Skip to content

christmas+flashback.

December 27, 2009

yo!  so i guess today did not go according to plan.. i was going to spend the day relaxing and doing some blog business and whatnot.  i spent the day out and about with the boyf.  just now opening the laptop and it is after 10 PM. hah! oh well, twas a good day none the less.

i have kinda lost track of the days lately.  i am digging this whole 5 day weekend thing but i can’t tell if it is friday or saturday or sunday.  pretty sure it is saturday, right?

and i am also pretty sure i left off saying i would be back to recap christmas.. so i suppose i should get to that!

christmas day.

marshall and i woke up around 8 AM.  he is a sweetheart and made me some coffee and brought it to me while i was still in bed.  we exchanged gifts with each other at his house… pretty sure he is the raddest boy ever.  i kind of hate it when i get outdone on christmas.  i would much rather be the out-doer.  well.. marshall wins this time around.

i am not really into talking about all the stuff i got for christmas because that is weird for me.. BUT i know you are all suckers for food and fitness things so i will tell you that he did get me some new puma running shoes that i am stoked to try out! 

IMG_0695

and no, i have not worked out since wednesday.. haha.. so i have not yet tried them out ;) and he also got me a coffee bean grinder and a french press! yessss. i am so excited to taste the french press difference.

IMG_0692IMG_0693

we headed to my parents’ place for christmas festivities.   i was sporting my little girls owl PJs from target.  the benefit of being pint sized? i can wear kid-steezy pajamas in an XL and get away with it ;)

my sister whipped up an amazing breakfast casserole~

 IMG_0470

this had obrien potatoes, eggbeaters, ham, cheese, mushrooms.. hmmm other stuff? it was so dang good! and actually really healthy, i will be making this for myself sometime for sure.

i also made some english breakfast tea~

IMG_0530 IMG_0536IMG_0537

we opened gifts at my mom’s house~again, not going into the details of it all but i do want to share some of the food & fitness related gifts i got, because i know you guys will be as excited as me!

foam roller!

IMG_0409

my nieces were totally convinced that it was a giant tootsie roll when it was all wrapped up and were a little disappointed when it was just a boring old foam roller. but i was FOR SURE excited about it.

silicone muffin tins (mini + regular sized)

IMG_0401

ah yes, can’t wait to do some baking with these.

mini grater.

IMG_0500 

as you can tell.. i was overly excited about this one. i love little things! (hopefully that’s NOT what she said.)

cute/funny story time.  my mom showed all of us girls a website that creates any word you pick and it uses unique photos for the letters.. such as a photo of a hole in a fence for the letter “O” or part of a picket fence for the letter “N”.  well, she asked us each what word we would like and said she would get each of us one for christmas. 

this was a few weeks ago.  i remember telling her that i couldn’t think of any word that i really wanted and not to spend the money on it because it woud probably be a waste. i don’t recall mentioning to her that if i were to get a word it would be “balance” but i guess i must have, because christmas morning…

IMG_0422

i was in SHOCK when i saw my mom had got me a word even though i told her not to.. and even MORE shocked because it was the word “balance” and i didn’t even remember saying that to her! i thought for sure she was a mind reader!

IMG_0424

the best part about it all is the frame she found for the artwork.  it just oozes the definition of balance, don’t you agree? i love how it is all wibbly-wobbly :) it kind of almost made me cry.

something else that was worth noting is my sister made me the most awesome pillow.  i used to be obsessed with volcom (a brand).. not so much anymore, but for years upon years my sister has made me a unique gift with the volcom logo.  first it was a wooden clock, then a pillow, then a quilt, then a set of mirrors, then a garden stepping stone, then a glass jar.. i think that is all, am i missing a year? anyway.. she found some awesome purple houndstooth and made me this incredible pillow~

IMG_0394

i think homemade gifts are so much fun.  one of a kind!

it was so fun to spend the morning/early afternoon with my WHOLE family.  that is a rare occurrence!

after awhile hunger got the best of me and i snacked on leftovers from christmas eve~ more stuffed mushrooms, grape jelly meatballs, chips+guacamole and some honey baked turkey~

IMG_0670

and my mom and i played a new word game (holly you would love it!) called word on the street.

IMG_0450

super fun, highly suggested.  while we played, marshall & the kids slept the day away~

IMG_0671

we eventually made our way back to marshall’s where i blogged and then we hung out at our friends’ house the rest of the evening.   dare say it was the best christmas thus far :)

saturday.

oh, that’s today!  just wanted to recap the eats~

woke up around 10.. brewed some coffee but didn’t eat.  i cleaned myself up and eventually ate some food around 1..

IMG_0678

dear pita pit, why are you not located in the SLC?  why must i go all the way to ogden to enjoy your deliciousness?  please open a location near my house ASAP.  sincerely, janetha b.

IMG_0682

wheat pita, grilled chicken, tzatziki, feta, mushrooms, sprouts, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, olives, spinach & avocado. heaven.

IMG_0685

happy camper pita eater.

marshall got the breakfast pita.. genius!  it is like a one-up on the breakfast burrito!

IMG_0684

we shopped the day away and worked up an appetite around 7:00.. we went to the macaroni grill because marshall had a gift card.  i got the halibut:

IMG_0687

sounds good, right? looks good too:

IMG_0690

note to self: never go to macaroni grill again. it is gross. thank goodness this meal was free. the halibut was tougher than a rubber tire and had zero flavor.  for the record, marshall’s lasagna was equally as gross. the only good part about the meal was the crayons supplied to color on the table. the end.

now marshall and i are watching inglorious basterds and eating vanilla bean ice cream + pears~
IMG_0696

yum. pears are not something i would think to put on ice cream but the two paired nicely.  or should i say PEARed nicely :P haha.

***************************************************************

flashback friday saturday round eighteen.

it is kinda a given to flashback to christmases past, no? 

christmas 2005.

i lived in an apartment on my own and this was the glorious tree my mom bought for me :)

DSC02154

here i am opening the volcom mirrors~another homemade volcom gift from my siister.

Ref_DSC02290 

so stoked to get my first pod that year. which coincidentally has recently bitten the dust and this year i got a new one to replace it.Ref_DSC02292

in 2005 my sister and her family surprised us at our doorstep (on christmas eve i believe!)  they also surprised us by letting us all know they were expecting another baby.  look how tiny my nieces were back then! now they are 8 and 6 and the one she was pregnant with, sofi, is 3.

Ref_DSC02282

 

christmas 2006.

i lived with 4 other girls and we had a tree together~

xmastree 020

sad.. my last christmas spent with mable.

IMG_4354

you may recognize this in my cookie recipe photos!

IMG_4313 

clearly i was excited about this one.IMG_4266

christmas 2007.

i was in the same house in 2007 and we had a tree again.. this was the best shot i had of it though!

jessicas 075

first christmas with marshall and randy!

 IMG_0303 \

IMG_0121

and my sister & her fam from california were in town again in 2007.  wow, looks like it has been every other year that they visit for christmas! guess they better plan for 2011 :)

the number of nieces and nephews had grown~

IMG_0137

christmas 2008.

no christmas tree at my house this time around :( but still good times were had!

and apparently they were so good that nobody can locate the photos for the festivities but here are two i pulled off my sis-in-law’s blog..

i made a TON of food..

image

and it was penny’s first christmas <3

image

gee.. sure wish i had the rest of the photos from last year! hope they are somewhere.

*************************************************************

that wraps up the christmas edition of flashback friday..erm, saturday.. did you participate? let me know and i will link back.  i know that deb and tiff did!

daaaang. it is 1 AM. this girl is off to bed. lots to do tomorrow~hopefully will start making a dent in reader as well :P

hope you are all enjoying your weekend!! have a great sunday!

Qs~

1. did you get any foodie or fitness or blogging related gifts this year? what were they?

2. favorite thing to put on top of ice cream?

xo. janetha b.

53 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2009 3:35 am

    Your presents are fabulous!

    I got some new running gear, and as for the ice cream – sprinkles, caramel sauce, marshmallow, or anything peanut butter-y!

  2. December 27, 2009 3:53 am

    I love what your mom gave to you! balance is soooo important in life! :)
    favorite thing to add to ice cream? strawberries!!!

  3. December 27, 2009 5:51 am

    Glad to see you had a wonderful Christmas day my dear. I got the SAME French Press!!!! No joke! :)

    And I couldn’t agree more with you on The Macaroni Grill. The food there blows!!!! Overpriced and not good at all! :( Chain restaurants are so deceiving.

    Enjoy the rest of your holiday my love.

  4. December 27, 2009 5:54 am

    “he also got me a coffee bean grinder and a french press”–between that and the other year’s espresso maker, you can now open your own coffee shop! Seriously, cant wait to hear about your reviwes b/c I would consider that purchase if you likey it.

    The fam pics are gorg and all those blond nieces/nephs are GREAT adorable kidlets!

    I did not receive a single gift this year. Other than cards. No one sent me anything and hub and I didnt exchange gifts. So there ya have it. Nada. And I missed out on the b’sphere Secret Santa stuff??!!!! and so that was a goose egg. But, we’re in Aruba, no complaints :)

  5. December 27, 2009 6:53 am

    Wow! It seems like such a fun time. And there’s nothing sexier than seeing a guy sleeping with the puppies! :-) That pita pocket just made me hungry!

  6. December 27, 2009 6:57 am

    I love that balance picture! Also love the foam roller – I used mine every morning and night!!

  7. December 27, 2009 7:04 am

    Amazing presents! The balance picture is so cool and unique!

    I got some blates (bowl/plate hybrid) and stemless wine glasses, as well as an egg poacher!

    And I love ice cream by itself. But cookies are a darn good topping. ;)

    xo
    K

  8. Lizzy permalink
    December 27, 2009 7:07 am

    I love that Balance sign, thats soooo pretty! Where do you plan on putting it??? I can’t wait to see!!!

    I think the only foodie thing i got was a new coffee mug. hahahah does that count!?? hhehhe! :)

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  9. December 27, 2009 7:28 am

    I’m glad you had a GREAT Christmas!!!

    I got a new workout room TV and some new mugs :) I’m gonna pick up one of those foam rollers myself!

    I am putting bee pollen on my protein ice cream right now.

  10. December 27, 2009 7:34 am

    aww such great pics!
    youll have to let me know how the foam rollar is-if its worth getting one!

  11. December 27, 2009 7:43 am

    Sounds like you had a great Christmas! :) I LOVE the Balance picture! It’s perfect!

    Happy Sunday!

  12. December 27, 2009 7:44 am

    I’m jealous of that foam roller! I’ve been using a foam swimming noodle in place of one! LOL!

  13. December 27, 2009 7:55 am

    Love the french press! You look so happy and glowing – must be the delight of food gifts! I think Santa brought me ONLY food gifts this year. I must have been very, very good…

    The best thing to go on top of ice cream is MORE ice cream!

  14. traynharder23 permalink
    December 27, 2009 8:15 am

    hahha nice haul! =D i have a foam roller too! it’s be aeromat and is 36″ of HARD GOODNESS (twss).

    hmm. fitness stuff i got: runner’s world subscription, and a northface flee (SWEAT WICKING!)

  15. December 27, 2009 8:25 am

    That Balance sign from your mom is so cool! What a unique gift :) Y’alls Christmas day sounds really great, and all of your flashbacks too!

    1. Well, I got a D-SLR camera to help me with my photography hobby, but it’s also for the blog! And I got a wine opener+Pinot Noir wine glasses for the foodie/wino in me!

    2. Sprinkles!

  16. hayleycepeda permalink
    December 27, 2009 8:32 am

    Marshall = best boyfriend ever. To bring you coffee in bed is sooooo awesome. I’d die of shock if Chris ever did anything like that for me. M is a keeper!

    That picture from your mom is fantastic…my old blog is called “Searching for Balance” and a friend of mine got me one of those rock thingies that have a word on them and it says “balance” so I love that picture even more. How thoughtful that she remembered, too!! Your family is so awesome…I feel like I’m celebrating with you guys!

    I’m so with you on Pita Pit – we don’t have one here in Durham, NC either! Speaking of restaurants, I’m with you on Macaroni Grill – they closed ours down here and I can’t say I’m sorry!

    Glad you had such a wonderful holiday!

    P.S. – I like the new blog thinige you added at the top of the page…how you can skip from one post to the next. how did you do that?

  17. December 27, 2009 9:02 am

    I am SO with you about being confused as to what day it is!!! AND I love mini kitchen appliances!! I almost squealed when I saw the mini grater! How can people to get excited!?? IT’S MINI (vicarious thrills ha ha). I am getting the brand new vitamix (and paid $50extra for the platinum color lol). You look so cute in all your pictures! Have a wonderful week!!!!!

  18. December 27, 2009 9:30 am

    Pita Pit!!! Probably my favourite “fast food” place to eat ever. And a french press! You are going to love it, I promise. If you dig iced coffee, make it the night before and stick the whole press in the fridge. It’s aaaawwesome :) Love all the old photos as per usual! i can’t believe you’ve always had a tree – I never get one!

    1. Camera!! That’s part blog related :) I also got a gift certificate to a local running store.

    2. Hmm, I’m not a huuuuge ice cream eater. But I love it when I get a sundae with a cherry on top ;)

  19. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    December 27, 2009 9:57 am

    “hopefully that’s not what she said” — lol! yay foam roller! you scored big time with presents, i know what you mean about preferring to be the out-doer though ;). oh well, i guess you’ll just have to enjoy the awesome gifts aanyway! can’t wait to see what kind of muffin creations you concoct!

  20. December 27, 2009 10:04 am

    Look at all the foodie gifts you got! Love it. Ahhh I need a foam roller as well. Enjoy :)
    You and Marshall are way too cute together, btw!
    Love the flashback pictures, as always.

    1. My mom got me a bunch of Pampered Chef tools, like a Julienne, a zester, an orange peeler, and a few other stocking stuffers:)

    2. Chocolate syrup!

  21. December 27, 2009 10:53 am

    Christmas looks great!
    Pears and ice cream sound interesting!

  22. December 27, 2009 10:55 am

    Awww what a wonderful family holiday you had :-) I’m glad you had such a fun time. Love all your foodie/exercise gifts! I love how you look so excited over them – especially the foam roller! Like a little kid ;-)

    1. I got a gift card to Nike Town, crockpot, waffle maker, and a recipe binder!

    2.Chocolate syrup and crushed oreos!

  23. julie permalink
    December 27, 2009 12:40 pm

    awww girl your moms present made me want to cry! i neeeed to know where she got that from. looks like you had a wonderous day!

    lots of love!!

  24. December 27, 2009 1:37 pm

    i love the owl pajamas! i totally snag lil kid clothes when i love em, too. one of the few perks to being little.

    it looks like you and the fam had a great holiday!

    1. i got a jillian michaels workout dvd, but nothing else very food/fitness related

    2. i like berries of any kind. and oreos. and peanut butter sauce. DUH. (actually, a baller semi-healthy sundae is strawberry ice cream+strawbs+naners+(whip)+nuts. knocks my socks off every time!)

  25. December 27, 2009 2:40 pm

    janetha bean…MERRY BELATED CHRISTMAS! i love the flashback, the food, the kiddos, the everythang! annndddd…i think i forgot to tell you how amazing you and your family are for buying all that food and dropped it off at a needy family’s house. that is such a good idea…and one i am definitely keeping in mind :)

    just got back from the mall where i saw a PLETHORA (yes, PLETHORA) of houndstooth clothing. if it wasn’t for the fact i was chatting with my mom, carrying coffee and had 4 bags in my hand (oops!), you know i would have been TMing you like mad.

    lotsa love!

    (1) welll…i did get the cutest teapot from my friend and my rents’ gave me money, which is going towards new running shoes!

    (2) fave ice cream topping…gah, this is WAY too hard. i think i am going to go with strawberries or crushed cookies (like oreos). gah, i want some now!

  26. December 27, 2009 3:03 pm

    That word photo thing is really cool. Where are you going to hang it up?

    1. I got onion goggles. They rock. I hate cutting onions.

    2. I like to put cereal on ice cream.

  27. marisa permalink
    December 27, 2009 3:07 pm

    The other volcom thing was the flower pot. I think I’m out of ideas. :) And maybe we can come in 2011 when we thaw out from this trip…but it has been fun! See you in a few.

  28. December 27, 2009 3:30 pm

    Hey hey! Looks like you had a FABULOUS Christmas! I just love both foodie and healthy gifts! And you got some GOOD stuff. Let me know how you like your new foam roller (I really need to get one for both Josh and I). You know I <3 all the puppers pictures :) We are MASSIVE pita pit fans over here. So good. We have one in Charleston and had one at Penn State (where we went to college). Nothing but lurve :) Happy Sunday (it…is…Sunday, right?) haha

  29. December 27, 2009 3:42 pm

    aw you are adorable opening your gifties. i love hot fudge on my sundaes. it’s been a while since i’ve found a place that will put it on HOT though.

  30. December 27, 2009 4:50 pm

    hey honey bunny! LOVE that balance sign, I am obsessed and like you said it screams the defition, the way the letters are off ‘balance’ andwobbly but so beautiful! I love creative gifts like this!

    love the flash back pics!

    favorite thing on top of ice cream is granola, frozen blueberries or crushed up cookies (like oreos!) mmmm I will pretyt much eat anything you put on top of it though :)

    that grilled halibut atop the risotto looks amazing!!! I love dishes that are bursting with color like this, it usually means they are bursting with flavor as well, right?!

    xoxox LOVE YOUR GIFTS!!! merry xmas, my dear!

  31. December 27, 2009 5:34 pm

    I’m the same way in regards to presents. I love being the “show stopper” and giving the best gifts. I’m such an attention whore ;) but, needless to say — I don’t hate the fact that Gingie outdid me this year. Lovin’ my swaggie! and yours!!! Marshall is such a treasure, babe, and you deserve each and everything you get! Love you!

    p.s. your last epic comment made me smile like cray cray! You are such a genuine person, J, and it’s such a gift to know you!! *muah!*

  32. December 27, 2009 5:51 pm

    I got a Biggest Loser workout DVD and was definitely STOKED as well. :D

    Favorite thing on ice cream: almond butta. Mmmmm

  33. louisianagrown permalink
    December 27, 2009 8:09 pm

    I feel like all I got was foodie and fitness gifts this year. No complaints though! My family knows me soooo well.

  34. December 28, 2009 5:51 am

    Love your balance sign! What a thoughtful gift of your mum!
    I got a box full of foodie stuff from my sister. So good! :)
    Favourite ice cream topping is chocolate sauce. I’m very old fashioned, hehe.

  35. December 28, 2009 6:19 am

    Hey girl! Merry late Christmas! Dreading work this a.m….boooooo! Looks like you had a grand ol time :) I hope you make that breakfast casserole again soon so I can pounce on that recipe. Yum!

    My little bro is always raving about the Pita Pit and I promised him that I would head up to Ogden and try it out with him in the next few weeks when he gets back to school. Did you know they have a nutrition calculator online? Rad.

    You’ll have to tell me more about that board game. Games are my fave and we got SIX new ones for Christmas, but only had time to play one–In a Pickle. Have you heard of it? Fun Fun.

    Dustin got me an elliptical trainer and my bro got me a Gordon Ramsey cookbook with all these amazing healthy recipes. I think I tabbed like half the pages! xoxo

  36. December 28, 2009 7:58 am

    WORD. That word is da bomb, yo.

  37. December 28, 2009 8:09 am

    aw yay looks like you had the most amazing christmas!!! so funny he got you PUMA shoes!!! poor puma shirt :( oh memories of san fran! and i love that you got a french press. no joke, since i’ve bought one i put my coffee maker in the cabinet. i french press my coffee every single morning now and i’m so in love!

  38. marie permalink
    December 28, 2009 8:10 am

    It looks like you had a great Christmas–glad to see that! I know what you mean about rockin’ the girls’ clothes; a large portion of my wardrobe is a size 16/xl from the Target girls’ section.

    I got a foam roller, too! I also got Wii Fit Plus, 2 new cookbooks, and the Wii active life game. I guess I was a pretty good girl this year.

    And I love, love, love Nutella with ice cream…or bananas… or graham crackers… or straight from the spoon. Those pears, however, look great, so I’ll have to try tputting some on ice cream… and then drizzling Nutella on them. ;-)

  39. Sweet and Fit permalink
    December 28, 2009 9:32 am

    omgosh girl! great post!

    I love all your gifts – the sneakers, and the foodie gifts too! your mom is so sweet – love the balance =)

    1. I got a cupcake themed gift from my cousin with a cookbook a baking mix and other cute little things

    2. favorite thing to put on top of ice-cream?? well, more ice-cream of course! haha, I guess bananas, or espresso chips

    I really want to do a flashback friday sometime soon…looks like you had an amazing holiday, hope you are doing well!

  40. lowandbhold permalink
    December 28, 2009 2:08 pm

    Oooh great gifts! Loooove that word/picture thingy. So creative and pretty.

    1. I got a new camera for food blogging purposes and a veg cookbook :)
    2. toffee

  41. lowandbhold permalink
    December 28, 2009 2:08 pm

    Oh and look out, I have a flashback friday post set up for next Friday when I’m on vacation :)

  42. December 28, 2009 2:31 pm

    Totally agree about Macaroni Grill. I can almost do no corporate “fancy” food anymore because I’m such a foodie!

    Pita Pit on the other hand… nom nom. :)

  43. December 28, 2009 3:33 pm

    Janetha,
    At least you have a Pita Pit nearby. After yesterday’s Pita Jungle Experience, I am dying for any kind of pita place to open up in Nashville. So good!

    Favorite ice-cream topping: nuts. :)

    You scored as far as Christmas gifts go. My favorite was the Balance. I love that!

    That picture of Penny and Marshall is priceless.

  44. December 28, 2009 4:41 pm

    That mini grater is so presh!

    My favorite ice cream topping is hot fudge. Real hot fudge. I have it about once a year (if that) but man is it worth it.

  45. December 28, 2009 9:50 pm

    Ahh pita pit is the bestt!!! My school’s campus actually has one–so i always have to get it whenever i’m needing a hummus/pita/veggie fixx. i NEED to try it with some tzatziki next time, though!! I’m newly obsessed (ever since eating med. food out last week ahhh so good mixed with salsa too! does that sound weird??–nahh!!)

    But hmm…
    1. YES! Adorable anthropology bowls and a vegan cook book :)
    2. CRUSHED GRAHAM CRACKERS. ’nuff said!

  46. Natalie permalink
    December 29, 2009 7:12 am

    Janetha – I love your blog and would LOVE to know where your mom got the “balance” pictutre. That would be the perfect gift for my boyfriend’s parents! (with their last name, of course!)

  47. December 29, 2009 12:29 pm

    I have been dying to try the Pita Pit!
    looove the home-made gifts and “Balance” art! gorgeous!
    wishing you, belatedly, a merry christmas!

  48. snackface permalink
    December 29, 2009 1:45 pm

    Of course Marshall is the raddest boy ever! You guys are so frickin adorable I can’t stand it.

    I have dresses and shorts from the little girls’ department! The shorts probably don’t fit anymore. My ass has grown :)

    Moms really are mind readers. Which is why they’re so amazing.

    BALANCE! This is so tough for me. Not now, but when I get back into school. What a fabulous reminder.

    Pita Pit will always equal my freshman year of college. I had that shiii delivered to my dorm room. Classssy.

    I’m not exaggerating when I say I have tears rolling because of the Mable picture. I can’t even imagine.

    Foodie related gifts!! Microwave, pots and baking sheets! I was so happy!

  49. December 29, 2009 8:12 pm

    Wow you got so many great gifts. I’m impressed.

    Oh I can relate to your last Christmas with Mabel. We had our last New Years with Charlotte where we all had a group hug, knowing it was our last together. Sad.

    I think I need to go to the same Spinning class that all of your friends do -wow them’s some LEGS!!

    Penny’s little hand on Marshall’s chin just kills me- I die.

    I hope that you give your foam roller more love than I’ve given mine- bad, bad over exerciser, me!! :-(

  50. December 29, 2009 8:14 pm

    Sorry, it’s Mable Mable!!

    Also loved the Balance gift- very very cool!

  51. January 1, 2010 10:58 pm

    That mini-grater is so cute!

    I didn’t get any fitness related stuff for Christmas. However I did go to a Lady Footlocker outlet and buy myself some workout wear and….PUMAS!!! They aren’t running shoes they are the old skool flat looking ones. I’ve been wanting some for lifting.

Trackbacks

  1. the end. « meals & moves
  2. flashback friday: flashback friday. « meals & moves

Leave a comment