Skip to content

flashback friday: so long, snowboarding season.

April 16, 2010

i am running a 5k in less than 9 hours yet i am just opening my laptop to type up a post. is there something wrong with this picture? yeah, probably.. but that isn’t  going to stop my from rambling my little heart out :)

hope you all enjoyed gabriela’s awesome post yesterday! make sure you check it out if you haven’t yet.

well, it is friday..you know what that means (do you? maybe you don’t..)

JUST THE HIGHLIGHTS!

for some reason, my live writer is all sorts of skewy (yes, i made that word up) right now and won’t let me enlarge or color the font. as much as i love colorful, big headers for each highlight.. bold and underlined will just have to do this time around.

i am sure you care.

highlight #1: the comeback of yoatgurt!

 IMG_0051

290 calories, 6g fat, 30g carbs, 32g protein

haven’t seen me eat this in awhile, have ya?  this had 1/3 cup oats, 1 container (6 oz) plain fat free chobani, 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder and 2 TB of PB2.

IMG_0049

yoatastic.

i really shouldn’t let so much time come between me and my favorite breakfasts.

highlight #2: sabrina’s salad challenge!

so i have been wanting to eat more salads lately. it is like something was aligned with the stars and the moon because yesterday, after eating this amazing salad that i am going to show you in a second, i got an email from sabrina announcing her “i love salad! challenge” <—that is a link. go read about it. sabrina said: I challenge YOU to change up your every day salad to something new and different. Add different vegetables and toppings, and turn your salad into a fun and exciting meal.” how appropriate. i had literally just eaten a new, different and DELICIOUS salad. here it is:

IMG_0062

this was a salad comprised of a 7 lettuce blend, sprouts, cucumbers, mini bell peppers, grilled chicken and the best part.. a dressing made from sun dried tomato basil hummus (cedar’s brand) and french’s mustard.. which i thinned with water. got this idea from HEABs.

IMG_0055

simple, flavorful, low calorie and delicious.

IMG_0061

i ate it alongside the last of my broccoli basil couscous.

IMG_0059

i encourage everyone to participate in sabrina’s challenge!

highlight #3: cooking with tofu for marshall!

you may have heard me mentioning lately that marshall does not want to eat as much meat these days.  however, i am a protein whore and everything i fix always has chicken, beef, ground turkey.. some type of meat. well, i am trying to be a good wife-to-be and branching out with marshall’s preferences in mind.

so i made tofu :)

i know, nothing shocking.. but it is something i don’t usually do, so it was fun and he appreciated it.

first, i baked some extra firm tofu using kristin’s method.

IMG_0067

next, i took a recipe for sweet & spicy tofu out of the latest issue of oxygen magazine.  it was a stir fry consisting of bell peppers, garlic, onion, bok choy, mushrooms (omitted those for marshall’s sake, sigh, it was hard to do). the sauce consisted of soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, honey and spices.

IMG_0070

check it out.. three burners AND the oven in use at once.  sheesh, it was quite the production! but i love when i have multiple burners AND the oven goin’ on at the same time. i wish my new house had TWO ovens!!

IMG_0072

on the back burners: steamed veggies and brown rice.

delicious dinner!

IMG_0076

i was really impressed with this recipe. oxygen magazine never lets me down.

IMG_0083 

oh, and in case you were wondering.. it got his seal of approval :)

IMG_0085

love him.

highlight #4: trying something new with my morning oats AND using my new breakfast bowl!

so i am late to the party when it comes to adding egg whites directly to my oats. i know, what kind of protein whore am i?! clearly not whorish enough. until today.

IMG_0088

after recently hearing ashley and lori rave about the egg whites, i decided it was time. i did my usual mix of 1/3 cup oats on the stovetop, but before stirring in the protein powder i stirred in one egg white, then i added the chocolate protein powder.

the result?

holy volume!

IMG_0095

i really enjoyed the added egg white. i couldn’t taste it but it definitely made the oats better. i will be doing this from now on~ and trying various mix in methods i’ve seen in the blog world.

second part of the highlight.. that awesome breakfast bowl my mom brought back (from california) for me! yaaa.

IMG_0093IMG_0090IMG_0091IMG_0092

yes. it wins at life. thanks mom.

IMG_0101

yum.

highlight #5: celebrating national eggs benedict day with HEAB’s 5 minute fancy breakfast.

recipe here.

i made mine with an alternative english muffin, two small slices of columbus brand low sodium herbed turkey breast, sliced tomatoes, two poached eggs (a little too poached) and topped with heather’s special hollandaise sauce.

assembly line steeze:

 IMG_0105IMG_0106IMG_0107IMG_0109IMG_0110

finished product:

IMG_0118

~370 calories, 16g fat, 27g carbs, 28g protein (you can lower the fat by omitting one of the yolks.. but why would you want to?!)

IMG_0112

glorious! and delicious. make this. now.

highlight #6: i ate a whole costco sized bag of mini peppers within the last 24 hours.

IMG_0121

hmmm.. this photo tells me i need a bang trim, a ring resize, a teeth whitening session and another bag of mini peppers. always buckle up, it’s the law. but it isn’t the law to not take photos of yourself eating peppers while driving, ok? ok. glad that’s clear.

highlight #7: we picked up our race packets today.

no photo. just a highlight. you will see photos tomorrow :)

highlight #8: leftovers for dinner.

IMG_0127 

while blogging.

IMG_0124

sweet!

oh, i also had a killer upper body workout tonight, but i don’t want to go into the details because it is late.

time for flashback friday!

this coming sunday marks the closing day for brighton, which is the snowboarding resort where i have a season pass. the last day is always a blast. there are morning mimosas, BBQs in the parking lot, ridiculous girls people snowboarding in bikinis.. it is fun. i am excited.

i didn’t get to snowboard as much this season as i would have liked to. life got in the way.. i guess i am growing up. it is sort of sad.  people MOVE to salt lake city for the snowboarding. i have had the chance to make friends with people from australia, new zeland, norway, germany, england and all over the states.. and i didn’t even have to go anywhere to do so.

i have noticed that as the years go by, the snowboarding scene i was in gets smaller and smaller. well, the scene is still there, just not the same people. and it just isn’t like it used to be. we go up to snowboard and barely recognize anyone~ it used to be super different, every face we saw was familiar. i guess it is all a part of growing up? sigh.

for this week’s flashback i thought i would flashback to past brighton parking lot parties. these aren’t all from the last day, just from the past few seasons.

enjoy!

2006 season:

DSC00868 DSC00800 DSC00825 DSC00828 DSC00833

2007 season: (this is the season that i broke my arm, in these photos i just went up to the resort to hang out, not to snowboard!)

 

IMG_1283 j&a jameboog IMG_1262

4-15-07 187 4-15-07 011 4-15-07 042 4-15-07 076 4-15-07 132

2008 season: the first and last season i got marshall to go snowboarding!

image image

image

image

image

image

how funny.. i used to always have fake nails.

image

image 

2009 season:

4-19-09 014

water, water.

4-19-09 016 4-19-09 019  jessica4

4-19-09 025

see ya next season, brighton.

did you participate in flashback friday? i know susan and taylor (happy birthday, tay!) and tina did. let me know if you did too and i will link back.

BIG AGENDA THIS WEEKEND:

  • 5k in the morning
  • brunch
  • possible massage
  • pick out sinks for our kitchen/bathrooms
  • BBQ with friends saturday night
  • last day at brighton on sunday / BBQ in parking lot
  • dinner at parents’ house sunday night (is that ok, mom?)

WHEW.

have a great weekend, friends.

Qs~

1. what is your favorite color of bell pepper? i have thought a lot about this after eating the whole bag. red is definitely my favorite. if we are talking pizza, then green may get my vote.

2. winter sports.. have you done them? do you do them? which ones? does it even snow where you live? discuss. i started skiing when i was four and switched to snowboarding when i was twelve, which i have done ever since! i love utah and our snow.. i am a lucky girl.

xo. janetha b.

61 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 9:28 pm

    I love the assembly line style pics- really cute.

    Good luck with your 5K!

    ~Christie

  2. April 16, 2010 9:28 pm

    GOOD LUCK ON YOUR 5K LOVELY!!!
    LOVE your highlights-isnt egg whites in oatmeal the best thang since..well..pb on oatmeal!
    fav color bell peppa- READ!! and green on pizza obviously!
    i love skiing!

  3. April 16, 2010 9:31 pm

    Oops, forgot to mention I also LOVE red bell peppers. I love all colors- orange, yellow, green- but red is def my fav. Although, if there is a bowl of ranch around I might just devour some greenies.

  4. April 16, 2010 9:33 pm

    Mini peppers RULE!!!! Have a great race tomorrow!

  5. Cookie permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:37 pm

    Totally random — we live in utah as well — could a kid pull of the name Brighton in utah? A boy? Crazy?

  6. April 16, 2010 9:45 pm

    snowboarding looks like fun! despite my fear of brave things like that.
    eating your food looks like even more fun.
    good luck waking up and running tomorrow! i couldn’t wake up today, and there was nothing strenuous waiting for me :)

  7. actorsdiet permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:53 pm

    yeah i cannot have oats without egg whites anymore! they are so sad without them.

  8. April 16, 2010 10:03 pm

    Yay for last day Brighton snowboarding/bbq, I can’t wait! Although I must admit, I’m also quite sad that we didn’t ride as much this year and that hardly any of our friends ever went up there either : ( but looking back at all the pics from the last few seasons at least we’ve had a lot of great times! ahhh, I love you, good luck with the race tomorrow & I’ll see you at the bbq!

    p.s. red & green peppers tie for me…although I don’t discriminate against peppers of any kind :P

    p.s.s. it does snow where i live and i snowboard in case you were wondering!

  9. April 16, 2010 10:16 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmm you are making me hungry!!!

    i gotta try that dressing! that looks so fab!!

    and the peppers… SO CUTE AND DELICIOUS

    good luck on your race, Janetha!

    love you so! and happy weekend!

  10. April 16, 2010 10:20 pm

    I wanna come to your house for dinner. Everything here looks so good. I did egg white oats today too.. I love the volume, but for whatever reason they don’t fill me up as much, even though the same amount of actual oats is still there. I drooled over HEAB’s eggs when she posted them.. I really need to get the supplies to make them myself. Good luck on your race!

  11. mom permalink
    April 16, 2010 11:54 pm

    Ahem I believe I was @ Brighton
    during the 2009 season….oh well…
    Put cinnamon in my oatmeal today holy yum!!!
    Yes-dinner Sunday sounds great–maybe chicken and rice?
    Run fast–I’m so proud of ya xoxo!!!

  12. April 17, 2010 1:50 am

    have a great 5k!!

  13. April 17, 2010 2:51 am

    Good luck today!

    My fave peppers are red. I hate winter sports! I like to watch them but i’m not that good at them.

  14. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    April 17, 2010 4:27 am

    1. red/orange
    2. ski but I’m a total failure!!!
    5k? oh… me too!!! so exciting! let’s see who wins! :)

  15. April 17, 2010 4:33 am

    Your salad for Sabrina’s challenge looks awesome! especially love the dressing and the three cute lil peppers! That picture set with you moving your breakfast mug was a great idea. And it looks like you guys always have a blast when you go snow boarding.

    1. Green
    2. I tried skiing when we lived in MA….I’m just a warm weather girl :)

    Have a wonderful weekend

  16. hayleycepeda permalink
    April 17, 2010 4:51 am

    You’re so awesome Janetha – I can’t tell you how many great ideas I’ve gotten from your blog lately. Thank GOD for it actually because I swear it’s prevented me from bingeing and purging recently. I tend to get bored with what I’m eating, but now I roll on over to check out your recent and past posts and I always find a meal that tickles my fancy. THANK YOU!!

    I LOVE all of your flashback snowboarding pics! Makes me long for Southern CA…I’d go skiing locally with my family a lot during the winter. Speaking of which, skiing is definitely my favorite winter sport! I also learned when I was 4, but I never switched over to snowboarding. I got so confident on skis that whenever I tried snowboarding I hated it because I couldn’t get it and it was no fun! Unfortunately now that I live in NC we hardly ever go anymore. I miss it! :(

    I think my favorite bell pepper(s) are the red and orange ones. Ok I like yellow, too…I can’t pick! Go figure that they’re the most expensive…

  17. April 17, 2010 4:58 am

    I have that EXACT breakfast bowl. :) I love Crate and Barrel! :)

  18. April 17, 2010 5:04 am

    I really want to try the egg white oats thing. I hear it does wonders!!!

    That is so sweet of you to take Marshall’s wants into consideration. You will make a fantastic wifey!!! It’s all about the compromise and trust me, you will have to work on it SOOOOOO many times. :) But it’s all worth it.

    Good luck today girl. You’re going to kill that 5k!

  19. April 17, 2010 5:06 am

    Yay for custard oats! I love that new breakfast bowl, too!

    All those pictures and everyone has such a beautiful perfect smile. Did you all visit the same dentist? :D

  20. April 17, 2010 5:14 am

    Protein whores unite! A meal doesn’t go by in our house without some form or true protein. And I’m not talking foods WITH protein (like beans, etc), I’m talking ALL protein. :)

  21. April 17, 2010 5:32 am

    Aahh, so many things to comment on in this post. I LOVE having all burners going at once. Watered-down hummus is my salad dressing obsession as of late. Egg whites in oats are amazing, I haven’t added protein powder to my oatmeal in months. I just found out the Oxygen Mag head office is 30 minutes outside of Toronto and I want to get a job there soooooo badly. They advertised a job for a photo shoot coordinator for musclemag, which is owned my Robert Kennedy too. I’m really tempted to apply and tell meatheads where to stand all day :P Oh! And love that pic of all you girls at the table together. Bombshells.

    1. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately too. Red for hummus dipping, yellow/orange for salads, green for pasta sauce and stirfry.

    2. I used to be a competitive figure skater back in the day. A good friend of mine passed away downhill skiing and I never tried it out because of that :(

  22. April 17, 2010 5:35 am

    I cannot eat my porridge without egg whites anymore! Or Protein Powder. Since I discovered it, I am addicted!
    GOOD LUCK ON THE RACE! You will do great!
    xoxox

  23. April 17, 2010 5:43 am

    I forgot to wish you good luck on the 5k!!! Easy to do, cause you don’t need it ;) xoxo

  24. April 17, 2010 5:44 am

    good luck in the 5k!!! :) i totally need HEAB’s benedict… when i get back home! Red peppers are def my fav!

  25. April 17, 2010 6:05 am

    you will be so disappointed in me.. I didn’t go snowboarding ONCE this year. I’m not friends with the people I used to go with :/ Can I come move in with you and go snowboarding? Jk, but I wish my other friends liked to go.. but NOOO they ski, and I hate snowboarding w/ skiiers! do you feel the same way? haha

  26. April 17, 2010 6:25 am

    I love red peppers best too, yum.

    I do not do winter sports I blame it on being from Honduras and growing up in TX.

    Good luck on your race!

  27. April 17, 2010 6:27 am

    Red bell peppers are my favorite too, but you’re right, I think the green ones are better on pizza. Not much snow in Nashville, and I’ve never been snowboarding. Went skiing once and honestly, it was kind of a disaster. However, you look so cute and happy in your pictures – makes me want to give winter sports another try. :)

    So glad you enjoyed the Hummus mustard dressing and Eggs Benedict. Both meal looked delicious J. Bean.

    I love the Breakfast mug, and good luck in your 5K – you’re probably about to start running. Sending speedy thoughts your way!!!

  28. April 17, 2010 6:30 am

    I just think it is so cool that you are a snowboarder!! That’s something we don’t see around these parts, hehe! It looks like such a hardcore sport, very cool!! Omg, HEAB’s eggs benedict looks outrageously amazing. I ordered eggs benedict almost every morning on our honeymoon. Love it!! When I get some hummus, I’m making this. Yum!!!!! Good luck on the 5K!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

  29. April 17, 2010 7:28 am

    i love love love me some orange bell pepps! we just scored some in a major way the other day! like an entire package for 99 cents. yerp you hurd right! love me peppaz.

    stir fry!! i gotttttts to make one asap! i made one the other night and it was just O-KAY but i’m liking this one :)

  30. April 17, 2010 8:37 am

    That tofu looks delish!!!! Glad Marshall liked it… Yay for yoatgurt- is it getting warm enough for you to try it mixed/chilled overnight yet? I need to jump on the egg white and oat bandwagon.

    1. what is your favorite color of bell pepper? yellow and orange- I LOVE bell peppers but I only like green ones when they are on pizza for some reason.

    2. winter sports.. have you done them? do you do them? which ones? does it even snow where you live? I have done dry skiing before- it snows in Scotland, but in my city not so much because we are shielded by hills. Biggest dry slope in Europe though!

  31. April 17, 2010 8:44 am

    Wow! Have a great weekend:)

  32. April 17, 2010 8:48 am

    My fav color peppa is red b/c they’re the sweetest.

    A looooooooong (read: 10 years) time ago, I tried snowboarding a few times… never really that good. Never even learned how to S turn b/c I suck HAHA I had a spinal fusion surgery in Oct ’08 and doc says that NEXT season, I can try skiing. No more snowboarding for this metal back! ;P I can’t wait!!!

    Yay for Sat’s!
    -Mary

  33. April 17, 2010 9:10 am

    That grilled chicken salad looks delicious! And glad to see that snowboarding was a blast, I’ve never boarded before but I’ve been skiing since I was four- love that rush of coming down a mountain on a gorgeous day pounded with fresh powder :)! Fave bell pepper- red…mmm mmm mmm :) especially grilled!

  34. April 17, 2010 10:56 am

    I love the looks of that tofu dish, I should try that!!

    I love red pepper as well.

    Winter sports? I’m not a huge fan- I hate the cold! (I know, I live in Canada… ha)

    I did play hockey for a couple years, and would love to try snowboarding, though!

    xo
    K

  35. April 17, 2010 11:12 am

    Love the snowboarding pics! I grew up skiing but haven’t done any winter sports in about 10 years or so. So sad. I guess it’s just expensive, and a hassle, and I just realized I’m really old… But maybe we’ll take the toddler when he gets a bit older. The teenager learned how to ski when he was little and he likes it. He’s spent quite a few winter vacations skiing with my dad. (It’s great to ship him off and have my parents pay for everything…:)

    Your eggs benedict look amazing! Have to make them soon!

    Hope your 5K went well. I almost signed up for a 5K for today. But I’m glad I didn’t as I haven’t run enough lately… :)

    Have a great weekend, and enjoy your last day at Brighton! :)

  36. April 17, 2010 11:44 am

    I dig bright orange peppers. LOVE looking at them as much as eating them! ;-)

  37. April 17, 2010 12:02 pm

    Hey girl – read this way too late to wish you luck. Can’t wait to hear how the race went though. I love yellow bell peppers (orange are yummy too). Love the hummus/mustard dressing idea.

  38. eaternotarunner permalink
    April 17, 2010 12:56 pm

    I love red or yellow. Yum. I love to snowboard…..jealous that you live near such awesome places to go!

  39. April 17, 2010 1:27 pm

    Hmmm I could totally get into this salad challenge–I’ll take any excuse to eat more greens:)
    Red is by far my fave bell pepper–so sweet and delish!
    I ski, even though it has snowed maybe twice in Alabama. I head to the Rockies:)

  40. April 17, 2010 3:27 pm

    Hope your 5k went FANTASTIC! But I’m sure that it did you because YOU are fantastic!

  41. lowandbhold permalink
    April 17, 2010 3:28 pm

    I didn’t know you were running a 5K. Hope it went well!!

    1. I agree with your answer 100%.
    2. Boo winter sports. I kind of wish winter didn’t exist.

    Have a good weekend dear!

  42. April 17, 2010 4:15 pm

    I’ve never done winter sports, but it is something I would love to try. Just have to travel to where there is actually snow! All of your flashback fun looks like great times. :D

    Isn’t that tofu so good??

  43. April 17, 2010 5:24 pm

    I LOVE orange peppers. I can eat them raw all the time.

    My favorite winter sport is snowshoeing. So much fun and a FANTASTIC workout!

  44. April 17, 2010 7:18 pm

    I do care about your headers!!! Don’t underestimate your fellow blogger love. lol

  45. April 17, 2010 8:27 pm

    Red is my fav bell pepper too. I think it’s the sweetest!

    I am so mad that I did not go snowboarding ONCE this year. FAIL! That just means that I have to go a TON of times next year right?

    PS. Your breakfast bowl is adorable. I want a designated bowl for oats too.

  46. michelle permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:16 pm

    thank goodness for costco’s bell peppers – I go through a bag a week. Typically the tri color but red are my fave …

    Winter sports: my hubby and I lived in Tahoe for three months just to hang out and snowboard – so much fun and a great pre-kids experience :-)

    I make my oats w/ 1/4 c. of egg whites and then mix 1/2 scoop of BSN cinnamon with about 4-5 oz. of water to make the “milk” to pour over it for moisture. I know not everyone eats their oats this way but I need em wet and it’s delish!

  47. April 17, 2010 9:48 pm

    How did the 5K go? It was perfect weather for a race today! I was so jealous that I wasn’t racing. Oh well, maybe next year…

  48. April 18, 2010 5:18 am

    Hope the 5k went well! I LOVE bell peppers, but my stomach does not enjoy digesting them. I’ll leave out the details, but let’s just say I can only eat them if I’m alone. I’m a skiier- I was actually in Park City this winter!! I wish I’d been blogging then so we could have met up! The closing Sunday looks like so much fun! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  49. April 18, 2010 7:00 am

    Mmm, I think you’ve convinced me. I need to get some egg whites STAT! Love your mustard-hummus dressing. In fact, all of your meals look great! I have food envy :-)

  50. April 18, 2010 8:07 am

    GREAT JOB ON YOUR 5k! YOU ARE FAST! and apparently a great runner ;). I always wonder if I push myself if I could run it in a time like that–but I havent really pushed myself with running yet!

    I wish we had a snowboarding season! I usually get to go once a year, but I didnt get to this year!

  51. April 18, 2010 8:13 am

    You make everything look so tasty, brilliant and fun. :)

    1. I think my favorite might be yellow. I couldn’t begin to tell you why. Maybe because it’s so bright and sunny. Also mild.

    2. Official Winter hater here. I try not to even go outside unless it’s absolutely necessary. Snowboarding does look fun though. To be honest, I would kill myself. I’m not known for my “athletic skills” or “coordination and balance”.

    Good luck on your 5K. I’m sure you will breeze right through it!!!

  52. April 18, 2010 8:29 am

    1. Red bell peppers definitely the best. Although yellow is fun to add color to your meals.

    2. Winter sports? Ha, no. I used to go sledding as a kid (not a sport), suddenly I became an adult and realized it is freaking cold outside! I lived in Indiana for almost 22 years, so I have had enough snow and cold to last a lifetime. Now, if you consider hot-tubbing a winter sport…I am pro.

  53. April 18, 2010 11:14 am

    J baby! I hope the race went well and that you had an awesome time–i’m sure you did though :)

    I’m actually ashamed to admit that i’ve never been snowboarding or skiing! I haven’t been to snow in foreverr and the last time was so long ago that I could only sled, hahahah!!!!

    I’m absolutely loving on that tofu stir fry–must make that for the momz and I this summer!

  54. April 18, 2010 12:26 pm

    Your snowboarding flashback made me miss my college days of going every weekend! I haven’t been in a couple years, but I used to go at least 1x a week! Good memories.

    I love the bright colored peppers, it’s mental, I know. Yellow, orange or red. :-) Good luck with your race! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  55. April 18, 2010 1:52 pm

    Am I the only Utahn who doesn’t ski or snowboard? I’m ashamed.

  56. Errign permalink
    April 18, 2010 2:21 pm

    I love yellow peppahs…and SKIING!

  57. Susan permalink
    April 18, 2010 3:36 pm

    Two favorite things about this post: your purple shades and all the eggy lovin’.

    Have a good nighttttt

  58. April 18, 2010 7:35 pm

    Your trifecta of peppers in the salad is seriously the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

Trackbacks

  1. l-i-v-i-n-g. « meals & moves
  2. Healthy “Crazylegs” Everythingtarian | The Healthy Everythingtarian
  3. flashback friday: flashback friday. « meals & moves

Leave a comment