Skip to content

guest post! julie p.

September 20, 2009

So Running’s Out.

hey everyone! if you’ve been hanging out with me for the past couple of months you know that I was an avid runner and then I tore my labrum in my hip. So I went from running like a madwoman to complete cold turkey. I’m a straight gym rat so it was a MUST to find other things to do to get my heart rate pumpin. Since Janetha is so kind to let me throw up a guest post, I thought I’d drop a few tips for those of use that can’t run, don’t want to run, or just plain hate running.

1. Download these jams and rock out to them with this elliptical workout!

Song

Faded – Cascada  (warmup)

Boom Boom Pow – David Guetta 2009 remix (warmup)

He’s A Pirate – DJ Tiesto (sprint during fast “chrous” part)

Tell Me Baby – Red Hot Chili Peppers (fast run with medium resistance)

Soul Meets Body – Death Cab For Cutie (endurance with higher resistance and same pace)

Everything I Do, I Do It For You – A New Found Glory (climb then lower resistance and go fast during chorus)

Slow Cheetah – Red Hot Chili Peppers (rolling hills, high resistance 30 seconds, lower resistance 30 seconds)

Womanizer Britney Spears (SPRINT the chorus, push push push!)

We Fly High – Jim Jones (climb. HIGH resistance)

Till I Hear It From You – Gin Blossoms (endurance with medium resistance & fast pace)

The Transition – Hawthorne Heights (SPRINT chorus)

Make Her Feel Good – Teairra Mari (climb climb climb! PUSH yourself with HIGH resistance)

It’s Not Over – Chris Daughtry (cool down)

this should last about 45 minutes! push yourself and have fun with the music :)

2. Take a spin class! Spin is an AMAZING workout and so much fun. anyone can do it and it’s a great way to have fun and get your endorphins pumpin. Find a class at your local gym and make sure the instructor plays great music (it’s the key to a great class). If you’re new to spin, make sure you get there a few minutes early so the instructor can help you set up your bike and explain the “spin language” to you. Give it a try! If you’re afraid of spin just think it was everyone’s first spin class at some point!

3. If it’s a nice day out, head over to the track at your local high school and get your speed walk goin on. You can track your distance there by counting how many times you walk around the track. Make small goals and build up! Speed walk the lengths and take it down a notch the shorter distances. And if you REALLY wanna get a good workout in, challenge yourself with the dreaded bleachers, which will totally get your heart beating.

4. Pick up a class schedule at your local gym and take a cardio class! There’s so much to choose from whether it be cardio kickboxing, step, or even zumba! Give them a try and don’t be afraid to be the newbie! You might love it, or you might hate it but atleast you can say you got a good workout in :)

5. OR just do my favorite cardio activity of all time. go on a shopping marathon. Yes, I consider shopping a cardio activity and you’re also giving your wallet a good workout. So throw some sneaks on hit the stores already! just make sure to pack shopping snacks so you stay away from the dreaded food court!

Well I hope I gave you a few good ideas that you can incorporate in your workout routine or I just gave you motivation to max out your credit card. either way hope you enjoyed this post! If you wanna hear more just head on over and hang out with me for a few :) Special thanks to Janetha for letting me participate in her going away blog festitivies!

stay cool people :)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 1:27 pm

    I’m bookmarking this post for the workout playlist! Thanks!

  2. September 20, 2009 1:33 pm

    As a non-runner, I’m on board with all those alternate activities–especially the SHOPPING! :-D

  3. September 20, 2009 2:39 pm

    ooohhh i am loving spin and that playlist! i am training for a marathon, but when i am done, i plan on really cutting down running so these ideas come at a perfect time.

    good luck with your hip :)

  4. September 20, 2009 2:52 pm

    Oooh, thanks for the elliptical playlist! My current elliptical routine could definitely use a shake-up ;) I lovelovelove spin class, favourite cardio to do at the gym! :)

  5. September 20, 2009 4:20 pm

    what an awesome elliptical play list! Great idea!
    I wish I lived near a school, I would be all over their bleachers!

  6. September 20, 2009 6:03 pm

    Hey! I just started reading your blog recently (I’ve been meaning to comment!), and I love it!

    Thanks for the non-running workout alternatives, I like to run (NOT love), but only once or twice a week, and the elliptical is definitely my go-to cross training.

    Great playlist!

  7. September 20, 2009 6:32 pm

    #5 is my favorite form of working out! Great guest post, Julie!!

  8. September 20, 2009 8:08 pm

    Shopping is my favorite workout! I just wish that someone else was paying the credit card bill!

  9. eatolive permalink
    September 21, 2009 7:09 am

    LOVing that! I also can’t run anymore due to a hip problem (stems from a childhood disease) and had to quit cold turkey about 4 months ago and hate it! i miss running! ive become and arc trainer & elliptical/bike lover :) love those songs too!!

  10. September 21, 2009 9:41 am

    Wintertime=spin class time for me! Love that you included a playlist to download – I’m constantly looking for new songs to rock out to in workouts!

  11. September 21, 2009 12:37 pm

    Great tips and lovin the elliptocal playlist! I am a huge fan of David Guetta and Tiesto so I will be downloading the rest of the songs!

Leave a comment