Skip to content

part two.

June 14, 2010

did you miss part one of my camping extravaganza recap? see it here.

i left off with peanut butter pretzels, which, ironically, i am munching on now as i type this post.

i decided to skip out on monday’s details all together. they’re rather typical and i don’t think you want to see another bowl of oatmeal, a plate of egg beaters, a turkey sandwich, a chocolate peanut butter protein shake, a cranbran vitatop, a cereal bar, an apple, a slice of bread with apricot jam and mighty maple, a mound of steamed veggies or a whole lot of cottage cheese. but, for the record, that is what i’ve eaten today.

also, for the record, my workout today consisted of my go to 20 minute HIIT. go to workouts are there for days i have to get back into the swing of working out.. since i didn’t go to the gym for FOUR days. you heard me. four. meh.

moving on to more camping details!

word of advice: if you decide to listen to music through your car stereo while camping, don’t be a doofus and leave the car off but the stereo on for more than 30 minutes. your car battery WILL die. and if you decide to be a doofus, make sure your friends have jumper cables. and a car to give you a jump.

IMG_3359

by the way.. the doofus in the situation here was marshall, not me. 

after a quick jump, we were off to the valley of the goblins!

it was a beautiful 7 mile drive from our camp site.

Goblin Valley 2010 319 Goblin Valley 2010 320Goblin Valley 2010 324Goblin Valley 2010 254

in case you were wondering, here is a little history on how goblin valley came to be and also how it was discovered:

The unusual stone shapes in Goblin Valley result from the weathering of Entrada Sandstone. They consist of debris eroded from former highlands and redeposited on a former tidal flat of alternating layers of sandstone, siltstone and shale. The rocks show evidence of being near an ancient sea with 1) the ebb and flow of tides, 2) tidal channels that directed currents back to the sea and 3) coastal sand dunes.

Joint or fracture patterns within the Entrada’s sandstone beds created initial zones of weakness. The unweathered joints intersected to form sharp edges and corners with greater surface-area-to-volume ratios than the faces. As a result, the edges weathered more quickly, producing the spherical-shaped ‘goblins’.

Goblin valley is noted for several rock art panels as well as the rock formations. The secluded Goblin Valley was then found by cowboys searching for cattle. Then in the late 1920s, Arthur Chaffin, owner/operator of the Hite Ferry, and two companions were searching for an alternate route between Green River and Caineville. They came to a vantage point about one mile (1.6 km) west of Goblin Valley and were awed by what they saw – five buttes and a valley of strange-shaped rock formations surrounded by a wall of eroded cliffs. In 1949 Chaffin returned to the area he called ‘Mushroom Valley’. He spent several days exploring the mysterious valley and photographing its scores of intricately eroded rocks.

Publicity attracted visitors to the valley despite its remoteness. In 1954 it was proposed that Goblin Valley be protected from vandalism. The state of Utah later acquired the property and established Goblin Valley State Reserve. It was officially designated a state park on August 24, 1964.

[source.]

i have been going to goblin valley since i was a kid, but i still remember the first time i laid eyes on the valley full of crazy rock formations. it really is a sight to behold.

Goblin Valley 2010 141

we threw on our packs and set out to explore the valley.

Goblin Valley 2010 145

“helllllooo little penny bean!”

Goblin Valley 2010 140

get ready for photo overkill.  ;)

Goblin Valley 2010 229 Goblin Valley 2010 149

the dogs sure were thirsty! we took along a hiking water bowl so they could wet their whistles every so often.

Goblin Valley 2010 155 Goblin Valley 2010 158

so many cool things to photograph!

Goblin Valley 2010 159

heyyyy yooouuu guyyyyys!”

Goblin Valley 2010 166 Goblin Valley 2010 186

climbing on goblins is a good time!

Goblin Valley 2010 170 Goblin Valley 2010 171

penny agrees. she was having SO much fun!!

Goblin Valley 2010 174  Goblin Valley 2010 190

cool caves and crevices.

Goblin Valley 2010 192 Goblin Valley 2010 195

Goblin Valley 2010 207 Goblin Valley 2010 218 Goblin Valley 2010 197

check out randy! penelope is half swiss mountain dog, so she was made for this, but randy the basset hound really showed his true talent when scaling the rocks. i was a proud momma.

Goblin Valley 2010 203Goblin Valley 2010 214

cute friends :)

Goblin Valley 2010 205 

sometimes randy needed a boost ;)

Goblin Valley 2010 221

this cliff was gnarly! we couldn’t let the pups near it in fear they’d jump.

Goblin Valley 2010 225

marshall got some photos with the ol’ point and shoot. you can totally tell a difference in the photo quality. once you go DSLR, you never go back!

 

IMG_3377IMG_3363 IMG_3369 IMG_3376

however, a point and shoot is handy when YOU HAVE A BUG STUCK SMACK IN BETWEEN YOUR TEETH and your boyfriend fiance wants to take a photo! IMG_3381

yes. that is a bug. luckily i carry floss with me 97% of the time..

IMG_3382

EW. bugs in teeth? not cool.

IMG_3383

that bug didn’t fill me up, so eventually we found a nice lookout spot and broke for lunch!

bag-o-veggies.

 Goblin Valley 2010 236 Goblin Valley 2010 245

turkey + laughing cow + mustard on sprouted wheat.Goblin Valley 2010 238

i don’t mind eating a sandwich that has been displayed directly on dirt for a photograph. really, i don’t care.

Goblin Valley 2010 237

not a bad view for a picnic, aye?

Goblin Valley 2010 239 

Goblin Valley 2010 249

thirsty pups! Goblin Valley 2010 241

notice penny’s WHOLE HEAD goes into the bowl.

Goblin Valley 2010 242

i caught randy mid shake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CLASSIC

Goblin Valley 2010 243 

after lunch we worked out way back to the car.. where the dogs were VERY happy to take a load off :)

 Goblin Valley 2010 258

next up we took a short drive to check out little wild horse canyon..

Goblin Valley 2010 262 Goblin Valley 2010 265  Goblin Valley 2010 312Goblin Valley 2010 294

cool tree! 

Goblin Valley 2010 289 Goblin Valley 2010 292

i find the layers of rock on this butte so fascinating. and i love my telephoto lens.

Goblin Valley 2010 274Goblin Valley 2010 307 Goblin Valley 2010 311 

the color contrast on the rocks is so beautiful! Goblin Valley 2010 315  

we went back to camp and just relaxed! i laid out in the sunshine with the pups.

IMG_3392

marshall played in the fire.

IMG_3395

the guys actually expanded the fire pit so we could have a blazing fire on the left and a separate pt with coals for cooking on the right! so innovative!

Goblin Valley 2010 357

there was a GLORIOUS cloud with the sun behind it, WOW aren’t these shots epic?!

Goblin Valley 2010 344   Goblin Valley 2010 332 Goblin Valley 2010 338 Goblin Valley 2010 341

utah is pretty dang beautiful.

i decided to get to work on putting together dinner.. on the menu? tin foil dinners!

Goblin Valley 2010 353

tons of veggies, sweet potatoes and ground turkey. plus plenty of spices:

Goblin Valley 2010 350

check out this handy 6-section spice jar i picked up in the camping section!

Goblin Valley 2010 351 Goblin Valley 2010 352 

i just wish it had cumin! i could swap out the paprika for cumin pretty easily, though.

into the fire they went!

Goblin Valley 2010 371 

we cooked up the extra ground turkey and gave it to the pups.

Goblin Valley 2010 362 Goblin Valley 2010 363 Goblin Valley 2010 366

campers!

Goblin Valley 2010 359

the sun went away and it started to get suuuuper gllllooooomy..

Goblin Valley 2010 380   Goblin Valley 2010 376

it started to rain so we bundled up!

IMG_3405  IMG_3400 IMG_3404

and then it started to POUR!

we ended up hopping into the car and eating our tin foil dinners in the car.. bummer!

IMG_3408

i also only had my point and shoot handy.. no way i was going to have the new camera in the rain.

 IMG_3413

oh well, they were still SUPER delicious!
IMG_3410 

once there was a break in the rain, we grabbed the pooches and made a run for the tent!

i think we made the best of the situation, despite the rain.

luckily we had just enough time to cook our dinners before the torrential downpour.. and then we went to bed with the rain pouring, our bellies full and the dogs hogging the bed. as usual.

IMG_3319

i am afraid to say that i am too beat to finish my recap. i will be back next time with sunday’s details! and i will probably throw in some meals & moves for good measure, as i am sure many of you are bored with the camping recaps.  no sorrys here, though, i love camping and recapping the trip!

hope your mondays were great.  be back tomorrow!

Qs~

1. is your city and/or state known for anything? what? utah is known for the great outdoors. we have awesome scenery (the rocky mountains, the arches, goblin valley) and we are also known for our snow! our license plate even says “greatest snow on earth!”

2. what items do you carry with you 97% of the time? for me? chapstick and floss. i also try to have gum but i don’t at the moment and am feeling a bit lost without it! my old answer would include my cell phone, but i am finding that i leave it behind more and more. i view this as a good thing. people become waaaay to attached to their cell phones.

xo. janetha b.

56 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 9:18 pm

    Well I live in San Diego so we’re known for just about perfect weather all the time. We’re also known for beaches and our zoo. Blah blah blah :-) I LOVE these camping posts! I am so making Mitch take me camping at the end of the summer, before I give my life over to grad school for two years. And the sandwich photo is great…you’re a talented photographer, lady!

  2. June 14, 2010 9:45 pm

    my state is known for earthquakes…WE JUST HAD ONE!!!! OMFG!!! I thought it was a joke, that it was my neighbors gettin busy til the entire house just shook. Holy sh*t. Back in CA for 3 days! and earthquake time! that’s what we’re known for. As I comment on YOUR blog b/c i love you despite natural disaster!

    love these pics..how long did that take to upload all of that…wow!!!

    i ALWAYS have chapstick. My lips are addicted. Period. I have to have it!

    xoxo

  3. marshall permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:03 pm

    the sun behind those clouds was amazing! your hobo dinner was amazing as well and should win an award. good job bare.

  4. actorsdiet permalink
    June 14, 2010 11:10 pm

    how gorgeous! when i was shooting “white on rice” i wanted to explore more of utah but it was too hot and i was too tired. i definitely need to take a road trip in the winter from l.a.!

  5. June 14, 2010 11:12 pm

    Oh I love the scenery!! Sounds like you had an amazing time.
    Those handy spice jars are fantastic for hiking. I have one of those too.

    Bern is known for bears. Boring! ;) The canton of Bern, however, is known for its amazing scenery as well. There are alyways tons of tourists in the Jungfrau region and in the mountains in general.

  6. June 14, 2010 11:34 pm

    FLOSS! floss should be something i always carry but never do. i’m always getting crap stuck in my teeth. talk about themostannoyingthingEVER. i’m so with you on the cell phone thing! carrying it around feels like carrying around a baby sometimes. i find myself getting caught up in holycrapwhereisit!?! what’s the point? plus, i hate cell phones because then people depend on you and freak out when you don’t answer. texting = the devil. convinced.

    anywho…i carry around chapstick and ALWAYS carry around my water bottle. i feel lost without it. and my sunglasses. i used to carry around gum religiously until i realized the fake sugars in the gum made me…ahem, gassy. then i realized i just didn’t want the fake sugar, anyway :)!

    what’s california known for? EXPENSIVE STUFF. and amazing food. and beautiful, beautiful nature. and this list could go on and on so i’ll stop before it gets too outta hand.

    by the way, the picture of you kickin’ it with a sandwich and sunglasses is adorable! you’re too cute, lady :)

  7. June 15, 2010 12:18 am

    i mainly carry chapstick and tissues! i looove your pictures, your camera is AMAZINGGGGGGG!

  8. Little Bookworm permalink
    June 15, 2010 1:16 am

    Amazing photos – your camping trip looks like great fun (aside from the rain)!

  9. June 15, 2010 2:22 am

    i am a little obsessed with your pics!! wowww they are awesome!! Utah really is beautiful!!! i need to get out west and experience it myself for realllll

    the pups are such troopers for habving you bring them with you! i am sure they loved every minute of the trip though!

    what is massachusetts and Boston known for?!?! hmm I would think the Boston tea party, freedom trail, ummm home of mark whalberg, ben affleck and matt damon :)

    i have seen that spice container before, and also the same idea with but different colored and kinds of sprinkles!!!! I woudl totally sub out cumin too! paprika doesnt even have taht much flavor…

    love you!

  10. hayleycepeda permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:06 am

    These pictures are incredible!!! I love all of the cool rock formations and the clouds were awesome. Sorry you got pelted by rain again, but I’m glad it didn’t last too long.

    I’m with you – I never leave home without chapstick/lip gloss AND my phone! When we travel overseas it always feels a bit weird at first not to be able to call anyone whenever you want. At the same time, it’s kind of nice, too. :)

  11. June 15, 2010 3:07 am

    Nonononono! I – for one – am NOT tired of the camping recap. Go on pe-leeease :-)

    Pretty dang beautiful has to understatement of the YEAR ;-). And wow you got some good shots, love the huge cloud with the little tent and two tired dogs, says it all.

  12. June 15, 2010 3:18 am

    SO gorgeous! I can’t get over it. Ah! You make me want to go hiking so bad. Your dogs are awesome. Frank would be done after 5 minutes. Love those traveling water bags…but Frank’s face is too flat to fit in them hahahhaa. Great eats. Josh loves Cavenders- it is his favorite spice combo.
    1. is your city and/or state known for anything? Beaches & Palm trees. Heaven <3

    2. what items do you carry with you 97% of the time? My BPA free water bottle, gum, chapstick, cell phone

  13. June 15, 2010 3:35 am

    Wow it looks crazy beautiful!!

  14. June 15, 2010 3:40 am

    What gorgeous pictures!!! Hiking is one of my favorite things to do and it looks like you had the most amazing views and trails!

    Haha, that’s awesome that you had the floss on hand! I don’t think I would ever leave home without some kind of snack in my purse. Just in case of emergencies! :)

  15. June 15, 2010 4:32 am

    I guess we’re known for the Indianapolis 500 or THE COLTS!! Peyton Manning to be exact ;)

    I ALWAYS have floss, chapstick and hand sanitizer.

    Randy in mid shake made me laugh out loud!

  16. June 15, 2010 4:37 am

    I can’t believe how beautiful it is there!

  17. June 15, 2010 5:10 am

    What beautiful photos- looks like an awesome place to explore!!

    I love tin foil dinner. Yum!

    My state is known for it’s great beaches!! Thats why Rhode Island is called the “Ocean State” :P

    I always have chapstick with me, and my metropass… I am literally lost without it! Sometimes I forget my phone, too- it’s nice! :D

    xo
    Kris

  18. June 15, 2010 5:14 am

    I always have floss, chapstick and gum. I buy gum and floss at Costco. I am fo real.

  19. June 15, 2010 5:21 am

    your pictures are amazing. I want to come visit and go camping with you!! Yes? Wonderful. \

    1. Pittsburgh is known for the Steelers. And Primantis which is a sandwich with meat, coleslaw, and fries all piled between bread…aka a heart attack on a plate.

    2. Chapstick, blackberry, gum, purell. Last weekend I forgot my chapstick in a different bag and legit freaked. I was fine, fine, fine, then realized it was missing and within 2 minutes my lips got tortorously dry and cracked as if I hadn’t hydrated in 3 months. Funny how that happens. Or is it mental…haha, noooo ;)

  20. June 15, 2010 6:03 am

    WOW that place looks gorgeous! What an awesome place to go camping (rain and all.)

    I alays have my floss, lipgloss and iphone with me..yeah my iphone is like permanently afixed to my hand. sad but true :)

  21. June 15, 2010 6:21 am

    Well, I don’t know what Georgia is known for (Savannah?, the Aquarium?, Appalachia Trail?, Lake Lanier???) but I do know I love all the options that are close to where I live. But I don’t think any are quite as cool as the Goblin Valley. Once again, it looks like tons of fun. Well, besides the bug in teeth thing. That’s just ewww.

    And I loved the Goonies reference. LOL!

  22. June 15, 2010 6:22 am

    I’ve only gone camping on a small island on Lake George. Such a different experience that you had but yours looks awesome. I always carry chapstick and if I didn’t I might die!

  23. June 15, 2010 6:44 am

    Wow, such beautiful photos! The rock formations are so cool looking. It seems like you are having a great time!

    I live in Miami, which is basically known for its palm trees, hot weather, and beaches. ;)

  24. Talia permalink
    June 15, 2010 6:44 am

    Janetha,

    Fantastic pictures!!! Hubby and I are going camping, too, with another couple this weekend here in Pennsylvania. The sites won’t look as beautiful as Goblin Valley, but beautiful in its own right, regardless! YAY for camping!

    Have a great day!

    Talia:)

  25. Maren permalink
    June 15, 2010 6:53 am

    What beautiful photos!! I have never been to the desert, but I’ve heard pictures don’t do justice. And those pics are awesome! Nebraska is known for the College World Series… well at least Omaha is. And it starts this week! I am soo excited! I ALWAYS have gum on me. I am straight-up addicted. ugh. :) other than gum, I am pretty bad about carrying lip gloss and all that kind of stuff.

  26. June 15, 2010 6:58 am

    Wow, your pictures are amazing!! Utah is gorgeous, I have to go sometime.

    (I know Utah for the Mormons)

  27. Danielle C. permalink
    June 15, 2010 7:01 am

    Utah does look so beautiful! I’m so excited to be visiting Salt Lake City and Provo in September for a long weekend. :) I live in Seattle, so am also so very fortunate for beautiful mountain and water shots.

    I ALWAYS have chapstick, gum, and deodorant (I forget to put it on occasionally so I keep it in my purse).

  28. June 15, 2010 7:19 am

    What a FUN camping trip!! I loved looking at all of your pictures!! Especially the doggy ones! ;) Best part of camping is the tin foil dinners! Love the flavors the campfire gives food.

    Thanks for sharing your trip with us! :)

  29. June 15, 2010 7:28 am

    LOL at the bug in your teeth. If you are ever in need and don’t happen to have floss with you, using a strand or two of your own hair works. I’ve done this!

  30. June 15, 2010 7:38 am

    Once again the Randy pictures are awesome. The mid-shake one had me laughing OUT LOUD at work. That’s embarrassing….

    Ew on the tooth bug. How did it get there!?

  31. June 15, 2010 7:50 am

    Here in Washington we’ve got greenery and rain! Haha. Your camping spot is so beautiful. My friends and I were actually just talking about camping in Utah because one of them is from there. Your pictures are convincing me of the beauty there.

  32. June 15, 2010 7:55 am

    I need a hiking vacay so badly! I can’t get over how beautiful everything is. Charleston is known for hurricanes and lots of water. There are beaches and rivers everywhere. I’m def not complaining. I always have water and Bert Bees chap stick.

  33. June 15, 2010 8:00 am

    I love camping so much and now I want to come to Utah! That’s so gorgeous. So gorgeous. Little Wild Horse Canyon? Do you have mustangs there? I wouldn’t imagine so; doesn’t look like good grazing land! I’m from South Carolina… we’re pretty much known for a beauty, beaches, palmetto trees, and Charleston (PIRATES!) And we produce more peaches than Georgia, hahah. :] I love my home!

  34. June 15, 2010 8:04 am

    BAH to rain!! Always pouring when it’s least wanted. Looks like you still have a great time though. The scenery is so beautiful out there! :)

  35. June 15, 2010 8:25 am

    Those pictures are all so gorgeous & so cool looking.
    And, yes, Randy’s picture shaking is definitely THE BEST :)
    Glad that you had such a nice trip, despite the rain.
    My city is known for Disney World- haha. Gotta love Orlando. Thankfully we are no where near all of the tourist-y type stuff so we don’t have to deal with all of the people that have no idea where they are going. I would love to visit Utah to see some of those sites!!!
    I always have my chapstick as well..and my bottle of water :)

  36. thecookiemonster permalink
    June 15, 2010 8:47 am

    Wow, that looks like a killer time!!

  37. June 15, 2010 9:01 am

    i cant believe you had bug in your tooth AND that you carry floss with you. good habit though. i ALWAYS have chapstick on me. i hate crusty lips. gross. and it sucks when they crack so ya..chapstick for sure!

    its soooo cute that you guys brought the pups. they are adorable.

  38. Taysa (Water, Butter and Wine) permalink
    June 15, 2010 9:08 am

    Despite the hail and torrential downpours, this looks like it was a great trip! I looooovvvee camping, but my boyfriend hates it, so for now I will have to live vicariously through you.

    The state I was born and raised, Washington, is of course known for rain. But it’s really not as rainy as it is overcast. On the flip side, the state is also really green, and people from out outside of Washington always comment on how “green” it is. We even have a rainforest, which is really really magical.

  39. June 15, 2010 9:32 am

    You’re right, once you go dslr… you never go back! Brian and I decided for our two year anneversary this Sat that we wanted to ‘give eachother’ a DSLR (and a macro lense)!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am SUCH a happy girl. I did my first two posts with it yesterday afternoon and the shots are so beautiful :D Can’t wait for those posts to go up.

    Hmmm what is so cal known for….? Sunny warm weather (except now… hello June glooooom)… you can surf first thing in the morning and hit the road and go skiing in the afternoon (no one does this, but I guess you could)… D-land… Seaworld…

    Even if I don’t bring my purse, I always have my burt’s bees in my pocket… always. In my bag I’ve always got: floss, rubber band/ hair clip, chapstick & stride gum.

    Such beautiful camping pictures J! I wish we were closer to all the cool camping places you all have in Utah!

  40. June 15, 2010 9:53 am

    No harm in dirt on your sandwich. God made dirt so dirt can’t hurt, right?

    Sigh. I would love to see Utah’s scenery. It looks gorgeous.

    I always have a big a$$ purse with me and it’s usually filled with stuff I don’t even need, just because I can carry them, but some things I do need are a big water bottle and a book.

  41. June 15, 2010 10:08 am

    I have my phone and gum with me 97% of the time. Like, multiple packs. I need to go to gum rehab!

  42. June 15, 2010 10:27 am

    Awesome! Great recap.

    Chicago is home of the glorious Blackhawks! Also home of terrible politics, gangs, and garbage.

    It’s still a nice city regardless.

  43. June 15, 2010 11:32 am

    My province (Alberta) is known for high quality beef (lol), beautiful mountains and national parks, and weather that can change completely in less than 10 minutes.

    I too also carry chapstick, hair elastics, and my iPod with me basically all the time.

  44. June 15, 2010 12:26 pm

    I love camping!! I would LOVE to go to Utah so much. You do live in a beautiful state! Minnesota is famed for it’s 10,000 lakes! Also pretty beautiful, in a different way :)

    Love the tin foil dinners – they are such a winner (winner, chicken dinner). Sorry OCD.
    Also love that the pups got to munch on turkey with everyone else. Cuteness.

  45. June 15, 2010 2:32 pm

    Oh man, fruit never looked as refreshing as it does out there!
    I have my water bottle and chapstick close by pretty much all the time.

  46. stephanie permalink
    June 15, 2010 5:04 pm

    My Bassett just passed and your photos with Randy make me super happy. Also – can’t imagine mine climbing all those rocks!

  47. June 15, 2010 5:35 pm

    You have taken such gorgeous photos, I never realized I wanted to visit Utah! :) Also, in that picture of you laying with the dogs your abs are ridiculous ripped!!!

  48. June 15, 2010 7:06 pm

    The city I grew up in has a GIANT as in 198 feet tall cross. ….and people wondered why I wanted to leave :) I always have a drink with me lol. Usually water. Sometimes Powerade Zero.

  49. June 15, 2010 9:09 pm

    oh wow this is a fabulous recap and I’m sorry the rain was such a downer, but you out of all people sure made the best of it!!! Camping is fun until you get either extremely dirty and can’t shower, or extremely drenched and can’t get dry. :P

    Well, I suppose Chicago is known for its deep dish pizza and Hong Kong is known of its nightlife because most of our shops don’t close until 11pm or later. It’s not just the clubs and bars, it’s the shopping! And restaurants don’t close till 2am. It’s pretty awesome. muhahaha

    I’m proud of you for bringing floss with you almost all the time!! I really reall y should considering im going to dental school in 2 months. muahaha I always bring phone, wallet, keys! That’s my check. My Bf’s is spectacles, testicles, and somethin’ else. :P

  50. June 16, 2010 5:49 am

    I’m not a real outdoorsy kinda girl, but you’re making me want to go camping!!! My Monday kind of sucked, since I got sick and left work early. I also had to call off yesterday because I wasn’t feeling well, still….Much better today though! Glad your trip went well! Way to go, saving the bars for an “emergency”! :D

    Qs~

    1. the only “tourist attraction” in my town is probably “lake tobias”, a zooish place. it’s funny because everytime we go, there are tons of out of state license plates of folks who drive all the way to the sticks to see some animals! we got tired of it after the first 4 field trips there back in elementary school. haha.

    2. i usually always have my phone & camera on me. other than that, nothing else is a sure thing :)

  51. June 16, 2010 8:44 am

    California…I think that is pretty self explanatory. However, where I live in Sacramento we are known for our rivers (American and Sacramento), proximity to the ocean (1.5 hours) and the snow (1.5 hours), and of course the state capitol. Oh, I almost forgot, along the rivers Sacramento has a crazy length of bike trail that is just glorious!

    I carry chapstick, phone not to use or check email, but in case of an emergency, and that’s about it. If my husband has his wallet then I don’t carry anything!

  52. dmcgirl37 permalink
    June 16, 2010 8:46 am

    I totally want to drag my man camping this weekend! Looks like you had a blast!

    Dana <3
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  53. kayla permalink
    June 16, 2010 9:34 am

    Utah looks very pretty, but I have never been anywhere in that part of the country. I live in Arkansas and we are the ‘Natural State’, so I guess we are known for our outdoors. It is also known for the Crater of Diamonds, which is the only place in the US where you can dig for diamonds and keep what you find. People find them there everyday, but I wasn’t as lucky the one time I went… I was much luckier at the crystal digging site and have many crystals to show for it.

  54. June 18, 2010 8:05 pm

    The Goblins ARE STUNNING! So beautiful- as are you and Marshall! These pictures will be such great ‘memory’ pictures to put in frames and albums! Thanks for sharing!

  55. Erin permalink
    June 21, 2010 12:38 pm

    Janetha–

    I teach Earth Science and would LOVE to use some of the photographs you took of various rock formations in this post. They would make great examples of weathering, erosion and deposition of sediment. Of course, I wouldn’t take any pictures with people (or dogs!). Let me know!

    Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. part three + tuesday deets. « meals & moves

Leave a comment