Skip to content

nice day for a white wedding.

May 24, 2010

hi guys!

i just returned home from a gorgeous wedding.  a big congratulations goes out to my friend summer and her new husband, derek.  the wedding was a blast! everything was so perfect.  it made me happy, excited and a wee bit nervous for my own wedding (which is 53 days, 2 hours, 33 minutes and 4 seconds away.. but who’s counting??)

before i get to the wedding shenanigans, let’s rewind to this morning, shall we?

first things first.. guess what happened this morning?

 image

a blizzard. only in utah, folks. well.. maybe in colorado, too, but for sure in utah. blizzards at the end of may. ughhhhh. i want summertime and sunshine! but this snow definitely made for a white wedding for summer & derek today!

breakfast was my typical monday morning fare~ with a little veggie action because i was feeling like a change.

egg whites+spinach+onions+mushrooms

IMG_2152

and apparently an empty cup of coffee.. but it was soon topped off. i think i had about 3 cups all together.

oatmeal+cinnamon+sugar free syrup

IMG_2155

which i only managed to eat half of because i was full from the scramble.

i’d love to entertain you with interesting happenings from the office.. but to be honest with you, it was a pretty mundane monday! nothing to report.

lunch was a mish-mash salad:IMG_2156

  • lettuce
  • deli turkey
  • cottage cheese
  • cucumbers
  • tomato
  • carrots
  • 1 string cheese, diced
  • spicy mustard for dressing (thinned with water)
  • 2 fiber wasa crackers

random, but tasty.

IMG_2161

i love these wasa crackers. they are only 35 calories a slice and they are quite delicious!

IMG_2158

they also serve as a perfect vehicle for salad.

IMG_2162

i left work promptly at 3 PM so i could get to the wedding ceremony on time. needless to say, there was no time for a workout. no big deal!

IMG_2165

i loved all the decor that summer & derek picked out for the wedding. they are both really classy people and their personalities shined through in the setup!
IMG_2167 IMG_2183 IMG_2200

the ceremony was PERFECT. summer and derek are seriously made for each other. i am so happy for them.

IMG_2184

after the ceremony, we ate some delicious food!

IMG_2197IMG_2185IMG_2186IMG_2191IMG_2187IMG_2188  IMG_2192  

my plate:

IMG_2198

and i would be lying if i said i didn’t go back for another one of those delectable mini sandwiches & a couple more meatballs. incredible.

next up was a whole bunch of toasts! first by the bride and groom and then by friends & family.  some of the speeches made me teary eyed :)

IMG_2205IMG_2208 IMG_2209 

dancing~

IMG_2214

and then.. cake cutting!!

IMG_2216

love that photo.

for the reception part of the night, they had an open bar (i sipped water all night), a candy bar, cake and a dessert bar. fun and cute!

IMG_2170 IMG_2168IMG_2222IMG_2224

i am not a cake person, really. i never eat the cake at weddings. i wonder if i will eat my own wedding cake?! (yes, probably.) instead of cake, i had one of these powdered sugar covered lemon bars.. at least i think that is what it was? powdered sugar covered amazing, that’s for sure.IMG_2225 IMG_2226

here are a few more photos from the wedding. it was beautiful.  

IMG_2248-1IMG_2171IMG_2177IMG_2220IMG_2231IMG_2240IMG_2241IMG_2244 

congratulations to the happy couple!!

~~~~

now i am home.. about to go to bed.. but i had to bake 5 sweet potatoes first. they are about to come out of the oven and they will make their debuts throughout the week.

oh! one thing i thought i would mention.. i have been reading blogs lately and not commenting. do you realize how much more efficient this is? well, i do. so i am not going to apologize for not commenting. i am able to read so much more and enjoy blog reading much, much more when i don’t feel obligated to comment on every post i read. sure, sometimes i will click out of google reader to say something on a post.. but for the most part~ i have just been reading instead of writing.

and i think i like it a lot.

SO.. with that said.. just want y’all to know i’ve been lurking. and i hope nobody ever feels pressure to comment around these parts. because that’s just silly.

ummm what else? i’ve got a giveaway on tap this week as well as a couple fun product reviews. i will also be doing a LOT of wedding planning, so i know some of you are into reading about that.. weeeee. get ready.

alright, now i’m just being boring, i’ll go now!

Qs~

1. what is your favorite cracker? i could easily be considered a cracker monster. i love crackers. i used to be obsessed with chicken in a biscuit and cheezits~ back in my unhealthier days. but now some of my favorites are kashi 7 grain crackers, trader joe’s gorgonzola bite size crackers and any variety of wasa crackers. oh and let’s not forget GRAHAM CRACKERS. oh yum. i love those. with milk. i eat them every time i am sick!

2. when at weddings: eat the cake or eat a different treat? or eat ALL the treats?! i almost always skip the cake. i hate frosting and i like almost every other dessert better than cake!

xo. janetha b.

60 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristin Bell permalink
    May 24, 2010 9:52 pm

    Reduced Fat Wheat Thins ;) Favorite!!! Not that great for you but for 120 calories in 18 crackers, I’m okay with that.
    I’m not a cake girl either. However I love to eat just the frosting if I feel obligated to partake, otherwise I’d choose a cookie ;)

  2. mom permalink
    May 24, 2010 9:54 pm

    Ok so no comment just that I loive you!! You will be a beautiful bride too :) xoxo

  3. May 24, 2010 9:58 pm

    Holy crap you got those up fast! I know I saw you throughout the wedding (I was the photographer) and I hope you had fun! Looks like I’m gonna have to start lurking on your blog too ;)

  4. May 24, 2010 10:09 pm

    Ugh. Sorry you got snow. We didn’t get hit, but it was super windy and chilly today. So, yuck.

    1- I love lots of crackers but I think Goldfish will always be my favorite. I buy some almost every free day and then have to give away the bag to my employees so I don’t finish it.

    2 – ALL the treats. I love wedding cake the best, but I eat it all. Yum.

  5. Michelle permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:27 pm

    can so relate to blog-reading being more enjoyable when you don’t feel obligated to comment! Good for you chica! You have enough stress on your plate right now …

    Fave cracker? Ritz but I rarely eat them because they are so crappy. But so goooooooood!

    Cake always at weddings. Love love love cake.

    Beautiful wedding pics! And snow in May? Crazy!

  6. May 24, 2010 11:16 pm

    Blizzard?.. that’s craziness! We had our first 100 degree day this week :p What a beautiful wedding too. And can totally ditto reading blogs & not comments for efficiency. Sometimes I wish there was a little ‘viewed’ button like the ‘like’ button on Facebook so people know you’re reading & enjoying, but it’s still quick.

  7. May 24, 2010 11:24 pm

    congrats to them!

    And this:
    “an open bar (i sipped water all night), a candy bar, cake and a dessert bar. fun and cute! ”
    Oh yeah baby. My kinda place. Liquor and sugar. What more could i want!

    Blizzard. No, it happens in MN where i grew up too!

    xoxo

  8. May 24, 2010 11:26 pm

    p.s. the not commenting thing. i would like to say i do this too. but i feel obligated to click off and comment. i agree w/ what alyson said…like a “viewed” but no comments. that would be so much better :)

  9. May 25, 2010 1:59 am

    No worries about the not commenting. I don’t think one should feel like they have to comment. Sometimes there’s nothing to say really.

    I love your friends wedding dress. I don’t want a big wedding or even to get married really. If I did it would probably be in a courthouse, but you bet your ass I would wear that dress! If only someone would put a ring on it…

    I’m not really a cracker person. Can I say pretzels?
    At a wedding I don’t eat the cake. I eat the frosting off the cake and anyone else’s frosting if they’ll give it to me.

  10. May 25, 2010 2:09 am

    Blizzard?!?!!? Dear Lord. That’s crazy! I really hope summer shows up for you guys soon. Climate change is a pain.

    I’m with you on that commenting thing. When I almost decided to cut out commenting cold turkey, I noticed that the readership on my blog plummeted almost immediately. Now I hope I struck a balance, commenting only when I want to. I also stopped following the blogs that I didn’t “know” as well, or the ones that I didn’t recognise right away. I went on kind of a Google Reader craze way back, with about 200 subscriptions and like waking up to 60 posts lined up every morning. It’s different, too, because I live in different time zones from you guys; when I’m sleeping, you all are out and about and posting, so the posts accumulate especially quickly overnight, and took out a huge chunk of my day. I learned from that, though, so everything in moderation, I guess! Yes, again. That all-or-nothing mindset. Damnit.

    Lovely wedding! Congratulations to Summer and Derek. (What a beautiful name, and what a beautiful couple!)

    Wei-Wei

  11. May 25, 2010 2:29 am

    What a great wedding!! I just love weddings!! :) Janetha, I can’t believe you aren’t a cake person!!!!!! I wish I wasn’t!! haha! ;) I always get a slice of the wedding cake and then I have Andrew get a slice of the groom’s cake and since he’s gluten intolerant that means I score 2 pieces of cake!! haha!! :)

  12. hayleycepeda permalink
    May 25, 2010 3:20 am

    What a gorgeous wedding!! Her dress is beautiful, too. Everything looked so elegant and I LOVE the pic of you and your man snogging..heheheh…so cute!! :)

    Normally I’d agree with you about the wedding cake thing (especially when people get weird with their cakes and do stuff like add fruit to it! Teehee…) but ours was tres leches and so YES I had my cake and ate it, too!! I couldn’t wait for our first year anniversary so that we could have the top tear. That thing was decadent!

    I don’t know if I have a favorite cracker! Well, that’s a lie – if I had to choose I’d probably say Wheat Thins or the kind that come with PB in the middle, but I honestly try and avoid buying them because I can’t seem to just have a serving. Even if I put some out on a plate I always end up going back for more…and more…and more…

    Good for you for sticking by your guns and telling everyone that you don’t have time to comment. I lurk on blogs too sometimes but I only comment on a few. You have a lot going on lady! Do what you need to do for you. :)

  13. hayleycepeda permalink
    May 25, 2010 3:21 am

    Oops…top tier…not tear.. :)

  14. May 25, 2010 3:22 am

    I feel ya girl on reading all my fave blogs and not commenting all the time or rarely, if I commented on every blog it would take me forever, and I dont want to be consumed by my computer when I could be spending time with my love or doing other stuff!!!

    What a beautiful wedding recap of your friends wedding! SHe looked beautiful and the cake loked so pretty!!!! Yum!!!!!!!!!!

    Have a great day!! Almost wedding day for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yay!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. May 25, 2010 3:24 am

    The wedding looks awesome!I love when they do the food like that vs sit down (which is funny because we did a sit down). I like to people able to choose what I want to eat. Their cake is beautiful too. I am not a cake person at all, but I did eat ours. Those little sammys look totally delicious. Blog reading without commenting is really nice. I have been doing that a lot more over the last few days while Josh’s parents have been here

  16. May 25, 2010 3:38 am

    I would lose my mind if it snowed here now. Ugh!

    I don’t really like crackers. I guess if I had to pick, it would be triscuits or something. But crackers and breads aren’t my crack of choice.

  17. May 25, 2010 3:48 am

    SNOW?!?! WOW! Its blistering hot here already. If you want 90 degrees and humidity…just hop on over a few states to Austin, TX!
    Cheers,
    LC

  18. May 25, 2010 3:51 am

    There are many unconventional things about this day. One, a blizzard in May and two, a wedding on a Monday night. However, odd as they may be, it all looked wonderful! (minus the snow)

    I am definitely not a cake person, especially wedding cake. But for some reason, my wedding cake was amazing! I don;t really remember the taste when it was shoved down my face on the actual day, but the year after, it tasted unbelievable! That’s saying a lot for a year old cake and from someone who doesn’t even love cake that much.

    Have a lovely day my lovely!

  19. May 25, 2010 4:04 am

    Sorry JB, but I can’t help but insert my opinion on all of your posts ;) That picture of you and Marshall is SO cute!!! I like how it’s all blurry, and y’all are dressed up. Oh! And what’s with Utah? Whoa. I live in Canada and it was a gorgeous summer weekend here. But we also live at sea level.

    1. I’m not a huge cracker person! These days I’m all about the wasas, but when I was a kid I loved cheese on Wheat Thins.

    2. I’m with you on the cake. There are few kinds that I really like (carrot!) otherwise I just skip it. Pretty sure I would have been all over that candy bar instead.

    Heart ya Neef!!!! xoxo

  20. May 25, 2010 4:18 am

    AW! Gorgeous wedding! I can’t believe that mine was 6 months ago already!!! CRAZY!!
    1) Favorite cracker: Wheat thins, hands down, followed closely by wheatables and triscuits.

    2) I didn’t get to eat my own wedding cake at our wedding, but we ate some soon after. Usually I’ll have cake but none of the other stuff, unless someone raves about something!

  21. May 25, 2010 4:31 am

    heeeeloooo darling! first of all you and marshall look so stellar all dressed up!!! I cant wait to see pics from your very own wedding! congrats to your friend, she looked beautiful as well!!

    i love the color theme she had going on with the purple and silver and awesome idea with the candy bar!

    i am SO not a cake person either, unless we’re talking about ice cream cake…but vanilla or chocolate cake? nope, not for me! I prefer the other sweets theyusually put out with the dessert

    favorite cracker? thats a toughie! i love the kashi crackers, but havent had themin a while! I also like my own homemade pita chips (if those count as crackers)

    agreed with alyson that there should be a ‘viewed’ button so everyone can see who views their blog and dont feel the need to comment everytime they read!

    although i will always comment on yours!

    love you!

  22. May 25, 2010 4:50 am

    I always eat the cake *unless* there’s something far more appetizing making its rounds. One wedding had a white chocolate mousse that was served in a small martini glass. It was so rich but so amazing. Way better then cake. :D

    Love all the wedding pictures! How exciting that you’ll be having your own wedding soon too! :D

  23. flowyogilates permalink
    May 25, 2010 4:55 am

    I love whole wheat Darvida crackers and pretzels
    and I always prefer the other desserts…mhhhh …there´s nothing better than mousse au chocolat

  24. May 25, 2010 4:56 am

    I don’t comment on everything I read either. Oh well.

    Your friends cake was reallly pretty. I do love me some cake. Can never turn a piece down!

  25. May 25, 2010 5:13 am

    Can’t believe you guys had SNOW…how depressing. I can commiserate, since Wisconsin isn’t exactly a tropical climate.

  26. May 25, 2010 5:32 am

    Dude, that snow is insane. It’s 90 degrees here!

  27. May 25, 2010 5:40 am

    Looks like a great wedding!!
    Omg snow in may cray crayyyy!

  28. May 25, 2010 6:04 am

    What a beautiful wedding! I’m so excited about mine now :P

    I love crackers… Kashi and Graham crackers top my list! I also love Mary’s crackers… and I used to LOVE club crackers. So buttery… but SO not healthy! hah

    And I don’t like cake either! I do like carrot cake, but there usually isn’t carrot cake at weddings. I just have a couple bites. I’ll probably eat mine, though. ;)

    xo
    K

  29. May 25, 2010 6:26 am

    That wedding looks awesome! Love the cake. Sad fact- I’ve NEVER been to one before

  30. lowandbhold permalink
    May 25, 2010 6:34 am

    A blizzard?! Fo real? Lame…

    The wedding looks gorg though. I definitely eat the cake. Only plain-ish white cake though. I don’t like raspberry stuff and I don’t like lemon flavor so if it’s got too much fanciness going on I pass.

    The yellowstone thing already fell through. Otherwise I would have tried to arrange a visit. Sigh… maybe someday!

    I used to like those vegetable crackers that were chaped like veggies. Can’t remember what they’re called. And Cheezits are where it’s at.

  31. May 25, 2010 6:58 am

    Agreed! I love reading so much and I don’t always have something to say anyways :) I just enjoy reading!

  32. May 25, 2010 7:12 am

    omg i cannot believe that snow! For a second I had to rethink what day it was because it looked liked a Flashback Friday post, LOL.
    What a beautiful wedding. Very tasteful, indeed. I love the colors and the candy bar! Very beautiful couple.

  33. May 25, 2010 7:21 am

    Beautiful wedding! I especially love the japanese flowered cake. I can’t wait to see all the cool stuff you’ve got up your sleeve for your wedding! :)

    1. Dr. Krackers Apple Crisps & Cherry Semolina are top notch. I <3 those crackers!

    2. I'm not a fan of cake either. Usually, I dig into the fruit cocktail for dessert at weddings!

  34. May 25, 2010 7:27 am

    Snow!? Oh my lord, if that storm makes it’s way over to Colorado I’ll shit my pants. I am going to Vegas this weekend though so I hope if it happens it happens then!

    Chicken in a biscuit! I used to love those….now I like the Annie’s white cheddar bunnies or Kashi crackers.

    I love wedding cake but I always eat around the frosting….

  35. May 25, 2010 7:30 am

    thanks for sharing wedding photos! it makes me nervous about my own wedding, too….eeek. we’re actually not going to have a cake at all, so that will help people with your last question.

    and WTF, Utah??? a blizzard? that’s not allowed!

  36. May 25, 2010 7:35 am

    What a pretty wedding and cake! I always eat a slice of wedding cak but skip the frosting yuck! My favorite crackers are ak man… I think that’s what they’re called. Found right next to wasa crackers at the store, my second favorite :)

  37. May 25, 2010 7:37 am

    amen to that reading and not commenting thing. i have been doing that so much more often, and it IS way more enjoyable.

    that being said, i am in love with their wedding cake.

    in love.

    not with cake (you know we like our ice cream), but if i had a wedding cake, that’s what i would want it to look like.

    happy tuesday love :)

  38. May 25, 2010 7:49 am

    i totally agree-when there is no pressure, blog reading is so much MORE FUN!!
    ahh what a fun wedding!
    IT SNOWED THERE?!?! what the HECK! its like 90 degrees here! weather is on drugs.
    LOVE YOU!

  39. May 25, 2010 8:11 am

    oh baby i love me some graham crackers too! haven’t had those in ages…gotta get on that pronto. first of all DAYUM woman, lookin smokin hot in your new pic! Ok, maybe it’s not even a new pic, but i have NOT been blogging much at all lately so my apologies for only spotting it now, lol. i feel ya about reading vs commenting….it is soooo much more efficient that way and it also doesn’t turn blogging into an obligation! should never be! i can’t believe it’s still snowy in utah, wtf? hope some sunshine comes your way soon so you can rock that bod in all your cute summer clothes ;). OMG i love weddings! i’m not a wedding cake person either, but they are so pretty to look at

  40. May 25, 2010 8:16 am

    I read so many blogs that there is no way I could comment on all of them. Sometimes that makes me feel bad, but I know that others are the same way (silly me).

    Lovely bride and groom!

  41. May 25, 2010 8:39 am

    looks like it was a ton of fun. i love wasa crackers too!! and they are so crunchy!

    i definitely eat desserts at weddings, actually all “events” for that matter. i TRY hard not to eat too much though but I have such a dang sweet tooth. i hate frosting too. i eat around it for sure.

  42. May 25, 2010 8:52 am

    what a fab wedding! Looks amazing- I LOVE that pic of you and Marshall dancing!!!!

    Um, how crazy is it that you had a blizzard. It’s almost freaking JUNE. Just sayin’…

    I have been commenting less too lately- if I have something to say, I say it and not gonna lie, i feel bad for ‘abandoning’ people, but at the same time, I would rather say nothing than leave a lacklustre comment just because I feel like I ‘should. Hope that doesn’t sound mean- just sometimes I have nothing to say, ya know?

    I have only been to one wedding and it was my mom’s- the food was Kosher (Orthodox Jewish guy that she married) so nothing good to eat at all. I specially ordered a tuna sandwich and got very drunk. Hehe. I haven’t touched alcohol since, I don’t think!

  43. May 25, 2010 8:54 am

    I live in Colorado and can relate to the random snow. Crazy. Kinda fun that it happened on their wedding day though. It’s one of those little details that makes the day unique. “Remember when it snowed the day of our wedding.. in May..?”

  44. May 25, 2010 9:17 am

    I say have a bite of every dessert! Share with a friend. :)

  45. May 25, 2010 9:22 am

    I can’t believe the snow! White wedding indeed!

    Its so funny you asked the cracker question – last summer my boyfriend and I went to 9 weddings (!!!) and when I saw the crackers you had on your plate from the wedding, I got all excited. They were one of my favorite staples at the many weddings. They’re so good! Thick and chewy and a little sweet. Yum.

  46. May 25, 2010 9:48 am

    Ahhh…I love weddings! I think my favorite picture might just be you and Marshall on the dance floor. Adorable.

    Hey, about the commenting thing, I’ve kind of been doing the same thing lately. I totally understand. You are planning a wedding…I’m writing my book, etc. and life just slightly takes priority right now. Please don’t EVER feel like you have to comment on my blog. I love checking in with you, but like I said, yous gotsa wedding to plan!

    Happy Tuesday!!!! Hope it’s full of sunshine and pickles (that’s what I wrote on our dry erase board today, don’t ask).

  47. May 25, 2010 11:00 am

    SNOW?!

  48. May 25, 2010 1:22 pm

    SNOW???? What the freaking hell? Come on! Even people like us who live in winter paradise (haha) have summer right now. With HEAT and all. ;) You poor guys.

    Summer’s wedding looked amazing though! I love it when people stay true to their style and do it as they like it.

  49. haylee permalink
    May 25, 2010 2:08 pm

    Uh I am SUCH a wedding cake person, I love it, it is my weakness. I always tell my husband that we need to wedding crash when we see weddings just so I can eat the cake (we never do…kinda hard when your in Utah and everyone knows EVERYONE at weddings) :D

  50. May 25, 2010 2:49 pm

    I plan to have the exact same breakfast in the morning yummy! Love ya dress very cute x x

  51. May 25, 2010 3:37 pm

    That snow is unreal. It is 90 degrees in Boston!

    I’ve been lurking too, it is SO much more efficient to just read. I’m loving it.

    I love cake. I would eat every dessert probably :-)

  52. May 25, 2010 3:49 pm

    You know I was thinking she couldn’t have a summer wedding because that’s her name – the blizzard was totally meant to happen like that :D LOL.

    Beautiful pics!

    FYI – that is what I do ALOT – read without commenting! I would love to have time to comment but it just doesn’t always happen. I try to be good and add one here or there though :)

  53. May 25, 2010 4:39 pm

    I love triscuits!! But they are so filling! I’m not a huge cake person, I have to be in the mood. When I drank…I could enjoy a piece of cake after a few glasses of wine. Wine changes everything lol

  54. May 25, 2010 6:11 pm

    What a beautiful day! And snow at the end of May? Hey, hold on I’m poet lol–no way! JK Whats that all about? I will send some sunny vibes Utah’s way.

    Wasa’s are awesome!!

  55. actorsdiet permalink
    May 25, 2010 7:22 pm

    i always eat the cake! unless there is something else amazing. i actually haven’t been to a wedding in years, since i stopped bingeing so i actually have no idea what i would do (i used to just eat it all, and then some)

  56. May 25, 2010 8:47 pm

    Oh I love weddings. My Mr. needs to give me that damn ring already so I can start planning mine. HAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Must….be….patient….. ;)

  57. May 26, 2010 8:13 am

    I love crackers too :) My favorite are those Spanish crackers- hopefully you know what I’m talking about! Also I LOVE water crackers..yummm!!
    @ a wedding I do typically have the cake…at least a bite for good luck & then maybe a few of the other treats too…;)
    Hope you’re having a GREAT week!! Love all of the pictures!

  58. May 28, 2010 3:24 pm

    I’m glad you made a comment about commenting. :) When I stress out about commenting, it takes the fun out of blog reading. So I agree w/ you: read and enjoy. Comment when you feel like it!

  59. June 4, 2010 1:56 pm

    I have been meaning to comment on this post ever since you posted it.

    I can so relate to enjoying blogs the most when I can just lurk. The problem, as all of us bloggers know, is that if we read a post, we want that blogger to know that we read it. The only way to do that is to comment. Reading this from another blogger was really refreshing!

    I always read your posts, JB, even if I don’t comment! (But I do try to comment when I can, to say hi and send some love ;) ) <3

Trackbacks

  1. just not sure. « meals & moves

Leave a comment