Skip to content

free day, bras and BBQs, oh my!

March 21, 2010

hmm.. that title doesn’t have quite the same rings as, “lions, tigers and bears, oh my!”~ but that is what i was going for. hah!

hey boys and girls! ok, probably just girls.. but just in case there any boy lurkers out there, hello to you as well.

i hope everyone has been enjoying their weekend.  it has been unbelievably sunny and warm here in the SLC.. and i was officially able to bust out the flip flops! spring has arrived.  it is still pretty dang cold at nighttime, though, so my tootsies froze off last night. guess i better carry around a pair of socks ;)

THANK YOU for all the advice on what type of shoes to buy! you are all so full of great information.

and i think it is safe to say that diagonal sandwich cutting wins.

SO! lots to cover! let’s take it from the top!

saturday was my “free day” on the body for life eating plan.  this means i can eat whatever i want, whenever i want. just wanted to preface that before showing you what passed these lips.

meals

saturday morning i did what i usually do.. make two different meals!  while i do love what i made for marshall, i wasn’t craving eggs.. and i am a firm believer in eat what you crave. so two meals it was!  i don’t mind, i like to cook.

first i made marshall some sun dried tomato pesto turkey feta eggs (long name) with a toasted english muffin.

the cooking components:

IMG_8152

a note about the coconut oil. i have been reading fantastic things about coconut oil and have taken the jar in my cupboard out more and more recently.  but, from what i have read, i think i should buy some unrefined coconut oil.  either way, it has many benefits and it makes food taste really good, so it stays!

the proteins:

IMG_8153

IMG_8154 IMG_8155IMG_8158IMG_8156

after making this meal for my sweetie (permission to gag at the term), i got started on what i really wanted for breakfast!

YOATS!!!!

IMG_8162

i paired 1 container wallaby plain yogurt (100 calories/8g protein/11g carbs) with 1/4 cup dry oats comined with 1/2 scoop of banana nut protein powder (so yummy!) and topped it all with 1 TB of naturally more peanut butter.

IMG_8161

the banana protein powder was the star of the show when it came to flavor. so good!

IMG_8163

325 calories, 11g fat, 32g carbs, 25g protein

after breakfast, randy & marshall had a photo shoot.

IMG_8167IMG_8164IMG_8165

penny was irritated…

IMG_8168

then i went to the gym!

moves

saturday was a lower body workout day and i really hit it hard.  since i haven’t been able to run due to my lack of proper shoes, my mileage goal has been suffering.  i decided to sneak in half mile sprints between each muscle group. here are the details…

  • 1/ 2 mile on treadmill (4 min 50 seconds)

HAMSTRINGS

move reps @ weight
stiff legged barbell deadlift* 12 @ 25#
stiff legged barbell deadlift* 10 @ 30#
stiff legged barbell deadlift* 8 @ 40#
stiff legged barbell deadlift* 6 @ 50 #
stiff legged barbell deadlift 12 @ 30#
stability ball hamstring curls 20 @ body weight

*i superset these reps with 15 body weight jump squats for a total of 4 sets

  • 1/ 2 mile on treadmill (4 min 35 seconds)

QUADS

move reps @ weight
bulgarian split squats* (holding dumbbells) 12 @ 15# each hand
bulgarian split squats* 10 @ 17.5# each hand
bulgarian split squats* 8 @ 20# each hand
bulgarian split squats* 6 @ 22.5 # each hand
bulgarian split squats 12 @ 15# each hand
machine leg extension 12 @ 70#

*i superset these reps with 20 (10 each side) dumbbell snatches, holding a 10# dumbbell in each hand for a total of 4 sets

  • 1/ 2 mile on treadmill (4 min 15 seconds)

CALVES

move reps @ weight
single leg calf raise*
(laying down on leg press)
12 each leg @ 120#
single leg calf raise* 10 each leg @ 140#
single leg calf raise* 8 each leg @ 160#
single leg calf raise* 6 each leg @ 180#
single leg calf raise 12 each leg @ 120#
standing single leg calf raise 12 each leg @ body weight

*i superset these reps with 20 oblique twists on decline bench holding 20# kettle bell for a total of 4 sets

  • 1/ 2 mile on treadmill (4 min 50 seconds)

ABS

move reps @ weight
weird ab machine 12 @ 40#
weird ab machine 10 @ 50#
weird ab machine 8 @ 60#
weird ab machine 6 @ 70#
weird ab machine 12 @ 40#
ball crunches 50 @ body weight

see the above table? yeah, i decided, for the first time in my life, to try an ab machine. one of the ones that is plate/cable loaded.  i had to watch a few people to even see how they worked.  i think this is hilarious because i spend so much time lifting weights yet when it comes to some machines at the gym i am totally oblivious to how they work so i just don’t use them!  i have been wanting to find a way to get DOMS in my abs and i figured adding weight would help, so i tried this machine.  a day later, my abs don’t even feel like they got a workout. i need to try alternative methods to get those abbies sore!

meals

post-workout nutrition

IMG_8178

it was such a glorious day yesterday! and i am fairly certain today is the same, yet i haven’t ventured outdoors just yet.

my post workout drink had a scoop of this:

IMG_8171

and a scoop of vanilla whey protein, water, ice and the gums. tasted like a lemon lime creamsicle :)

product review!

tina at at handful, inc generously sent me one of their incredible sports bras to test out and review!

image

to read more about the handful story, click here.

image

from their website:

Handful product details

The Handful bra has removable pads that contour and conceal. The polyester lining wicks moisture away, while the nylon/spandex (92%/8%) shell dries quickly and allows for smooth layering. Feminine thin straps won’t stretch out. The Handful is packaged in a reusable mesh bag for less waste and convenient laundering. Machine washable.

their motto is “flatter, not flatten” and i definitely agree with that.

image

i love the cross back:

image

please don’t pay attention to ALL my freckles.. i hate them!!

the bra does come with removable pads, i didn’t even notice they were there.  i did end up taking them out halfway through the workout so i could give a review on the bra both ways, and the bra was still just as good without the removable pads.

IMG_8214

the real question is, how did the bra perform?  well i wore it during yesterday’s workout which involved sprinting, jump squats and lifting weights.  a good variety of movement.  i have tried many-a-sports bra in my day and i have to say that i loved the handful bra.

it stayed in place and never rode up.  the bra was both comfortable and supportive.  i usually run errands before or after my workout (whole foods is on the way to and from the gym, people!) and so i loved the idea of not looking like a total slob when trouncing around town in my sports bra.

i did some research and found a place in utah that carries the bra:

Intermountain T-shirt Co.
3277 Midland Drive
Ogden UT 84401
801.399.5171 – Fax: 801.399.5175

or you can also purchase the bra online by clicking here.  if you would like to see a list of retailers near you, click here.

i am usually one to choose function over fashion, but with the handful bra, i was able to have the best of both worlds. i will most definitely be buying more colors!

IMG_8199

thanks, handful!

i cleaned my mess of a self up and marshall & i ran some errands. we went to whole foods where i was pleased to sample all the fun things they had on sample.. it was my free day so i could eat whatever, whenever.

i had:

  • 2 strawberries
  • 2 blackberries
  • 1 blueberry
  • 1 yogurt & dark chocolate covered pretzel
  • 2 cubes of sharp white cheddar
  • a stacy’s pita chip
  • a slice of delicious whole grain bread
  • 1 bite of quinoa black bean salad

i love sample day!

we had plans to BBQ at our friends house. marshall and i were in charge of side dishes.  we made some mashed red potatoes:

IMG_8231

while the spuds were boiling, i whipped up a batch of mama pea’s almond joy cookie bars!

IMG_8218

yesterday i was tweeting about the need for a yummy vegan recipe because it was my friend nick’s birthday.  it was mama pea to the rescue with this simple, delicious recipe!

IMG_8220 IMG_8223

pre-baked:

IMG_8228

post-baked:

IMG_8232

YUM!

i may or may not have licked the spoon ;)

IMG_8226

after the baking and tater mashing shenanigans, we hit the road to kristen & rory’s place.  the dogs came along for the fun :)

IMG_8239

first BBQ of the year! YAY! i love, love, love BBQs!!

IMG_8240

kristen had marinated some chicken breasts in this amazing sauce she picked up at whole foods:

IMG_8260

it was sweet, spicy and savory all in one!

IMG_8243

she also grilled up some zucchini and topped it with some mozzarella cheese.IMG_8248

kiss the cook!

IMG_8249

mmm.. i love grill marks :)

IMG_8250

marshall with the sides that we put so much effort into. wink, wink.

IMG_8251

mashed garlic red potatoes~

IMG_8252

whole foods pasta salad! took the easy way out…

IMG_8253 IMG_8254

my plate!

IMG_8256

kristen’s house has the best lighting. i think i am going to move in.

IMG_8258

this was such a great meal! and while it was my free day and i had planned to go out to eat, i am glad we ended up going with a home cooked meal.  it was still considered a free meal since it was not balanced protein/carbs and there were refined carbs in there (white pasta).. it was by all means still really healthy!

after the BBQ marshall & i headed to our friend nick’s birthday party where i delivered the almond joy cookie bars!

IMG_8261

these were a hit. i was excited to sample a slice of my own!

IMG_8262

great vegan recipe!! everyone should try this one out.

after the party you would think it would be time to go home.. but no, i had yet another party to go to!  i went there and didn’t arrive until about 11:30 PM.  my friends had a BBQ of their own and my super incredible friend neal had whipped up a mexican fiesta of a feast.  i am never one to pass up on his cooking, he is totally gourmet, so i had a small taco on a whole wheat tortilla:

IMG_8263

homemade salsa, marinated and grilled pork.. oh man.. it was SO good!!

IMG_8265

and THAT was the end of my free day.

thoughts? well, i definitely ate more calories than a typical day. i didn’t keep track of how many calories or any of the macros.  that is the beauty of free day!  i enjoyed what i ate, didn’t eat too much and today i am back on the BFL wagon.  i think the point of free day is to rev your metabolism and i do believe it works.  i have had success with this eating style in the past and it also keeps me sane!

i was really wanting to have ice cream all week long, but then when i didn’t have any yesterday i realized i didn’t really care. those almond joy cookie bars were enough to keep my sweet tooth satisfied for another week!

sunday.

i woke up today and made some breakfast and coffee and have been doing computer work and blogging ever since.  i will show you my breakfast before i publish this!

meal 1: GYMIAJ!

IMG_8273

i have a confession: i hate oats in a jar.

sorry to all you OIAJ lovers!  i just think the oats get WAY too hot, the nut butter gets lost in the mix and i really just hate eating OIAJ.

greek yogurt mess in a jar, on the other hand?

i had a near-empty jar of naturally more this morning:

IMG_8267

i filled it with 1 cup of 0% voskos greek yogurt and 1/2 cup of kashi golean cereal.

IMG_8274

check out the bottom swirly goodness:

IMG_8272

379 calories, 11g fat, 32g carbs, 40g protein

delicious. i like eating cold food out of a nut butter jar, but hot oats is just a no-go in my book. this worked out well because i was able to have a bit of nut butter in every bite!

today is my rest day from exercise so no workout today!

well, i have a lot to get done today and some fun shenanigans with friends tonight, so i better disconnect. hope you all enjoy the rest of your sunday and i will see you tomorrow!

if you made it through this whole post, pat yourself on the back. it was so long!!

Qs~

1. do you use the ab machines? how do you feel about them? i had not tried them until yesterday and i think i prefer body weight/free weight ab moves. maybe i just need to give them another chance? i would love to hear your opinion on those machines!

2. what is the most money you would spend on a sports bra? the handful bra is $40 and i never thought i would be willing to spend that much on one, but now that i have had the chance to try it out.. i have to say that i would willingly pay that much for another one. not right now.. unfortunately.. since i am broke as a joke!  in the past, the most i have spent on a sports bra is $25.

xo. janetha b.

79 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 1:56 pm

    Oh girl, $40 for a sports bra is the MINIMUM i’ve ever paid. When you’re as “gifted” as me, they tend to run about $80. I love the Enell brand, which is again, function over looks but man, its amazing!

  2. erinbee. permalink
    March 21, 2010 2:01 pm

    shut the front door.
    i love your freckles.
    love love love. love.

  3. March 21, 2010 2:02 pm

    You look so cute in that pic! I love the look of your yogurt mess sounds like a good plan eating them from the jar I do love OIAJ but I agree they do get uber hot!

  4. March 21, 2010 2:11 pm

    Hey chica! I love all of your eats! but love your workouts even more! I am so impressed by how hardcore you are (and a little jealous lol)

    Your pups are too cute! and I mean your dogs not your new bra lol

  5. March 21, 2010 2:17 pm

    Your weekends are always so much fun- YAY for BBQ weather!!!!!!!!!! I have never had OIAJ (!) but I did yogurt messin a jar the day I flew to NY…perfect food to take to eat at the airport since I just threw away the plastic jar (was PB and Co).

    I got my training plan today and ab work is done on a stability ball. I’ve never used machines for abs before- a 3-5 minute track of crunches followed by 2-3 mins plank should get you DOMS in your belly! I am totally new to weight machines altogether…tried them with trainer today and can’t wait until tomorrow to go back and do my whole workout!

    Sports bra- my favourite one was about $50. And totally worth it. It does NOT pay to buy a cheap bra IMO…

    • March 21, 2010 2:18 pm

      oops- don’t mean cheap bras price-wise, but cheaply made… I am willing to spend extra on a good bra

      • March 21, 2010 2:19 pm

        and freckles are cool…don’t let anybody ever tell you different

  6. March 21, 2010 2:18 pm

    I had to do a double-take on the one photo with the almond joy bar ingredients. If you just glance at it the hardwood floor looks sort of like another part of the countertop and I saw Randy sitting there looking about 6 inches tall. For a second I thought it was a little hound dog figurine. I’m such a weirdo.

    I love the “handful” pic – ha! And I like your freckles. :)

    I’m not a huge fan of OIAJ either, I always have to add more nut butter on top. But you make it first then pour it into the jar right?? I’m always flabbergasted when people say they microwave the jar! Esp a plastic one.

    Overnight oats in a jar or a yogurt mess are definitely superior!

  7. mom permalink
    March 21, 2010 2:35 pm

    1. Embrace your freckles they are darling!
    2. Your eyes are so sparkley!
    3. Need some coconut oil at my house!
    4. Missed happy Penny photos!
    5. Bra sounds great!
    6. Oh Kristen’s bbq looks so yummy!!!
    I use the ball, plate, etc for abs I’m trying to do better haha!

    Spent on bra maybe $14.99 I’m real cheap!!
    Xoxo missed seeing ya this week end!

  8. March 21, 2010 2:49 pm

    I would pay 40 bucks if it was really that good!!

  9. March 21, 2010 3:08 pm

    Love your freckles. I think freckles are usually always cute–not always though, but yours ARE!

    I’d say you spent your free day SO well. Not going overboard, but enjoying yourself. I’m taking notes :). Im starting officially tomorrow–no more of this half ass stuff

  10. March 21, 2010 3:29 pm

    Those eggs look delish! Yum! Love feta & sd tomaters. =D

    Thanks for the bra review, I am always looking for new sports bras! I always wear boring old Hanes ones that do nothing for my lack of boobage. And my boyf glanced over while I was scrolling down the page and he goes, “Why is she grabbing her boobs?” ha!

    Fun BBQ! And the yogurt mess in a jar is an awesome idea!! I love that idea way more than oats, I will try it and let you know what I think =D

    I have tried ab machines, I prefer free & body weight exercises.

    AND I normally pay $20-25. $40 is a bit much for something I am going to get sweaty and wear out in a short period of time.

    xo
    K

  11. March 21, 2010 3:39 pm

    I really like Moving Comfort for sports bras. It is underwire, and pricey, but really no jiggle……..not that I have much to jiggle, but my Mom agrees too (and she is a C).

    love your bbq meal!! i can’t wait for bbq season in fact! it is my favvvvvv.

    that pork wrap looks bizomb.

    totally gotta get me some desssert protein toooooooooo.

    seriously, Janetha……..your blog, more than maybe anyone elses, has all the food I LOVE to eat. I just feel like you eat the way i love……

    thank you,
    amen.
    respekt.
    love you

  12. March 21, 2010 3:47 pm

    Bras?? What are those?

    No ab machines for me.

    OIAJ, you are so right, it gets WAY to hot!!!

  13. March 21, 2010 3:53 pm

    I spend about 30-50 bucks on sports bras. It’s worth the investment! They hold precious goods.

    How many calories do you eat on a non-cheat day? I used to eat 1400 daily with 1 high day a week. TOTALLY agree with the sanity bit. If there’s no high day, I would lose my freaking mind.

    I also totally agree with oats in a jar. I tried it once, never doing it again. I’m the kinda gal that scrapes up every last bit of food on my plate/bowl, so I found the container way too restricting, and I end up getting all my knuckles dirty… it’s just not pretty.

  14. March 21, 2010 4:09 pm

    I’ve never paid much for a sports bra because I can seriously never find one that works for me. I’m a D and I need tons of support. Recently, I’ve decided that spending a little more $$$ on a good sports bra might be necessary.

    I have tons of freckles. I’m trying to embrace them. ha!

    I hate those weird ab machines. I never get DOMS from them either. My abs need to be sore!!!!

  15. March 21, 2010 4:09 pm

    HAHAH. That handful pic is golden, love it. I think the most I’ve ever spent on a sports bra is lik $15… and I don’t know if I’d spend much more than that! My tatas are teeny weeny, they don’t need pricey support anyway ;)

    I like OIAJ but I don’t think I share the same PASSION as so many people do… and that yogurt mix all up in there is more my style. Must try next time!

    That whole BBQ feast looks fab. I’m SO craving some BBQ foods now.
    As for ab machines… I’ve never really used one. Planks and P90x Ab Ripper X are serving alright for me atm.

  16. March 21, 2010 4:09 pm

    haha, YES. I love your bra review pics, heheh. And I definitely want to try out those for myself now. As a matter of fact, I could use a new bra anyways…at least, that is what i’m going to keep telling myself. ;)

    I have not tried the ab machines…I like my floor exercises! Maybe one of these days I will give it a try though.

  17. March 21, 2010 4:18 pm

    I don’t use the ab machines. But I like how you listed them as “weird ab machine”. I have no idea what they’re called either!

    Have you ever tried or know anything about the P90X? I am thinking of buying it and it seems like something you might have tried.

  18. March 21, 2010 4:24 pm

    Hi girlie! Long-time reader, first time commenter…is that creeper of me? Hope not…

    First off, your freckles are wonderful. I hope you learn to love them…..they are great!

    Second, I love the sports bra, and am excited that it comes in 32C – my size, but VERY hard to find. I have pretty broad shoulders for my narrow back, and sometimes find that bra straps hit in an uncomfortable place, causing pinching in my bicep area…weird, I know. The straps were comfy on this bra, yes?

    And because of the above dilemma, I DO spend a lot on sports bras because I know I wear them a LOT and want something that is comfortable and will be able to stand the test of time. I wear lululemon bras, but get a 15% discount because I’m a fitness instructor…so about $44? Still not cheap!!

    I used to use the twisty ab machine all the time when I was in college. Now I feel like it does nothing, no matter how much weight I stack on. I just feel like I am pressing too much with my knees to get any ab workage!

    Not a fan of oatmeal in general, so OIAJ is a nono. but OCDIAJ is another story….oatmeal cookie dough in a jar….ahaha ;-)

  19. March 21, 2010 4:31 pm

    hahahaha i think you’re the only person in the blogosphere to come out and say you don’t love oiaj! you’ve got balls girl. the thing is i don’t love them either mainly bc im afraid of the melting plastic hahaha

    LOOOOOOOOOOOVE grill marks :)

  20. March 21, 2010 4:38 pm

    This might be the most entertaining review I have ever read on a blog ;) And useful, too! I don’t need anything extra to flatten me, I do pretty well on my own, thankyouverymuch! Will definitely check the Handful out.
    I don’t hate OIAJ in itself, but I do hate it when people put them in plastic containers. I only use glass. Seriously, heat + plastic is asking for trouble, people! BPA, anyone?

  21. March 21, 2010 4:39 pm

    Oops, forgot:
    1. I don’t do abs. Period.
    2. $40 is probably the upper limit, and only if it’s good! Most of my sportswear is from Target, so, CHEAP!

  22. March 21, 2010 4:51 pm

    Hahahaha – amazing post, Janetha!
    Lovely pics, as always :D
    Have a great week, girl!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  23. March 21, 2010 5:01 pm

    What a fantastic free day! How perfect, 2 breakfasts, 2 BBQ’s and an entire day of amazing foods! :)

    OMG that boob pic of you is just awesome! LoL, I was cracking up when I saw it. :) Glad you found a decent sports bra. I don’t really seem to have these problems being built like a small boy, so the cheap Walmart ones work just fine for me. But I can see how a well built bra would be essential for most women.

    You know what girl, I’m not the biggest fan of OIAJ either. I really thought something was wrong with me because of how worshiped this breakfast is, but every time I make it, I think I will be blown away by it’s amazingness and it just never really does anything for me.
    Glad I’m not the only one! ;)

  24. March 21, 2010 5:07 pm

    I completely agree that the free days can be very useful when dieting. The key is to eat what you crave and enjoy, but still listen to your body and don’t eat until sick like some people do. You are showing how to do it the right way! I got my best results when eating that way because it helped me not feel deprived so I could stick with it. And sticking to a plan is what will get results. :)

    Hmmm…I would say I would spend $20-30 for a sports bra. I don’t really care for ab machines much at all. I love the stability ball and medicine balls but that is the extent of adding equipment to any of my ab moves. One move that got my abs really sore was doing crunches on the bosu ball with added weight. I set the bosu in front of a low cable pulley. Set myself up on the ball side of the bosu, holding the cable behind my head with added weight and did a bunch of crunches. I hurt the next day which NEVER happens to my abs.

  25. March 21, 2010 5:26 pm

    Thanks for the review, I think I’m going to have to check that one out! Always looking for something new & better, which doesn’t take much since most suck. So with that being said, I’d probably spend a whole let if it was worth it. I don’t use the ab machine often because I need my waste to be smaller not bigger, and I tend to stick to smaller more isolated body weight movements.

  26. actorsdiet permalink
    March 21, 2010 5:35 pm

    your freckles are beautiful! for some reason only my shoulders have them.

  27. Amy (Up and Running!) permalink
    March 21, 2010 5:46 pm

    I’ve long since faced the fact that I’m not very well endowed…so I buy cheapy sports bras (less than $10.00) basically just for coverage, sadly not much support needed.

    I used to do the ab machines a lot. I. really. hate. ab. exercises. For some reason I like doing the ab machines better than body/free weight ab exercises. I think it’s because it’s more structured for me and I can feel the BURN.

  28. March 21, 2010 5:48 pm

    I love to see that you are flashin’ the new bling in some of your pics lately!

  29. March 21, 2010 6:08 pm

    I don’t know that I would spend $40 on a bra…but I am kind of a cheap skate…haha. I think $20-25 might be my max!

    Love your free-day loving – you still ate so so well! Can’t believe you’ve been bbqing…we need to bust out our grill soon. I cannot WAIT to grill all summer long!! Yaya!

  30. March 21, 2010 6:58 pm

    First of all, OOH LA LA to your sports bra! Any sports bra that gives or maintains cleavage is a GO in my book. But then $40 is a little too much for my preference. I think Champion makes incredible sports bra’s for $25 or less…i also must confess that I go to Walmart for a couple of theirs too. not bad at all but a little stiff. :P

    I have a few co-workers who did BFL, and I was wondering…they complained a lot about having to eat a lot of cottage cheese. Do you feel the same way? Or do you sub it out?

    Oh! last but not least. NOM I would love to eat some of the vegan bars. As well as you ingeineous cold yogurts in a jar!! I’ve actually never tried OIAJ…i might have to do yours first. hahaha :P

  31. March 21, 2010 7:05 pm

    wow I need a bra like that! Seriously!

    those vegan bars sounds very very tasty and that sweater you are wearing is so so cute!

  32. Lindsay permalink
    March 21, 2010 7:14 pm

    Like the bra…the straps on “normal” ones chafe me if I wear them longer than a couple hours, those look so much more comfortable. It’ll go on my “when I have money again” list…the IRS absconded my savings account today! (see me using my GRE words? haha time to put the flashcards away…)

    • Lindsay permalink
      March 21, 2010 7:15 pm

      absconded with*…guess I don’t have it down pat yet ;)

  33. March 21, 2010 7:16 pm

    HEY HOTTIE ENGAGED WONDER WOMAN!!
    hahaha LOVE that pic of you! you rock! i love that bra-looks super comfterable.. i have like 3 NICE sports bras i love..otherwise i have a ton from wally world!
    totally had grilled chick on the grill the other night too.. SO good!

  34. March 21, 2010 7:18 pm

    Um wow. A bra that won’t make my -A chest look -A?

    I’m in.

  35. March 21, 2010 7:57 pm

    that bbq dish is the healthiest looking cheat meal i’ve ever seen! it looks so good too. i LOVE bbq and grilling.

    that bra looks super comfy!

  36. March 21, 2010 8:55 pm

    I’m so glad you liked the cookie bars!!!!

  37. March 21, 2010 9:07 pm

    OW! I so want that bra! I am always looking for good ones to teach in! Going to their website right now! Randy is sooooo cute <3 him! And both the mashed tatoes and almond joy bars look delicious. Love that its bbq season

  38. March 21, 2010 9:09 pm

    Love grill marks- damn the carcinogen potential- boo!

    Bowm chickie bowm bowm on the first photo with the cleavage- I almost blushed! Then goodness gracious that you grabbed your boobie on the internet in front of your mother!! OHMIGOSH! :-) heh heh.

    That does look like a cute bra. Sadly I have the other problem a huge ribcage (lats??) and zero boobies. So the pads would totally come in handy.

    OK Randy cracked me up throughout this post. First he was waving while sitting on Marshall’s knee. Then he was front & center (0r rear and right) during some gnarly kitchen prep work. Then he was out for a stroll. Too cute. I want to kiss him.

    Your freckles are darling. Don’t hate on them.

    Yes, your ‘free’ day was very healthy. No junk food to speak of at all.

    Have a great evening! :-)

  39. *Andrea* permalink
    March 21, 2010 9:23 pm

    i love your freckles!!! i have a bunch too. and moles.. THOSE i hate!! haha. delicious eats. i like that you can enjoy a free day with bFL. ps marshall is so cute :)

  40. March 21, 2010 9:51 pm

    That’s your free day? Geez, I feel like a slob by comparison. I should take pictures sometime but it would probably scare some people.

    I think the most I’ve paid for a sports bra is $20 for a jog bra. I love it.

  41. March 21, 2010 10:42 pm

    all of your eats look wonderful!

    Thank goodness for good sports bras!

  42. March 21, 2010 10:49 pm

    OH my!! hehehe!! you are too freakin cute! (haha…i feel weird sayin that in response to pics of you in a sports bra! BUT FURRR REALS!) LOVE the BRA review…I’m flatty so i’d LOVE a sports bra that gave me a “handfull!!” and PENNY is sooooo cute(her expression is priceless!)…what kind of doggy is she?? Freckles are GORGEY! LOVE THEM! you are wayyyyy too pretty not to love EVERY single piece of your lil hot mama self! Hope you have a great night sissssta!!! xoxo!

  43. March 22, 2010 1:06 am

    great bars (i would love to make them GF) and great boobs!
    I love your review on that, i am so picky and hate over compression but under compression sucks too. And i have owned about 567898767 sports bras in my life. Anyway, nice swag score for you and The Girls :)

    Anyway hon, your presence this week and comments have been so lovely! I love you and hope your week starts well!!!!!!!

  44. March 22, 2010 1:16 am

    I hate OIAJ too! I had it for the first time the otherday because of EVERYONE loving it and it didn’t do anything for me! However, the yogurt sounds good, although i’ve never had peanut butter with any other cereal than oats!! xx

  45. March 22, 2010 1:16 am

    PS- the sports bra looks great! I really need a new one!

  46. March 22, 2010 2:46 am

    first of all I LOVE the name of that bra alone… the ‘handful’ bra…thats graet! and you do look great in it…my and my tata’s could use something like that :) its so flattering!

    the almond joy bars look SO good! I am going over to peas and thank you to look up that recipe! YUM

    hahah ‘my sweetie’ this made me laugh because Jasons brother and his fiance will ONLY call eachother ‘honey’ it makes me gag, its like “honey, honey” back and forth, YUCK!

    the BSN banana lean dessert is so so good indeed, but I think that the cinnamon roll for me has my heart :) I love switching it btwn them though!

    Not a HUGE fan of ab machines unless the roman chair counts as a machine, I am a big fan of the bosu or stability ball and also use the medicine ball alot as you have seen in some of my ab exercises!

    I don’t like OIAJ either! ahhh, I always hate to admit it because I know how much it is loved around here, but I just don’t love it, the PB just never gets into the oats, and also I love my oats steaming hot and they always cool off or they need to be not steaming hot so the jar doesn’t melt!

    thank you for your sweet get well wishes, love you gir!

  47. March 22, 2010 5:35 am

    I’m goign to have to keep an eye out for that raspberry chipotle sauce. Yum yum. And I have to admit–I don’t super enjoy OIAJ either–but if you’re going to eat something out of a jar, the naturally more container is the way to go. It’s much more conducive to spoonage than your standard nut butter jar. Looks like a fun weekend–too bad I missed most of the warm weather in SLC. I was up in vernal freezing my A off. xoxo

  48. March 22, 2010 6:43 am

    “permission to gag at the term” (oh yeah we all are ;)).
    I want to try some fancy sports bras too though I don’t have that much to put in, hehe.
    Dinner party looks great and those bars look heavenly! Need to give it a try sometime but I’m currently baking up a vegan storm and should give my lame oven a break or so..

  49. March 22, 2010 7:10 am

    I love seeing all your body for life workouts! I am going to have to try one. I am really slow at weight lifting though…doing 6 sets of everything would take me half the day :P And those bars look aaaawesome. I can definitely see why they were your highlight. That picture of you licking the spoon is too cute!!

    1. Ab machines scare the bejeezus out of me. They are ungodly contraptions that look like death traps. We had to design a workout program for a very beginner exerciser this weekend, so we had to assign mostly machines. I had no idea how to use most of them, and they were so awkward! Dislike.

    2. $30 is my max for a bra, and it’s got to be a good quality one that will last me more than a year.

    Hope you’re having a stellar Monday Janeeeetha!!! xoxo

  50. March 22, 2010 8:16 am

    I think the most I ever spent on a sports bra was $25. What can I say, I’m cheap and my boobs are disappearing more and more with each pound lost. HA!

    I’ve used ab machines before. I like them, though I struggle with the rotary torso. What I love the most is when I can push more than a man who was just grunting on the same machine like an animal. ;) I guess I have abs of steel, hiding, in there…. somewhere…..

  51. louisianagrown permalink
    March 22, 2010 8:21 am

    Am I the only person that finds it completely hilarious for a sports bra to be named the HANDFUL!?! Sadly, my flat little chest will never be a handful, no matter what, so I don’t believe in spending a lot of money on sports bras. I get all of mine from Target for like $15 and they get the job done just fine. I could probably run with no bra and be just fine. However, for my busty friends, I totally understand the importance of buying nice, well made bras, and this one looks really nifty.

  52. March 22, 2010 8:38 am

    I hate OIAJ! It’s so messy and crusty. Blech!
    I started BFL today! I think you did great on your free day. The first time I did BFL, I overdid it the first few free days and always felt sick, then I learned it’s a day to relax, not binge. It was much easier after that.
    Love the handful pic!

  53. March 22, 2010 8:56 am

    a) your boobies look hot in the handful bra & i love the slogan b) cutest pic of penny ever! c) nildo’s tacos were divine d) the pic of you licking the spoon is adorable e) i love you <3

  54. March 22, 2010 9:18 am

    Sounds like an incredible free day! The concept of free day never worked for me. I always went overboard…

    I think the name “handful” is hysterical for a bra! Your “handful” shot is clearly just an excuse to show off that bling bling of engagement ring :)

  55. March 22, 2010 10:11 am

    I WANT that sports bra! I’ve actually been looking for a new one with absolutely no luck–just can’t find a good fit. Definitely could use a little flattering!

    Mmmm and free days are the BEST! I’d love to try those bars…they look delicious!

  56. March 22, 2010 10:22 am

    Aww, penny’s suchha cutie!
    I’m totally making those cookies though. Yum.

    xox

    Vera

  57. March 22, 2010 10:43 am

    Embrace the freckles! :) Tehehe. Oh, and I am totally with you on the OIAJ thing. IT’s a WASTE of the flavor that nut butter has to offer! I can barely detect it in OIAJ. Next time I’ll try mine with greek yogurt & cereal! That’s my style. Haha. Oh! And I thought you might want to check this out since you like the BSN banana nut protein too! You got me hooked on it! I found it at Vitacost online for like $14. IT’s still under $20 with shipping and everything! http://www.vitacost.com/BSN-Lean-Dessert-Protein-Shake-Banana-Nut-Bread?csrc=GPF-834266007028

  58. March 22, 2010 10:52 am

    the picture of you grabbing your boob just made my day. please take that in the least offensive and creepy way possible.

  59. March 22, 2010 11:32 am

    I just found your post through Sophia @ Burp and Slurp. The cookie bars look fantastic. I must find that chipotle sauce. I’m such a sucker for sauces like that!! I’ve never used the ab machines actually. And I never spend much on sports bras as I don’t have much to support LOL!

  60. From Party To Hearty permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:00 pm

    Umm I am not really a “bra” person but I don’t put that much money towards clothes lol! As for the ab machine, I would never use it. I had a personal trainer a few years ago, and we did a ton of core work. All of which did not use one crunch or sit up and I improved my core strength dramatically. I think the ab machine is for the beach body (the people who go to the gym and do sit ups and bicep curls). I just wanted to give my honest opinion though so don’t be turned off by continuing with those machines. I just feel like they do not help because first of all, they do not require any balance or stability muscles and I have a broken back so it wouldn’t help at all. I am picky about my core moves and form because of this.

  61. March 22, 2010 12:00 pm

    Coconut oil does make your food taste extra delicious. I love the stuff.

  62. March 22, 2010 12:05 pm

    I think Marshall needs to grow his hair back – I like the curly ques :D

    I think you had an awesomely healthy FREE DAY! You may not have paired things like you like, but, it was all healthy and delish!

    I am cracking up at your “handful” for your bra review – you are so funny!

    I don’t cook my oats in the jar – I always cook them FIRST in a bowl, then, pour them in the jar. I don’t like hot nut butters – bleh!

    xoxo,

    Danica

  63. lowandbhold permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    Those sports bra pictures of you are hawt! You should be a bra model ;)

    1. I have used the machines in the past, but I don’t really think they’re “all that”.
    2. If it was a really good bra I’d spend up to $30, but the ones I usually buy are around $15.

    I’ve missed you! Totally jealous of your flip floppage. My feet are hideous right now, so they must remain hidden. Need to fix that.

    Yay for BBQs!

  64. madeleine permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:26 pm

    hi janetha! i just started reading your blog and i think it’s great. i just was wondering what the rules of body for life are? thanks a lot!

    -madeleine

  65. Susan permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:48 pm

    You and Marshall are so cute! Loves it!

    Please don’t hate your freckles! I know what it’s like. I have inherited a ton of moles and freckles from my parents and I’ve finally come to terms with them and find them beautiful. It’s not easy, but it makes life so much easier loving a part of myself that I used to hate. Freckles need love too, and I think they are awesome!

    xo, Susan

  66. March 22, 2010 12:53 pm

    Hahaha poor penny. That bra definitely does flatter!! Whooo baby haha. Freckles are soooo cute by the way!! I wish mine stayed on my face. I miss them lots. Mmmm spoon licking, so good. By the way, your ring looks great in that picture! I’m a cheapo and I don’t spend more than 10 dollars on a sports bra. But then again, I have tiny boobs so the spandex ones that come 3 for $10 at Walmart do me just fine. But I do love better sports bras than those, I just get better ones when they are on sale/clearance because a college student simply can’t afford nice sports bras. But I’ve been given some really nice one’s for presents that I call my “racing” sports bras because they are good enough to wear without a shirt and really awesome designs. Have a good day!

  67. March 22, 2010 1:06 pm

    Haha…LOVED that you posted bra pictures!

  68. March 22, 2010 1:53 pm

    Ooh! Raspberry BBQ sounds pretty perfect right about now.

  69. March 22, 2010 2:30 pm

    Love the idea of that bra!! I think it would be hard to fork over $40 for it, but maybe someday when I’m rich :-)

  70. eatolive permalink
    March 22, 2010 5:58 pm

    um. i pray everyday that i’ll magically wake up with freckles. for reals. yours are gorgie!

    do you have the ab machine at your gym that you put weights on either side of the bottom “bar” (aka where your feet go) and you basically grip the bottom bar with your feet & move upwards kinda? wow, terrible explanation. but it always helps make my abbies burn. that & the decline bench (where you lay it down towards the floor, grip the top & then raise and lover your legs … holy lower abs!), plus planks & regular crunch exercises. my problem is that i tend to get bored & don’t do enough of the exercise to feel the burn the next day.

    LOVE YOU AND YOUR FRECKLES! hahah <3

  71. March 22, 2010 10:14 pm

    Oh I love your freckles!

    I’d love to buy a few of those bras. However the most I’ve spent of a sports bra is like $20 and that was a lot.

    No I am NOT a fan of ab machines. Not at all. ;-)

  72. snackface permalink
    March 23, 2010 6:08 pm

    I’m so stoked we got to stare at your breasticles on this post.

Trackbacks

  1. Precisely How To Use Pop-Up’s Effectively To Bring In A Lot More Profits! | Dan's Internet Marketing Business Blog
  2. flashback friday: marching into the past. « meals & moves
  3. Searching for a small (I live in a city apt), portable, charcoal BBQ grill. Recommendations?

Leave a comment