Skip to content

flashback friday: let’s go camping.

June 11, 2010

i’m not going to lie.

i haven’t been a very good meals & moves blogger.

i have taken maybe 10 photos since i last posted.

i haven’t worked out.

i haven’t read anything informative.

i have nothing for you.

what i HAVE been doing is spending upwards of $300 on food and camping gear in preparation for my 2 day camp trip.

a little ridiculous? probably.

hey, in my defense.. $20 of that went to my kombucha and marshall’s hansen’s sodas.

i suppose i will show you the few photos i do have on the ol’ camera card!

noodles & co.has their asparagus dish right now!

IMG_5029

it is a limited time only dish. and it is my favorite.

it has asparagus, mushrooms, onions, peas and feta in a lemon sauce. i got it with whole wheat noodles and added chicken.

IMG_5035

i ate it alongside a salad.

IMG_5027

and alongside a (hairy) boyfriend.

IMG_5018 IMG_5011

he loves his grapefruit izze.

IMG_5009

i didn’t mention this, but we are having izze sodas at the wedding. yes, he likes them that much.

we bought randy a campin’ backpack.

IMG_5036

it is hard to get a clear photo of him. he hates it. poor guy.

IMG_5046IMG_5047

you better believe he will be haulin’ his own food on the hike! ;)

today was waffle wednesday friday!

IMG_5060

i wanted one thing and one thing only for breakfast today: a wafflewich.

IMG_5059

two flax freezer waffles with 3 egg whites+1 whole egg sandwiched between them.. drizzled with SF syrup. simple and tasty.

IMG_5058

some of you have asked how i get my eggs to take such a perfect shape for the wafflewich. i have a circular, flat bottomed dish. same size and shape as the waffles, actually. i spray the dish with cooking spray, put my eggs in, microwave on half power for 5 minutes and viola! perfect shaped eggs.

well. those are all the photos i have.

i’ll tell you about the camping meal plans! we bought a ton of supplies and will just make the meals as we see fit. we have two breakfasts, two lunches, two dinners and snacks!

breakfasts:

  • muesli
  • greek yogurt
  • coffee (we bought a special camping french press!)
  • cereal / milk / almond milk
  • eggs
  • turkey sausage
  • potatoes
  • tortillas

lunches:

  • low sodium turkey
  • cheese
  • mustard
  • spinach
  • sprouted wheat bread
  • flat out wraps
  • naturally more peanut butter
  • mom’s homemade jam
  • sugarfree jam

dinners:

  • taco soup
  • tin foil dinners

snacks:

  • a million dollars worth of bars.. clif bars, larabars, luna bars, kind bars, odwalla bars. you name it, we have it.
  • peanut butter filled pretzels
  • yogurt covered pretzels
  • dried apple rings
  • s’mores supplies
  • apples
  • oranges
  • honeydew
  • watermelon
  • kettle chips
  • veggie chips
  • dr kracker crackers
  • cucumbers
  • bell peppers
  • hummus

so i think we are pretty well equipped, don’t you?! at least we know we won’t starve to death ;)

oh! i forgot to tell you where we are going.

goblin valley:

image

[source.]

i love goblin valley. i used to go all the time but have not been in a number of years. it will be nice to go back! plus, the people i am going camping with (marshall, kristen & rory) have never been! it will be awesome.

flashback friday!

i thought i would show you some camping photos from years past. let’s face it, if you live in utah.. you gotta love the outdoors. i have been camping since i was a little kid. i have memories of camping from when i was maybe 4 years old, it is shocking that i remember that far back!

these are in no particular order. enjoy!

moab:

moab. 042imageimageimageimageimageimage

the spruces:

imageimage

moab (again):

imageimage

imageimageimageimageimage

yellowstone:

image image

flaming gorge: (circa 2006!)

moab. 131DSC03858DSC03908DSC03918DSC03935sum 002sum 006sum 007

i miss mable.

************************************************************************************************************

there ya have it!

i am off to the desert.. this is penelope jane’s FIRST camping trip! yay!

i will be back monday. don’t worry, i have a couple posts lined up for while i am gone.

hope you all enjoy your weekend to the fullest! MWAH!

Qs~

1. do you like camping? you either love it or hate it. two extremes. i have never heard anyone say they are so-so on the issue.. but i could be wrong! i loooove it, obviously. i could lay in the dirt for a week and be content :)

2. weekend plans? hope you all have a great one!

xo. janetha b.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 12:52 pm

    I am soooo not a camping girl. Someone asked this the other day and my response was that I’d rather stay in my nice airconditioned indoors where I can see my stilettos.

    I don’t like bugs!

  2. June 11, 2010 12:56 pm

    I had never gone camping until I met my boyfriend, so I’ve only gone with him. I LOVE IT so much. My rule is that I have to be near some sort of a bathroom…it can be the primitive type, but I’m not squatting behind a tree, haha. Oh and we would totally spend $300 for a two-day trip…except replace “kombucha” with “liquor” for our pricey beverage of choice ;-) have so much fun!!

  3. June 11, 2010 12:56 pm

    Love the past camping trip pics! Looks like y’all were having such a fun time…! Sadly I’m not too much of a camper…traumatic childhood experience involving ghost stories, rain storms and big bugs. But I do love smores! Have so much fun!

  4. June 11, 2010 1:04 pm

    As you saw from my email… I looooooooove camping, even when big black bears take some of my food!! I wanted to camp on my honeymoon, but at the time we didn’t have the gear or the money for gear… Now, we’re dialed! I love cooking outside :D So much fun. I’m curious as to what you’re putting in your tin foils…? Hoping to get some good ideas for our next trip, hopefully, this fall.

    Plans this weekend include bike rides, pool time, dinner and kareoke for my sister in law’s bday, gaming and some chill time with Brian. OH! And we’re getting a ceiling fan installed in our office (the hottest, smallest, most used room in the place)!! SO EXCITED :D

    Enjoy your camping trip! Can’t wait to hear all about it.
    -Mary

  5. June 11, 2010 1:13 pm

    i think i love it. but i havent been in a loooong time. it’s been on my to do list forever, but i used to go ALL the time as a kid. time to resurrect i think!

  6. andrea permalink
    June 11, 2010 1:14 pm

    I love camping!!

  7. Chris permalink
    June 11, 2010 1:26 pm

    I love to camp, one of my favorite things to do. I have to say though camping in places like Moab and Goblin Valley are not my cup of tea. I like mountains, lakes rivers and streams too much.

    My favorite Utah place now is the Payson Lakes area. So many great trails to hike and lakes to splash around in when you need a cool down.

  8. lowandbhold permalink
    June 11, 2010 1:33 pm

    I’ve been a bad Low and Behold blogger too. I’m taking a break to rejuvinate my soul. I hope camping is a blast love!!!

  9. June 11, 2010 2:00 pm

    I love camping! Only 12 days till I go to Glastonbury festival!!!!!!! Have fun x x

  10. June 11, 2010 2:02 pm

    I hate camping. Hate Hate Hate. I’m an only child and my dad took me all the time. Been there, done that. Now my husband has to bribe me to even spend one night in our camper. I don’t do tents. <—- Lord, I sound so high maintenance.

    I LOVE Moab though. If you're in the area at all I think we're going down for Labor Day weekend. We go 4-wheeling all day long in Dave's Jeep – it's a dusty, hot blast!

  11. June 11, 2010 2:17 pm

    Not taking pictures is wonderful sometimes :) Oh my gosh- Randy in that camper bag is like the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I seriously want to give him a hug. I love the waffle sandwich=brilliant! Have a blast this weekend.

    1. I love camping- haven’t been in forever
    2. Relaxing, teaching, eating!

  12. June 11, 2010 2:54 pm

    Ok, so the “being a bad blogger” thing?? STOP IT! You’re planning your wedding. You’ll get back to “normal” when you get back from the hmoon. Trust me.

    I love camping! We never go though because SOMEONE hates being out in nature…

  13. June 11, 2010 3:31 pm

    I LOVE camping… we just went camping a few weeks ago. Hope you have a great time. I can’t wait to hear all about it.
    ps- your waffle sandwich looks amazing. I’ve never thought to do that. Definitely going to be my next breakfast :)

  14. June 11, 2010 3:46 pm

    Hey girl – I’ve been bad blogger gal too so don’t feel bad. I feel totally remiss since I’ve been on vacation.

  15. June 11, 2010 4:15 pm

    I like camping, I have only gone once.. it was fun (minus all the spiders in the bathroom O.0)

  16. June 11, 2010 4:16 pm

    A little ridiculous … but awesome. Camping is so much fun! And you have been to so many great places!

    I love camping. :)

    Weekend plans? Salem Saturday Market. Work. Maybe a tattoo. :)

  17. June 11, 2010 4:27 pm

    I LOVE camping! I grew up in a place where you kind of have to like the outdoors, too :)

  18. June 11, 2010 4:52 pm

    So don’t you worry one bit about the lack of posts/ food pics/ or workouts!!! You are definitely entitled to these breaks in your life to be enjoying other parts of life. No worries girl! :)

    Camping sounds like a blast. Hope you have an amazing time!

  19. Allison R. permalink
    June 11, 2010 5:00 pm

    I wanna be part of your group of friends! Your pics always make me so jealous…you always seem to have a blast and go to such scenic, cool places!

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE camping! Being from WI, camping is pretty popular…many head “Up Nort” on the weekends to either go to cabins, cottages, or camp :)

  20. June 11, 2010 5:00 pm

    I Love camping! In middle school/junior high outdoor ed was part of the curriculum so we went on 2 camping trips a year. it was so much fun. Your pics of moab made me really nostalgic because for our final trip (way back when…in 8th grade haha) we spent 10 days camping in Moab…its so pretty there! Have fun this weekend!

  21. Kelsey permalink
    June 11, 2010 5:20 pm

    I’m planning a trip with my boyfriend who is from Amsterdam to Yellowstone this August. Do you have any great places/things to see?? I’m going into this pretty blindly and have no idea where to go!

  22. June 11, 2010 6:26 pm

    OMG goblin valley looks like an incredible place to camp! SO jealous! All of your camping trips look incredible actually. Seriously, be my camping buddy, I need to learn how to do it right. I’ve been “real” camping like twice ever. It’s sad. I went “camping” lots when I was young but that was in a campground… in a motorhome. Not exactly the same thing when equipped with AC and TVs… HA.

    Tomorrow I’m pubbing it nice and early for some World Cup footy action! And I never ever watch soccer. Should be exciting ;)

  23. June 11, 2010 6:34 pm

    I love camping – have fun! Goblin Valley makes it sound so scary haha!

  24. June 11, 2010 6:50 pm

    Hmm…don’t you mean your FIANCE?? lol Anyway, I only camp if there is a bed and shower aka cabin camping. I love that sugar free log cabin syrup! I bought some after I saw it on Meals and Moves :)

  25. June 11, 2010 6:56 pm

    Have a wonderful trip, lady! You deserve a break.

    All these camping pictures make me want to gooooo. Hopefully next week.

  26. June 11, 2010 7:00 pm

    Camping is so not for me but have fun! Ha
    Jenna

  27. June 11, 2010 7:47 pm

    Hahaha, Randy looks adorable with his camping gear on!! Too cute!! :)

  28. June 11, 2010 10:06 pm

    I’ve actually never been camping, but I’m always up for something new!
    My weekend plans include attending a wedding–for which I am super excited.
    Have fun this weekend!

  29. June 12, 2010 1:15 am

    I always go camping and it’s absolutely fantastic! I even go camping in spring although it’s actually too cold for that.. Whenever the snow’s gone I get really excited about camping and hiking. ;)
    Your trip is going to be fab!

  30. Krista permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:29 am

    I love hiking, camping, kayaking, etc. all that outdoor stuff. I unfortunately grew up in an area in Illinois and family that did not but I luckily belonged to a youth group that introduced me and I have never looked back since. I LIVE to be outside in nature’s beauty and work to support my travels. I spent 2 weeks in May hiking in the areas around Moab, Arches NP and the Needles district of Canyonlands NP. I adore southern Utah, you are so lucky to have grown up camping. Have a great time!

  31. June 12, 2010 2:59 am

    No such thing as a bad blogger. You are living your life girl!
    I want a dog so freaking bad. I’m in the process of pretending I want to have a baby so my boyfriend will say yes when I nag him for a baby, give up and say I’ll settle for a dog. This plan better work because I want to take my dog camping. I don’t camp though. Have fun!

  32. hayleycepeda permalink
    June 12, 2010 4:04 am

    I LOVE your wafflewiches and the way your eggs look – I’m so glad someone asked the question about how you get them so perfectly round because I’ve always wondered the same thing. :) I thought you just did them in a mug and nuked them in the microwave so they took the round shape of the mug, but that probably would’ve made them smaller. They always look delicious regardless!

    That little pack you got for your pup is so flipping adorable! I’ll have to tell my friend about it so that when she goes camping with her pooch she can make him carry his own food, too. Let’s see…camping and do I like it? Yes and no – looking back on the times that I went (with that same friend) I realized I had fun, but if you asked me if I wanted to go camping next week I’d probably say no…I guess because I was never brought up going camping with my family? Your trips look like a blast though!! Love the picture of you and all your friends in your bikinis with your flat tummies!!

    Weekend plans – WORLD CUP today!! US vs. England and I have to say, “GO ENG-ER-LAND!” :)

  33. June 12, 2010 6:59 am

    I think it’s fun to spend some $$$ on camping once a year! I love camping- and I love this FBF! That lizard pic is so cute!! :D

    This weekend I am taking a trip to Whole Foods, organizing the house and relaxing. Oh, and playing sailor fiance for the night on Saturday. Should be interesting. ;)

    xo
    Kris

  34. June 12, 2010 8:01 am

    I haven’t been camping probably since I was in the Girl Scouts, but I’d definitely be up for it now! Hope you have a wonderful time, Janetha!

  35. June 12, 2010 8:31 am

    Yes I totally love me some camping! Just got back on Tuesday from camping and had a blast.

  36. June 12, 2010 8:46 am

    I’ve never been camping believe it or not!

  37. June 12, 2010 2:27 pm

    hope you’re having fun camping girl :)

    i’m in serious r&r mode from the wedding last night!!

  38. June 12, 2010 7:57 pm

    AWESOME! I can’t wait to visit GBV and Moab!

Trackbacks

  1. flashback friday: flashback friday. « meals & moves

Leave a comment