when you aren’t feeling like working out?  more often than not, the clothes-changing trick works for me. but there is the rare occasion that i change for the gym and then hang out in my gym clothes all night—no workout! hah! i would love to hear more motivational methods and i will post them next time :)

2. what do you like to put on top of your cracker? while peanut butter is tasty and hummus is nice, i don’t think i like any cracker topper more than a nice hunk of EXTRA SHARP cheddar cheese!

xo. janetha b.

46 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 8:36 pm

    The clothes changing trick works for me too! I miss you too Janetha, I know how crazy wedding planning is – that was me less summer! PB & wasa is my fav snack. I often have one as a late night studying treat!

  2. June 21, 2010 8:38 pm

    Changing clothes sometimes works, but not always. For me, I tell myself I can quit after ten minutes if I really want to. There have only been 1-2 times that I have actually quit mid-workout because getting myself moving is the hardest part and everything after that comes more easily.

  3. June 21, 2010 8:43 pm

    Feeling your pain on this crunch time biz! I hope everything is going smoothly though! Stay calm and remember whatever happens it will be a beautiful and amazing day! (Feel free to tell me this tomorrow, when I’m freaking out about how much our wedding is going to cost – ouch!)
    While your sandwich was super random, it looked delish! Now I’m craving a crazy sandwich like that!
    Have a great week!

  4. June 21, 2010 8:50 pm

    Good luck! I know you’ll get everything done in due time :) You’re a supaaawoman!

    I LOVE peanut butter on saltines :D definitely agree – a childhood favorite.

    I think changing works well for me too, or a good magazine gets me pumped up to workout.

  5. June 21, 2010 8:51 pm

    I absolutely love cold smoothies after a good workout!

    I agree with you on the clothes changing trick. I usually tell myself, well I’m already HALFWAY there to a workout, might as well finish it with a good sweaty session.

    good luck on all your work this week! :-)

  6. June 21, 2010 9:08 pm

    Two things: What is wrong with your smoothie in a bowl??? Um where are your gums. Ack. Do I need to send you some because I got some more.

    Next thing. Brilliant with the nuked egg in the sandwich- I haven’t done a home made Egg McMuffin in a long time and I’m long overdue.

    Hang in there girl- knowing you, you’ll get everything done :-)

    Cracker- Cheese (hard, aged gouda- aged at least 2 yrs), or laughing cow.

    Motivation for a workout- I usually either feel it or I don’t. If I feel it, I do it. If I don’t feel it, I don’t do it. Sometimes if I’m not motivated I’ll just do something quick at home- no fuss. I’m lucky (usually) in that I usually look forward to my workouts as nearly the highlight of my day (am I just sad or what!?)

    Love yoU!

  7. June 21, 2010 9:42 pm

    dang girl, you have a LOT going on this weekend. that’s good though (in my opinion), i like to keep busy! but not TOO busy though :)

    i do lack motivation sometimes to go to the gym but i think of what i want my results to be and just DO it. when im there i just want to stay forever. the real problem is just getting there.

    i like CHEESE spreads :)

  8. June 21, 2010 10:04 pm

    Cheese! .. for question #2 that is. For motivation.. I think of how much better I’ll feel after, and sometimes I picture myself on stage, wanting to know I did my very best!

  9. June 22, 2010 12:10 am

    definitely cheese on my crackers, yum! Or sometimes just butter does the trick! I bet you’re excited about the wedding and the house! isnt growing up fun? lol!

  10. June 22, 2010 12:23 am

    i like the feeling you get after i work out, that’s how i motivate myself. i remember that feeling.

    on a cracker, i’m pretty sure that being australian I have to say vegemite. i just love it.

    I can’t believe you eat eggs & oatmeal for breakfast, i’d be seriously full.

  11. June 22, 2010 2:19 am

    hey lady!! wowza you are busy but these are all GREAT things happening in your life so its a good thing! just think years from now you can think back to this time and have it just be a memory :) great work with the insanity–it does give you a kick butt workout! i love the fact that you can do it without leaving the house! i <3 shaun T and after 60 days, I still want to see more of his cute face!! hehe

    atop crackers? really any cheese will do specifically goat or manchego! i also love PB (obviously) my brother and I used to make PB stackers with saltines and just put about 10 together with pb and eat them, it took us about 2 minutes to get them down bc the combo of salty, dry and the sticky PB created quite an interesting combo but hey, it was fun!

    as for the comment abovve me abotu eating eggs and oatmeal for breakfast…yeah, I eat that ALL the time and nope doesn't make me that full either! everyone is different and food effects them differently, for me…eggs pretty much do nothing, I coudl eat 4 eggs and still be hungry…I dont know why but they do! So anyways, the combo of eggs and oats is PERFECT! protein and carbs :)

    xoxox

  12. June 22, 2010 3:15 am

    You are super busy! I wish I could come help you- for real!! I’m a good packer :) Best of luck with the to dos. Glad you were able to squeeze it all in. On top of my crackers- I like LC cheese or almond butter. So good :) I’m pretty lucky in the sense that I don’t really have to motivate myself to workout. I have to teach so…I have to be there ;)

  13. June 22, 2010 3:34 am

    The clothes changing trick works for me too, or just remembering how great I feel afterwards!

  14. June 22, 2010 3:42 am

    I was more than ready to end Monday as well. I have TINY fingers too! My rings are a size 3 and they fit comfortably! The people at the store didn’t believe my husband when he went to buy them. I think one girl even commented “are you marrying a 6 year old?” LoL.

    So I was thinking about you yesterday in the shower. HAHA okay that sounded just awful, but I was trying to figure out breakfast and I thought, oh wow, it’s Monday, Janetha has the Pancake House egg whites today! LoL. See girl, you are always on my mind! :)

    Have a great Tuesday love.

  15. June 22, 2010 3:44 am

    Your probably need insanity DVD to keep you going insane, hehe! Are they worth the $$? Heard lots of good things or rather that they kick your BOOTY!

    Favorite thing on crackers……cottage cheese. Weird I know.

  16. June 22, 2010 4:06 am

    Whoo! So close to the wedding! Crunch time, indeed. Good luck with it!!

    Usually workout motivation for me comes from either putting the clothes on, making a new playlist, or convincing myself of something really good I’ll get once I finish the workout, like a snack :P

    I LOVE hummus on crackers, but I’ve got to agree- cheese all the way! I like dill havarti or gouda :D

    xo
    Kris

  17. June 22, 2010 5:18 am

    Moving and marrying in the same week! Crazy! You’ll get it done though.

    I like crackers topped with hummus. I pretty much like anything topped with hummus.

  18. Talia permalink
    June 22, 2010 5:46 am

    HAHA, 4.5 ring size–that is my ring size too! Even with such small fingers, whenever I get really cold they still slide around a bit. Ah well, short girls with small hands rock HAHA!

    I’m with you on the workout clothes “change out”, however thinking of how crappy I’ll feel if I don’t work out gets me to the gym even more. If I set a goal to workout everyday or every other day then I have to do it or else I feel like I’m slackin and it makes me feel less in control. Gotta love my neurotic tendencies! :)

    Talia

  19. June 22, 2010 5:53 am

    Girl I’d be in an asylum with all that going on at once. Good for you for getting the workout done. I think putting on workout clothes does help. I love having the option of DVDs at home too b/c then you don’t have the excuse of having to get to a gym. I seriously want to try the Insanity DVDs…. One motivation trick is that if I am planning a step workout I set my step up – which involves moving a chair and coffee table and rolling back a rug. So if I don’t do my step workout then I still have to move everything back into place and take the blasted step back up to the mini-gym (not enough room for flailing step aerobics).

  20. Maren permalink
    June 22, 2010 6:33 am

    You are one busy girl! In a month it’ll all be over and you’ll be thinking, “where did time go?” It’s so habitual for me to throw workout clothes on after I get home from work and head straight to the gym, but on Fridays, it’s always a little harder! haha…sometimes when I don’t feel like working out, I always have the best workouts! My favorite thing to put on crackers (Chicken in a Biskit) is Kaukauna cheese spread. Do you guys have that in Utah? My g-ma always has those two things and since I only see her 2 times a year, I definitely have my share! :) Happy packing and painting!!

  21. June 22, 2010 6:44 am

    I HAVE to take a cold shower after insanity…otherwise I would be sweating all day! I’ve gone back to just using Insanity DVDs for cardio and doing BFL style lifting 3 other days. I missed it and my upper body was losing so much tone!

    OMG OMG your wedding is so close! I know you probably just want to scream, throw your hands up and say forget it! when it comes to the last details (at least I wanted to) but I swear it will all work out babe!

    I missed your face!

  22. lowandbhold permalink
    June 22, 2010 8:01 am

    I feel like you should be on some sort of HGTV/TLC/Bravo reality show to document your wedding planning/house decorating madness. Seriously.

    I’m so excited for you though! It’s all going to be fabulous :)

  23. June 22, 2010 8:17 am

    You are one busy busy girl! I bet you can’t wait for your shower–I’m throwing one in August for my friend so I’m going to have to see what goes on at yours and get some ideas! :)
    The chicken sandwich looks delish!

  24. June 22, 2010 8:21 am

    I am a peanut butter cracker girl all the way! Also, I think that your smoothie looks great because I loooove purple :)

  25. June 22, 2010 8:51 am

    My biggest trick is writing down a set plan, and then I feel commited to the workout I’m doing that day. And I remind myself that first 10 minutes are always the hardest. And if that doesn’t work… I do all my workouts at home, so I just walk into the room and usually staring at the dumbbells or the bike will get me to start! Sounds like your life’s set on warp-speed right now; good luck!

  26. June 22, 2010 9:02 am

    Random combos are always the best!!

    Usually food motivates me as bad as that is. Knowing that I can come home and eat a huge bowl of oatmeals and a delicious protein shake usually gets my butt up!

  27. Mel permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:12 am

    I love your random combo, sounds like something i’d make and it looks DELISH!

    I have tiny little fingers too. Mine is between a 4-4.5. My sister is a 3.5!

  28. June 22, 2010 9:43 am

    Workout dvds are so convenient to have at home. Getting dressed to exercise helps me. I workout first thing in the morning so pulling my clothes together the night before makes it easier to not make excuses.

  29. June 22, 2010 10:43 am

    Random fact: my wedding rings are size 4.5 too. I might be way taller than you but at least my hands aren’t manly because of that fact. :)

  30. June 22, 2010 11:09 am

    Holy balls is right! Geesh girl!

    I work out first thing in the morning, it’s the only time I have. I don’t give myself a choice!

    I like hummus on my crackers. Sabra, mmmmm…..

    Hope today is a bit less hectic!

  31. June 22, 2010 12:19 pm

    mmm your smoothie in a bowl is the perrrfect shade of blue :) when i don’t feel like working out i remind myself of the GLORIOUS breakfast i’m going to enjoy afterwards and how it just wouldn’t taste the same if it didn’t follow a glorious sweat sesh haha

    just think in a month you’ll be STRESS FREEEEEEEEEEEE

  32. hayleycepeda permalink
    June 22, 2010 12:39 pm

    I can’t believe your wedding is only in 25 days!!! Hang in there lady, it will all come together in the end. I went through something similar stress-wise – we were having our house built, preparing to move in, the wedding was in TX (we lived here in NC), I was starting a new job when we got back from our honeymoon (which was in Italy and we were leaving from TX so I had to pack for TX 2 weeks in advance and then our honeymoon as well) plus the house stuff…but it all worked out in the end! Just keep breathing and working out when you can – this is such an exciting time for you so enjoy every moment! Things are looking fabulous with your new house, too…I keep wanting to jump up and down with glee! That sounds so lame, but it’s ok to act like a 4-year old every now and then right? :)

    I’m with Naomi on the eggs + oats – during my BFL days I used to eat egg whites + oats for breakfast and I’d be hungry 2 hours later. I started adding 1 egg to the mix for it to be more satiating, but I still found that I was hungry not long afterwards. It’s that speedy metabolism!

    Oh and I am SO with you on cheese and crackers! Sometimes I do prefer peanut butter, but mmmm…cheeeese….

  33. June 22, 2010 1:25 pm

    what motivates me? ugh im never motivated, but i just make myself go because I know I feel better. Once I change then its like I have to go to the gym or run outside….I really need to try some SIAB because ur smoothie looks mazin :)

    xoxo
    Lo

  34. June 22, 2010 1:31 pm

    If I don’t feel like working out, I tell myself that I should be thankful that I CAN workout…one day I might not be able to. …sometimes it’s hard to remember…but I try :)
    Good luck with your crazy week. & GOOD LUCK on the 5 k.
    Can’t wait to hear what kind of engraving you got!

  35. June 22, 2010 1:36 pm

    wow 25 days, soooo exciting!! I loved every minute of the build up!! of course you read my crack pot story, but still wonderful times.

    I have nothing in the house since we are leaving for two weeks and I”m really getting bizarre with my meals

  36. June 22, 2010 2:08 pm

    I was hoping that after you talked about the honeydew you would say “Holy melon balls” hehe

    Workout wise, during the wk the first thing I do when I get home is change into my workout gear and take the pups out. That always seems to get me on the right track.

    Crackers + hummus = love.

  37. June 22, 2010 2:19 pm

    Tahini is always a winner for me x x

  38. June 22, 2010 2:36 pm

    I wish I could do Insanity! I really want to do the Turbo Fire thing. It’s supposed to be like Insanity, but not as insane. I think I could do it with my bad neck. It’s mad expensive though yo!

    I find changing clothes to be the most motivating thing as well.

    I’m moving too and can relate to your stress. Moving is sweaty balls. I don’t want anything to do with it.

  39. June 22, 2010 3:33 pm

    Ah! Reading this post makes me want to get married–so exciting that you have the wedding bands!
    1. I motivate myself by strapping on the heart rate monitor. By the time I’ve wrestled to put that on, I might as well make the effort to at least do a quick jog.
    2. Cottage cheese my fave cracker topper, perhaps with some tomato!

  40. June 22, 2010 4:31 pm

    I loooooove some crackers with cheese. Yummy!

  41. June 22, 2010 6:29 pm

    I am all about Naturally More PB on rye crackers!! My mom used to buy the “cheese and PB” crackers when I was a kid. She thought they were healthy…

  42. June 22, 2010 6:31 pm

    I used to hate all melon except watermelon! Well, I shouldn’t say used to because I still do…I think. Now you got me wanting to try honeydew and cantaloupe again, haha
    I typically just DO workouts. I always feel like working out, except on my rest day, somehow. There are some weeks where I don’t feel like working out two days a week…so I take two rest days. Not sure if that even makes sense but, yeah, changing into workout clothes works well too :)
    Crackers and cheese = amazing.

  43. June 22, 2010 8:48 pm

    hectic much?! WOW Girl
    25 days til you’re married..WOW!!!

    The ring. Scott has lost 2. We dont even replace them anymore. Hope Marshall has better luck! xoxo

  44. June 22, 2010 9:11 pm

    Girl, you ARE busy! Hang in there!! Just think…a year from now, you will be in your gorgeous new house, about to celebrate your 1 year anniversary and NOT stressing at all. :-)

    I trick myself into working out a lot…first it’s the chaning clothes thing, then I tell myself to just go outside (I usually make up an excuse, like “go get the mail” ) then when I’m outside, I trick myself into walking around the block, and before you know it – I’m running.

    I love spicy mustard and sharp cheddar cheese on crackers – but haven’t had it in a LONG time. Thanks for the reminder!

  45. actorsdiet permalink
    June 22, 2010 10:43 pm

    nothing like crackers and cheese! but i also love pb and j.

  46. July 1, 2010 1:50 am

    If you are looking for a way to make any room in your home more attractive, then you may want to invest in some oval rugs. You can use an oval rug in the living room, dining room, bedroom or outside, even if you get the type of carpet.

Leave a comment