Skip to content

see ya next year, march.

March 31, 2010

i don’t want to talk about my technical difficulties as of late.  let’s just say i have a post typed up and saved to a disc.. and now my P.O.S. laptop up and decided to not read discs anymore. sweet. so i guess i will post ALL that information another day. ah well, at least i have a post on hand for a rainy day.

today was not rainy in the SLC. it was snowy.

IMG_8953

piles and piles of snow. on march 31st. i do love winter, but i will be the first to say (actually, who am i kidding, i am definitely not the first to say. i am probably the 83,427th to say) i am ready for sunshine.

I LOVED READING THE COMMENTS ON MY LAST POST!!!! it was seriously so fun to hear why you started blogging (or why you don’t have a blog) and how your blog name came about. f’reals, people, go read the comments if you have not yet. there are some great stories :)

also, i am glad that several of  you can relate with my hatred for sweet cottage cheese. thanks for the suggestions on how i can possibly make it appetizing enough to shove down my throat as a sweet treat~ but i am done trying. it’s like i told clay, luckily it is not a matter of life or death and i will live to see another day. hooray.

meals

meal 1: a waffle with PB mousse & an egg white pillow with ketchup @ 8:55 AM

IMG_8903

waffle wednesday! i think alliteration is a really good reason to eat waffles.  speaking of waffles, mrs. how sweet posted an amazing recipe for multigrain waffles today.

this should have been eaten at about 8:40 AM but, as luck would have it, i got called into an impromptu meeting right after taking the photos. ugh. so.. the eggs got cold and the waffle got a tad soggy. but was it still delicious? you bet!

IMG_8901

for the eggs, i microwaved 3 egg whites (on 60% power for 2 1/2 minutes, if you must know) and topped them with reduced sugar heinz ketchup. no, jess, our shared love affair with the heinz is not lost! no worries!

IMG_8902

the waffle was one nature’s path flax freezer waffle topped with a mousse made with one container of brown cow greek yogurt + 1 TB of PB2. heavenly!

IMG_8904

250 calories, 5g fat, 22g carbs, 31g protein

so i have a feeling this post is going to be long.. i will just go right into lunchtime talk.

meal 2: pulled BBQ chicken wrap @ 12:00 PM

IMG_8905

you had to see this coming. let’s take a look at the many ways i have used this pulled BBQ chicken this week:

  • sunday: by itself with swiss on top
  • monday: on a salad
  • tuesday: in a sandwich
  • wednesday: in a wrap

and i already have an idea for the last little bit of it in tomorrow’s meals :)

IMG_8908

i layered a flat out wrap with a wedge of laughing cow cheese, cucumber, red peppers, romaine, BBQ chicken and yellow mustard. it was hard to roll up! so big! (TWSS)

IMG_8914

approximately 350 calories, 5g fat, 34g carbs, 39g protein

i was not about to mess around with my afternoon snack after yesterday’s ultimate fail.

i kept it simple and had exactly what i felt like!

meal 3: iced protein mocha & a bowl of cereal @ 3:15 PM

IMG_8917

for the mocha, i used 1 cup of black coffee, 1 scoop of EAS chocolate protein powder and ice. simple. delicious.

IMG_8920

the cereal was just a bowl mug of nature’s path flakes (3/4 cup) with unsweetened vanilla almond milk (1/3 cup).

IMG_8919

does it get any better than coffee and cereal? i really doubt it.

IMG_8923

275 calories, 5g fat, 28g carbs, 31g protein

after work i really didn’t want to drive home and then to the gym. not after sitting in traffic for 45 minutes and not after driving in this lame weather:

IMG_8934

so.. an insanity workout it was!

moves

according to my body for life challenge, today was a HIIT/cardio day. i did the pure cardio insanity DVD in place of a typical HIIT session.

this was brutal.

brianna was nice enough to send me the link to a website that lays out the insanity workouts in detail. i decided to copy and paste the details of the pure cardio DVD that i did today:

  • standard 10 minute insanity warmup which consists of jogging, jumping jacks, the heisman, the 123 heisman, butt kicks, high knees and mummy kicks. this cycle is done 3 times through and is followed by a nice stretching session. (i usually burn around 80 calories in the warmup alone!) you can check out this page for an exact rundown of the warmup.

next, there is 21 minutes of pure cardio insanity consisting of 15 moves:

  • suicide lunges (side to side touching the floor)
  • switch kicks
  • wide football sprints
  • stance jacks (think a deep squat and jumping jack combined)
  • pedal (two lunges, then sprint, followed by 2 more lunges, etc)
  • hooks and jump rope (8 hook punches, several high jumps, 8 punches etc)
  • power jacks (like jumping jacks, but you go deep in a wide lunge)
  • level 2 drills (burpee, 8 push ups, 8 run lunges, repeat)
  • frog jumps
  • power knees (switch every 30 seconds)
  • mountain climbers
  • ski down (jump side to side as if skiing)
  • scissor runs
  • suicide jumps (aka burpees)
  • push up jacks (push ups with wide feet)

the workout finishes with a stretching/cool down session and the entire workout is about 40 minutes total.

[/source]

WHEW!!

after my workout i laid on the floor in a state of utter and complete exhaustion. and then i was attacked by a couple of rascals.

IMG_8947

don’t mind my blinding white skin. utah does not know that it is supposed to be spring.

after a nice long icing session that involved my ankles and two big bags of peas, i decided i needed to eat.

meals

my cute fiance (i still hate that word. can we pick something else? like elephant?) went to the grocery store while i was doing my insanity workout and then he took it a step further and cooked his and hers tacos/taco salad!

bless his heart, he can make two things: tacos and spaghetti.

IMG_8949

the meat mixture contained a diced red pepper, a diced red onion, diced green chiles, ground turkey & taco seasoning.

IMG_8961

mmmm.. sooo meaty! (said in the “chat stew” voice from the soup. i love joel.)

IMG_8965

the toppings included avocado, tomato, black beans, salsa, greek yogurt & hot sauce.

IMG_8954IMG_8955

this is how you build a taco salad. ready, go!

layer 1: romaine.

IMG_8970

layer 2: black beans.

IMG_8971

layer 3: meat.

IMG_8972

layer 4: avocado & tomato.

IMG_8973

layer 5: greek yogurt & salsa.

IMG_8974

layer 6: hot sauce. this brand is particularly delicious and CALIENTE!

IMG_8975

and viola!

meal 4: taco salad @ 7:30 PM

IMG_8980

it was super duper gross.

IMG_8984

marshall had tacos. and coffee. i caught him with his mouth full.

IMG_8983

the boy ate 5 tacos. five. f-i-v-e. and has runway model legs. damn him.

after dinner it was adventures in baking! ermm.. NON baking, actually. no oven was used in the process of this project.

IMG_8987

i made susan’s apple cinnamon protein bars with the following changes:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 4 scoops 6 scoops vanilla whey powder
  • 6 tbsp 4 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup raisins oh HELL no, no raisins for me.
  • one unsweetened applesauce cup (such as Mott’s) 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup probably 2/3 cup water

*mix well, put into a 8×8 or 9×9 pan and refrigerate. makes 8 bars.

i told her i was going to make them now:

IMG_8993

apparently there is a 3 hour time difference between us, as i was not making protein bars at 11:11 pm. (oh! make a wish! do you guys do that? i always do.)

mix, mix, mix.

IMG_8990

do you want to see the rad jar i keep my protein powder in? well, whether you do or you don’t, i am going to show you.

IMG_8989

my sister custom makes me something volcom (it is a brand that i used to be obsessed with) every year. she is so awesome. and i love her. hi marisa! this jar has a big volcom stone on the bottom. it is perfect for protein powder!

IMG_8995

i can’t wait to try the bars! they are in the fridge now. i am sure that will be my meal 5. so, in that case, i will tell you the stats.

meal 5: apple cinnamon protein bar @ 10 PM

photo to be taken when i eat it.

215 calories, 5.5g fat, 20g carbs, 22g protein

yay!

*************************************************************

a few things:

  1. i will be posting guest posts every thursday for awhile. i need a break.. i am a busy girl! i have some great ones lined up.. first one starts tomorrow. get excited!!!
  2. i am in the market for a blog makeover. if you have any suggestions as to who i can use for a total blog overhaul, please send some references my way!
  3. i had a whole list of awesome posts from around blog land for you to check out but they are on the untouchable disc. i will post those links for you prior to the guest post i have lined up.
  4. i almost have 15,000 comments. holy crud, that is pretty cool. i will be sending out a super sweet prize to the 15,000th commenter.
  5. march is OVER! can you believe it? here is a list of the national food holidays for the first week of april!
  • april 1: national sourdough bread day
  • april 2: national peanut butter and jelly day
  • april 3: national chocolate mousse day
  • april 4: national cordon bleu day
  • april 5: national raisin spice bar day AND national caramel day
  • april 6: national caramel popcorn day
  • april 7: national coffee cake day

okay.. that is all she wrote.. time to go enjoy one of those protein bars!

i leave you with some photos of the ones i love :)

IMG_8938IMG_8941 IMG_8945IMG_8958

Qs~

1. what is the last recipe you tried out? i can’t wait to sample susan’s bars :) they look so good!

2. of the national food holidays for the first week of april, which are you most excited for? PB&J day for me! yesss.

xo. janetha b.

72 Comments leave one →
  1. From Party To Hearty permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:08 pm

    haha elephant! Whatever you like is fine! Last recipe I tried was a very moist whole wheat naner bread and it was delicious!

  2. March 31, 2010 9:09 pm

    Omg can I just say how hilarious you are?!?! “And he has runway model legs. damn him.” HAHAHAH, love you Janetha!

    Your mexican-inspired dinner looks amazingg!!! I love hot sauce, salsa, avocado and beans…but we all know that :)

  3. March 31, 2010 9:11 pm

    love taco salads, really want to try PB2 and hate the word fiance :)

    I can’t remember the last recipe I tried, but I’m craving some banana bread.

    PB&J day sounds pretty rockin.

  4. March 31, 2010 9:15 pm

    1. what is the last recipe you tried out? I tried a GF vegan bread for my GF mom a couple days ago! It turned out good, but I REALLY WANT a GF/Vegan bread that’s sliceable and rises for PB&J. :(

    2. of the national food holidays for the first week of april, which are you most excited for? PB&J day for me too! I’m addicted.

  5. March 31, 2010 9:16 pm

    I love taco salads – so many layers of flavor!

    The last recipe I tried? I can’t recall… I tried making chicken meatloaf muffins a week ago – that was a recipe FAIL on my part (i made it up as I went along… they were flavorless but I burped garlic allllllll night).

  6. Allison R. permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:26 pm

    I spy a Packer mug!!! Are you guys Packer fans?! I grew up in Green Bay, and as you may know Packer fans are HARD CORE ;)

  7. March 31, 2010 9:39 pm

    I haven’t tried any new recipes lately. I have no idea what the national food days are until I read your blog.

    I wish I could dogsit for your. I love your pups!!! Every picture puts a smile of my face.

  8. March 31, 2010 9:48 pm

    your wrap is making me crave pulled chicken–which i havent had in like years. and omg i just tried the new laughing cow flavors (gonna write about that manana) and there is one called queso fresco and chipotle that would take that wrap to new heights!

  9. Brianna permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:50 pm

    Heyy!! Love love love that volcom jar!! sweet!!!

    Everything you eat looks so delish!!

    Oh and thanks for the shout out!! hehe =)

  10. March 31, 2010 9:52 pm

    I’m a utah girl too and can we just talk about how lame this snow is? not cool at all! But your pulled chicken wrap looks sooo god, I think I’m going to have to make it tomorrow!

    Love your blog, just wanted to let you know!!

  11. Michelle permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:17 pm

    totally lol when I read, (…like elephant)

    LOVE taco salads. Lived on them last year. Love the frothy coffee mocha too! Sometimes I save leftover AM coffee in the fridge just for this reason.

    Great job on the Insanity lady!

  12. March 31, 2010 11:10 pm

    15,000 comments? You’re a g.

    Go Marshall and the taco dinner. He did good. PS. I use that brand of hot sauce too! Glad to see the Heinz is back too :) We can be condiment lovers. Tell Marshall not to be jealous k?

  13. March 31, 2010 11:11 pm

    I think it was required for all cool BFL bloggers to have tacos for dinner, for all the wives to turn it into salads and for all the hubbies to have five tacos. If only I had made some apple cinny protein bars.

    Tell the truth, your making Thursday your “break night” because of Must See TV. ;)

    Have a great Thursday, hon!

  14. March 31, 2010 11:18 pm

    I keep forgetting to tell you! I made your tomato pesto/feta/chicken breast recipe the other night and it was delish. THANK YOU!

  15. April 1, 2010 1:05 am

    Good modifications to those bars! I’m going to make meatloaf right now! yummy!

  16. April 1, 2010 2:24 am

    susan’s bars look great, well your spin on them. I make something like that, but use raisins, so you can hate me LOL
    holidays, PB & J but actually choc mousse day sounds great!
    xoxox

  17. Stef permalink
    April 1, 2010 2:32 am

    Hey,
    just figured I’d leave a comment this time around too. but I’m gonna answer yesterdays question: I would love a blog since I really enjoy reading them but I don’t know how to get one…is there a page where i just go to and can register and start from there? How did you start your blog?
    I’m excited for the chocolate mousse day..I love chocolate mousse and was just yesterday thinking about how I should eat one again soon…guess now I do have a reason ;-)

  18. April 1, 2010 3:35 am

    Thanks for linking my waffles! ;) I can’t believe you got SNOW today! I would die.

  19. April 1, 2010 3:51 am

    WTF? SNow?? Ugh, that’s awful!!!!

    Girl, I don’t know how you do it- you seem to be on overdrive these days. I think guests posts on Thursdays are a fantastic idea!

    It’s amazing how much room my stomach has for Mexican. It’s like as soon as someone places a gigantic taco salad in front of me, my stomach expands and I can somehow ALwAYS fit it all in there! LoL!

    Take it easy girly and please do try to get some nice relaxing in your crazy days!

    <3 you always! :)

  20. April 1, 2010 3:54 am

    My carrot and walnut cake is the last recipe I tried and it turned out perfectly! The taco salad looks good x x

  21. April 1, 2010 4:00 am

    Hey we use that salsa too. It like chalula but cheaper, haha. And that pulled chicken would go awesome with a little cottage cheese on a bed of salad, just sayin….hehe! You definitely deserve a rest. Looking forward to your guest posts!

  22. April 1, 2010 4:16 am

    SNOW?!?!? Wow and I thought Canada was evil when it came to weather. That is just crazy!!

    I have to say I agree with you on the “fiance” thing, I think elephant is a much better idea. Try it out and see what happens!

  23. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    April 1, 2010 4:29 am

    1. I’m trying out one new recipe everyday.. well maybe not exactly recipe… but ideas. last one? grilled asparagus. love it~
    2. so today’s sourdough bread day? sounds cool!

  24. April 1, 2010 4:38 am

    Okay that insanity workout is insane! After reading the warmup I thought you had just described the whole workout. Not just the warmup. Ouch! I am wanting to get this to add to workouts in the future. Not yet though. Dang the having to hold back my intensity junk. I miss being hardcore. Especially when I read about awesome stuff like your workouts.

    I wanted to make those bars too! They look so good.

  25. April 1, 2010 4:51 am

    it snowed over here too this morning and I almost got a heart attack. I thought that it was going to be spring! Sigh..

    Fabulous.. Nat. Caramel popcorn day on my b-day. Never had caramel popcorn before. Should I start something new? ;)

  26. April 1, 2010 5:08 am

    The last recipe I tried out was my own, for blueberry muffins! Well, at home that is. I made pasta dough yesterday in class =D

    National pb&j day!!! Whoo!! And I love chicken cordon bleu =)

    Your fiance is so cute, my boyf can make two things, too- tacos being one of them! lol

    xo
    K

  27. April 1, 2010 5:22 am

    Just made those apple cinnamon protein bars too!!!! Yesterday morning! Can’t wait to try one today. They have been sitting in my fridge waiting for me. ALSO!! Just finished a bowl of oats made your way. They turned out perfect. I ate them in an almost empty jar of peanut butter and it was divine. Thanks love! I’m hooked!

  28. April 1, 2010 5:29 am

    Those protein bars look yum! I had to comment on this crazy coincidence: april 4: national cordon bleu day …that is my birthday …which is easter…and we are having CHICKEN CORDON BLEU! how crazy is that?

  29. April 1, 2010 5:32 am

    Love April!!

  30. April 1, 2010 5:46 am

    Yummy protein bars. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’ll be curious to hear your review of them. I try new recipes almost daily!

  31. April 1, 2010 5:47 am

    Oh my, I can’t even imagine snow right now. It as 80 degrees and sunny yesterday. I sat by the pool and worked on my tan. Problem is that very soon it will be about 105 with 100% humidity, and I will do nothing but sit inside the a/c and drink water!

  32. April 1, 2010 5:54 am

    I wish I liked to bake because those bars look great!
    That snow is ridic!

  33. April 1, 2010 5:56 am

    I’m definitely with you on the pb & j day. What could be better?!

    Have a great Thursday!

  34. April 1, 2010 6:11 am

    My mom called me to complain about the snow and I felt bad telling her I just went for a run in 75 degree weather. Utah weather is crazy!

    Ok, lots of comments: (1) your pulled chicken looks like Cafe Rio pork and it makes me REALLY want some. ONE MONTH! I’ll be in Utah in May! :)

    (2) Yes, I make wishes on 11:11 and the like. Any excuse to make a wish! Now…what did you wish for??

    (3) congrats on 15,000 comments!!!

    (4) I LOVE your puppies. I want to cuddle with them.

    (5) Last recipe I tried…mediterranean pasta with chickpeas and greens from Clean Food. Deeeelicious.

    (6) I’m excited for sourdough bread day! hey! that’s today! I better go buy some.

    OK, that’s all. I told you I had a lot to comment on. hehe :)

  35. April 1, 2010 6:12 am

    I think I read that sweet potato day is next week too?

    I can’t believe that snow…crazy!

  36. louisianagrown permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:31 am

    You have me craving a taco salad big time now. And I hate the words boyfriend AND fiance. Just call him marshall!

    As for food holidays, it’s a toss up between pb&j and coffee cake for me. I love how you keep us informed!

  37. Pat Braithwaite permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:39 am

    I’m thinking that somebody backed up the calendar to December again. This snow is quite depressing when it should be spring! Thanks for sharing the protein bar receipe. I am definitely going to try it. I could never do a blog, but I love reading yours!! Hope you never stop (well at least not for awhile):)

  38. April 1, 2010 6:50 am

    Haha, yes elephant! Call Marshall your elephant!! <— that killed me, I'm at work looking like a dumbass laughing at the computer screen.

    I haven't baked in so long but I want to make these pb protein balls that I used to make all the time. Basically like those bars but rolled up in little balls and chilled. Perfect for on the go snacks.

    Boo for snow – spring needs to get here fast!

  39. April 1, 2010 7:08 am

    Holy Wow…that workout was amazing!!

  40. April 1, 2010 7:15 am

    1. On Saturday I made this cheese and spinach strata and it was ballin. Courtesy of smitten kitchen, which I am officially obsessed with!
    2. National PB&J Day!! For sure. I will be celebrating!

    Love to youxxxx

  41. April 1, 2010 7:23 am

    I love how the dogs are all over you. They seem to love sweat, don’t they?
    Coffee cake day?!?! Yes please!

  42. Susan permalink
    April 1, 2010 7:31 am

    Wow, congrats on 15000 comments. In blogland high school, you would win homecoming queen methinks!

    I love puppers attacking me. No other animal has this appeal. I don’t even mind when they step on my hair haha.

  43. April 1, 2010 7:43 am

    you are awesome! i am so jealous you can make changes like this to a simple recipe and have it turn out amazingly…umm i had some issues with baking on a whim…teach me your ways

    brown cow yog…so good! i like it because it is a bit more tart than fage or chobani and it was 10 for 10 bucks so SCORE!!!

    that workout looks killeR i truly wish I had space in my apartment to do that! i mean I could move our table and do it but i feel like I would be so uncoordinated I would need LOTS of space!

    THANK YOU for the wall post and birthday wishes, truly made me smile inside and out! your the best and I <3 you!

  44. Jayme permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:04 am

    The last recipe i tried out was cream cheese stuffed chocolate chip cookies (ahhhhhmazing) and i gave roasted veggies my first shot last night, but those protein bars look like something i would forsure be interested in. MmmMMMmmMMmm.
    ahahah.. Elephant.. i gotta tell you i think fiance is better than ‘honeybunch’ or ‘future parter for LIFE’.
    i could eat cereal and proteined up mochas all day everyday. butttt i would probably turn into one giant carb, so no dice.

  45. April 1, 2010 8:19 am

    Mmm I love your meals! Especially the pb mousse topping for your waffle and your bbq chicken wrap! I think all of your eats look incredibly fresh, satisfying, and healthy. Thanks for a great blog! So glad to have found it!

  46. April 1, 2010 8:53 am

    COFFEE CAKE DAY? PBJ DAY? Oh awesome. This is gonna be a good month. ‘Bout time- we have had snow the past 2 days and today is glooooorious sunshine. I do not understand Scottish weather.

    Marshall is too cute making tacos- I’d love a guy that can cook tacos and spaghetti. Really, what more do you need?! Lol. Just teach him to roast a good chicken and you have it made.

    Those bars look delish. I love all your meals, always. Please invite me for dinner?

    Last blog recipe I made was protein cake!

  47. April 1, 2010 9:30 am

    Yum! Anything with avocado wins my heart…
    As for the bars, does that mean you got my package? I just want to make sure it shipped OK!

  48. April 1, 2010 9:34 am

    What a great “elephant” marshall is!! I too, love joel, and the soup. And do the “baraba walters speaks about vibrators” dance periodically. :)

    Snow??? Geez!!

    Ps I heart youuu

  49. April 1, 2010 10:00 am

    HAHA I love the pic of you with the pups! I have done the same thing but with one pup attacking me. I heart when I do a kick ass workout and I feel whiped out.

  50. Kelly permalink
    April 1, 2010 10:04 am

    I always hated fiance, I got through it writing it as FI and then just calling him by his name all the other times.

    Gotta try the taco salad, I’ve been loving the avocado/salsa/beans/cheese combo on everything lately. Last recipe I made was protein candy – basically protein cookie dough a la April with oats and sf pudding mix made into bars. Susan’s bars are on my recipe list!

    I really need to get some more PB2, I wish they weren’t out of stock. I need that PB flavor sometimes without all the cals.

  51. April 1, 2010 10:05 am

    I love that your quoted Joel McHale. As far as recipes go, this weekend I made coconut macaroons and chicken with 40 cloves of garlic. Both came out fantastic :-)

  52. April 1, 2010 10:12 am

    Omgosh I need a basset. That’s it! Who can resist that face?! Or faces for that matter. Gwuf I love your dogs.

    And Elephant is a fine replacement for fiance. I’m down.

  53. April 1, 2010 10:20 am

    for real i was reallllllly hoping that sunday was going to be national jelly bean day. can we please declare it that anyway?? well i’m going to.

    haha dude i for real thought this was going to be april fools it didn’t snow. that sucks in a mayje way! but lovin your intensity or insanity? i never get it right haha

  54. April 1, 2010 10:35 am

    i SO wanna see how those protein bars look….they sound wholesome and delicious!!! Holy molz 15000 comments?!??! YEAHH that’s cool, but that’s also cuz you’re a rockin’ writer and a fabulous chef/role model/adventure monger. :) Conggratulations!!!

    The last recipe I tried was the Eating Well BBQ pulled chicken in a slow cooker. IT WAS amazing probably because i didn’t have half the things on the recipe and had to wing it all with what was in my pantry. Proof that cooking ain’t a science. It’s allll about the loove. :)

  55. lowandbhold permalink
    April 1, 2010 11:02 am

    Ick. That snow would piss. me. off. I hope it departs soon and spring springs ASAP.

    1. I tried out a baked minestrone recipe, but I changed it a lot. It was tasty.
    2. Def PB&J day. I hope I remember!

  56. April 1, 2010 11:05 am

    Hi Missy!! I always make a wish. Every time the clock strikes a triple number I do it! I’m looking forward to peanut butter and jelly day! DUH!!

  57. April 1, 2010 11:18 am

    I always hated the word “fiance” too! Especially when we first got engaged. I subsided to boyfriend for a few months. Don’t worry, pretty soon it will be husband, which sounds a lot cooler than fiance if you ask me!
    That picutre of you and the pups is adorable. So cute:D
    Last recipe I tried out…I have to admit, since I’ve been turbo busy, I’ve been less cooking and more slapping things together!
    Have a fabo day, Janetha love:D

  58. April 1, 2010 11:22 am

    love it all. the taco salads, the coffee + cereal (amazing combo) and YOU! i feel ya on the life craziness thing – too much to handle. that’s why we gotta kick back and just enjoy…

    love you lady!

  59. April 1, 2010 11:28 am

    First of all – I love your blog. You always have the best food!! My last recipe I used was actually one of yours. Last night’s dinner was just going to be the normal whole wheat spaghetti and sauce, but then I saw your blog and added broccoli and feta. How have I not thought to try this!?!? It is YUMMY!! We will be making it many many more times.

    And yes the snow sucks! I live in Utah too (Salt Lake/Sandy) and I am so tired of the snow. Especially since this past weekend was somewhat nice.

  60. April 1, 2010 11:34 am

    1. I made bowlful of this and that with some Mexican flare the other night. NO idea what to call it but it tasted brilliant! It had rice, beans, morning star grounds, tomato, taco seasoning, sauteed mushrooms, pepper and onions. Topped with sour cream and enjoyed with a side of chips. AHH-MAY-ZINGER!

    2. PB&J of COURSE! I shall celebrate accordingly tomorrow with my PB&J oats, as I do every single morning at work. I’m so predictable. ;)

    XOXO

  61. Sarah permalink
    April 1, 2010 12:14 pm

    your pulled chicken looked so amazing that i made my own! i’ve never made it before and have neither a slow cooker or an oven, so it was an experiment. a super delicious one. thanks for the idea :)

    i’m looking forward to pbj day!

  62. April 1, 2010 12:44 pm

    Yummy taco salad! I use greek yogurt as sour cream too! ;-)

  63. Karina permalink
    April 1, 2010 12:54 pm

    OMG joel mchale is the best!!!! i make sure i watch my soup weekly :) and now my community as well “lets talk about chicks man….chicks man.”

  64. April 1, 2010 1:16 pm

    I am so glad I’ve finally found your blog!! You are too funny and adorable!! :) And your puppies look so lovable!! :) Those protein bars look great, thanks for the recipe!! :)

  65. April 1, 2010 2:20 pm

    “i think alliteration is a really good reason to eat waffles”

    Friggin right it is!! ;)

    I didn’t get your comment until the morning. I was fast asleep by 11:11, making wishes in my dreams ;) I hope they turned out okay! Sometimes I have to keep them in the freezer because I get heavy-handed with the water.

    I hate the word fiance too. It sounds so pompous – fee-ansaaaay. FIVE TACOS?? That’s pure insanity. Like, more insane than the insane workout from the insanity dvd.

    1. Your turkey goulash!!! It was fabbity fab.
    2. PB&J, obvi.

    Have an awesome Thursday night/long-weekend!! I hope you played some pranks on your boss today. Mine is mega OCD, and I was tempted to go rearrange things in his office…

  66. April 1, 2010 3:39 pm

    That was so sweet that Marshall not only went to the store, but, he made you dinner too! I know it’s the one meal you said he can make, but, you need to tell him to give Jay tips :D

    glad you are taking one night off a week – it all gets so overwhelming.

    LOVE the pics of you, the pups and Marshall with the pups :)

  67. April 1, 2010 4:39 pm

    Snow?! wowza.. I’ve become such a wuss, it was 80 in Phoenix that day, and they told us it was suppose to cool way down to 60 today and I was sad about it, haha. I desperately (ok, maybe that’s an exaggeration) need to get my hands on PB2, they’ve been out of stock for ages! :(

  68. snackface permalink
    April 2, 2010 7:04 am

    MattyRich has model runway legs, too! I’m totes jealous.

    OMFG PUPPIESSSS!!!!!!!! I’m gushing. I love your babies. What breed is Penelope again? I’m thinking of getting myself a graduation present… :)

    I’m stoked for today, PB+J day! I’ve already had some PB, but I guess I’ma do it again!

    Luuuuuuv you.

  69. April 2, 2010 11:39 am

    EVERY time you make taco salad I think, “I’m making tacos/taco salad tonight!” and then somehow I never do. Maybe I’ll actually make some this weekend!

    Seriously, I missed Sourdough Bread Day?! AND I live in San Francisco?! How did that happen?

  70. April 8, 2010 11:32 am

    amazing how much stuff you’ve cooked, i’m jealous.

  71. marisa permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:49 pm

    I was cleaning out my reader and saw this post… I guess I never saw it again- but I am so happy that the Volcom jar is getting good use. I love to make those things for you! You should get some Volcom denim on sale sometime and I can make something with it…

Trackbacks

  1. flashback friday: EASTER! « meals & moves

Leave a comment