Skip to content

jamaica part four aka flashback friday.

February 19, 2010

HI FRIENDS!  sorry i have been so MIA lately. turns out that catching up after a week vacation, planning a wedding and trying to buy a house really take a lot of time out of my day, which, unfortunately, leaves little time for blogging. i have a feeling it will be like this for awhile, so please bear with me while i get things sorted out~ i do miss reading all your blogs SO, SO much.. but life is getting in the way of that right now. thanks for understanding :)

SO.. yes, i am pulling a deb and flashing back to just a short time ago.. back to the last part of my jamaica vacay.  tricky, tricky!

since it is already past 10 PM i am going to keep this post short-winded and photo heavy. hope you don’t mind.

where did i leave off?

wednesday, february 10.

even though the waffles at the resort were not up to par, i couldn’t let a wednesday go by without celebrating waffle wednesday in proper style ;)

2-10-10 002

one baby waffle, one slice of french toast, one pancake with PB+guava jam (so good!) and an egg white omelette.

marshall and i were off to do an excursion without any of the other people in our group.

wanna know where we were headed?

2-10-10 177

to the jungle!

wanna know why?

2-10-10 029

 

zip lines!

2-10-10 120

first we rode a 6 wheeler up into the mountains. it was a super bumpy ride!

2-10-10 1832-10-10 0052-10-10 003

once we were up to the top, we had a safety briefing regarding how to use the zip lines.  our tour guides were super hilarious and nice!

2-10-10 010

once we knew all we needed to know in order not to plummet to our deaths, we started hiking to the first zip line.

2-10-10 123 

there were five zip lines total.  we passed lots of different plants and trees~ they were all labeled accordingly which was pretty neat.

2-10-10 1802-10-10 1732-10-10 182 2-10-10 0122-10-10 013

here are some photos of the action!

 2-10-10 015 2-10-10 0252-10-10 128 2-10-10 129 2-10-10 130 2-10-10 134

in case you were wondering if i was having fun, this photo should sum it up:

 2-10-10 026

halfway through the day we stopped at a spot to have some tropical treats.  they had this post set up with the number of miles it was to different cities.

2-10-10 033

we sampled coconut water, sugar cane and pineapple.

2-10-10 148 2-10-10 0342-10-10 035 2-10-10 036 2-10-10 0372-10-10 038 2-10-10 0392-10-10 040

after the little break, we crossed a 250’ rope bridge to get to the next zip line.

2-10-10 161

then it was down two more zip lines! the looongest one was 1600 feet!

2-10-10 135   2-10-10 139 2-10-10 143

such a rad adventure. such gorgy surroundings!    2-10-10 191

after the zip line adventure we hit the road and went back to the resort where we relaxed on the beach, i finished my book. by the way, this is what i was reading:

2-10-10 080 

SUCH a good book. chelsea handler is hilarious. and yep, there is some shameless self promotion of my new ring ;)

after the beach we went to the hot tubs. they were pretty hot (duh) so  marshall decided to cool off in the cold bucket shower!

2-10-10 0832-10-10 0852-10-10 084

cutest. ever.

that evening the whole group went out to scotchie’s, a local jerk restaurant.

2-10-10 086

the menu was pretty simple..

2-10-10 088

as was the cooking area..2-10-10 093

we had a feast!

2-10-10 105

sweet potato, rice and peas, a WHOLE CHICKEN

2-10-10 098

2-10-10 099

and my favorite.. FESTIVAL!

2-10-10 096  

yummmm.

we feasted. for sure.

2-10-10 102 

great end to a great day!

thursday, february 11.

ugh. last FULL day in jamaica. so sad! we spent the day hanging out on the resort the whole day, soaking up the sun and eating lots of delicious food.2-11-10 0342-11-10 001 2-11-10 0022-11-10 006

i love this photo of the water splashing on the rocks.

2-11-10 003 

here are some photos of the iberostar resort~2-11-10 011 2-11-10 012

and i was covered in sand. 2-11-10 013 

eventually we got hungry and went to the beach BBQ. 2-11-10 016   2-11-10 021

there was a steel drum band!

2-11-10 0182-11-10 024

the only thing i ate for lunch was four of these rolls:2-11-10 025

let me tell you about these rolls. they were DELICIOUS layers of doughy heaven. i had them on the first night we arrived and then never saw them the rest of the week. i searched high and low for these damn rolls. when i saw they have them~ freshly baked and piping hot~ i took the chance to surrrrriously carb load on these bad boys. so good. i want one NOW.

2-11-10 026

this was dick! our lifeguard. loved him.2-11-10 027 

that night we went to the tepanyaki restaurant

 2-11-10 055 2-11-10 0672-11-10 087 2-11-10 097

and then we went to a beach party!

2-11-10 128 marshall had to go up and limmmmbo :)

2-11-10 123

good times. good times.

friday, february 12.

WELL. the next day was basically packing up and traveling home. boring boring.

but i did get a couple photos that i had been planning on..

the glorious cereal bar:

IMG_6773

and the huge fork and knife on the dining room wall:

IMG_6774

look how big they are in comparison to the tables!

IMG_6775

some photos in the lobby before heading to the airport~

IMG_6778 IMG_6779

and a final photo on the plane ride home… engaged <3

IMG_6786 

until next time, jamaica..

2-11-10 030

so there you have it! my jamaica vacation recap has finally come to an end! sorry this one was so long, i wanted to get it all wrapped up in one last post :)

back to normal blogging~ i wonder if i will remember how that works?!

hope you all have a great weekend, i will be back either tomorrow or sunday for some wedding shape up plans as well as other random shenanigans.

love you all.

Qs~

1. have you ever done zip lines/bungee jumping/sky diving? would you? i reallllly want to sky dive! i don’t want to bungee jump so much though.

2. where was your last vacation? where is your next one? my last one was OBV jamaica.. and my next one, well, you will have to wait and see ;)

xo. janetha b.

53 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 12:02 am

    zip lines are SO fun! i did those in costa rica and had an amazing time. oh your trip looks like an experience you’ll never forget for more reasons than one. it’s sad how excited i got looking at those rolls and the cereal bar haha

  2. Hattie permalink
    February 20, 2010 2:15 am

    Oh my gosh you have the most perfect teeth I have ever seen.

  3. February 20, 2010 3:09 am

    I did zip lines ages ago but that was it! I would love to try Sky Diving.
    My last vacay was to the French Riveira . My next one will be in about 5 weeks. We are heading to Slovenia. Its like a wanna-be Switzerland only I have been to Switzerland too many times and I feel like adding yet another European country to my list ;)

  4. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:17 am

    wooo … that zip line adventure sounds really cool, I really want to try that one day.
    last vacation? germany, next one? don’t know yet. maybe greece?
    ;)

  5. February 20, 2010 4:50 am

    I loved all your pics from your trip!! Thanks for sharing them all!!!!!

    I never zip lined, looks so fun!!! Your pic is too cute of you after ziplining!! U had some fun you can tell!!!

    Beach Party would of been fun!!!!! So cool!!! Im glad you had an AMAZING trip!!! I put MAZING in caps, cause girl the best thing ever happened to you on the trip, you got engaged to your soulmate!! I am so happy for you both, I could say it a million times!!! I just love when I hear about love stories, makes me happy!!! You both are amazing people and deserve the best!!!!

    Love ya girl!!!!!!!!!!! xoxo

  6. February 20, 2010 4:50 am

    Great ending to an amazing trip! :)

  7. February 20, 2010 5:52 am

    Girl! Looks like you had such an amazing vacation!!! I am super jealous of everything ;) zip lining looks sooo fun!
    Jenna

  8. February 20, 2010 6:02 am

    Those ziplines look so fun! Amazing vacation!

    And I have been wanting to read that book!!

    1. I have not, and I am like you- want to skydive, bungee jump not so much.

    2. My last vacation was Niagara, last summer… my next one is probably going to be the same, ha! I know my mom wants to go wine tasting with me, but Nick and I will probably not go on a vacation again until our honeymoon, LOL Unless I talk a trip to the SLC to come give you your wedding present =) hehe

    xo
    Kris

  9. hayleycepeda permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:03 am

    ZIP LINING!!! Chris and I did that in Belize in 2005…that is so much fun!! Have I told you how fantastic you look Janetha? You look amazing!! I am living vicariously through you on your Jamaica trip – it looks like it was a blast and tons of good food!! I like how you don’t deprive yourself of eating the yummy stuff (and right now I’m referring to the French toast, waffle and other goodies…because I am craving that stuff all the time right now).

    Congratulations again on your engagement and looking for a new house!!!

  10. lessonstolearn permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:13 am

    Wow! Even without an engagement, that would have been an amazing trip! You packed a lot in! I have never gone zip-lining…I would be terrified, but I would do it anyway because it looks like so much fun!

  11. Christine permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:54 am

    I bungeed in New Zealand and it was amazing!!! I would bungee again for sure.

    My last vacation was to HI for my honeymoon. And up next…PERU!!!

  12. eaternotarunner permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:02 am

    Looks like an amazing and beautiful trip!

  13. February 20, 2010 8:00 am

    wow I love your yellow sunglasses!! Stunning :)

    I would love to zipline because it looks so neat. It’d be one with nature lol. Now sky diving and bungee jumping….not so much.

    My last trip was to New York City where I went after I graduated high school.

  14. February 20, 2010 8:05 am

    Hey J- Love the flashback to a week ago- that’s what we want to see! Looks like such an amazing trip- there’s a zip line right now across down town Vancouver- which was my last trip- my next one is Cozumel in two weeks- I’m getting so pumped!

  15. February 20, 2010 8:10 am

    i’ve gone zip lining before and loved it, it was so much fun! i agree with you on the other things though… , i don’t think i’d like bungee jumping too much, but sky diving would be amazing!!!
    my last vacation was so long ago.. *sigh* it was in cozumel, mexico, and was awesome! this april however, i’m going to be going to cabo for spring break – i can’t wait! i so need a vacation!!
    it looks like you had an amazing trip!

  16. Morgan permalink
    February 20, 2010 8:12 am

    I’ve never zip lined, but I would love to. I’ve gone bungee jumping and sky diving and they were both so amazing!
    I’m sad to say I have no idea when my next vacation is. I was in L.A. in December for a wedding, so I guess that counts as my last one?

  17. February 20, 2010 8:20 am

    I LOVE ZIP LINING! I did it in Rio De Janerio in Brazil and it was aweesome! id love to go sky diving..thatd be sweeet too
    i love those tats! tat it up baby!
    what a FUN trip! this is making me want to escape somewhere tropical

  18. February 20, 2010 8:21 am

    You’ve gotta love the selection of food at these resorts. There is so much to choose from.
    I did the zip lines in St Lucia and it was a blast. My last vacation was Mexico and we’re going to the outer banks this year, much more chill place but looking forward to it.

  19. February 20, 2010 8:24 am

    Awww, this is such a cute post!! I’m eyeing those layered roll thingys…I must google them!

    I have never ziplined but I really want to!! My hometown has one of those tree/forest adventure parks that I really want to do. As for skydiving and stuff – NO WAY. I tried repelling off a rock cliff once and started to cry :\

    Last vacation was to Cuba last March, next one will be to Banff in June with miss Holly!! Can’t wait!!!!

  20. February 20, 2010 8:36 am

    Great recap :) My last vaca was to Jamaica too, and I really think our next one might be back there. I just loved it SO much!

  21. February 20, 2010 8:39 am

    I love that book! She has a new one coming out this month.
    The zip lines look like so much fun! Thanks for sharing your fun vaca with us.

  22. February 20, 2010 8:41 am

    Awesome recap! The ziplining is right up my alley, I’d LOVE it!

    I’ve been looking up all inclusive vacations to Mexico/Jamaica/Islands and nearly EVERYTHING would be $2500+ for two people for a week. I cross reference Trip Advisor for review and anything with tons of bad reviews gets crossed off my list.

    I’d absolutely love to go somewhere tropical, but it’s starting to look like it will never happen.

    :-(

  23. February 20, 2010 8:44 am

    I did ziplines in Cancun. It was a series of 12 zip lines. So much fun! They wouldn’t let us take pictures though; they were afraid that people would drop their cameras into the jungle. Poor Jason had a stomach virus while we did it, he thought he was going to throw up the entire time.

    That also answers your second question, I went to Cancun last fall. Jamaica looks more fun though!

  24. February 20, 2010 9:22 am

    whoa! You two are quite the adventerous pair eh!? Zip lining looks so fun! But I have never tried it. I think I would be too much of a chicken :P Your last few days look amazing and the food looks so good! Glad you enjoyed yourself girl :)

  25. February 20, 2010 9:26 am

    OMG the houndstooth bikini !!!!!!!!!

    At first when you said ‘jerk bar” I thought you meant like “chain bar where the douchey frat boys hang out” – lol.

    I haven’t zip lined, but I totally would. There were days a while ago when I wouldn’t but now I would pretty much do anything, and I’m not afraid of heights. I freaked doing trapeze once at Club Med but these days, yep, I’d do it!

    You two are too cute!

  26. February 20, 2010 9:47 am

    Great pix! That zip line looks really fun!!!

    I have gone skydiving once and ONCE was plenty for me. I have no interest in bungee jumping.

    My last vacation was to visit my family in Indiana. My next one will probably be to visit family in AZ or drive up to San Fran.

  27. Olga permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:10 am

    I LOVE ziplining! I did in Costa Rica and loved it so much. It was thrilling but fun :)

    My last vacation was to the Dominican Republic, which was great. My next one…I’m not sure…I don’t get legit vacation time until I work at my job for like a year so I have no clue! But somewhere tropical.

  28. February 20, 2010 12:36 pm

    LOVED all the pics! I want to go there NOW. Ziplining = the shiz. Fun stuff right there!

  29. February 20, 2010 12:47 pm

    I’ve never done zip lining but want to SO BAD. It looks like so much fun!
    My last vacation was LA and Vegas in October and my next one is LA, I leave in a week actually! Kinda weird to go to LA again so soon but my best friend lives out there and I love it!

  30. February 20, 2010 12:53 pm

    I’m so jealous of this whole vacation! It looks absolutely amazing. I’ve never tried ziplining, but my parents do every year when they go on vacation and they love it! That hot cereal bar looks like absolute HEAVEN, by the way! Have a great weekend :)

  31. February 20, 2010 1:03 pm

    I love that the beach party actually had a sign that said “Beach Party”

    Your pics are so beautiful, the water looks so blue, I am not craving jerk and I love love love Chelsea Handler (My Horizontal Life is my fave!!)

  32. February 20, 2010 1:07 pm

    Guava jam? Um, awesome!
    The zip line adventure sounds ridiculously spectacular. I did something similar in Costa Rica. Flying up above/through the jungle was so much fun!

  33. February 20, 2010 2:31 pm

    I LOVE travel recaps! My last vacation was to Belize and I am dying to go somewhere else!

  34. February 20, 2010 3:38 pm

    Zip lining is so fun. We did it in Mexico and had a blast. It looks like you did as well. :)

    The rest of your trip looked amazing. I loved seeing all the photos.

  35. February 20, 2010 4:34 pm

    hey lover! ahh I did ziplining in costa rica and it was freakin amazingggg LOVED IT! you had so much fun with your man, I love all the silly pics of you two!!

    my last vacay was about 3 days ago to mt tremblant canada!! I hope my next one is to somewhere WARM!

    happy weekend lovie!

  36. February 20, 2010 4:38 pm

    OK can I just say that my fave ever restaurants are exactly those types of Jerk Bars? My Mom and I wandered down a deserted road (dumb??) in Jamaica and stumbled upon one just like yours- best meal ever.

    No, haven’t done any of those super scary types of things- I limit my endeavors to the more mundane things like mountain biking and stuff where I’m more or less still attached to the terra firma.

    Last vacay- Banff. Next Mexico.

    Love you- can’t believe you’re getting married sooooooo soon!

  37. February 20, 2010 4:38 pm

    PS. Ha ha thanks for the link love “pulling a Deb”…I also like to call it “multi-tasking” :-)

  38. Lynn at The Actors Diet permalink
    February 20, 2010 7:25 pm

    i did zip lining in costa rica – i thought it would be a lot tamer, but it turned out to be the most extreme course in the country. i still did it, though. since my mother-in-law was doing it, i figured i couldn’t chicken out!

  39. February 20, 2010 8:00 pm

    Guava jam has to be amazing! I’ve only been on a small zipline accross a lake back home at a friend’s cabin. Your jungle excursion looks beautiful and so does that new bling!!!!

  40. February 20, 2010 8:04 pm

    I think you’re blogging will be like riding a bike. You’ll get back in the swing of things! I missed you on your Jamaica vaca!

    My school was pretty rad, and ever since middle school we took “expeditions” to bond and sh!t in the beginning of the school year, aka we did stuff like rock climb, kayak, white water raft, and zip line. It’s good times.

    My last vacation was Hawaii…if you can consider that an extended vaca? I have no idea where my next one will be, hopefully sometime this summer!

    Also, can I work for your company and go on company trips to Jamaica? I’ll work as your assistant in exchange for yoatgurt and caribbean escapes!

  41. ari permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:37 pm

    are you planning on taking down your jamaican me ready page? please don’t because i’m planning on trying it out pretty soon so i need to see your workouts! thanks :)!

  42. February 21, 2010 6:39 am

    I want to go zip lining!!!! I just love looking at these Jamaica recaps…you can tell how in love you two are and it just makes my heart happy ;)

    Limbo partay haha! Go Marshall!

  43. Susan permalink
    February 21, 2010 7:19 am

    I’m not sure I could handle sky-diving, but I want to try zip lining so bad! I’ve loved looking at all your Jamaica pictures – not just the engagement ones haha though those were by far the sweetest!

  44. February 21, 2010 7:21 am

    Jealously rages in my veins. Your vacation looked like SO much fun! I see your wasting no time at all with wedding planning. My reaction to an engagement (waiting patiently) would be the same. I can’t WAIT to be in your shoes.

    I would never do any of those things. I have a severe fear of heights!!

    My last vacation was on Outer Banks, NC. All the way down in Frisco. It was YEARS ago. I’m well overdue. THIS WILL BE THE YEAR! Damn it!

    XO

  45. Christine permalink
    February 21, 2010 10:31 am

    I love old navy flip flops lol
    ahh and i love the pic of you and Marshall on the plane ride home! so cute :)

    My last vacation was during the summer to Milwaukee/Las Vegas. My next vacation will be this summer to San Francisco (for the second time)

    :)

  46. mom permalink
    February 21, 2010 11:32 am

    gosh this may be my favorite post, the photos are so bright and nice – oh yeah that’s because you had SUNSHINE for a week – I’ve forgotten what that bright thing really is!! Yep, been zip lining all over Costa Rica – it is so much fun. The one that scared me the most was in blinding rain and 60 mile per hour wind – glad I made it down alive!! My next vacation is to Dublin wahoo (CA not Ireland!) to see the kids and grand kids!! xoxo

  47. February 21, 2010 3:40 pm

    Ahh I’m so jealous!!
    I want to go zip lining! Sounds terrifying and exciting all the same time!!

    Hopefully my next vacation will be somewhere sunny for spring break… if not… Rome! Not so much a vacation but 6 month internship!! *cross fingers*

    P.S. Your lifeguard reminds me of Billy Blanks!

  48. February 21, 2010 5:13 pm

    oh girl…you look so incredibly happy and that makes me so incredibly happy for you! i heart zip lining. i’ve been atv’ing, skydiving, zip lining, wakeboarding…you name it, i will try it.

    life has got to be SO crazy for you. never fear dear, you just do what you need to do and we will be here ready and waiting to hear all about it when you have the time. annndddd….we need to chat because i want to hear about the wedding date and the house hunting!

    love you so much! mwah!

  49. LindsayRuns permalink
    February 21, 2010 7:22 pm

    :) love all your pictures! I’ve done ziplining and skydiving, looove it!

  50. February 22, 2010 12:23 pm

    YOU AND THE BOY ARE SO CUTE!!!!!!!!!!! I am soooo jealous that you went on this trip. SUCH an amazing experience! And those hot rolls–oh my gah. Give me one now!! hahah :)

    And I actually have been zip lining too–LOVED IT!!! Sooo fun, but not too scary! I actually did it with my fam when I was in Cancun two summers ago, as a high school grad gift!!! Uhh, and I don’t think I could ever skydive. No thanks! EEK!

    LOVE U BOO!

Trackbacks

  1. jamaica goods giveaway! « meals & moves
  2. flashback friday: flashback friday. « meals & moves
  3. flashback friday: 2010. « meals & moves

Leave a comment