Skip to content

good things come in threes.

September 22, 2009

hi guys!

so, what the balls? my humungo recap did not show up in google reader. go figure.  part of me thinks it is because at the beginning of the post i showed you all how i shunned the reader by clicking “mark all as read” but the other part of me wants to think that maybe my post was just too amazing and had it shown up in the reader it would have broken your computer due to utter and complete stellarness. yeah, i think that is it. so in case you missed it.. you can check out my seattle recap here (but make sure you have nothing on your agenda for about 37 minutes because that post is longer than randy the basset hound).

anyway. happy birthday to my brother in law eric! 22 is my favorite number and ice cream is my favorite food (today is national ice cream cone day) so today was DEFINITELY a good day to be born!

i am rather excited to do a typical meals & moves post tonight!

but first i want to talk about three reasons i love my fellow bloggettes!

reason 1:

meals 495

fabulous package from miss everythingtarian! with a classy note to match, homegirl knows how to busta rhyme..

meals 493

holly, you are my sista from another mista. how did you know i was in dire need of turntables socks?! thank you from the bottom of my little heart! <3

reason 2:

9-20-09 020

holy chia seeds batman! averie, thank you so much!! i was super stoked to win your giveaway. i had been searching high and low for chia seeds and now the search is over! i can’t wait to start putting these seedy fellows to use.. maybe i can sprout marshall some hair? i mean, his hairline is receding.. cha cha cha chia pet! thanks averie! xo

reason 3:

9-20-09 018

*insert trumpets blaring here* glory! i have searched for mighty maple in every. single. grocery. store. ever. and never found it. BUT my girl emily spotted it on the shelves of our whole foods and sent me an alert! good lookin out my dear! i went straight to WF and purchased some!! yayer!

and that, my friends, is why food blogging wins at life. my life specifically.

want to know what else wins at life? selling my car. yep! found a buyer! they are going to do the financing tomorrow and all the business mumbo jumbo, i am stoked! a big thanks to my mom for helping me show it/sell it to interested folks!

whew, i am on excitement overload.

onto the tuesday recap! today was a day of favorites that i have missed while i was out of town. yes, that means the staples: protein oats, humungo salads with cottage cheese and greek yogurt messes. *insert sigh of relief*

i love the fact that i love clean eats!

meals_thumb

so this morning i knew it was going to be a rough one when i got three phone calls before even going into the office. ugh. i KNEW my oatmeal was going to be postponed :( i got to work at 9 but did not get to eat until 10:30! eep.

meal 1: protein oats with the mightiest of the maple! @ 10:30 AM

meals 485

i may or may not have had a few licks of the mighty maple while my oats cooked. holy yum! it was all i had hoped for. i LOVE maple flavor and obv i LOVE peanut butter flavor so it just felt so right when entering my mouth (TWSS). instant mighty maple fan! i can’t wait to try this on protein pancakes!

meals 488

instead of stirring the PB into the oats, i kept it in a chunk and ate little bites of it with each bite of oatmeal. it was fabulous.

i chugged my water all afternoon, i haven’t mentioned this yet but i am having a hard time getting all the yuck feeling from saturday’s greasy food out of my system.  i have felt really gross, had a BAD headache and just haven’t felt up to my full potential.  ugh. i hoped chugging water would help but i still felt blah all day.

meal 2: amazing salad @ 2:00 PM

meals 491

okay! hold the phone, i have found a new favorite combo. TJ’s peach salsa mixed with cottage cheese.  i didn’t document my eats yesterday but i ate this on its own and it was epic! so i had to do it again today and throw it on top of my salad.  no, it does not beat my garbanzo/cottage cheese/ranch combo but it is a nice little tasty new treat!  so this salad had:

  • spinach
  • alfalfa sprouts
  • grilled chicken (i grilled it with cumin)
  • mushrooms
  • red peppers
  • avocado
  • annie’s honey mustard
  • cottage cheese+TJ’s peach salsa

meals 492

this was really good! i am sure lots of you have tried mixing cottage cheese with salsa before, but i never have. it is brilliant! and the peach salsa paired fabulously with the honey mustard.  i do NOT like my cottage cheese sweet.. as in mixed with yogurt, fruit, etc. but i DID like it paired with the peach salsa, it was a savory/spicy/sweet flavor. definitely a wonderful salad. i missed my veggies!

since i had a late lunch i didn’t have time for a snack before my workout.. it was straight to the gym after work!

moves_thumb

HIIT day on the treadmill! i was feeling like i was going to fail miserably at HIIT because of the barfy feeling i had lingering.. plus i felt like i had a cold coming on (knock on wood) or it was just remnants of a crappy chain of eats. who knows. but i busted out my HIIT anyway. i didn’t have my HR monitor and i was bummed about that because i would like to know what i maxed out at, i hit a new personal best for speed with incline!

incline=0

  • 2 min @ 6 mph
  • 1 min @ 6.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 7 mph
  • 1 min @ 7.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 8 mph

incline=0.5

  • 1 min @ 6.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 7 mph
  • 1 min @ 7.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 8 mph

incline=1.0

  • 1 min @ 6.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 7 mph
  • 1 min @ 7.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 8 mph

incline=1.5

  • 1 min @ 6.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 7 mph
  • 1 min @ 7.5 mph
  • 1 min @ 8 mph
  • 1 min @ 10.0 mph<—yay!

i have never ran at 10 mph on a 1.5 incline so i was stoked! and i was dying afterward. it felt so dang good. i think my body NEEDED to have a high heart rate sesh.

meals_thumb

i came home and whipped up a quick dinner with some stuff i had on hand. i did buy some produce and greek yogurt (and mighty maple) at WF’s yesterday but did not buy TONS of groceries because i am a tad broke after my trip.. and i have ANOTHER trip coming up next weekend!

meal 3: spelt pasta with meat sauce & veggies @ 7:00 PM

meals 496

i bulked up my serving size because this was only my third meal of the day and i needed the nutrients.  when i don’t get to start eating until later in the day i try to up my portion sizes since i won’t be able to fit 5 meals in. make sense? hope so.

dinner hit the spot! i love these wheat spelt noodles from trader joe’s!

meals 497

and even though these green giant veggies were nothing fancy, i mixed them in with the pasta and it turned out to be a really tasty, filling meal!

meals 498

after dinner i had to do some business with the selling of the auto, once again.. did i mention i am stoked? please keep your fingers crossed that everything goes smooth with the sell.

and then it was up to marshall’s for some slacking off! and blog reading and dog loving and television watching. typical.

meals 504 

after awhile my hunger found me again and i whipped up

meal 4: 0% voskos + PBJ larabar+buttload of cinnamon @ 10:00 PM

meals 499

yep, the PBJLB is just as good the second time around! this one tasted even better because it was sent to me with love from holly :D

again, this meal is probably higher in calories than my typical snack.. but i only had time for 4 meals today so it worked! it was 350 calories, 36g carbs, 30g protein and 10g fat. a carb/protein/fat ratio of 40/35/25. not too shabby if you ask me. and it tasted INCREDIBLE! it could be that i was having greek yogurt withdrawals.. but i like to think that it would have been incredible no matter what.

meals 501

and now i am going to call it a night! wow, how nerdy am i, it feels so good to be back to regularly scheduled posting. i guess i like organization and documenting detail.. so blogging helps. i need to be right on track with my body for life challenge for the next week because i go out of town AGAIN on the 1st! but i think i will be able to keep the eats pretty clean on this upcoming vacay.

ok, enough rambling for tonight.. i am excited for hump day happenings tomorrow:

  • waffle wednesday
  • lunch date with the girls at jason’s deli
  • upper body workout! yess

tomorrow is also national white chocolate day so those of you with some white chocolate wonderful better be up on that business pronto!

Qs

1. when you don’t have time to eat as often as your “usual” day, do you up the portion sizes for the meals you do fit in? i do. yep. i need my nutrients!

2. is cottage cheese a savory food or a sweet food for you? how do you like it best? what is your #1 cottage cheese mix-in? like i said, i don’t do sweet and cottage cheese together. savory all the way! and my #1 mix in is hidden valley ranch seasoning.. duhhh ;)

i also would like to hear your favorite ways to use chia seeds so fire away!

xo. janetha b.

63 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 10:30 pm

    Way to jump right into both meals and moves!! What?!?! I LOVE cottage cheese sweet!!! That’s the only way I have it–that or alone. I love adding in yogurt and fruit (don’t get too disgusted reading that, haha).

  2. September 22, 2009 10:38 pm

    Regular routines are so good- you’ll be so glad to be back!

    I put chia seeds in my water of all things (among other things like smoothies- and people make puddings out of them by mixing them with small amounts of water or almond milk etc. Others put them in oats, oat bran, etc.

    Believe it or not, but I don’t eat CC! I prefer my Greek yog!

  3. WholeBodyLove permalink
    September 22, 2009 10:45 pm

    I definatly up my portion size when I know I don’t have time for many meals. I can’t find my beloved Mighty Maple anywhere here either!! I bought some Justin’s Maple to get me through.

  4. September 22, 2009 11:07 pm

    i grew up eating cottage cheese with canned peaches so i’m definitely used to it sweet, but i can dig it salty too….one day i will have to try it “your way” with the beans and the ranch seasoning….

    by the way – my movie opens in salt lake city this weekend!!!

  5. September 22, 2009 11:18 pm

    Hey Janetha, soooo happy you’re diggin’ the chias, and thanks for the shout out! I am so happy you’re gonna get to enjoy ’em. As you know I have all kinds of chia recipes on my bloggie but can’t wait to see what you and others come up with.

    And thanks for the great shout out you gave me on PB & J’s blog on my guest post. I’m gonna link that one back on my own blog post tomorrow. Yay, it was a rush to do a guest post and very cool for me, thanks for the comment over there :)

    And your broccoli veggie platter is riiiiiiight up my alley. Love my brock!

    Big hug to you girlfriend!
    xox
    :)
    averie

  6. September 22, 2009 11:37 pm

    Girl! I LOVE the excitement and happiness in this post! I just want to hug the bejessus out of you!! :D

    And of course I up my portion sizes! Or load up at night. >.<

    And I like my cottage cheese with kabocha and cinnamon and salt and pepper, so I suppose sweet? Sorta?

  7. September 22, 2009 11:59 pm

    I really need to start my own love affair with PB & Co and stop living vicariously through all the bloggers who eat it haha!
    Your eats look sooo good – esp the broccoli! And congrats on the car! Yay!

  8. September 23, 2009 12:13 am

    Cottage cheese works as savory or sweet to me. But I like it sweet best I think.

    Maple PB is the best!!! it’s my fave of the PB&co line. By far. Well that’s a lie b/c I do like cinnamon raisin a lot too. Hmmm…

    I love Holly’s note!! She is hilarious and so clever. Lovely packages my dear! And see you tomorrow for WAFFLE WEDNESDAY!

  9. Tina permalink
    September 23, 2009 1:09 am

    Lucky girl! I can’t wait till you get my package ^^ I sent it over a couple days ago, and I’m hoping it will arrive soon!

    I ALWAYS make time to eat :P, even if it has to be really sneaky, i pack in enough food to get me through the day.

    When I used to eat cottage cheese, I always added seasonings like garlic, pepper and the like. It never even crossed my mind to eat it as something sweet :P

    Love ya!

  10. September 23, 2009 5:04 am

    Aww what sweet girls to provide you with all the great goods.

    MM PB is AMaZING stuff!!!! I can’t get enough and I think I will cry when my jar is gone. I randomly found it in a WH and I don’t think I will be able to see it again for awhile.

    I LOVE the TJ’s Peach salsa. I usually mix mine with hummus and it is out of this world. I bet Cottage Cheese is just as fantastic though!

    I eat cottage cheese every day and I guess I choose to eat it more sweet because it’s usually on toast mixed with a little jam. I do enjoy it savory too with some salt and pepper. Guess it depends on my mood.

    Have a great hump day love!

  11. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    September 23, 2009 5:14 am

    Woo!!! 3 amazing packages… it’s so sweet of these ladies! I’m jealous!!! :)

    your food look sooooo delicious! did you go to Seattle for a secret culinary train or something? hahha…..

    when I have less time to eat, I do up my portions to make sure I get enough food, otherwise I won’t function!

    cottage cheese is a savory food for me… I always buy it with salt and when it’s not salty enough, I’d add more. I like topping it in oats! It mixes well with nut butter!

  12. September 23, 2009 5:57 am

    I’ve never mixed cottage cheese and salsa!!! What a wondrous idea! And yay for finally tracking down mighty maple! Maple is one of my fave flavours, but I’m Canadian, I think it’s in my DNA :P

    1. Yes. Otherwise I find I’m staaaarving the next day. But I also don’t like shoving food in my face if I’m not hungry just for the sake of it. Usually, I just eat more calorie dense food (ie, nut butter).

    2. Sweet! I grew up eating cottage cheese and fruit for breakfast. I’ve only just recently started experimenting with the savoury combo, it’s pretty stellar that way too!

  13. September 23, 2009 6:00 am

    What a mail call! All I got was a bill and a wedding shower invite…not quite Larabar excitement, but oh well!

    Congrats on the car! My fingers are crossed. As for cottage cheese, I like it as my salad dressing or on it’s own, so I guess that’s savory? I used to do the whole cottage cheese/graham cracker combo, but now I’m too mature for that (or something like that).

    I definitely up the meals if I know I’m not going to be able to fit everything in. Some days it doesn’t work out that way and I end up having a huge snack before bed, but I try!

  14. julie permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:44 am

    I love love loveeee cottage cheese + salsa! I mix it with Santa Barbs peach mango alll the time :) I pretty much like cottage cheese mixed with anything as long as its not plain and it takes the taste of the cottage cheese away. haha

    Its such a good feeling to get back on track and on schedule after a weekend of hectic and craziness!

  15. eatolive permalink
    September 23, 2009 7:05 am

    yumm! love me some might maple! so delish.

    congratulations on the selling of the car! i’m sure thats such a great relief off your shoulders!

    i know this sounds weird but i haven’t really eaten cottage cheese since i was little and “decided i didn’t like it.” it’s something i need to revisit now that i’m a grown up and my tastes have changed. what would you suggest as my first introduction to CC? savory? sweet? :)

  16. april permalink
    September 23, 2009 7:25 am

    Yummy meals!!

    I like cottage cheese with sweet things but I’m tempted to try it with savory.. your cottage cheese/garbanzo mixture always calls out to me!

  17. September 23, 2009 7:51 am

    Bloggers are awesome people :D Salad looks delish and congrats on selling your car!!!!¬

    1. when you don’t have time to eat as often as your “usual” day, do you up the portion sizes for the meals you do fit in? Yup. I need food even when I am busy! Though I completely lose my appetite when I am stressed/busy so meals are generally random muddles and mixes.

    2. is cottage cheese a savory food or a sweet food for you? how do you like it best? what is your #1 cottage cheese mix-in? oh. K, loving the ranch/chick peas right now. Also love it with raisins, chopped red onion and a little thousand island dressing (seriously amazing). Also: take the CC, mix in an egg white, thawed chopped spinach and mix together. Season, and put in a pepper/any vegetable and bake for 30 mins or so (depending on vegetable). Top with marinara and ENJOY :D Also strangely good with pesto on a sandwich…

  18. September 23, 2009 8:10 am

    I do the same thing you do on days where I don’t get enough nutrients. I think it’s better than starving my body of the good stuff it needs! :)

  19. September 23, 2009 8:27 am

    1. I just eat as I can – I don’t really alter portion sizes because if I eat to much I honestly feel like I’ll spew everywhere :D

    2. I’m with you on the CC – eating it sweetened just seems weird to me. Cinnamon is about as sweet as I can get with it.

    Off to read your recap!

  20. September 23, 2009 8:30 am

    ahhhh yeah…i sent the package then was like holly, you are dumb, she is going to be out of town! so i am glad it arrived safely and soundly. and i only bust out the most stellar of raps for my fave homegirls. LOVE YOU!

    loving that massive salad and spelt noodles – i am on a veggie binge today because i feel as though i have been lacking in the veg department as of late. thank the sweet heavens for green giant!

    soooo good to have you back…i miss you, is that weird? honestly, my problem is not having not enough time to eat – i really don’t think i have faced that issue, well, ever…

    cottage cheese + sweets = no thank you. i prefer my cottage cheese savory, which is a total shock because i LURVE my sugar!

    hugs.

  21. September 23, 2009 8:34 am

    i love the way you write :)

    and i NEED to get me some of that mighty maple! yum yum yum

    1. Yes I up my portions for the next meals. Like you said, gotta get in those nutrients.

    2. I enjoy my cottage cheese au natural. I used to like it when I was little, then I hated it forever. In college I tried it about once every year to see if I liked it again. No dice. But a few months ago I gave it another go and loved it! I should really try mixing things, though. I’ll def go savory.

  22. September 23, 2009 8:34 am

    thats some major bloggy loveeeeeeeee :)
    and i die everytime i see a pic of your pup. i love!

  23. September 23, 2009 8:40 am

    Whoa–that is some serious treadmill work! I am so impressed.
    Have you done a post on how you make your protein oats? I’d love a tutorial :)
    I hate to tell ya, but in my house, cottage cheese is a sweet food :/ Hehe. I like mixing it with fat-free, sugar-free pudding mix. Tastes like cheesecake!

  24. September 23, 2009 8:40 am

    I’m so with you on my love of clean eating. If I go more than one day without my staples I start feeling like crap and going thru withdrawals. I’m so sorry to hear you actully got sick! That’s awful.

    White chocolate always reminds me of Easter. I was the only kid I knew who wanted all 3 kinds of chocolate in my basket.

    1) If I don’t eat as much/as often as I need to there’s no going back, I end up a ravenous beast later on. That or no one will go near me until I eat…I turn into a bit of a bitch when hunger strikes.

    2) Ick on the sweet cc. I can’t stand it. I love cottage cheese stuffed inside zucchini pancakes with some chopped tomatoes and Spike.

  25. September 23, 2009 8:49 am

    Lovin your salad combo and I just tried Mighty Maple for the first time yesterday and that shit is goooood!
    1. I bump up my meal size when I know I would have time to get all my snacky meals in for sure. Why the hell not!?
    2. I am a total savory cottage cheese girl. Sweet cottage cheese just seems weird to me. I love mixing flax seed into mine.

  26. September 23, 2009 9:00 am

    hahaha, i can’t come to your blog before eating breakfast, or I find I have already eaten half of my arm!! YUMMOOO food, and congrats on the Win! everythinatarain knows how to give it uP!

  27. September 23, 2009 9:28 am

    MIGHTY MAPLE IM SO JEALOUS. I just found bees knees and then they started carrying it at walmart with dcd and white choc. man i want to try maple so badly.
    grats on selling the car btw!
    you know i love cottage cheese but i have found lately i love putting fruit in it more and more. esp apples and peaches! yum!

    ah chia seeds… i put them in smoothies to thicken and boy do they! i have tried them in oats but they didn’t really need teh extra thickening power if you will imagine lol. glue anyone?
    i suggest anything you blend, put them in. they thicken thicken thicken (TWSS!). But um… they might get stuck in your teeth here and there. Lol. And then they gel. And then you have something to do for a while. Or maybe i just have unusually cavernous teeth (well.. i do actually).

    have a good day love!

    ps
    you bought that life size robert pattinson cutout for me right?

  28. September 23, 2009 9:38 am

    *Happy sigh* -I am seriously so pleased that you are back! I love your posts, just love them!
    Firstly, those spelt noodles are the stand out piece for me – they look amazing! I love wide noodles! I will be hunting them down at TJs.
    Holly is lovely. Fact.
    I’ll be totally honest (and I think I have admitted this before) I do not always read your workout deets properly…don’t hate me. But! I did today and I love what you do there with your one minute increments. I think I need to try something like this after my race training is over and winter descends. I had to do speedwork today on the dreadmill and it was SO HARD: 8 minute miles followed by recovery jogs. Ouch. This looks challenging but doable!
    I have a larabar, some cinnamon and greek lined up for later today – you’ve got me excited!
    1) Err yeah! If I don’t eat enough at breakfast or lunch then I will be RAVENOUS at the next meal and will make up accordingly
    2) I do not eat cottage cheese. It looks like puke. Sorry.

    Yay for waffle wednesday and lunch dates! xxx

  29. September 23, 2009 9:40 am

    dude whats with google reader sucking it lately. now im probably going to be blacklisted from writing that…shoot

  30. Emily (Healthy Fit Mama) permalink
    September 23, 2009 9:44 am

    I never could get into cottage cheese. I think it’s the texture. I’ve had to give up dairy anyway, so no cheese of any kind for me.

    Those spelt noodles sound yummy!

    I went to a grocery store yesterday that I don’t usually go to and I discovered that they have every flavor of PB&Co. PB! AND they were all on sale! I need to try some ASAP!

  31. September 23, 2009 10:01 am

    What awesome blog love from your blogettes!

    Hi puppy!

    I up my portions, yes.

    And cottage cheese is what evil tastes like, in my opinion, lol!!

  32. September 23, 2009 10:10 am

    Regular routines are good. I always feel off when I can’t stick to the routines I’ve established.

    I’m glad you’re back! :)

  33. September 23, 2009 10:29 am

    Seriously, that PB changed my life. And it’s also very, very dangerous! Too easy to go back for seconds!

  34. September 23, 2009 10:56 am

    Nice blog you have!

  35. September 23, 2009 11:39 am

    When I don’t have time to eat, my meals are definitely larger portions.

    I used to only eat cottage cheese with pineapple chunks. Now, I tend to eat it as a savory dish… mixed with hummus, tuna, or garbanzo beans. Yay for protein!

    Greek yogurt and some healthy fats is my favorite bedtime snack!

  36. September 23, 2009 12:08 pm

    22 is also my favorite number (and i LOVE ice cream). I like cottage cheese both ways, but overall – sweet foods always win for me. And yes, I up the portion usually – but I try to let me hunger lead the way.

  37. September 23, 2009 12:23 pm

    I wish people like me as much as you! :)

    I love my cottage cheese sweet! YUM!

    If i’m off schedule there’s a problem :) If I make it up I slam a protein shake.

    I use my chia seeds in oats and my muffins! Sometimes I put a TBSP in some almond milk and soak for a couple of hours then add a bit of chocolate protein or cocoa powder and it’s like tapicoca! Instead of tapioca..I just thought of that LOL!

  38. September 23, 2009 12:55 pm

    mighty maple and cinnomon raisin swirl are definatly my top two from PB&co. !

    i like sweet cottage cheese. I actually found a recipe for VEGAN cottage cheese. I got to make it.. then will post it ;) :D

    i definatly like to bulk up my nutrients when I have a good amount of time to eat. lots andl ots of veg :D

  39. Sara permalink
    September 23, 2009 1:09 pm

    1) Whether I make it up depends on which meal. I very often get caught w a super-long stretch between meals 1 and 2, so sometimes I skip 2 (usually a protein shake) and go right to 3. But I’ll try to add a little more protein to meals 4 and 5 then.

    2) I can’t imagine having to pick between savory or sweet cottage cheese. It’s great both ways, which is why it’s the perfect food! :)

  40. September 23, 2009 1:31 pm

    I almost forgot that you were my chia seed co-winner! I got that same bag and I’ve been digging in for days now and you can’t even tell. I’m totally eating chia seeds every day from now for until the next 4 months.

    So far I’ve put them on fruit cereal and in a smoothie this morning, I’ve totally got some experiment with them, can’t wait to see what you do with with.

    I like cottage both ways! Depends on my mood. I guess I almost always eat with something sweet though.

    And yes, sometimes I do “tank up” if I know it’s going to be a while until my next meal or it’s been a while since my last!

    Glad you’re back, it wasn’t the same without you around kid!

  41. September 23, 2009 1:45 pm

    YAY FOR FIND Mighty Maple!! Hands down – favorite pb flavor.

    yogurt + larabar = divine!! such a great snack. glad that your back!

  42. September 23, 2009 1:46 pm

    Oh, I;m so jelous of htose chia seeds! They are seriously no where to be found in the SLC. WTF? So you could actually taste the peanut flavor in the mgihty maple? The reason Ihated the Cinnamon Rasin is because it only tasted like sugar. Not cinnamon OR penaut butter. What a rip off ;)

  43. September 23, 2009 1:57 pm

    Yum, Chia seeds!
    I still need to try WCW PB!!! Looks amazing!
    So does your pasta dish, yum!

    I do up portion sizes, this girl needs her food!

    AND I do sweet (fruit!) OR savory (ranch!) with my cottage cheese, depending on what I’m craving.

    xo
    K

  44. September 23, 2009 1:57 pm

    Maple peanut butter sounds like just about the world’s best thing. And I really need to in on this chia seed craze. I feel like the only blogger who’s out of the loop!

  45. lowandbhold permalink
    September 23, 2009 2:29 pm

    Yay for Holly, Chias, Mighty Maple, and selling your car! How exciting!

    I’m glad you got to get back to your regular eats. I love getting back to normal after a vaca. The dinner looks awesome, I’m intrigued by the spelt noodles.

    I just finished off my WCW. So sad!!

    1. Um, I always have time to eat. ;) But yes, if I’ve eaten less than usual I tend to compensate at the next meal.
    2.I love cottage cheese with everything, sweet or savory. But my fave is probably with white beans and marinara sauce – it tastes like lasagna.

  46. September 23, 2009 2:41 pm

    how effin’ good is Mighty Maple?! on the real if you ever need more (and trust, you will want more) hit me izzup and I’ll holla atchu with a jar!

    totally missed your recap and I kind of want to kick google reader where the sun don’t shine. Oh god, I should take that back. I have a feeling my blog will crash any second now by the wrath of GR.

    i love cottage cheese all day everyday.. especially with raisins and cinnamon – its bomb!

  47. September 23, 2009 2:42 pm

    p.s. I missed you more than words. seriously, almost cried. twice.

  48. September 23, 2009 2:47 pm

    Very intriguing spelt pasta!

  49. September 23, 2009 3:04 pm

    Ooooh you have such great updates! hahah I’m sure you needed those socks! Who doesn’t need a pair??

    I’m loving the spelt pasta with veggies! Not only colorful, but tasty looking too!!! When I don’t have enough time to eat, I definitely up the quantity of my meals AND add in portable snacks. Not sure that’s such a great combination though. :P

    I have never eaten cottage cheese just because I don’t know what to expect! If people eat it like Yogurt, i’m fine with eating yogurt by itself. I haven’t had it savory, but i have a feeling it’s prolly one of those things better savory. hehehe

  50. September 23, 2009 3:13 pm

    I don’t like sweet cottage cheese. But I love it plain. I usually don’t add anything to it. But I really want to try it with beans and ranch seasoning… Whenever I see it on your blog I think “Oh yes, you have to do that.” And I will soon! And I may have to try it with (peach) salsa… Even though I am a bit worried about the peaches in it… ;)

  51. September 23, 2009 3:45 pm

    I can;t find Mighty Maple!! I think my WF keeps sellinnng out. LAME

  52. September 23, 2009 4:01 pm

    Mighty Maple is THE best. Janetha, it’s SO good on pancakes. Especially after a kick butt “moves” workout :)

    Cottage cheese is a sweet or plain food for me. I either eat it plain, or sweeten it up with fruit.

  53. September 23, 2009 4:07 pm

    can i just tell you how much i loved your seatown post! gots to rep’ my 206 pride.
    might maple, amazing… haven’t had that gem in over 6 months, not okay.
    doesn’t it feel fan-effin’-tastic to go back to clean eating?! i love to splurge, aka every weekend… but i could never make a life style out of it, eva.
    have a ballin’ day chica!

  54. September 23, 2009 4:54 pm

    This going to sound totally bizarre, but my favorite way to eat cottage cheese is to mix it with…wait for it..peanut butter, a bit of agave (or whatever sweetener) and some sort of cereal for crunch. I promise it’s good. Mixing with salsa is a close second though.

  55. September 23, 2009 5:03 pm

    Your HIIT workout sounds awesome – wtg!

    1. when you don’t have time to eat as often as your “usual” day, do you up the portion sizes for the meals you do fit in? I should.

    2. is cottage cheese a savory food or a sweet food for you? how do you like it best? what is your #1 cottage cheese mix-in? savory only. sweet cottage cheese is not good! I like cottage cheese in eggs

  56. September 23, 2009 5:06 pm

    Hey hey! So many fun packages! That is a ginormous thing of chia seeds! Love the laras and hooray for nut butters! I liked the mighty maple, but it is VERY sweet! As for your questions

    1. Yes mamm…I need my food
    2. I don’t like cottage cheese :(

  57. Becky permalink
    September 23, 2009 5:26 pm

    I don’t usually up my portion sizes on purpose, i probs just eat more because I’m hungry!
    I love cottage cheese both savory and sweet…but probably sweet more! I love adding fruit. I have never mixed it with salsa though. I do like it in eggs!

  58. September 23, 2009 6:33 pm

    congrats on running 10.0. when i ran at 0% 10.4 or 10.1. i was like HOT DAMN i am fast at least on a treadmill. =D

    never tried chia seeds!

    i think i do bulk up portion sizes.

  59. September 23, 2009 7:35 pm

    I love the way you eat girl!!! Everything looks delicious!!!

    Esp. that chicken and avocado salad!

    I want to try that Mighty Maple PB so badly!!

    Hurray for bloggy care packages!!!!!

    happy Thursday Mama!

  60. homegirlcaneat permalink
    September 23, 2009 8:39 pm

    I love that I love clean eats too!!! Nothing beats it.

    Cottage cheese… I like it sweet! Don’t hate me! I love it with a packet of Splenda (don’t hate me) or with a spoonful of jam!! YUM! But I just discovered the beauty of it savory (love me)!!!! With crackers and with salsa! AHHH THE MOTHALAND

  61. September 23, 2009 9:45 pm

    Mighty Maple! Ah, so jeals. Alls I can get is Cinna Raisin and Dark Choc Dreams. Not that I am complaining, mind you, cause those are fabulous indeed. Indeed.

    And that Holly kid? She sure can write + she is wondrously kind. I do love her.

  62. September 23, 2009 10:11 pm

    Next TJ’s purchase: spelt wheat noodles.
    Lovin’ the broccoli love in this post!
    Cottage cheese is more of a sweet thing for me–best enjoyed with Sunbutter!

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for good things come in threes. « meals & moves [mealsandmoves.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

Leave a comment