Skip to content

smooth operator.

September 13, 2009

hey guys! it was so fun hearing about your family traditions in my last post. sounds like everyone has some fun things they look forward to each year.  i know i am looking forward to the holidays for some more traditional adventures.

well, it is one of those blog-at-1-in-the-morning type of posts.. so this will be short and sweet. REAL sweet actually, because i whipped up blender upon blender upon BLENDER of fresh fruit smoothies tonight!

but before i show you all that, let’s take it from the top!

the top was not too early today. i set my alarm with good intentions to go to a spinning class at 8 AM~somehow turned the blaring alarm off and had no dogs sleeping with me to pull me out of bed.. so i rolled over until 10!  i know most of you are early risers, but i have no shame in saying i can sleep in. and i can sleep in LATE. i could have kept sleeping when i woke up at 10 but i knew i had a busy day.  i could probably be a professional sleeper, i would be real good at it!

moves_thumb

i went straight to the gym for some HIIT!  i never get to workout first thing after i wake up because, well, it is impossible for me to make myself get up before work to go to the gym. trust me, i’ve tried.

i made some leaps and bounds, i am not sure if it was because i was running on an empty stomach or if i just had a power boost, but i set a new personal high for average heart rate and also a personal best for 20 min HIIT distance (on the treadmill).

the whole point of high intensity interval training is to get your HR to go up and down in intervals, but it is also important to have your overall average HR at a higher level, hence the term “high intensity”.  i was glad i cranked it up a notch today!

(numbers are in miles per hour)

  • 2 min @ 6.0
  • 1 min @ 6.5
  • 1 min @ 7.0
  • 1 min @ 7.5
  • 1 min @ 8.0
  • 1 min @ 6.5
  • 1 min @ 7.0
  • 1 min @ 7.5
  • 1 min @ 8.0
  • 1 min @ 6.5
  • 1 min @ 7.0
  • 1 min @ 7.5
  • 1 min @ 8.0
  • 1 min @ 6.5
  • 1 min @ 7.0
  • 1 min @ 7.5
  • 1 min @ 8.0
  • 1 min @ 10.0<—high point
  • 1 min @ 5.0

stats: 20 minutes, max HR 183, average HR 158, calories 169

i was a sweaty mess after this, always a good feeling.  i know the amount you sweat does not determine how good of a workout you got.. but it sure feels good to sweat a lot, don’t you all agree?!

meals_thumb

meal 1: egg scramble (mushrooms+onions+peppers+goat cheese) & 2 waffles with naturally more PB

9-12-09 017

by the time noon hit i had already downed over a half gallon of water. i was parched!

i had a lot of errands to run this afternoon:

  • took 2 pair of jeans to the seamstress (i am a shortie! gotsta hem them)
  • picked up a birthday gift for my mom
  • went to the local fish market for tomorrow’s dinner supplies
  • went to the local mexican market for tomorrow’s dinner supplies
  • went to the grocery store to get stuff for tomorrow’s dinner

as you can see, lots of prepping for tomorrow! i will be cooking a delish dinner so make sure you check back tomorrow night ;)

once i got to my mom’s i was famished and still had a lot to do so i blended up a quick little drank…

meal 2: chocolate protein shake @ 4:00 PM

9-12-09 020

do you want to know what is crazy? i hadn’t checked today’s national food holiday before i had this, then i checked and it turned out that today was national chocolate milkshake day!! oh, i am just that good.

this just had a scoop of protein powder, a cup of almond milk and ice. i didn’t throw a carb in because i knew i would be eating one of the fruit shishkebabs during the wedding reception!

i changed into my beach attire—it was a beach themed reception which was kind of fun, i liked that it was casual and not super dressy!

marshall & i set up the tiki hut with our 3 blenders and smoothie supplies!

9-12-09 030

marshall looks happy to be there, no?

9-12-09 025

the three kinds we were whipping up:

9-12-09 036

it was a whirlwind! i was blending like caaarazy.. people were taking the smoothies faster than we could make them!

9-12-09 031

9-12-09 026

9-12-09 033

finally there was a lull in the crowd and we got to take a break…

 

 9-12-09 041

and i got to have some fruit~9-12-09 042

my dad joined in on the lounging..9-12-09 043

and then it was back to work, blending, business as usual! i could open a smoothie stand of my own!9-12-09 023 9-12-09 024 9-12-09 028

whew.. enough smoothie photos, sorry if that was overkill!

when we were done we helped clean things up, i got a killer arm workout carrying bunches of chairs from the yard to the truck and then unloading them later on. my flappers—as my mom so lovingly calls them—are sore!

it is safe to say i was starving.

meal 3: grilled chicken salad @ 8:30 PM

9-12-09 044

marshall and i went to a spot called cafe rio (you SLC kids know about it, obv) but it is a real good mexican joint and their salads are to die for.. and usually around 1500-2000 calories a pop! i kept it clean though.. it was a rough order: “grilled chicken salad, no cheese on the tortilla, no beans, no rice, shredded lettuce, EXTRA pico, no.. no.. MORE pico please, extra cilantro, no tortilla strips.. yes! perfect! thanks kind sir.”

yes there was chicken hiding in there..

9-12-09 046

messy photo. sorry. but with that much pico, who needs dressing? not me!

well, that is the extent of eats in my day. i didn’t get a lot of meals in but i did wake up later than usual so i still managed to eat every 4 or so hours.. that is good.

came back to marshall’s and finished off season 4 of weeds so now we have to start watching season 5 online. dang that show is good!

oh and my girl emily notified me that the new larabar flavors have been spotted in the SLC! thanks for the tip girl! can’t wait to try that PBJ one.

serious time.. feel free to skip to the Qs at the end now and not read this, it could be long.. it could be boring.. but i gotta say a few things for myself.

i am not weighing myself these days. but i tried some pants on today.. well.. like 5 pair of jeans to be exact. let me just say i thought they would fit me by now and they still don’t.  i have been busting my ass these past 5 weeks and i am afraid i am not making the progress i am capable of, judging from my first go-around with body for life.  i have looked at everything i am doing under a microscope and picked through my workouts and meals with a fine toothed comb. everything i am doing is the same—if not better—than the first time around.  my workouts are intense and my eating is polished and i take my rest days and i drink my water.

i know, i know, i did not gain the weight in 5 weeks so i can’t expect it to be gone in 5 weeks, but i did expect to have a lot more progress than i have had. it is frustrating.  i don’t know what to do! and now i am real nervous to go to seattle on thursday.. and be on vacation for 4 days.. afraid i will screw up what little progress i have made.

it is crazy that i am typing this. i am the queen of knowing what to do in every situation.  i am the girl who people come to for advice about how to stay on track while out of town.  i know i can take my travel home gym and i know how to eat right when eating out. but i still am just kinda blah about the whole seattle thing because i haven’t made the progress i’d hoped for.

it is hard to deal with weight gain. way hard. yeah i was a fat kid before, but then i worked hard and got to where i needed to be.. and that was rad! last november i was in the very best shape of my life and i felt great.  i didn’t hate walking past a mirror in the store, cringing at the reflection, and i didn’t have to worry about grabbing one of my 20 pair of jeans and wonder if they wouldn’t fit.  it felt good.  damn good. 

and then i threw all my progress out the window and i am mad at myself.  it is true. i am not getting all depressed-mode or anything, but i think it is important for me to be honest with everyone, honest with myself, and let it be known that i am pissed off that i let all my hard work go to pot. NO, i am not in horrible shape, but i am not where i want to be. and know that i WAS there a short 9 months ago kills me! duh janetha. and then to do the motions and eat the foods i know i should eat and not see the progress i know i saw once before? well that just straight baffles me.

so like i said, i am frustrated, and i am rambling, but i believe it is probably good for me to get it off my chest. i want to be my normal, happy, food loving, fun having self when i go to seattle.. i just hope i can be.

end rant.

ha. if you read that, then thank you.. and i am not asking for any pity, i was just venting some of my feelings, part of why i blog ;)

hope you are all enjoying your weekend!

momma b’s birthday celebration tomorrow, can’t wait to cook up a storm and have some good times with the fam!!

Qs

1. what do you want/was your wedding reception like? dressy? casual? dinner? just dessert? tiki hut with janetha and marshall blending smoothies? we are available for hire ;)

2. do you workout better in the morning or later in the day? i think later in the day i have much more energy, but i feel like i get a better “burn” when i workout in the morning. does that even make sense?

61 Comments leave one →
  1. Tina permalink
    September 13, 2009 3:27 am

    First comment!
    You can never have too many pics of smoothies: fear not of overkill!

    Weight gain sucks… I still can’t deal with it. That’s why I’ve locked my scale up too, but when I started noticing it in my clothes, then it got depressing. But I’m hoping that BfL will help… otherwise I’ll still be very sad :'(

    As soon as I find a guy, I’ll call you up to operate the smoothie stand ;)

    And I HATE working out in the morning… but at least it gets done… in the afternoon I always have ‘excuses’…difficult

    Love you!
    xx

  2. September 13, 2009 3:47 am

    Hey lady,
    First of all, you look adorable in that little tiki hut mixing those drinks! I would definitely hire you if I were to do it all again ;)
    Second, I completely feel you on the weight gain. The truth, regardless if anyone else can see it, or if pants fit or they don’t, knowing that you’re “up” SUCKS. But I always take comfort in saying to myself, “OK, you have done this before, you can do it again.” Just remember that you know exactly how to do this, and it just might take you a little while, but you will get there.
    Also, I am sure you know this, but in my experience, things go more smoothly if I can get myself in a positive state of mind with it. Like, I jsut need ONE good day to start off a chain of many good days (similarly, it just takes one bad day to start a downward spiral!).
    You are beautiful and a SWEETHEART so it doesn’t matter how your pants fit, but I understand how it can feel, so I support you in this if that is what you want!

  3. September 13, 2009 4:33 am

    Oh Janetha, I’m so sorry you’re getting frustrated :( You make a good point, you didn’t gain the weight in 5 weeks, so it will take longer to lose. I want to tell you that you look WONDERFUL in all your pics, but I know none of that matters if you still don’t like your own reflection. Just keep on keepin’ on JB! I guess the only advice I can offer, is don’t make it “hard work.” If you want to reach a goal that you can sustain long term, it’s got to be “easy” or at least “do-able.” I never look at eating or working out as hard, challenging at times, yes, but most of the time its fun and enjoyable :)

    1. I’m never getting married. But I can work a blender like no one else after working at cafes, so hit me up if you and Marshall need an extra hand ;)

    2. Mornings all the way!! I work better with less food in my tummy, plus I feel less blah first thing in the morning. I’m also less likely to skip the workout, which I’m prone to doing later in the day.

    Cheer up buttercup!! You WILL going to find that “happy place” with your body :D

  4. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    September 13, 2009 5:29 am

    oh sweetie sorry to hear your frustration, but i can totally understand it. You did fabulous job keeping on track with eats and workouts but still can’t see the result. I know how bad it is and that makes you wonder all what you know might not work on you anymore.
    But dear… putting into perspective. My 5 cents tell me that your body will react less than the first time because it’s a smaller change to you than it was the first time. So it’s normal to see less dramatic change. You’ve gained a lot of muscles the first time, so the second time you won’t gain that much. If I were you, I’d continue a little bit longer and if it still doesn’t work, I might change to something else to “shock” my body.
    Hugs~

  5. Michelle permalink
    September 13, 2009 6:32 am

    First off, I think you should open your own smoothie hut, you look like a pro!

    Second, I’m sorry you’re so frustrated. I’m sure this won’t mean anything, but I think you look awesome and I really admire your persistence and dedication. I’m sure that you are making the progress you want, maybe just a little slower than you’d hope. I hope you’ll be able to be stress-free and relaxed in Seattle and have an amazing time while still staying on track.

    Third, I want my wedding reception to be a huge party with all my favorite people having an awesome time and dancing and singing like fools.

    Fourthly, I definitely work out better in the morning, which is why I need to stop reading blogs and get my booty out of bed right now and go run!

    Oh, and I can’t wait to see what you’re making for dinner!

  6. Michal Mymo permalink
    September 13, 2009 6:43 am

    I am a morning girl myself, so I love hitting up the gym early. But with school most often i end up going in the early afternoon.

    my wedding… ah when i was younger i would love to plan it out. i used to want something huge and extravagent but now i want something small and simple. maybe on a beach, i would love all raw vegan food.

    When i get married someday ill be hitting you up to come and bring the smoothies ;)

  7. September 13, 2009 6:57 am

    Hey Chica… You know what? I’d be mad too. You are working SO hard at this and not getting results you want/expect after so much effort would make anyone frustrated. It could be lots of things- ranging from increased muscle mass to your body just fighting a weight drop. It could be that the change in diet/exercise has been too much of a shock for your body and it’s flipping out. It could be water retention (when I kick up my exercise, I swell up for some reason?) Focus on the fact that you set a new PR- THAT is sign of progress, regardless of what clothes/scales say.

    1. what do you want/was your wedding reception like? dressy? casual? dinner? just dessert? tiki hut with janetha and marshall blending smoothies? I have never thought about my wedding (!!!- people are always shocked when I say that!) but if you guys will come make smoothies, well..what else do I need?! Oh wait. A fiance.

    2. do you workout better in the morning or later in the day? my work-outs were dance classes so I went when they were on- mornings are best for me. I never managed to find a way to get meals/snacks organised/timed right for later work-outs! Ha :D If I had been reading blogs back then…oy.

    Can’t wait to see what you make for dinner :D

  8. September 13, 2009 7:02 am

    Yumm smoothies! Looks like a success, wish I could have tried one!

    As for your rant… girl, I know exactly how you’re feeling. I was a fat kid once too, then I was skinny (too skinny, but skinny)… and then I was there. I felt awesome, I was in great shape… and somehow I threw it all away. I hate when the jeans don’t fit too, everyone does… but really, it takes time. I’ve been frustrated myself lately over the fact that I’ve only lost 1.5 pounds… but you just need to STICK WITH IT. I know you can do it, your eats are great, your workouts are amazing. You are on the right track. I know you can do it!

    For the fun part…
    I want my wedding reception to be pretty casual, if you want to travel all the way to wherever I plan on getting married I will surely use your smoothie services! ;)

    I almost HAVE to workout in the morning… I lose motivation later on in the day!!

    Have a fun Sunday!

    xo
    K

  9. September 13, 2009 7:03 am

    Cute tiki hut!

    I read your rant and I hate going through that. I get the same way when I do these competitions. I get SO lean and there is no way to stay that lean year round. Then comes Thanksgiving, Christmas and I tell myself every year that this will be the year where I will stay lean and then the 10~15 lbs creeps back up ugh…So I feel your pain.

    My wedding recepetion was a good ol mid west dinner. Fried chicken, green beans and apple butter! It was dressy but not to the nines or anything. I wouldn’t have changed 1 thing!

    I like to do my cardio first thing in the morning…weights around 3p. Then when in prep I do cardio in the evenings too…hate it!

  10. September 13, 2009 7:08 am

    You look super cute working the tiki hut!! I adore your bangs, you are rockin’ that look :)

    Keep on pushing through girl.. and your progress will start to show. I believe that consistency is key and if you are consistent with what you are doing then it’ll happen, give it time.

    As for the ?s, 1. we had a buffet at our wedding with a lot of tropical foods and of course, wedding cake!!! 2. Definitely in the morning.

  11. September 13, 2009 7:21 am

    K, this will probably be a long comment! J–consider this–you look amazing. Your body may be at the weight it is supposed to be and does not want to lose anything. I only mention this because I have had the exact same experience before. At the beginning of my relapse, I was at a totally healthy size, but HATED my body (and other issues, besides). I worked out for over an hour a day and ate nothing and STILL could not lose the weight I was trying to–my body just didn’t want to be any thinner. And it certainly wasn’t worth it once I did lose weight. I know that when I have finally reached recovery, I may be at a higher weight than I initially feel comfortable with, and I will still have a lot of work to do to reconcile my emotions with that.

    I’m DEFINITELY not suggesting you have an eating disorder, so please don’t be offended! I’m just trying to say that your body may be really good where it’s at now. Just keep doing what your doing with the goal to be healthy and maintain your good habits for life and your body will respond the way it’s supposed to, even if it’s not the way you’d hoped. Ugh. That sounds kind of downer, but really, you are such an inspiration in your dedication and challenging workouts–just keep it up and remember to be kind to yourself too !

    My wedding reception was pretty casual–my dad didn’t even wear a tie(but he’s kind of a cowboy, so that’s just how we do), but not as simple as I’d wanted it (moms!). I worked at the aquarium down in Sandy, so we held the reception there. It was pretty awesome, and people still talk about it to this day! We had food in the “sunken ship” with tables set all around the main gallery, and people could stroll the exhibits while they were there.

    There is nothing better than working out in the a.m. I always feel like my energy is so much higher!

    Yeah, this comment is huge. Sorry bout that! i hope you have a relaxing Sunday and can find some motivation in your comments today. All your readers love you and are so positive. I love ya too! Can’t wait to see what you make for dinner. xoxo,
    E

  12. deefit permalink
    September 13, 2009 7:30 am

    Those smoothies look SOOOOOO good.

    My wedding was more formal – in a small town kind of way. We did have a caterer, but the meal was pretty basic – free range turkey (family grown), some salads, cheeses, meats, potatoes, etc. We had to have some warm foods for the stubborn folk like my grandfather, who insisted. :P I loved my reception though, and had a blast!

    If we go ahead and renew our vows in a few years like we’ve been discussing, the next event would be MUCH more low-key – probably a barbecue/outdoorsy type affair. A big party essentially.

    As for working out, I do my best workouts quite late – after 8:00pm in fact! I have no idea why that is!

  13. September 13, 2009 7:33 am

    Sorry to hear you are frustrated right now. But just try to stay as positive as possible (i know, easier said than done), but you have been kicking ass at your plan and it’s just going to take time to work bc it’s REAL. Anything healthy, worthwhile, and long-lasting will naturally be a gradual occurence, not a quick one. :)

    1. I’d love for my reception to have great music, open bars, and good food…I want it to be a partayyy!

    2. I’m definitely a morning person. I like the feeling of doing my workout first thing and knowing for the rest of the day that it’s done!

  14. September 13, 2009 8:02 am

    I feel like everyone has pretty much covered everything, but I’ll rant anyway with a long ass comment… (of course).
    First of all, LOVE the smoothie bar and would hire you in a minute, if I ever actually got married (make it a bachelor bar and I would have more interest.)

    Anyway, hang in there. You’re human. You’re working hard. You’re doing what you need to do, it’s just that your body hasn’t caught up to your head yet. I don’t mean to make this about me, but I kind of had the opposite frustration…

    When I started eating a TON more food and cutting my activity level to basically nothing to gain, I actually lost over five pounds the first couple weeks. I was so confused and frustrated–how in the world could I go from doing what I had been doing and maintaining to completely going the other way and working so hard only to gain weight again? This was medically supervised, too, so I figured they knew what they were doing…

    It was just that my body needed time to adapt and that initial shock revved everything up turned me into a calorie incinerator. Eventually things leveled out and some progress was made. Maybe you need to shake things up a bit, either adding in more/different foods or just switching up the activity a bit?

    If you do things the same way, you will get the same results…but I have no doubt you will look and be fabulous anyway, as your spirit is so wonderful and contagious! :) Hang in there!

  15. April (Foods of April) permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:07 am

    I think I have more energy later in the day but I like working out in the mornings so that I get it over with! But I can never workout on an empty stomach.. my energy drags!

    I’m sorry your feeling down Janetha! Just keep up your healthy habits and I’m sure everything will work out! :)

  16. September 13, 2009 8:13 am

    What a fun reception!! I love how it’s not that formal!

    Sorry to hear you’re frustrated with your weight. It would be really hard to bust your ass but not see improvements :( Try to hang in there and know that 1. You’re probably becoming more toned from the high intensity work outs, 2. You will eventually see results, and 3. You look awesome right now!

    1. I want to have a traditional reception where people dress up because I like dressing up BUT I want it to be a PARTY!!! I hate going to receptions where no one does anything but sit there and talk.
    2. Morning! If I work out later in the day, I’m up all night!

  17. September 13, 2009 8:14 am

    Sorry you are feeling like that! :( I know you were just letting it all out, and not fishing for compliments – but I have to say – YOU LOOK FABULOUS!

    although – i know it doesn’t matter what I or anyone else says – it matters how you feel. If you want to get there, I have no doubt YOU WILL get there my dear!

  18. September 13, 2009 8:15 am

    i have NO idea what my wedding ceremony and reception will be like. workin on gettin a boyfriend at the moment!

    as for working out in the morn or night, i’ve gotta go with the morning. sometimes i don’t get to work out as long, but then it just pushes me to not be lax. also, when i work out at night, i CAN NOT fall asleep at a reasonable hour. i’m just too jazzed with adrenaline or something.

    i know you weren’t lookin for the pity party, but i totally feel ya on the process taking longer than you expected. i just keep reminding myself that when weight and inches come off slowly THEY WILL STAY OFF! when i lose quickly, it always comes back if i even LOOK at junk food.

    keep up the fab work, girlie! i think i’m getting a magic bullet for my bday because your smoothies always look amazing :)

  19. September 13, 2009 8:17 am

    Happy National Chocolate Milkshake Day! Very cute reception theme you have going on there :)

  20. September 13, 2009 8:39 am

    You can be my SmoothieMaker anytime, you look so cute, or should I say hot, makin smoothies :)

    My wedding reception…we eloped in Vegas and spent the hours post-wedding randomly cruisin’ dive bars and laughing at everyone else and just being together, knowing it was our little secret that we had just gotten married. 9 yrs later, it proves, we really only have each other in the world and parties are fun, but we’re glad we did our own little version of a party..just be with each other and laugh :)

    As for your thoughts on weight….honey, be gentle with yourself both physically and emotionally and in time, the weight will come off and don’t be hard on yourself in the process, I know it’s hard though when you’re not feeling your best about yourself, just try to hang in there. hugs!

  21. September 13, 2009 8:45 am

    you held down that tiki hut!

    sorry to hear about your frustration. it’s easy to get impatient to see the results that you know you can achieve. lots of factors could be playing a role, right? stress, maybe? not getting enough sleep? both of those things could bump up your cortisol levels.

    but that said, you’ll get to where you want to be! you said it: you know you can do it!

    1. no reception! hub and I got married in vegas, on our own. we didn’t run away and not tell anyone, or anything like that. stressing about wedding plans wasn’t us. we’ve got family and friends spread out all over the place, and we didn’t want to make them travel, or buy us presents, that kind of thing! if I had known the smoothie hut was an option, though…

    2. I’m a total advocate of the morning workout. it’s just better in so many ways :) plus, I think it’s physically impossible for me to sleep past, oh, 6:30, even on the weekends, so I’ve got the time to do an am workout.

  22. julie permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:54 am

    look at you you little smoothie guru :) love it!

    weight gain blows butthole in a mayjah way and I completely understand where you’re coming from. I’ve been battling with the same 10lbs for like a bagill years and its rough! I think we all have good days and bad days but you should just keep truckin girl! You KNOW you can do it because you have before :) You’re working so hard so don’t give up now! We are our own worst enemy so don’t be so hard on yourself girl. You’re gorgeous and don’t ever forget it :)

    working out in the morning completes my life haha

  23. Becky permalink
    September 13, 2009 9:23 am

    Ok as you probs already know, I am totally with you! I know it is super frustrating, but you are doing all the right things. You work so hard and all your eats are in order, just hang in there! When doing some clean eating/BFL research, I read that it takes women about 8 weeks to see results. Maybe this time around it’ll take a bit longer. Don’t give up now! I go to your blog for inspiration and I know others do too.

    For my wedding reception, I want tons of friends and family, good music, lotsa dancing and good food.

    I love working out in the morning. I have so much more energy and feel so good all day because my workout is done. I am such a pile after work and the workouts are usually half-ass.

    Have fun at your mom’s b-day celebration!

  24. Megan permalink
    September 13, 2009 10:26 am

    I’m sorry about the weight loss issue… if it counts for anything, I think you look FANTASTIC!! It’s definitely frustrating when you work so hard at something and don’t get the results you wanted– but just think about how much better you feel right now than you did last year! The results will come eventually, but just know that you’re doing a fantastic job… I wish I had as much will-power as you do!

    1. I’d love my reception to be pretty casual.. on the beach maybe with an open bar, great music, great food, and great company!!!

    2. I like working out in the afternoon– it lets me take my time and plan out my food accordingly. Although when I have to work out in the morning (like today!), I actually really like it because it wakes me up and I can go about the rest of my day without worrying about when I can get to the gym!

  25. snackface permalink
    September 13, 2009 11:10 am

    Awww my love, I am so sorry about the weight frustration! Honestly, you seem to be doing everything so on-point that I’m confused as to why nothing is happening! I’d consult mama for advice and support, fa sho. I also know how upsetting weight gain can be (VegNews helped me with that one this summa!), so I love the no-scale thing.

    OK, the first question is something I’ve honestly never, ever thought about. I have no idea about a wedding reception, let alone if I’ll ever get married/ if marrying is for me.

    And I love morning workouts. I like to get them done first thing because they give me more energy throughout the rest of the day and they put me in such a good mood! Speaking of, I’m off to do that now. So maybe it’s not first thing in the morning, but it’s still early-ish.

    I hope you have a fantastic Sunday! Love you, boo! xo

  26. September 13, 2009 11:14 am

    I am sorry you are struggling with weight frustration but you look SO good…you are so pretty J but it must be hard to not be getting the same results as before. I think in general weight loss/gain is a tricky thing…it can occur at totally different speeds even if you are doing the same as before…I would give it some more time.

    I had a formal evening reception but you & Marshall making smoothies are ridiculously adorable. I awwwed outloud when I saw those photos.

    I workout in the afternoon as I have more time, but I know what you mean with the AM ‘burn’ feeling!

  27. Emily permalink
    September 13, 2009 11:15 am

    1. My wedding reception was very low-key: our favorite photos are of the wedding party taking shots!

    2. I haven’t found my prime time yet, sometimes mornings are good and sometimes I just feel ill.

    Also, I totally feel you on the weight gain – lose situtation, soooo frustrating! Keep your head up :)

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  28. September 13, 2009 1:54 pm

    You know what girl I am right there with you! I have gained all my weight back in just 6 months after the wedding.

    You just need to remember it is SO easy to make the right choices when you are feeling good about yourself and feeling lean. But when you feel frustrated and down? Bring on the ice cream, this freaking challenge isn’t working! BUT STAY STRONG. If you can push through a couple more weeks of this you will absolutely see results.

    The first time you did the challenge EVERYTHING was a shock for your body. Now it is much harder to surprise it because your have done it before…

    I think you are amazing, and you have inspired me to start my own BFL challenge lol. They hubbie and I even took before pics and we are starting it as soon as I get back in town next week!

    You are fab so just stick it out when it feels the toughest and I swear your body will catch up to the work you’ve been doing!

  29. September 13, 2009 2:56 pm

    Hang in there girly :D Your effort and dedication is crystal CLEAR- so just be patient (UGHH) and I know it will pay off. Please don’t let it dampen your trip to Seattle or make u sacrifice any of the fun or good times you’re planning on! I’ve spent too many spring breaks and fun trips obsessing over body image and food :( It makes me so sad to look back, so enjoy yourself!!!! :D :D

  30. September 13, 2009 3:14 pm

    I’m right there with you — looking totally fine, but not rocking my real potential. It’s frustrating!
    I just started a blog to amp up my shape-up program, and I’m so glad I found your blog. You definitely inspiring!
    Don’t get discouraged, just keep truckin’!

  31. September 13, 2009 3:32 pm

    I LOVE THE SMOOTHIE STAND! I’m gonna skip ahead to q1, and say you will be hired for my low-key wedding reception. i haven’t thought about it much, but i think something that suits my personality–low key and fun–is in order. Nothing too frou frou.
    and 2, I think I feel more motivated at the end of the day. When I work out later, I push myself to do more, but in the morning I’m like, “Oh, hey, 30 minutes is up, time to go!” Which isn’t so great physically or mentally.

    i’m sorry to feel how frustrated you are about your weight right now. you are probably seeing slower results because you are already “ahead of the game” compared to when you started body for life before, so the change is harder to make. just keep at it, and surely you will see the results you want, it might just take a little more time. you smartly said that it took more than 5 weeks to put the weight on, so remember it will take a while for it to come off. but really, don’t beat yourself up about that. you should be proud of yourself for the great way you are sticking to the program! i, for one, am constantly amazed and impressed. don’t let seattle get you down. it is a once in a lifetime sort of experience, and you absolutely deserve to live it up and enjoy every moment of it! you are a positive person, janetha! remember that when it comes to YOU.

    that, my friendy, is about the longest comment i have ever written. so there!

  32. September 13, 2009 4:01 pm

    Bahaha, how fun would that be, opening a smoothie stand?! :D

    baby girl, I’m sorry you feel frustrated bout your weight, but don’t we all? sigh. I think weight gain is so much more complicated than we make it out to be. At really high stress times in life, the body just HOLDS onto weight. It could be water weight, it could be coming off of your arms or your face this time, instead of your ass? Who knows, you look great over here!!

  33. lowandbhold permalink
    September 13, 2009 4:34 pm

    I can sleep in LATE too. No shame!! Those smoothies look so good, and you looked uber profesh.

    1. I want my reception to be a PARTY! I want to entertain my friends and have a damn good time.
    2. I’m definitely an afternoon/evening workout kinda gal.

  34. mom permalink
    September 13, 2009 4:40 pm

    You and Marshall were certainly the hit of the evening! I love the casual festivities and I am pretty sure I do and like better working out in the A.M.
    Ahem, remember, the magic time is week 6 thru 8 – don’t worry, you’re on an incredible roll!! xoxoxo

  35. homegirlcaneat permalink
    September 13, 2009 4:41 pm

    Yo mami, just letting you know you look beautiful and glowing at any weight/day/well/morning/night! I know it is bugging you, but I can never ever tell when peeps gain some weight, really! My friend would say something she did and I will be like wha?! But you have serious motivation and great health skillz and YOU ROCK THE SH!T OUTA OF THE GYM and I KNOW you will feel better asap. Like on Wednesday, please blog because I know you’ll be on an endorphin HiGh and feeling like a bo$$$$$!

    MUCH LOVE!!!!! SMOOTHIE QUEEN 2009

  36. September 13, 2009 4:45 pm

    Oh girl I think we’re going through the same thing (with similar 12-week programs)! I’ve been working SO hard on my diet/workout program and wasn’t getting anywhere…but I think my metabolism might finally be reacting to the changes. Just like mom said :-) I’m 6.5 weeks in, so give it a little more time! I think we’ll both be happy at the end. But I totally 100% can relate to you, and not like “I felt that way once,” but I’m going through it RIGHT now. We can DO it!!!

  37. September 13, 2009 4:56 pm

    Sleeping in is heaven! I rarely get to do it so I am looking forward to some major sleeping in Sundays come October (which is when our schedule will finally start clearing up). That looks like such a fun reception! Love the smoothies (yummm)

  38. September 13, 2009 5:41 pm

    I MISSED YOU THIS WEEKEND! is that weird? haha. i am so sorry you are feeling frustrated – i think almost all of us have been there. i have. you get in good shape, let it slide and the climb back up to where you were is not always fun. however, if have learned anything, don’t be mad at yourself. easier said than done, i know but it will NOT help the situation. in fact, in my experience, it’s only made it worse. you have been busting your ass and you deserve kudos for that (kudos!) – it is so frustrating. but just know you were there before, you CAN do it again. maybe it will take longer. maybe it will take switching your workouts up. maybe it will take switching foods up. don’t be afraid to experiment a bit either – ya know how your body gets used to something after awhile (kinda like your metabolism and shampoo?)? maybe a lil’ change isn’t a bad thing, maybe it will kick your body back in gear. okay, maybe that is a lot of maybes. but the fact is: maybe does imply a possibility, and always dwell in possibility.

    i love you – if you need ANYTHING let me know, please! and yes, when i get married, i do in fact want a marshall and janetha tiki hut.

    xxxxx lurve you long time!

  39. September 13, 2009 6:18 pm

    Hey chica! The tiki reception sounds like a blast! You look too cute, and the pictures are adorable!

    And I think you look absolutely fabulous. I know it can be frustrating, but seriously, you’re one hot mama! From what I know from your blog, you are doing excellently regarding healthy eating and your workouts are always rockin’. Keep it up, girl!

  40. September 13, 2009 7:12 pm

    hey smoothie queen, be easy on yourself…i know what it’s like, not being where you used to be. embrace yourself where you are right now. you’re still the same beautiful janetha!

  41. September 13, 2009 7:25 pm

    Love the tiki hut! So sorry about the jeans thing. I hate that and I feel like it totally ruins my motivation. I get over it, but it still sucks.

    My wedding was very formal and I enjoyed every minute of wearing a gown and a tiara. Just call me Princess E! :)

    And my morning workouts have been great which is something I did not expect.

    Good luck with everything, but you look awesome and your lifestyle sounds so healthy.

  42. September 13, 2009 8:06 pm

    Dear Lovely Janetha!

    Don’t worry about it. It is nothing to be so upset over. SEriously. Look at the pic of you. Do you see a fat cow? No. I see a beautiful, vibrant young lady who is the epitome of health. Now, all you need to do is be at peace inside to be healthy in and out. Honestly, I think you look GOOD. Maybe your weight has found the “happy weight” and this is where you’re meant to be.

    Looking at your lifestyle, you are really healthy and you eat really clean. There is NO WAY you can be having any health consequences with a bit of petty weight. So just keep on with your lifestyle, and don’t fret over it, because the more you worry and obsess over it, the more disordered your thoughts and habits will be, which will just lead to a whole new problem, a problem more worrisome than weight gain.

    and honestly. A few pounds are barely visible. You might just be expecting too much out of your body right now. Did you know Kath from KERF recently weighed herself and discovered an increase of 7 lbs? Hm. I look at her pic, and I can’t even tell.

    Oh, and I’d LOVE to have a tikka hut with you, but I don’t plan on getting married ever. ;-)

    And I prefer to work out in the morning as soon as I get up. Working out at night is a pet peeve of mine.

  43. September 13, 2009 8:55 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your frustrations. Don’t let it keep you down. Have a great time in Seattle and remember that’s is just a few days of vacation in the grand scheme of things.

  44. September 13, 2009 8:57 pm

    Good for you for venting! It’s healthy and we all do it. I’m here for ya and can commiserate about not being where ya want to be (me neither).

    FYI, you and yo boy are the CUTEST! I totally dig his arm tats. To-ta-lly.

    I had a pretty kickass wedding last summer. If you want, email me and I’ll hook ya up with my facebook page so you can see pics. It was sumemr semi formal. We got married at a country inn, on a river. LOVED it.

  45. September 13, 2009 9:43 pm

    You look fantastic, but self discipline is important. 4 years ago I lost 150 lbs, (yeah, I said 150, and I’m 5’2″… BAD!) and kept it off for 2 years. Then I lost focus and slowly half of that crept back. Like a fat suit I can’t unzip. Now I’m busting my but to loosen the zipper again and knowing what I went through the first time, I know it will take a long time. Self discipline and knowing that you’re capable are the only things that keep one going. So keep it up buttercup. :)

    Reception…. Don’t I need a ring first? Eh, who cares. I know what I want. Good food, good music, stupid dancing, horrible karaoke (he hates when I sing, no idea why, I have the voice of an angel…. on crack… HA) and casual all the way! Preferably, outside.

    I would love to workout in the morning but work doesn’t allow it. So I go five days a week right after work. It’s not perfect, but you make it work. And at the end of the day, you feel good about it.

  46. September 13, 2009 9:53 pm

    You could totally have a smoothie stand!

    Losing weight is hard – and I totally worry when I can’t plan it (like a vacation). But sometimes I find even just saying you’re worried/frustrated helps!

  47. Jessica (girliemom) permalink
    September 13, 2009 9:56 pm

    Hey Janetha…..I love,love love your blog! We have chatted a few times over email….we actually started our BFL challenge on the same day. :-)
    I totally get where you are coming from on the weight issue…I too seem to be loosing/gaining the same 5 pounds. My eating has changed and improved SO much I acutally shock myself sometimes and I have not missed a workout and have pushed myself every time. I guess our bodies just get stubborn and we have to keep after them. You are an inspiration to me and I know you are gonna have your moment of breakthru here real soon……you did it once and you CAN do it again.

    I work out in the early morning and love it…it sets the tone for my day and even though I don’t always feel totally awake, I love how I feel afterwards.

    My wedding reception was on the more formal side……..it was only a cake reception but still classy and fun.

    Take care girl and keep at it!

  48. WholeBodyLove permalink
    September 13, 2009 10:26 pm

    If you had A LOT of weight to lose the first time you did BFL, it would make sense that it would come off more quickly. This time your metabolism is different and your body compostition has probably changed too. But, I’m sure you know all of this because, after all, it is YOUR body. Remember, when things happen quickly, they are most likely temporary. You are looking for a permanent change and that takes a lot of frustrating, butt-kicking time. But, you CAN do it…you know that :)

  49. September 13, 2009 11:17 pm

    Your tiki hut is adorable!! Marshall’s overwhelming enthusiasm in the first photo cracked me up :)

    I share your frustration and more. It sometimes feels like my body is plugging it’s ears not wanting to listen to what I’m telling it to do. When I lost [too] much weight before, it was way fast and drastic and extreme. A recipe for no fun whatsoever. Now, I’m not even sure my body is capable of losing weight anymore : /

    I feel like I put so much effort into eating healthy and working out but most of the time I end up right where I started or not going anywhere in the first place. What gives?

    It sucks to have had something and then lost it. I think we’ll both get there though, we just have to be patient. I feel like the more I want it, the harder it is. Perhaps if I stop wanting it and live more like a 5 year old, it’ll naturally balance out. Not sure I can let go though…

    Bahh…I wish it were easier. Keep up the good work though–YOU inspire me!

  50. September 14, 2009 7:16 am

    Hi lady!

    I can’t say anything that the commenters above haven’t already.. you ARE amazing, and you have every right to be frustrated…

    I have 100lbs still left to lose, and I have been plateaued for almost a full YEAR now.
    I work out 8-9 hours a week, and I eat pretty immaculately. I can’t lose. :-/

    Sorry for the pity party.. I just want you to feel like you’re not alone. Our bodies aren’t pure science like they say… there MUST be something more, something else that moves the scale as well. I know you’ll find it.. and when you do… please bottle it up, and send it my way! :-)

    Anyway, keep on keeping on… and when you feel frustrated, or stuck… just think of all of US, your followers… who are right there with you, and inspired by you… skinny jeans, or fat jeans :-)

  51. eatolive permalink
    September 14, 2009 9:05 am

    tell me about it! i know the frustration (although, I am not NEARLY as strict with food as you are – you are def my role model on that!) but, it definitely is frustrating to not see results!

    i have faith you’ll pull through though, all the hard work WILL pay off & you just gotta push through and it will come! it just may take a little longer than you were hoping for!

    for real girl, you’re so good about your workouts and your eats, the hard work has to show soon. i hope when i move out of my parents house, and cook my own meals, i can be as healthy as you are now!

  52. September 14, 2009 9:47 am

    Wow, I’m super late commenting on this but I’m sure you know that I feel your pain! Weight gain, especially when you’re in maintenance mode, is a big kick in the ass. Hate it.

    I’m with you though, I also tried on some jeans that STILL don’t fit. Grrr. Let’s say F it and keep on trucking, deal?

    1) It was dressy with some damn good appetizers and a big ol’ food buffet complete with chocolate fountain. Loved it.

    2) Workouts are always at night for me. I get nauseous when I do it in the am.

  53. September 14, 2009 12:15 pm

    aw sweety. you may just been building more strength than losing fat. You know, do you monitor your heart rate? You may not even be in the fat burning zone! Weight training is often in that heart rate zone, but still you are building muscle. so maybe during cardio, you should take it easier – the fat will come right off if you run longer and slower. Heart rate of around 150-160 at max. You may already do this, but if not I hope it helps.
    love you!
    -muffs

  54. September 14, 2009 4:22 pm

    ahhh J, I can’t believe I missed your little rant – that’s what I get for trying to multitask and read blogs while reading british lit homework. Here is what I WOULD have said had I been more attentive yesterday.

    You said it best yourself girl, you didn’t put the weight on in 5 weeks, you can’t expect yourself to lose it in 5 weeks. During my weight loss journey I wasn’t “seeing results fast enough” so.. I immersed myself in to a world of self-hatred and disappointment. As a result, I began to cut my cals and increase my cardio DRASTICALLY just to see immediate results (enter: eating disorder) if I could I would give anything to go back to those days when I was in my little “rut”. Looking back now I wish I would’ve savored the process, cherished each day I was eating healthier and working out, even if I wasnt seeing the transformations in my body right then… knowing that I was taking the necessary steps that I needed to in order to lose the weight should have been incentive enough for me to stay on that healthy path. So, from someone who has been where you are — the greatest advice I can give you is to keep on keepin’ on, babe. Your hard work WILL pay off and you will mold and shape your body in to that strong and healthy powerhouse you’re looking for. All my love to you doll! :)

  55. September 14, 2009 5:16 pm

    {{{{{{{Janetha}}}}}}}}

    Dorky I know, but you need big hugs right now.
    Be patient and kind to yourself. Believe me, I know ALL about starting over again. Just give it time and don’t give up! And I second what everything else has said (unless someone was mean, then screw them. I didn’t read through all the responses).

    Plus, it is harder for those of us who are petite. It just is. I’ve seen it again and again. Just hang in there and stay fabulous with your sweet and loving family and your great guy and you can have it ALL again.

    We’ll get a work out in if you have some time in Seattle, and you can bitch and moan all you want. :)

  56. September 14, 2009 7:50 pm

    I totally feel the same way as you right now. A few short months ago I had lots a buttload of weight..and these past summer months alot of it has creeped back on again..despite healthy eating and workin out (but..yea eating way too much) doesn’t matter what kind of food itis..if you eat too much ur gonna get PHAT. Duh.
    I’m also annoyed with myself and can relate to EVERYTHING you say. But I guess the comforting fact is to know that we got there once and we shall get there again!

  57. September 14, 2009 8:16 pm

    Trust me, we’ve all been there. I am not sure “which jeans” your talking about- the ones you fit into 9 months ago? Some unattainable crazy small size that you have always wanted to be?

    I see what you do and for goodness sake, it seems like it would be “working” to your satisfaction- you eat sooo clean on your days on BFL. I do not do BFL, but one of the things that would concern me is the ‘day off’ and as long as it doesn’t become a binge (it doesn’t seem to with you!) then, it shouldn’t be a deal breaker.

    My only other thought is this: The guy who did my underwater weighing told me that if I spend too much time above my lactate threshold, that I would burn up my muscle (not scientific term I know). And he said you can pop in and out of High HRs perhaps 3X per workout. My lactate threshold is 144. If my avg HR was 158, I’d be burning up all my muscle according to him! When I did what he said and went back a few months later, I had lost fat and gained muscle, (which is often not the case- you lose fat AND muscle if you are lowering your cals). Anyway, I have NO idea if this is true, but I’ve been sticking to it- you might want to ask around!??

    Hang in there.

    Wedding was pretty casual- at my Mom’s Home. What were the green smoothies? what made them green? I MUST work out by noon or I will never do it, EVER!

    Hugs.

  58. September 15, 2009 12:17 am

    Aw Janetha!! Don’t be so hard on yourself!! If you stick with your plan, the extra weight will eventually come off. It must, I mean…you have a pretty strict meal plan going on and you work out hard, so i’m sure it’s going to pay off in the long run! You gotta remember that permanent weight loss takes longer!

    Just remember to keep enjoying what you eat and enjoying your life! Don’t let yourself cut back more, and become more strict with everything!! You are doing great, we love youuuu!!!!!

  59. September 16, 2009 9:20 am

    Girl, first of all…love your blog! I’m new to this whole venture, and it’s awesome to read your fun and engaging posts.
    Second, I hear you on the constant battle with weight. I was a competitive athlete my whole life, and after finishing my NCAA eligibility, I stopped burning 6,000 calories a day swimming. After gaining like 20 lbs, I was so unhappy that I decided to take the plunge and diet/eat healthy/take of running. Hellish? I think yes…frustrating? Even more so than I would have imagined. It’s hard, but it’s worth it…you’re awesome, and you’ll get back to the shape you want to be in…trust me :)

Trackbacks

  1. happy birthday to my favorite person ever. « meals & moves
  2. reflections. « meals & moves

Leave a comment