Skip to content

i fail.

November 5, 2009

holler! i am in california enjoying some time with my MOM, my sister and her husband and my three cute nieces.

so guess what? HUGE fail on my part. i forgot my camera. umm.. ok, janetha, you are going to a FOOD BLOGGER FESTIVAL and you forget your camera? you are crazy!  granted, it was 5 in the morning when i left and i was working off less than four hours of sleep.. but COME ON.

lucky for me.. my mom brought along a point & shoot camera AND an SLR camera!! yeeeeeah. so she is a big lifesaver and is letting me borrow her point & shoot :) thanks mom!

so i hope you all enjoyed miss averie’s guest post! she is the bomb dot com and you should all check out her blog. now.

i don’t have a lot of time for posting but i wanted to give you a briefing of my first day here in cali because there were some yumtastic meals.. and not a lot of moves.. ha. vacation mode ;)

i had some starbucks oatmeal on the airplane.. eh, oats are no bueno without protein powder i decided. but i did stir in some justin’s maple almond butter.

IMG_0685

i also had an americano on the shuttle to the BART..good thing i had it in an approved beverage container!!

IMG_0689 IMG_0688

oh, funny story. our flight came in early so we decided to save my sister a trip to the airport and ride the BART (bay area rapid transit) to her house. welllll you see, we ended up getting on the wrong line, since we weren’t paying attention, missed our transfer stop.. long story short we ended up in dublin TWO HOURS after our flight landed. umm.. that is longer than the flight from SLC to oakland! ha. glad we made it finally.

before we did anything.. we went straight to trader joe’s.. did not pass go, did not collect $200, but we did collect a lot of good groceries!

IMG_0699

daaaang girl look at all that hummus! heaven in the refrigerated section.

IMG_0701

i loved the fact that i got to stock up on perishables which i usually never get to do since i can’t take all that on the plane home.

here is the haul!!

IMG_0703

wheat & flax crackers, honey crunch cereal, gorgonzola crackers (my new addiction!), UVAB, beefless strips (thanks to anne), greek yogurt (plain & pom), raw almond butter, sprouts, 3 layer hummus

IMG_0704

baby spinach, mushrooms, chicken, broccoli & cauliflower, hummus quartet, cinnamon swirl bread, coffee, whole wheat pitas, avocado, turkey bacon, chicken sausage, some gnar peppers my sister picked up

IMG_0706

and my mom got advent calendars for the grandkids, dark chocolate sea salt & turbanido sugar almonds, abc crackers, dried blueberries & lunas

yes!

got right to work and made everyone lunch with the whole wheat pitas, two types of hummus, spinach, sprouts, mushrooms, avocado and chicken. glorious! susan, you would be proud. although my pita wrapping skills are sub par and they were a bit crumbly!

IMG_0712 IMG_0713

we shopped the day away and had some fun hang time and eventually i started making dinner.  well, i had 3 little helpers!

 

IMG_0740 IMG_0739

 

i made rachael ray’s sloppy buffalo joes which had copious amounts of frank’s red hot and served as a vehicle for mounds of blue cheese. divine recipe! you can check it out here

IMG_0768

added some spinach and sprouts to the sloppiness of it all and served it up with some green beans.  dinner was incredible!

IMG_0772

after dinner my mom and sister whipped up some of my mom’s granola.  she claims she used to make it all the time when we were kids but i don’t recall ever eating it.. hmm.. although it DOES have raisins.. so maybe i just never tried it. or i just have a horrible memory!

IMG_0775

IMG_0784 IMG_0788

i read them the recipe and they threw it all together. aside from the raisins, this granola was dank. and i know a lot of you adore those wrinkly old things so you would probably enjoy this.

the recipe:

  • 7 c old fashioned oats
  • 2.5 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 c sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 c sesame seeds
  • 1 c raisins
  • 1 c coconut
  • 1 c chopped nuts (we used almonds)
  • 1 c nonfat dry milk

mix above ingredients. then blend these ones in a blender:

  • 1 c oil
  • 1 TB salt
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c honey
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1.5 tsp maple flavoring

pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix real well. pour granola into two 13×9 baking pans. bake at 250 degrees [f] for 45 minutes, stirring every 15.

voila! makes 5 quarts. and home made is always better than store bought, no?

so as you can see i had a lot to talk about so i thought i better throw a little something together and say hello to you all :)

on the agenda for thursday? well i made breakfast this morning (french toast!), H&M (looove and we don’t have them in SLC), pedicures with the la la ladies, greek restaurant for dinner! yes. and lots of family fun. love.

foodbuzz fest tomorrow!

stay tuned for more guest post love later tonight :)

happy doughnut appreciation day!

Qs~

1. favorite kind of doughnut? i don’t really even like donuts that much. but if i had to pick.. plain glazed twists.

2. in honor of thirsty thursday.. what is your favorite beverage ever?? it is a tie between water and coffee!!

xo. janetha b.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. elise permalink
    November 5, 2009 1:40 pm

    holy hummus!!!!!!!!!!!!!! loves.

    i CANT believe you forgot your camera!!!!!! thank goodness your momz came to the rescue.

    have an amazing time :)

  2. November 5, 2009 1:41 pm

    AHHHH looks like you are going to have a fantastical time! Thank God for the momz and her camera rescuing so we can see it all!

  3. November 5, 2009 1:43 pm

    1. strawberry glazed with sprinkles
    2. water and champagne

    have a great time at the festival!

  4. November 5, 2009 1:51 pm

    Whooohoo! Look at all your loot!

    1. Cake donuts
    2. Water, coffee and milk

  5. November 5, 2009 1:57 pm

    Glad you made it sweetie, even without your camera. But you still got great pics even sportin’ the new camera. Love the TJ’s loot and the granola and family time action. How fun!!!!
    Thanks again for asking me to do a guest post for you :)

    xoxo

  6. November 5, 2009 2:02 pm

    Cali looks so fun!!
    I love TJs, but you already knew that ;)

    Donuts? Not a huge fan. But Boston Creme are quite delicious once every 10 years.

    And fave drinks ever? Red wine. And Tea. Thats about it =)

  7. November 5, 2009 2:02 pm

    i dont like doughnuts either but i am seriously in trouble when someone sets entenmann’s milk chocolate ones in front of me. like SERIOUSLY in trouble.

    have fun in san fran!!! :)

  8. November 5, 2009 2:10 pm

    I’m glad your Mom had a camra for you to use!

    I’m super jealous of your Trader Joes trip! We are driving to see my family in Chicago for Thanksgiving! I already told my Mom that we HAVE to go there!

    I’m not really a huge donut fan. If I had to pick I would say chocolate cake donuts are my favorite.

    My favorite drink ever is wine. All kinds!

  9. November 5, 2009 2:43 pm

    Ha, your camera is like the ONE thing you’d want when you’re a food blogger going to a food festival! :P It’s okay, I forgot my wallet when Chris and I went to Cuba last year. I mean, why couldn’t we forget toothbrushes like everyone else?

    Yay pitas!! They look wooonderful. Sometimes the tastiest ones are the ones that crumble. A little paper towel reenforcement at the bottom helps too ;)

    1. I’m not a big donut person ever. Although, I will totally splurge on a bakery-fresh sugar donut.

    2.Water. Besides my one mug of coffee in the morning, I don’t drink anything else.

    Have a blastyblast!!!

  10. November 5, 2009 2:50 pm

    That turkey bacon is the best! I just found some in my freezer that I forgot about and I got a little excited :-)

    Umm I hate to admit this, but I love fresh doughnuts! I only eat them like once a year…maybe? But my favorite is maple iced.

    Favorite beverage…I think I’ll have to go with tea. I’m a fiend…although a good glass of white wine is a rare treat!

  11. November 5, 2009 3:00 pm

    oh mamas — what would we do without ’em?? give yours a hug for me ’cause I am thrilled that you got your hands on a camera — It’s always such a pleasure to see trader joe’s, and your food.. oh, and your face kind of makes my happy too :)

    love you J! have fun in Cali!!! get a tan for me — lord knows I ain’t over here on the east coast.

  12. November 5, 2009 3:01 pm

    Woo woo! Mom’s to the rescue!!!!! Have an amaaaazing time- so excited for you! I had the Starbucks oatmeal when I was at the airport flying back…with a pack of Jay Robb added. Good times :D

    Donuts- dude, you need to come to the UK. We have amazing ones that are filled with custard (don’t think you have the same stuff in the US- like the yellow part of boston cream pie, apparently) and topped with what we call fudge, but is more like toffee flavoured chocolate frosting. DELISH!

    Beverage…tough call. Diet cream soda or coffee. If I HAD to pick just one, I’d go with coffee.

    Have fun!

  13. November 5, 2009 3:23 pm

    I love seeing you with your family! Sounds like you are having a GREAT time… :)

    Have a blast at Foodbuzz! I’m still very sad that I can’t go…. :(

  14. November 5, 2009 3:28 pm

    yay Foodbuzz! I’m in Los Angeles so I’m flying in tomorrow morning. Can’t wait.

    Love all of the Trader Joe’s stuff. Beautiful!

  15. November 5, 2009 3:29 pm

    LOVE TRADER JOE’S! Glad you got to stock up on some goodies! I’m looking forward to a TJ run when I go home this Christmas!

  16. lowandbhold permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:39 pm

    Have fun at the festival! I’m soooo jealous!

    Sometimes people just forget the most obvious things. I forgot bras once. Pretty awkward.

    Glad it all worked out :)

    1. Glazed or chocolate covered.

    2. Water, coffee or beer. All 3 have their qualities.

  17. November 5, 2009 3:43 pm

    AW such a fun vacay!!! I can’t believe u don’t have a TJ’s, what tragedy!! But that’s awesome u got to hit it up, and you got allll the goodiez too! Have fun this weekend girlie!

  18. November 5, 2009 3:58 pm

    That’s a George N Wheezy sloppy joe- movin’ on up! Who ever heard of a s.j. with blue cheese!! Brilliant.

    1. Choc glazed

    2. Diet coke (booo, hisssss)

  19. Katharina permalink
    November 5, 2009 4:43 pm

    Glad you had a safe trip! And you’re lucky to be enjoying some quality time with your family :) Oh and I think the TJ’s in Cali are the kings of all TJ’s.

    1. Funny because I saw this on the news today and I thought of you and how you know all the holidays ever. Hm.. I don’t really like doughnuts but if I had to choose one it’d be cinnamon & sugar.

    2. White russians!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  20. traynharder23 permalink
    November 5, 2009 4:56 pm

    plain chocolate cake, or old fashioned chocolate.

    water. that or fresca.

  21. November 5, 2009 4:58 pm

    I just want to roll around in all your TJs goodies! Is that weird? Hmmmm..

    Have a great time! I am SOOOO jealous!

  22. Megan permalink
    November 5, 2009 5:10 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE trader joe’s!! love all your purchases too!! And eww.. I’m definitely not a fan of raisins either! But your mom’s granola does sound really good!!

    1. Hm.. I’m not a huge donut person either but I’d have to with a chocolate glazed donut!

    2. Unsweetened passion iced tea from Starbucks!! With lemon juice + splenda. SO good :)

  23. November 5, 2009 5:33 pm

    So much good food! Yum!
    Favorite beverage is tough — I MOSTLY drink water, but my vices are diet coke (2x month!) and coffee (a few days a week!).

  24. November 5, 2009 5:37 pm

    That is most deff the TJ’s in Dublin, correct? At first I was like hmmm that looks familiar. Then I was like OH YEAH! Your sis is in Dublin! Sweet :-)

  25. November 5, 2009 5:38 pm

    Oh and uh hello?! I can’t believe I was just dumb enough not to wish you a fun time tomorrow!! And thank you to miss mommy meals & moves for her cam-cam :-)

  26. November 5, 2009 6:17 pm

    Yay you made it!

    Yay you made it to Trader Joes!!

    Hell YAy for all of the AWESOME buys you scored.

    And….one last big YAY for the Sloppy Buffalo Joes. This is one of my favorite recipes by her.

    Have an awesome time in Cali! :)

  27. November 5, 2009 6:27 pm

    Haha, mom to the rescue! I love that maple almond butter, too–and all your TJ’s goodies!

    1) mmm, I think apple cider glazed donuts

    2) Coffee!

    Have a super fun time in Cali :D

  28. November 5, 2009 7:37 pm

    Hope you’re having a fantastic time! That is some amazing TJ’s loot :)

    1. favorite kind of doughnut? plain glazed. me too :)

    2. in honor of thirsty thursday.. what is your favorite beverage ever?? water!

  29. BroccoliHut permalink
    November 5, 2009 9:41 pm

    Hm sounds like I am missing out by not putting protein powder in my oats!
    NICE TJ’s selections! I spy raw almond butter…

  30. November 5, 2009 10:37 pm

    hey gorgeous!! i eat the exact same Greek yogurt as you do! :D

  31. November 5, 2009 10:40 pm

    Plain glazed were always my fave but they had to be fresh and soft and fluffy. When I was pregnant, I craved powdered with chocolate milk. If they weren’t soft I wouldn’t eat ’em, no joke.

  32. Emily permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:41 pm

    1. I hate doughnuts

    2. diet coke!

    I am so excited to meet you this weekend!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  33. November 5, 2009 11:27 pm

    OMG – I almost licked the screen when I got closer to read the Gogonzola cracker label. YUMMMMMERS. Those would be muy dangerous in my house.

    Can your mom be my mom too? :)

    Can’t wait to hear about the rest of your wild Foodie weekend!

  34. November 6, 2009 6:00 am

    Have a great weekend!
    Isn’t it funny how moms “claim” to have made something when we were little but somehow we don’t remember it?!!?! Hmmmmm?
    1. Fave doughnut. I don’t eat them anymore, but when I did it was Krispy Kreme chocolate covered cream filled.
    2. Fave drink? Healthy answer-water. Not so healthy. BEER!

  35. November 6, 2009 6:08 am

    Trader JOOOOOOOEEES!!!! I always think to myself ” Would it still be that cool if we actually had one here?” Um, hells yeah, and I would be there all. the. time. Duh.

    Oh miss J, you know how I feel about doughnuts!! Maple bars are my favorite. But have you ever heard of beyond glaze? I would eat anything almost from there!

    green tea. yeah, you knew that too.

    Have a fabulous trip! Miss ya! xoxo

  36. November 6, 2009 6:48 am

    It looks like you are having a blast! Hope the rest of your trip is just awesome!

  37. November 6, 2009 7:03 am

    Glad you made it there safe and HELL YES for Trader Joe’s!! You did me proud girl.

    1. Maple glazed. Heaven.
    2. Tie between wine, coffee, and water ;) And, if I’m being honest, diet soda.

  38. julie permalink
    November 6, 2009 7:33 am

    TRADER JOES!!!! insert Superman themed music here haha.

    Dude you FORGOT your camera. That’s what Mom’s are for. enter Superman music again haha

  39. November 6, 2009 7:55 am

    Went to Trader Joe’s for the first time last Sat. and I’m ready to GO BACK. This time with a cooler! I was stuck having to buy non perishables only. NEVER AGAIN!

    Oh man, donuts! Haven’t had one in ages. I love plain glazed. I used to make my own donut bites when I cared less about what I ate. So easy! Pillsbury biscuit dough, rolled into small balls, deep fried and then tossed in cinnamon sugar. I’m having a hear attack just thinking about it. I USED TO BE SO BAD!

    My fave drink is coffee. Hands down! Sweet wines are a close second though.

    Have fun on your trip lady!

  40. November 6, 2009 12:47 pm

    Ok Janetha…this is VERY important. You said you accidentally ended up in Dublin. I live right around there. Did you go to the Trader Joe’s RIGHT by the BART station? Because it looks like the same one (although I know most look the same). I freaked out when I saw that!

    I hope you are having sooooo much fun, and I can’t wait to hear more!!

  41. snackface permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:54 pm

    Ahhh!!! The mere mention of the BART had me aww-ing. I miss my city!!!

    Excellent TJ’s loot. Perfection. Those flax crackers are delicious, as is the triple layer hummus AND the almond butter. But you already know that I love them.

    Hmmm I can’t remember the last time I had a donut. Wait. Had a bit or two of some in SF. But I’d say chocolate-glazed, custard-filled eclairs. SOOO good.

    And drank…coffee in the morning, Blue Moon at night.

    Have an amazing, amazing weekend. Can’t wait to read all about it! Love youuu.

  42. November 7, 2009 4:45 am

    hope you are having so much fun at foodbuzz.

    your blog is so REFRESH, gurl. me love

    HUGS

Trackbacks

  1. the end. « meals & moves

Leave a comment