Skip to content

quickie.

February 3, 2010

YO!

today was a busy one.. and i am finally sitting down.. at 10:42 PM.  you can probably guess that this post is going to be weak sauce.

oh~ and my camera battery died for part of the day.. so photos are scarce.  what can ya do?

let’s see what i can show you.

breakfast was 1 cup of egg whites topped with reduced sugar ketchup.

IMG_6039

a lot of you have asked about this ketchup.  it is made by heinz and it is really  forgiving in the carbs department!

image

i think one serving has like 5 calories and 1 carb. stellar.

i also had a grapefruit on the side. i love grapefruit, straight up.  some people eat them with sugar and others even eat them with salt.  i like mine plain.

IMG_6040

you don’t even want to know how many hours it was until i ate again. work was CRAZY busy. that is what happens when you prepare to leave town for a week.

without going into detail.. i will show you my lunch. this photo should sum up the situation pretty accurately~

IMG_6043

kill me. that there in the bowl is a whole bag of steamfresh veggies~

IMG_6045

and i also had a mini chocolate protein shake because my big magic bullet cup was dirty and i had no desire to wash it.  nor the time to wash it.. so mini shake it was. i just used less almond milk and it was lots thicker.

uhhhh well~ no more food photos but i did have some protein brownie batter a la april and half of a nuts & cranberry luna this afternoon.

today was a cardio+abs day and yesterday i read something online that made me switch up my workout.

i was reading a gal’s page on fitness and i can’t, for the life of me, remember what the page address was.  but i did copy and paste it into an email. here, i will show you:

Remember, always increase your intensity, duration then frequency. I also never do the same piece of cardio equipment twice. Because of the SAID principle, or:

    Specific
    Adaptation to an
    Imposed
    Demand

The body adapts to the demands that are imposed upon it. I like to use fat as a primary fuel source by doing cardiovascular training, engaging different muscle groups as I train.

because of this “SAID principle”~ i decided to do not one, not two, but three different cardio machines today.

20 min HIIT on treadmill:

i increased the speed every minute with 4 minute intervals.  with each interval, i increased the amount of speed between each minute, going from 0.5 increase for the first interval up to 0.8 increase on the final interval.  i did a one minute all-out sprint at the end (9.2 MPH)

minute # speed MPH
0-2 5.0
2-3 6.0
3-4 6.5
4-5 7.0
5-6 7.5
6-7 6.0
7-8 6.6
8-9 7.2
9-10 7.8
10-11 6.0
11-12 6.7
12-13 7.4
13-14 8.1
14-15 6.0
15-16 6.8
16-17 7.6
17-18 8.4
18-19 9.2
19-20 5.0

20 minutes, 2.22 miles

15 min increasing resistance on elliptical:

i increased the resistance every two minutes. i broke each two minute segment into one minute pedaling forward and one minute pedaling backward.

minute # resistance direction
0-1 5 forward
1-2 5 backward
2-3 6 forward
3-4 6 backward
4-5 7 forward
5-6 7 backward
6-7 8 forward
7-8 8 backward
8-9 9 forward
9-10 9 backward
10-11 10 forward
11-12 10 backward
12-13.5 11 forward
13.5-15 11 backward

15 minutes, 2 miles

10 min steady pace on stairmill:

i was pretty worn out by the time i was done with the elliptical, so i kept my stairmill routine super simple.

minute # level orientation
0-1 7 facing front
1-2 7 facing left, step behind
2-3 7 facing back
3-4 7 facing right, step behind
4-5 7 facing front
5-6 7 facing front
6-7 7 facing left, step in front
7-8 7 facing back
8-9 7 facing right, step in front
9-10 7 facing front

i finished the workout off with 10 minutes of abs:

  • 1 min decline leg lifts+reverse crunch
  • 1 min ball crunches
  • 1 min oblique ball crunches left
  • 1 min oblique ball crunches right
  • 1 min ball plank
  • repeat above one more time through

the end. 400 calories burned in 55 minutes.

OH! look! i got fun mail from karin today :)

IMG_6052

this was a thank you gift for writing a guest post for her! how freaking sweet is she? i love the bowl~ she picked it up in japan. the sun dried tomatoes are from switzerland, where karin lives.  and i LOVE that cute card. THANKS GIRL! xo

speaking of guest posts, i pre-published and scheduled 63 guest posts. sorry, i will not be mailing each of you a thank you gift like sweet karin, but THANK YOU for all the awesome posts. you will all really love them! i am going to be posting one every few hours while i am gone~ hopefully you can all discover some fun new meals & moves as well as new blogs!

OH! katie sent me a smoothie ‘stache today :)

image

rockin’ it.

ummmm what else? oh yeah, i had some green beans and egg whites and some tillamook cheddar cheese slices for dinner. scraping the bottom of the barrel, people.

IMG_6056 IMG_6053

i busted out the summer clothes tonight so i could start packing for my trip.  i was pretty stoked when a lot of the stuff was a little big on me!  some of my swimsuit bottoms are way too big (they were larges) so i had to go to target to buy some solid bottoms to go with my patterned tops  and i was able to buy smalls. rad. i guess my challenge has paid off.  i will be taking final photos in the morning and then will do a recap post tomorrow! and for the record, target has SO many cute clothes right now! ack!

alright, this post sucked, it was random and boring. my bad! i am so dang busy!

tomorrow’s list:

  • photos
  • upper body workout
  • work 8 hours
  • spray tanning
  • pack!!!
  • grocery shop for travel goodies
  • bake more travel goodies (maple nut oaties and chia granola!)
  • mail bloggie valentine
  • find a book for the trip
  • post jamaican me bikini ready review
  • get some last minute quality time in with my dogs!!!
  • leave for the airport at 3:30 AM (friday morning)

whew. hope i can fit it all it. that’s what she said.

Qs~

1. do you switch up your cardio equipment or stick to one method/machine? i try to switch it up so i can keep my body guessing and keep my fat burning.

2. february 4th is national homemade soup day. what is your favorite soup to make? while i love to eat tomato soup the most, i think i love to make vegetable beef soup the best. ohhh or broccoli cheese.

xo. janetha b.

p.s. happy birthday to my long-time friend, melina b!

p.s.s. happy birthday to the lovely emily tomorrow!

46 Comments leave one →
  1. actorsdiet permalink
    February 3, 2010 11:32 pm

    god bless target and their cheap bathing suits!!!!

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 4, 2010 12:05 am

    i like to mix up my cardio bc i have major exercise add!! mmm homemade soup is the best, hopefully i’ll remember to make some tomorrow/have time to go buy or make my own broth! you have quite a to-do list ahead of ya, HAVE FUN in jamaica girly!

  3. February 4, 2010 12:25 am

    OMG I am so excited for guest posts and hearing about Jamaica when you get back! I hope you have an amazing time.

    And plain grapefruit is the best. I ate one every morning for the first month of BFL and anytime they’re in season, I go nuts. YUM.

  4. February 4, 2010 2:07 am

    Glad to hear that you got the package safe and sound. I was so scared that the bowl would break or something.. ;)
    I can’t wait to read your challenge recap! And see all the Jamaica photos of course. You’ll be dearly missed!!!
    I like switching up my cardio mainly because I get bored pretty easily. ;)

  5. February 4, 2010 4:09 am

    I love eating steamed veg bags, had a whole one with my lunch yesterday :)

    I usually just stick with one machine for cardio at the gym, the treadmill. Sometimes I’ll do a little bit of stair stepper though, because I like to get my heart really pumpin’

    For nat’l soup day… hmmm I love making chili, does that count as a soup??

    Have a great day love!

  6. February 4, 2010 4:10 am

    It is so nice when you try on seasonal clothes and they are too big! Woohoo! I always switch up my cardio cause I get sooooo bored. I love the elliptical, but I do the treadmill and a ton of plyos and functional training, too. I have to stay off the bike because I never work hard on it!

  7. lessonstolearn permalink
    February 4, 2010 4:45 am

    I alternate between running and using the elliptical. And on the treadmill, I play with the speed and incline.

    It’s tough to pick a foavorite soup….I usually throw in what every I have on hand. Lots of veggies and lots of beans!

  8. February 4, 2010 4:51 am

    I love this ketchup! It’s all I buy. I hate all the added sugars in ketchup, so this one is perfect. And I too eat the grapefruit straight up. No lie, I was just thinking about how I find it so odd that people douse their grapefruit in sugar. I think this fruit is super sweet as it is, if you get one that is ripe and delicious! If it needs sugar, I say its not worth eating.

    Okay love gotta run, but I always make sure I make time to say hello to you each say because well, I just love you that much! :)

  9. February 4, 2010 5:33 am

    I’ve never seen that ketchup…I’ll have to check it out. :D

    I love making vegetable soups. Moosewood Cookbook has this Gypsy Soup that’s spicy with garbanzo beans, sweet potatoes and veggies…soooo good and fun to make! :D

  10. February 4, 2010 5:34 am

    Even though I LOVE running, I do add in spin bike, ellipitcal, and stairmill. Helps balance me out!
    Girl, you sound busy “chicken with its head cut off” busy, haha. You’ll snooze on that plane.
    My favorite soup is FOR SURE my homemade white bean chicken chili. I’ll have to share the recipe soon. :)

  11. February 4, 2010 6:02 am

    Even though you’re craaaazy busy I’m still so jealous! I kind of love the pre-trip insanity and I love the feeling of getting to the airport and knowing you have a whole vacay in front of you!

    I am bad bad and always do the treadmill if I’m indoors – although I’m pretty much an outdoor only runner…oh and my fave soup to make is chili! Ok well that’s more like a stew…but still yum yum yum.

  12. February 4, 2010 6:05 am

    Thanks JB! Love YOU!!! I can’t wait to see your challenge pics. And catch up after jamaica! Have funnnnnn!!! xoxo

  13. February 4, 2010 6:43 am

    Have fun in Jamaica! :D

    I totally starred this in my reader so I can do that HIIT workout soon! LOVE.

    Have a good day love!

  14. February 4, 2010 7:06 am

    I always switch up my workouts!!! I go crazy if I don’t!!!

  15. February 4, 2010 7:34 am

    i really need to get around to trying eggs+ ketchup. sounds like a great combo I just never think about it

    have fun in jamaica!!

  16. February 4, 2010 7:35 am

    You are so close to leaving! So excited for you :) I have been trying to switch it up lately but dont have a gym membership so its tricky!

  17. February 4, 2010 7:37 am

    I’m totally going to try that ketchup.
    1) I don’t switch up my cardio as much as I would like to because I teach spin classes and I’m doing so much lifting now that I don’t have time for much else.
    2) I love to make chicken noodle soup. mmmm

  18. Susan permalink
    February 4, 2010 8:02 am

    Congrats on your challenge success and getting your buns some bikinis – I lurve Target deals!

    I’m pretty pumped to see your Jamaica pictures when you get back from your trip!

  19. February 4, 2010 8:11 am

    Yeah for getting to buy smaller sizes!!! :) :)

    I try to switch up my cardio routine, but I know I could do a better job…

    Right now, my favorite soup is homemade butternut squash soup. Love it. But usually it’s homemade tomato soup…

    I’m so excited for you!!!! Have a fabulous trip. And people are starting to talk about their Secret Valentines. It’s so much fun to follow along. I didn’t participate since things were a bit too overwhelming for me a few weeks ago, but it’s such a great idea. Just wanted to let you know that it was a great idea, and I love seeing hints to it all over blogland…

  20. February 4, 2010 8:23 am

    I learned about SAID in my personal training stuff! We learned all about what to change up, when and for how long in regards to the needs of specific clients. Interesting stuff!!

    1. I did three machines today! Elliptical, rowing machine and stepmill. I try to switch it up as often as possible. I never, never do the same thing two days in a row, and hardly even do the same thing twice in one week. I do however always do intervals on cardio machines so I don’t die of boredom.

    2. I always say chili to this question, although I think that’s more of a stew than a soup? I guess my backup would be butternut squash soup, THICK!

    Just saw your Facebook – 22 hours!! Gah!!!

  21. adrienmelaine permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:19 am

    My all time favorite soup to make is from my sister in law- it’s a vegan pea soup, but it doesn’t taste vegan- especially if you get smoked paprika for in it. heaven!

    the recipe is up on my blog incase you decide to whip it up (which I would), how many days till Jamaica?

  22. February 4, 2010 9:30 am

    Tomato soup and grilled cheese is the best!

  23. February 4, 2010 9:39 am

    I LOVE grapefruit “straight up too”!

    How exciting about your biknini bottoms…whoohoo! Great work friend!

    Sometimes I make a creamy chicken rice soup that I love. SOMETIMES because it’s LOADED with calories from tons of cream and butter.

    I don’t do much traditional cardio anymore now that I do kettlebells. Once in a while I’ll go for a run, do sprints, hike, or hop on my rowing machine. I also spar once a week in taekwondo.

  24. February 4, 2010 9:47 am

    I am definitely going to miss your posts while you are away!

  25. February 4, 2010 10:05 am

    I alternate between 4 types of ellipticals and a treadmill (my gym is hooked up, yo). Congrats on the challenge success! Have an awesome time!

  26. February 4, 2010 10:24 am

    Ahhh! You must be so excited!

    I need to switch up my cardio more. I’m usually a treadmill slave.

    YAY about National Soup Day! I just made some homemade soup, so I’m right on time :)

    HAVE FUN!

  27. February 4, 2010 10:37 am

    Grapefruit straight up! That is hardcore girl!!

    Thanks fo posting my pic!!

    Jamaica here you come!!!! So excited for you!!

    Cant wait to see all the pics!!!!

    xoxo

  28. February 4, 2010 11:00 am

    Ohmigosh. Today’s SOUP day? How coincidental, cause I just made a funkin’ rockin’ soup!! (Bastardized French onion soup)

  29. lowandbhold permalink
    February 4, 2010 11:04 am

    Ahh! I wish I didn’t know that about Target. I live 2 seconds away from one and I just grounded myself from shopping :(

    1. I get pretty habitual with the elliptical, but I TRY to switch it up. I need to try harder though.
    2. Yay! I’m having homemade soup today. I love when I unknowingingly celebrate food holidays!

    Have fun packing my dear!!

  30. louisianagrown permalink
    February 4, 2010 11:06 am

    Ahhh I’m definitely going to be checking back later today to see your before and after pictures. I’ve been waiting!

  31. February 4, 2010 11:13 am

    How’d you like the batter??

    I always change up the cardio equipment.. I get bored too easy!

  32. February 4, 2010 11:25 am

    hmm i should prob switch mine up too!
    i always stick to treadmill or running
    YAY GIRL YOU ARE GONA HAVE SO MUCH FUN ON UR TRIP
    take me with you? ill hide in your suitcase!
    u SO deserve this break/vacation
    love you J!

  33. February 4, 2010 11:40 am

    hey LURVERRRR you are just so freakin awesome I cant stand it sometimes, do you knwo that??

    I always like to switch up my cardio of choice. Sometimes run, soemtimes spin, I am not a fan of the elliptical, btu there is this elliptical at my new gym that is like an elliptical and stair stepper in one! its really cool so that will be part of my routine now!! obv LOVE the weighst too and try to keep it new and fresh everytime I lift!

    I really wish eggs filled me up. I legit can have 6 eggwhites and feel like I ate nothing. grrrr…I love them though so I do still eat lots of eggies

    fav homemade soup? my moms butternut squash and ginger soup mmmm its so good!!!

  34. February 4, 2010 11:45 am

    I can’t wait to hear your challenge recap! I sort of switch up my cardio but it’s always the same things, if that makes sense. At the gym I usually hit up the stairclimber, I run at least once a week, and a few times a week I walk my dog which I consider interval hill training. But I don’t really deviate from that, so hopefully I’m still getting the benefits you mention!

    Homemade soup…I love making vegetable soup, chili, curry soups…pretty much anything! I am a soup fiend.

  35. February 4, 2010 12:00 pm

    Don’t worry about it being a quickie- we all have busy days! Or in my case, a busy year! ;)

    I switch up my cardio fairly frequently. I hate running on the tread (but still do some times), love running outside, and like to switch it up with elliptical/stat bike, etc.

    I LOVE making chili and thick stews! Soups that stick to your bones are the best.

    Good luck getting everything done!!

    xo
    K

  36. snackface permalink
    February 4, 2010 12:17 pm

    You have no idea how pumped I am for before and after photos. You’ve been working so hard and I can’t wait to see how it’s paid off!

    Oh I am awful at switching up my cardio. It’s elliptical for me, baby! My knees get so achy because of years of cheer+dance, so running isn’t the best (despite the face I did it all summer). And the bikes…well I have very personal reasons as to why I don’t want to ride those.

    Fave soup to make is…something mamaJ makes with butternut squash, corn, red beans and red bell pepper. It is amaaazing with fresh crusty bread.

    Hope you power through your Thursday! Love you!!! xoxoxo

  37. February 4, 2010 1:17 pm

    Nice cardio work out!!
    That’s such a nice thank you gift – how stinkin’ sweet of her:)
    I typically do 2 cardio machines. I’ll do my run – do my weights – then finish it off with 10 minutes on another piece of cardio equipment. Not sure if this counts though because it’s more of a cool down.

    Whoo hoo for the clothes being bigger!

    PS – your guest post email/spreadsheet was awesome. You are so on top of things!

  38. February 4, 2010 1:56 pm

    I always do a mixture of cardio so I don’t get bored, my favorite soup has to be butternut squash and sweet potato sooooooo good! x x

  39. lindsayruns permalink
    February 4, 2010 2:33 pm

    Wow look at that list! Hope you’re in the middle of getting it all in today! I would love to check out the target, but I’m so afraid of spending money that should go to the bills :/ sooo I stay home. :) But I would love some new clothes!!!

  40. February 4, 2010 4:24 pm

    have a greeeeeeeeeeeeat trip! blogmundo is going to miss you!

  41. February 4, 2010 5:26 pm

    Oh that’s nice about the reduce sugar ketchup! Does that mean they took out the HFCS? I hope so! Have fun on your trip :)

  42. February 4, 2010 7:20 pm

    you’re almost in jamaica!!! don’t let your camera battery die there :)

  43. February 4, 2010 7:21 pm

    I got the same thing from Karin! She’s a sweetie!
    I’m going to look out for the reduced sugar ketchup! I’m a ketchup fiend!

  44. adrienmelaine permalink
    February 5, 2010 8:34 am

    I’m a fan of taking it easy when I travel- yes bring your comfort food (oats and nut butters/protein bars), but make sure to try the local food and enjoy the experience of being away- you didn’t go away to have a half ass experience- if you’re doing a lot of walking and exploring you won’t gain much, if any, weight.

    I’m trying to only do one workout a day right now and having success- I find that when I workout more I end up eating more then I need and end up gaining weight, so I’m trying this whole exercise like a normal person thing- and I love it!

  45. February 6, 2010 12:10 pm

    I wish you lived closer. I have a tree full of pink grapefruits dying to be eaten.

    Yay for your little bootay at target.

    Cardio: I mix it up. The only machine I can honestly say I love is the stepmill. Everything else I just do to mix it up, or when I’m injured. Love roping (as you know0 you better use that cool rope you got or I’m gonna come and steal it), or any plyo.

    Soup: Vitamix squash soup of any kind: Nuke a winter squash of any kind with onions if you like, or garlic. Put some water or broth in the vmix and whiz away with the nuked stuff and some spices- curry is nice. You can make it as thin or thick as you want. Then you can add in other stuff: beans, meat, whatever.

    Can’t wait to hear about your trip- you MUST eat jerk chicken or pork. Your life will never be the same. And don’t expect to taste anything like it ever again until you go back to jamaica b/c the taste is NOT in the spices, it’s in the cooking pit that they use- in the sand or however they do it.

    Soup

Trackbacks

  1. jamaica or bust. « meals & moves

Leave a comment