Skip to content

top ten from the weekend.

April 25, 2010

sometimes when i get ridiculously behind on posting my meals & moves, the only possible way to catch up is by pulling a letterman and rattling off my top ten.

enjoy.

(by the way.. this is in no particular order. just saying.)

ONE: weekend breakfasts that take extra time to prepare and eat.

saturday’s was a greek yogurt mess made with oiko’s plain greek yogurt, kashi golean, another kashi cereal (warm cinnamon something or other?) TJ’s almond butter with flax and a few cacao nibs on top.

IMG_0503

eaten alongside a whole pot of french pressed coffee, no doubt.

IMG_0502

IMG_0504IMG_0507 IMG_0508

370 calories, 10g fat, 42g carbs, 39g protein

sunday’s was.. can you guess? PANCAKES.

IMG_0606

i doubled allie’s low carb pancake recipe (minus the blackberries) and added 1/2 scoop of whey protein to the batter.  i topped them with spray butter and sugar free log cabin syrup.

IMG_0607

this recipe made four HUGE pancakes.

IMG_0610

365 calories, 8g fat, 35g carbs 41g protein

TWO: awesome workouts. two of them, to be exact!

friday’s HIIT:

i decided to do by-the-book HIIT according to body for life.  this routine is tried and true, never lets me down. by “by-the-book” i mean i did a two minute warmup, four 4-minute intervals followed by one minute of “level 10” all-out maximum effort, ending with a one minute cool down. this is body for life’s HIIT outline and you can see the chart here.

here are the details:

treadmill incline=1.0

minute # speed (MPH)
0-1 5.5
1-2 6.0
2-3 6.5
3-4 7.0
4-5 7.5
5-6 8.0
6-7 6.5
7-8 7.0
8-9 7.5
9-10 8.0
10-11 6.5
11-12 7.0
12-13 7.5
13-14 8.0
14-15 6.5
15-16 7.0
16-17 7.5
17-18 8.0
18-19 9.0
19-20 2.0

total time: 20 minutes, total distance: 2.33 miles. max HR: 178, average HR: 153, calories burned: 155.

sunday’s upper body workout:

  • i RAN to the gym (2 miles) and then:

(exercises are linked to examples)

back:

move reps weight
single arm dumbbell row 12 @
10 @
8 @
6 @
12 @
17.5#
20#
22.5#
25#
17.5#
underhand barbell bent over row 12 @ 30#

biceps:

move reps weight
incline dumbbell curl
(thanks susan)
12 @
10 @
8 @
6 @

12 @

10# ea
12 # ea
15 # ea
15 # ea (i couldn’t hang with heavier!
10# ea
barbell biceps curl 12 @ 20#

triceps:

move reps weight
barbell skull crushers 12 @
10 @
8 @
6 @
12 @
20#
25#
30#
40#
25#
bench dips 20 @ body weight

shoulders:

move reps weight
upright barbell row 12 @
10 @
8 @
6 @
12 @
20#
25#
30#
40#
25#
front raises (dumbbell)
side raises (dumbbell)
12 @
12 @
5# ea
5 # ea

chest:

move reps weight
incline chest press (dumbbell) 12 @
10 @
8 @
6 @
12 @
17.5# ea
20# ea
22.5# ea
25# ea
17.5# ea
incline chest flies (dumbbell) 12 @ 10 # ea
  • then i RAN home (2 miles)

total time: 1 hour 20 minutes

saturday was my rest day, by the way.

THREE: dog park on a sunny saturday.

no words are needed, only photos. and lots of them!

IMG_0512 IMG_0513 IMG_0519 IMG_0524

indiana is SUCH a water dog! my dogs.. not so much.

IMG_0537

they patiently watched indie swim.

IMG_0549IMG_0542
don’t mind the random creeper in the background of this one.. um.

IMG_0545

probably my favorite photo!

IMG_0546

FOUR: delicious free day eats.

saturday afternoon, marshall and i went to one of our favorite places for lunch. millcreek cafe & eggworks. it is super good!

i got the veggie wrap + fruit:

IMG_0570

the tortilla was a little rubbery (what a let down) and so i mainly ate the glorious filling:

IMG_0569

eggs, spinach, mushrooms, cheese. yum. and can i make it clear that i think every restaurant should offer whole wheat wraps? they just taste better than the white ones. i mean.. they offer like 8 kinds of bread for toast, it just would make sense to offer another kind of wrap, right? right.

dinner was up in park city. we went to good karma, an indo-persian restaurant:

IMG_0576

kristen got the chicken tikka masala:

IMG_0579

“Char broiled Chicken Breast marinated overnight in Red Chili, Fenugreek and Yoghurt with Aromatic Spices”

side note: CHECK OUT THAT NAAN! at first when we saw it at another table we thought it was grilled chicken, but it is just huge, fluffy pieces of delicious naan!

rory got the tandori lamb kebab:IMG_0580

“Grilled Tender lean Lamb cubes marinated overnight in Yoghurt, Tomato, Red Chili and Cardamom”

marshall and i opted to split a trifecta of curries which came with rice and naan:

IMG_0581

left to right.

curry one was vegetarian daal curry: “Lentils cooked with Spinach, Tomato and Garam Masala Seasoning”

curry two was chicken tikka masala: “Char broiled Chicken Breast marinated overnight in Red Chili, Fenugreek and Yoghurt with Aromatic Spices”

curry three was navratan korma: “Stir Fried Variety of Seasonal Vegetables blended in Yellow Curry, Coconut Milk and Almonds”

the dishes came with a jalepeno chutney and tzatziki.

IMG_0582

i had a little of each over a bed of rice:

IMG_0587

and you better believe i polished off this naan:

IMG_0586

i wish i had eight loaves of it. right now.

FIVE: shopping in park city.

i didn’t find anything to wear for the engagement photos (marshall did).. but it was still fun to go to the outlet stores with our friends. it was a beautiful, sunny day.

IMG_0573

SIX: eating froyo while wrapped in a blanket, freezing by the fire.

IMG_0594

hmmm.. should we call this froyo dedication or should we call it pathetic? i will go with the former ;)

original tart + blueberry acai yogurts with graham crackers, mango and a bit of granola. yum.

IMG_0588

the dogs love froyo kisses ;)

IMG_0592

SEVEN: trying out a new protein bar!

let me preface this one. i received some simply bars from cathy richards on friday. (thanks, cathy!!) and i grabbed one and threw it in my purse.

well, after the gym on friday i had an alarming voice mail. my brother’s dog (along with his friend’s dog) had escaped from their yard and had been missing for a few hours!

i immediately drove to bountiful where i started looking everywhere for the pups. scary.

i needed to refuel and so it was the simply bar to the rescue!

this is what cathy has to say about what she was thinking when creating the simply bar:

“I designed The Simply Bar because I could never find a healthy, high protein bar that wasn’t loaded with sugar, fat and junk. I wanted a high protein, low sugar, low fat bar that had all natural ingredients I could pronounce and no chemicals or ingredients I couldn’t. If you compare The Simply Bar with other natural protein bars, you will find it has the most protein with the least fat, sugar and calories. And it isn’t a chalky bar- it is a crisp, light bar with a great taste.”

IMG_0483

check out the awesome stats and ingredients:

IMG_0486

wow! 48% protein, 40% carbs and 12% fat. great ratios, right?  i loved the specks of coconut throughout the bar:

IMG_0491

the bars are also kosher, all natural, low on the glycemic index, vegan and are milk & gluten free.

but the real question: how does it taste?

IMG_0490

this bar was awesome! definitely gets my seal of approval. it tasted like a lemon flavored rice krispie treat!

the reason i am so in love with these bars is the carb/protein ratio is balanced and there are not a ton of funky ingredients in the bar like there are with other high protein bars.

usually i eat luna bars but they are SO much higher in carbs than in protein and then the bars that are high in protein (like balance bars, zone bars) have an ingredient list that is funky and a mile long.. the simply bars are THE SOLUTION to my protein bar woes!

i am seriously SO excited about the discovery of these bars (and NO i am not being paid to say this.. yes i got the bars for free but this is my honest opinion)~ these bars make body for life a breeze. i can’t wait to try the other flavors. thanks, cathy!

by the way.. my brother DID find the dogs.. thank goodness. they had managed to run all the way up to the trail head of holbrook canyon~ where they always go hiking! crazy pups!

EIGHT: whole foods salad bar.

after the searching fest, the last thing i wanted to do was go home and prepare dinner.. so i opted for an $11 salad from whole foods.

IMG_0498

expensive? yes. delicious? you bet.

IMG_0497

a little of everything.

NINE: doing new things and reaching new highs!

remember number TWO up there? see how i RAN to and from the gym? yeah.. i usually drive. today i grabbed my keys, went outside and felt the warmth and sunshine.. and said, “i’m going to do something new. i am going to run to the gym.”

i had no idea how far it was or how long it would take.. i just know it takes me four minutes to drive to the gym, so it could not be that far of a run.

i ran there in 17 minutes and i ran back in 2o.

when i got home i google mapped my route to see the distance:

image

point A to point B was exactly two miles.. so i tacked on another four miles to my mileage goal. that is another whole 1% right there!

on the down side.. my ipod died right when i got done working out. on the upside, i was able to hear all of the honks and hollers i got while running home. um, seriously? who honks at runners? that is so weird. dudes can be creeps.

second part of this is reaching new highs.. well, my heart rate reached a new high on today’s run! check it:

IMG_0613

yowza, am i seeing that clearly?! i don’t think my HR has ever seen the 190’s. not in this decade, anyway.

so moral of the story? running to the gym + heart pumping numbers = a good thing :)

TEN: going to watch the jazz win their game tonight!

on TV (i wish i had tickets to the game!)

so, number 10 technically hasn’t happened yet.. but i am crossing my fingers that it will~ GO JAZZ!

IMG_0231

photo is from last week’s shenanigans :)

that’s all for now! i have to go shower, hit the mall, hit my mom’s house and then go watch the game with the boy.

see you guys tomorrow! lots happening this week.. giveaways, new challenges, goal check ins and more. get pumped!

Qs~
1. best thing you ate this weekend?
that naan is definitely the best thing i ate. i am still thinking about it!

2. how did you stay active this weekend? dog park, HIIT, running to the gym and an UBWO. yay for active weekends! i am excited for summertime!

bonus Q: are you watching the playoffs? who do you want to win? i think my answer is obvious…

xo. janetha b.

71 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    April 25, 2010 1:51 pm

    What a full weekend!
    – Cute doggies
    – NAAN <3

  2. April 25, 2010 1:59 pm

    i actually ran to the gym this weekend too!

  3. April 25, 2010 2:01 pm

    Whew that is a lot happening on your weekend! But at least it is all good things. Love the picture of you and your dogs with the froyo. Also, those bars look amazing. I wonder where you can get them. That does sound like an ideal bar.

    And awesome on the run to and from the gym. That is a great way to get in some extra activity. Gotta love the creepers and their honking.

  4. April 25, 2010 2:04 pm

    do you just love good weekends. seriously they’re like the best feeling ever :)

    i love your weekend for you! plus your pancakes look GLORIOUS. i need a tutorial from you because my pancakes sucks. haha better luck next sunday. do you use coconut flour?

  5. April 25, 2010 2:06 pm

    That looks like some of the best froyo I have seen!

  6. April 25, 2010 2:07 pm

    Love your top 10 list! Sounds like an incredible weekend.

    Girl, your rocking these runs lately! Good for you! :)

  7. adrienmelaine permalink
    April 25, 2010 2:07 pm

    I loooove simply bars! The cinnamon flavor is great- and the chocolate peanut butter one is even better!

  8. April 25, 2010 2:12 pm

    Sounds like an action-packed weekend! Gotta love a good yogurt mess. YUM. I stayed active doing weights yesterday followed by kickboxing. Today was a nice 5-mile run with the hubs. Happy Sunday!

  9. April 25, 2010 2:13 pm

    This post is making me CRAVE indian food! Yum :-)

    The best thing I ate was thai food last night, and I had a 5 mile run, a 10 mile run, and we moved!!

  10. April 25, 2010 2:24 pm

    What a fun weekend! So many things to comment on in this post….I love love love Allie’s pancakes! Will have to try them without fruit too – they’ll probably form better as I use chunky blueberries. I HAD to check out the skullcrusher move – totally terrified to try that! I find barbells are generally more intimidating!! Awesome job running to the gym! My gym is about 2km away and I think when it gets nicer and I want to run + do weights I will do my run there and back. I’m always worried about tiring myself out! Indian looks amazing – love lentil curry.

    • April 25, 2010 2:25 pm

      Oh and Simply Bars are amazing! I bought them (even though I stay away from pricier bars) because of the awesome stats and I love their taste (especially the mocha flavour) and how well they keep me full after eating. I have to find them again!

  11. April 25, 2010 2:38 pm

    This is a fantabulous post, Janetha! And gosh those pancakes look fluffy and delish!!!

    Love your new design, by the way. It’s the first time I’ve stopped by in a while, so I’m just seeing it. LOVE it!!!! :-D

    Hugs,
    Michele

  12. April 25, 2010 2:44 pm

    Your breakfast looks incredible. Actually the pancakes are calling my name too. I almost made pancakes this morning but then got lazy. hehe
    Saving this run idea too. I need to start a little documents with all your runs. They sound so fun!
    As far as being active, I didn’t do much. I’m starting to get a cold so I kept it light with just a walk yesterday and hopefully another one later today. Better something than nothing, right? :)

  13. April 25, 2010 2:49 pm

    I wish my boyfriend wanted a dog. We both love dogs, but he doesn’t want to make the commitment yet. He better come around soon!

  14. April 25, 2010 3:04 pm

    Hi chica! How are you ? Looks like you had a fabulous weekend. Great breakfasts. Especially loving the yogurt mess. Your puppers are so so cute at the dog park. Frank likes to hang out with the people at the dog park (vs. the dogs)…he also likes to stand in the water container…..consequently, Frank isn’t allowed to go to the dog park often ;). Holy toledo that bar looks awesome- I can’t believe the calories vs. protein content. Totally checking out the website now. I NEED that bar (yes need ;)). I want some WFs salad bar tooooo…while we’re on the topics of bars. Have fun watching the game tonight.

    Q1…do you have to ask…my usual parfait. I also had some pretty jammin french fries last night- yes, real real french fries
    Q2-Taught Body Step, Worked on the yard & garden, took Franky for wlaks

  15. April 25, 2010 3:27 pm

    wow! sure does look like a great weekend filled with yummy eats!
    jenna

  16. Nicole G permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:28 pm

    Great idea running to and from the gym! I love running when its slightly cool out but the shining sun heats you up =)

    I stayed active this weekend by running with my mom Saturday and Sunday morning like I usually do. Its one of my favorite parts of the weekend and one of the few times I get to spend time one on one with my mom (downside of having a nine year old brother – though he is like my best friend lol)

    Hmm and best thing I ate all weekend? That’s tough. I went out to lunch with a few friends on Saturday and since I’m still working on getting used to eating out and not controlling my food, it was a challenge. However, I enjoyed eating a regular fresh roll for the first time in about two years.

    I’m not much of a basketball fan (except if my lil bro is playing =) ) but for your sake I want the Jazz to win!
    Nicole G

  17. Lindsay permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:44 pm

    Awesome weekend! So jealous of that dog park, it looks beautiful.

    active? I ran my half! (Thanks so much for the congrats!). I’m soooo happy I kicked ass and got sub 2 with all those hills… The coast doesn’t have any and I was scared!! Also took the dogs for a beach walk today.

    Best grub? I had a sucky food weekend, lots of things I normally don’t touch but ate because of the travelling. But the best was PFChangs at the finish line! And the beer I’m enjoying right now.

    No knowledge, no interest. But “Go Jazz” for you!

    Have a Great Monday tomorrow!

  18. April 25, 2010 3:49 pm

    I could eat my weight in naan!! What makes it so AWESOME?!! And my dogs love it when I eat anything with PB, especially our coonhound, Ripsey. She loves to smell my PB breath and lick my lips, haha! ;) Your fro you looks so good!! I’m craving it now!!

    1. Best thing I ate this weekend is kinda “boring” I guess, but the wafflewich I made yesterday morning pretty much rocked my world.

    2. This weekend I stayed active by doing a good upper body workout on Friday, cleaned yesterday, and did a strong HIIT run this morning with my pup! :) Oh, and does grocery shopping count too?? ;)

  19. Janet permalink
    April 25, 2010 3:54 pm

    quick question…

    what kind of watch is that/where do you get a watch thing that shows you calories and heart rate???

    and is it tough to run with??

    thanks!

  20. April 25, 2010 3:54 pm

    Great eats! I am totally eying that NAAN BREAD!

  21. April 25, 2010 4:38 pm

    I died at the sight of all that Indian food and was almost insanely jealous and then remembered…I also went out for Indian food last night! Ha. And yum.

    Wholefoods salad bar is criminal isn’t it? But so bloody good. Ok,

    1) Definitely the vegetable biryani and chana masala I ate at the Indian restaurant. YUM.

    2) I ran TEN miles today! Phew! I’m training for my first 1/2 – did I tell you? This mileage is killer! I get so hungry I spend the rest of the day eating – I am not at all joking – it’s ridiculous!

    Love you sweet pea xx

  22. April 25, 2010 4:40 pm

    Those pancakes are fluffy!! Definitely on my list to make!

  23. mom permalink
    April 25, 2010 4:48 pm

    Hahaha I am SO stupid!! I stopped at #10 and have been so jealous that you get to go to the game….then when you didn’t answer your phone I decided to read the rest of your post……ON T.V. Hahaha!! Me too hope the Jazz show up and play!

    I did a modified upper body work our and played 9 holes of golf with dad it was great!!

    Well I had some Ben and Jerry’s Coffee Heath Crunch ice cream last night whoa totally yummy!!

    See ya soon (I cheated I’m on my phone:) xoxoxo

  24. April 25, 2010 4:59 pm

    Great job on your run. I hate it when my Ipod dies.

    I had a veggie burger from a restaurant that was pretty darn good. And as for exercise, I ran a 5K yesterday and went to a pilates class today.

  25. Kelly permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:01 pm

    1 – i finally found a worchestershire sauce with no HFCS, so we made up your turkey burgers and grilled them on our new fancy grill, with cheetahs and roasted aparagus on the side – so delish!

    2 – the hubs got a free week pass to my gym so i had TWO lovely gym dates!! got to put him through an upper & lower body workout, poor thing was hurting! he does the arnold style of training and the circuits were a little tough on him. walking lunges are not his friend ;)

    bonus – i don’t care about basketball! the hubs is OBSESSED with college bball and i’m just enjoying the hoop free weekends finally!

  26. April 25, 2010 5:13 pm

    Puppies!!! Cute!!!
    We hiked and golfed yesterday and then today we biked 33 miles! It was a great weekend!

  27. April 25, 2010 5:41 pm

    hi!

    That yogurt bowl photographed so well! Mine never look as good as they taste!

    Running to the gym and back is a great idea. Running outside is so fun. I enjoy it whenever I do it.

    Your pups are soooooo cute. I want a puppy so bad!!!!!!!

    That naan totally looks like grilled chicken, I was fooled at first too.

    My heart rate got that high today during my 5k. It was the oddest thing for me. I am usually hovering between the 180’s and 170’s during runs. And I walked most of this 5k. Why was it so high? Crazy! Anyway, looks like running to the gym is gonna work out awesome for you!

    1. I ate a baked potato on Saturday! It tasted fantastic but was probably not a smart decision. I was sick during my 5k. I can’t handle cheese anymore now that I’m eating healthier.

    2. I stayed active by running a 5k!

  28. April 25, 2010 5:44 pm

    I LOVE this top 10 post!!

    Love the bar!! I have to check the site out!! I eat lunas all the time too, these bars def have WAY BETTER stats!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing !!!

    Oh naan is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could eat it all day long, in fact instead of ordering food at an indian place, I would just be like, can I have naan please! lol!!

    Love ya, glad your weekend was great!!

  29. April 25, 2010 6:03 pm

    Love the top ten lists. They are so fun! My puppers got 2 dog park visits this weekend. Lots of sunshine so she deserved it. AWESOME! And, your weekends are loaded with fun. I need to come visit, haha!
    Get some rest so you don’t have a case of the muuuundays. Cheers!

  30. April 25, 2010 6:13 pm

    mmmmm… that indo-persian restaurant looks so good!! Also, congrats on the high hr, I finally got mine up this week too! I’m definitely gonna to start trying out some of your HIIT workouts. Keep it up, your def inspiring me to try new things!

    Oh and yea guys are creepers.. I never understood the yelling lol. Just take it as a compliment ;)

  31. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:23 pm

    I want all your eats!!!! seriously, they all look scrumptious!!!
    1. my eats have been lame lately since i´m cleaning up the fridge before I leave. best eat? kabocha , just needed something yummy!!!
    2. run at the treadmill (crappy day) and some yoga at home.

  32. Maren permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:24 pm

    Awesome job running to work out! It’s good for your body AND the environment!

    1. The best think I ate this weekend was the pesto chicken pizza my bf and I made! YUMMMM!!
    2. I stayed active by working out everyday (woop woop!) and Friday we went to Relay for Life!

    Bonus: I’m not watching the playoffs… baseball season has started and I can’t miss a Twins game!

    Hope the Jazz win tonight though =)

  33. April 25, 2010 6:36 pm

    whoa girl you’re a posting machine and i love it! that you’re doing the work, not me :)

    the indian perso joint…how fun!

    love the review on the lemon r.k. treat!

    the engagment pics and finding someting to wear, women always get the short end of that stick!

    and the polar. i have thought about getting something like that or a garmin. for no other reason than “everyone has one”. i have never counted calories or heartrate on something like that. do you love it? would you recommend one for me? would you reco that brand, model, etc. AS YOUR TIME PERMITS, holla back.

    In the meantime, go enjoy the Jazzzzzzzzzzy action tonite!

    oxoxo

  34. April 25, 2010 6:40 pm

    I love your new photo on the side – your body lookings bangin’ sistah!

  35. Amy (Up and Running!) permalink
    April 25, 2010 6:41 pm

    Congrats on the extra mileage! I run to the gym when it’s nice out too…that way I don’t have to pay for parking!
    Those Simply Bars are perfection…and I havn’t even tried one yet! I’m already looking up how to order some.
    I stayed active this weekend by my normal gym routines…and cleaning my kitchen! Housework is definitely a work-out.

  36. April 25, 2010 7:08 pm

    Indian food is my very FAV!

    We went to this little dumpy Mexican place we love this weekend.

    I did kettlebells and had a taekwondo testing this weekend.

  37. Michelle permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:18 pm

    Woohoo for 192!! That’s awesome Janetha!

    I am like Jenn and LOVE Indian food. My hubby and I are going to a buffet for lunch on Tuesday – can’t wait. That trifecta looked so good – and the naan? incredible!

    Best thing I ate? Probably some bittersweet chocolate chips. I didn’t get out this weekend to eat so had to dig through the fridge for dessert ;-)

  38. April 25, 2010 7:36 pm

    Your photos in this post are just lovely! Good job. This weekend I had really yummy soup (basically French Onion, minus the cheese) and a delish choc-covered strawberries. And I ran 3 miles tonight…and did some strolling around Las Vegas on Saturday :-) but I wasn’t that active this weekend, honestly.

  39. *Andrea* permalink
    April 25, 2010 7:44 pm

    god i love naan! the wheat naan they sell at my supermarket is sooo good.

    i never noticed your blog header, thanks to google reader, but i love it! so sleek!

    getting honked at is kinda creepy, but at least it’s a compliment ;)

  40. April 25, 2010 7:54 pm

    HOW FUN!!
    you are a beast fo runnin to the gym!
    LOVE the froyo action on hurr too!!

  41. April 25, 2010 8:17 pm

    This may sound so lame, but I had some beans and weenies that were so oldschool and delciious and reminded me of when I was young–best meal this weekend ;).

    and I want the Thunder to win of course!

  42. actorsdiet permalink
    April 25, 2010 9:45 pm

    love the doggies – julius won’t go near water! and that bar does sound delicious – i love all natural ingredients….

    best thing i ate was the dinner i just made tonight – will be blogging about it tomorrow!

  43. Patricia Braithwaite permalink
    April 25, 2010 11:23 pm

    Your post so reminded me of a couple of weeks ago when Melina and I ran from Centerville to Farmington. It was over seven miles and I burned over 1145 calories!! It would be awesome to do that everyday.
    Your dogs are super cute too!

  44. tamzin permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:34 am

    Your dogs are such cuties! That salad looks amazing! And thank you for your kind words x x

  45. April 26, 2010 2:06 am

    Such amazing pics, Janetha!
    Looks like you´ve had quite a weekend :)
    Lovely dog-y pics!
    Have a great week, girl.
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  46. April 26, 2010 5:07 am

    Your puppies are SO FREAKING CUTE!!! The best thing I ate this weekend was definitely a vegan feast at Candle 79. Most amazing vegan meal in the world!! As for staying active, I ran a half, so I’m using that excuse to take the next few days off! Awesome job on your run, by the way :) Hope you have a great Monday!

  47. April 26, 2010 5:11 am

    Mmmmm, drooling over all that food porn!!

    And those puppy pictures are way too cute :)

    1. Best thing I ate? Indian food as well! We had this amazing stuffed Paratha bread (Whole wheat to boot!) it was sooo darn good.

    2. I stayed active just by living life this weekend! I walked around on Saturday, and Sunday I walked and cleaned the entire house! Nothing strict, just everyday acitivity- plus!

    xo
    K

  48. April 26, 2010 5:40 am

    Naaaaaan. Ohmy, that looks amazing. I hardly ever get the naan at Indian restaurants because it’s one of the few foods in the world I have no control over. Put it in front of me and it’s GONE! :P Yayyy Simply Bars! Double yay for Canadian goods! They’re pretty stellar, PB Chocolate obviously my fave. But they’re expensive around here – $2.30 a piece. You should tell Cathy to give me a job when I move to Toronto ;) Oh! And yay for you running to the gym!! I bet it would be a good bike ride too :)

    1. Erm, probably the Pita Pit I ate yesterday :\
    2. Ohman, I walked soooo much. Spent around 5 hours walking this weekend, on top of a kickboxing class. It was actually overkill because my feet are killing me today. It was just too nice outside not to!

  49. April 26, 2010 6:47 am

    mmm..that protein bar sounds yummy!

    best thing I ate this weekend: actually it’s something in the liquid form – citrus kombucha! I thought of you. :)

    I stayed active by doing pilates and then an interval run on the treadmill. I try to do intervals on other cardio machines but it never works. intervals while running are where it’s at!

    and go jazz!

  50. April 26, 2010 6:57 am

    I LOVE Allie’s pancake recipe! I modify it to make double as well! Did you find the protein powder made your’s a bit ‘tough’? I thought it might so I haven’t tried it yet! It makes SO MANY pancakes its crazy! :)

  51. April 26, 2010 7:23 am

    best thing I ate was my homemade turkey meatballs OR grilled artichokes! I got those at a restauant and need to to find a way to recreate it!

    amazing eats this weekend girl!! I love that HIIT have it printed out and its my ‘go to’ as well! I think am going to do that 3o minute one I have on my blog for todays workout!

    those whole foods salad bars are CUHHRAZY expensive, but SO worth it once in a while! I crave them!! I love all the mini salads that you can put ON Your salad!

    Allie pancakes, need to make those too!

    I really have never told many people this beacuse I know it is loved in the blog world, but I really hate indian food! ahhh, don’t hate me! I have gone out so many times for it, and its crazy because I love most all ethnic foods, like greek, medeterrenian, chinese, japenese, mexican, but for some reason indian food and me do not mesh well! but I still love you!!

    your doggies are supaaaaa cute!!

    xoxoxo

  52. April 26, 2010 8:31 am

    what a fab weekend! I love that pic of you and Marshall in the sun…and Indian food? WF? Pancakes? Egg and veg wrap? Yum. The stats on that bar are impressive- can’t wait for a review of the other flavours!

    1. best thing you ate this weekend? Bear Naked fruit and nut granola with Fage. I love that stuff so much.

    2. how did you stay active this weekend? Gym both days :)

  53. April 26, 2010 8:36 am

    We have matching HRMs!! :D

  54. April 26, 2010 9:13 am

    Can Penny be any cuter. I highly doubt it. I just may steal her if I ever visit Utah ;)
    I’ve got bar envy! I want a Simply bar..sounds delicious for real.
    Best thing I ate this weekend? Chocolate mousse pie last night. Ugh…moan worthy.
    I ran 10 miles on the treadmill yesterday also which was my last long run before this Saturday’s half marathon. Whoo hoo!

  55. April 26, 2010 9:13 am

    Oh my goodness those doggies are adorable! I want them all!! haha!

  56. louisianagrown permalink
    April 26, 2010 9:21 am

    I love that you ran to the gym! Way to maximize your workout time, get some fresh air, and help the environment just a bit. I would totally do that if I could! :-)

  57. April 26, 2010 9:37 am

    WOW-so much delicious food! I love your top ten. And the doggies are so super cute!!!!

  58. April 26, 2010 10:08 am

    I hate walking outside in my neighborhood because of creeps that think shouting out their house windows is the best way to impress a girl. Seriously, guys??

    Haha, love the random creeper in the photo. And I want some of that naan, wow.

  59. April 26, 2010 10:21 am

    Loving the top ten. You’re so cute.

    1. Best thing I ate this weekend was the eggplant sandwich I made. YUM!

    2. I don’t watch sports. My sister is a hardcore Cavs fan though. I stay out of it. :) She’s standing behind me watching as I type these words and just screamed “we won last night, woot woot. She says hello. HA! :)

  60. April 26, 2010 11:00 am

    What I wouldn’t do to have a Whole Foods near me!!!!!!
    :) At least one of us gets to enjoy it, right?

    I shopped in PARK CITY this weekend too!! Obv. not the same one, buttt still.

    I’m digging the stats on that bar, too! Looks awesome!

  61. April 26, 2010 11:11 am

    All of your food looks great as always!
    I did a 14 miler which was the best part of my weekend!

  62. Alicia permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:39 pm

    1. The best thing I ate all weekend…lamb burger scramble wrap…it had trader joe’s lavash bread, fage ranch dip spread, spinach, egg & 2 egg whites, left over lamb burger from the night before and feta cheese…yummy!

    2. My husband and I took two bike rides. Saturday for 22 miles and Sunday for 17. We had such a great time and burned a ton of calories in the process!

    bonus Q: I could care less about the playoffs…not a basketball person at all!!!

  63. April 26, 2010 2:32 pm

    What a killer weekend! Those bars look incredible…and vegan too! I want to fall asleep in that bed of pillowy naan. I also want your Bassett hound. This is the most random comment ever. But you’ll take it. :)

  64. Errign permalink
    April 26, 2010 2:33 pm

    Indian is my very very favorite cuisine. When I lived in Ireland I ate it a couple times a week – so delish, but now that I’m back in the middle o’ nowhere, there’s no Indian food to be found.

  65. April 26, 2010 2:48 pm

    Awww – I think I LOVE the PUP pictures best :) Oh but then there is that Whole Foods salad which is always worth the $$ to me all the time :)

    Congrats on reaching your new highs and actually running to the gym!

  66. April 26, 2010 3:57 pm

    Damn girl you are one busy lady! Love all the food pics. I went to India for 2 weeks in March and absolutely LOVED it. The food was amazing! I couldn’t get enough—well except for those 3 lovely days where I had a bad food bug haha

    xo

    Jocelyn

  67. April 26, 2010 4:38 pm

    Ok I am elminating a lot of the grains from my diet based on some books I’ve been reading about how to actually get abs! I am also finally doing more weight lifting because you’ve inspired me!

    Anywho my weekends are always very active and this on was lots of fun in key west with long walks and snorkeling

  68. April 26, 2010 5:56 pm

    I was a lazy butt this wknd and didnt get any workout time in……only if you count walking the dog.

    Sadly, I didn’t try anything new this wknd so I will have to compensate this wknd but I think I ate my body weight in hummus yesterday. Yay for chickpeas!

    I love the yellow and greek Jazz stuff, I didn’t know they changed their colors? Regardless love it.

    But the froyo.doggie dedication is my favorite part of this picture. That picture of them watching you is one of the cutest things I have seen all day :)

  69. Susan permalink
    April 27, 2010 6:18 am

    So many cute pics from the weekend!

    Okay, so I want to be palzies with you so we can eat pancakes, play with pups and grab Indian food. Ill leave the running to you girl ; ).

Trackbacks

  1. check in time. « meals & moves

Leave a comment