Skip to content

flashback friday round three.

August 21, 2009

so the real reason i started up flashback friday was so i didn’t have to think of a post title once a week. ;) okay, maybe there are other reasons behind it.. but that is definitely a benefit.  one that i will most certainly take advantage of every friday, so get used to it!

i read emily’s race playlist today and she mentioned she put that “ice cream and cake” song on there that is the baskin robbins commercial on food network.  ever since then i have had that damn song stuck in my head and i hate it!  i am going bananas.  it brings up a subject that i think about often…why do companies make really annoying commercials?  i guess they do get stuck in your head easily, but i do not think their annoying jingle is going to get me to go out and buy their products.  the A-1 commercials (you know, the “it makes your meat sing” ones) are getting on my nerves a bit lately too.  and a local used car company advertises on the radio using the tunes of other songs.. which get stuck in my head.. and bug me.. and i will never shop at low book sales for as long as i live.  OH and don’t get me started on the gold’s gym ads, do you guys have radio ads for gold’s gym with an annoying dude pretending he is arnold schwartzennnwhatever? (can’t spell) those bug me too.  commercial rant over.

meals_thumb

so i have decided to jump on the breakfast challenge bandwagon that sarah started up.  yesterday i had protein oats and today i had

meal 1: spicy oats @ 9:30 AM

meals 020

this mix included 1/3 cup oats, 1 laughing cow light wedge and 1 cup egg beaters scrambled and a lot of frank’s.  it was super filling though and i didn’t finish it.  i couldn’t believe the whole bowl was only 250 calories! it also clocked in at 30g protein, 23g carbs and 2g fat which is a good radio for body for life.  i could have done without that extra 1/4 cup of eggbeaters though, i will stick to 3/4 cup next time.

meals 022

i spent the afternoon in reconciliation hell with my good buddy quickbooks.  i was recently assigned to take over all the accounts at work and now i am trying to clean it all up.  it is a big mess though, i hope to get things sorted before the end of time.

meal 2: greek seasoned ground turkey + chipotle hummus + sprouts in a flat out @ 1:00 PM

meals 023

this was delicious and nutritious!  the new chipotle sabra was really yum, but i was hoping it would be spicy and it was more smoky and definitely not spicy.  i will have to add some cock sauce to the mix next time. still a bueno lunch though, for sure. 

meals 024

eaten while working away :(

meals 025

came home from work and munched on a couple green grapes and then went to my room to change for the gym… and fell asleep for an hour. woops!

woke up and needed a little something to fuel me through my workout so i had

meal 3: plain non fat chobani + TJ’s honey almond flax cereal @ 6:00 PM

meals 026

this little sunkissed snacky clocked in at 243 calories, 26g protein, 32g carbs and 4g fat. not too shabby, maybe a little carb heavy but nothing to sweat.

then i procrastinated more than i should have… and finally changed for the gym around 6:45…

it is so weird how it is so hard for me to get to the gym but once i am about 15 minutes into my workout i wonder what all the fuss was about.

moves_thumb

anyway, it was upper body workout today:

*note, i have mentioned this before but i will mention it again, the numbers are total pounds, so if it is dumbbells that i used, the actual weight of each dumbbell would be half of what is listed.

overhead dumbbell shoulder press/ball crunches (for upper abs)

  • 12 reps w/ 20#
  • 50 crunches
  • 10 reps w/ 24#
  • 50 crunches
  • 8 reps w/ 30#
  • 50 crunches
  • 6 reps w/ 40#
  • 50 crunches
  • 12 reps w/ 24#

lateral dumbbell side raises

  • 12 reps w/ 10#

overhead tricep cable extension/treadmill sprints

  • 12 @ 30#
  • 1 min sprint @ 9 mph
  • 10 @ 35#
  • 1 min sprint @ 9 mph
  • 8 @ 40#
  • 1 min sprint @ 9 mph
  • 6 @ 45#
  • 1 min sprint @ 9 mph
  • 12 @ 35#

bench dips

  • 12 reps

dumbbell chest press/jumping jacks

  • 12 @ 30#
  • 30 seconds jumping jacks
  • 10 @ 40#
  • 30 seconds jumping jacks
  • 8 @ 45#
  • 30 seconds jumping jacks
  • 5 (couldn’t do 6) @ 50#
  • 30 seconds jumping jacks
  • 12 @ 40#

dumbbell flyes

  • 12 @ 15#

barbell bicep curls/shadow boxing

  • 12 @ 20#
  • 30 seconds boxing
  • 10 @ 25#
  • 30 seconds boxing
  • 8 @ 30#
  • 30 seconds boxing
  • 6 @ 40#
  • 30 seconds boxing
  • 12 @ 25#

hammer curls

  • 12 @ 15#

cable rows/hanging leg raises on end of bench (for lower abs)

  • 12 @ 20#
  • 15 leg raises
  • 10 @ 30#
  • 15 leg raises
  • 8 @ 40#
  • 15 leg raises
  • 6 @ 50#
  • 15 leg raises
  • 12 @ 30#

underhand barbell rows

  • 12 @ 40#

whew. the end.

stats: 44:31 min, max HR=156, ave HR=120, cal=216

then i went to whole foods because i needed to re-up on my oikos supply! on the way there i had my post workout nutrition…

meals_thumb

meal 4: myoplex lite bar @ 8 PM

meals 027

new flavor alert! you know i love me some cinnamon! this had been in my car and it almost hit 100 degrees today… so you can guess i was not shocked to see this when i opened it~

meals 028

it’s ok, it was still good.  this is by far my favorite flavor of myoplex lite bar yet! way better than the chocolate crunch and the beanut butter chocolate.  try it.

meals 029

i snagged a few other thangs at whole foods besides the (free! thanks stonyfield’s!) oikos: two individual sized packets of justin’s maple almond butter because they were on sale… and plus i can’t buy nut butter by the jar right now… so i will save that for free day… some stash green tea because i think i want to jump on the green tea consumption band wagon… and some bottled unsweetened tea because it was on sale and i drank it while i blogged…

meals 030

when i got home we took the pupperoos for a walk and both penelope and randy managed to finagle out of their collars at one point in time during the walk. sneaky little scamps.

i got home from the walk around quarter after nine and was not hungry yet, obviously, so i did some hanging out before i made a late, late dinner…

meal 5: something random @ 11:00 PM

this was…

one of the tortillas i always eat so i thought i would show you guys:

IMG_3766

stats~

IMG_3767

a LCL wedge smeared on like so~

IMG_3770

topped with some greek seasoned ground turkey burger

IMG_3771

and a little corn goodness on top

IMG_3772

the jar is almost gone! someone send me some!

IMG_3773

all rolled up

IMG_3774

nom, nom, nommmmmmmmmmmm!

IMG_3776

that was entirely too long of a description for that little wrap.  sorry, i had to entertain myself somehow!

flashback friday time!! 

in spirit of the whole penelope theme this week, since it was her birthday an all, i will flash back to her puppy shower that my mom threw for me!

yes, my mom is amazing.  yes, she realizes that penelope is the equivalent of a child for me.  yes, she treats her like a grandchild. 

i am happy to share this flashback because originally i wanted flashback friday to include FOOD since this is a food blog and all, but last week had no food.  this week you will see just how creative my mom and i got for the shower!!

11-4-08 032

dog bone chicken salad sandwiches (in white and wheat)~

11-4-08 034

puppy paw print mint chocolate cupcakes (the paws are made from york peppermint patties & junior mints!) the frosting was mint flavored as well~

11-4-08 028

penelope was just 11 weeks old :)

11-4-08 100

dog bone sugar cookies (with the frosting in penny’s signature color~purple!)

11-4-08 031

spinach artichoke dip served in a dog bowl! and pita chips~

11-4-08 039

11-4-08 046

notice the election on in the background, this was on november 4th.

fun, right? we played cool games like match the celebrity dog to the owner and pin the tail on the dog!

11-4-08 076

notice someone missed the poster entirely!

and penelope was, of course, showered with gifts!!!

11-4-08 017

this was also the first time penelope saw SNOW!!

11-4-08 097

it was so much fun!

11-4-08 105

notice the purple balloons, i mean, it IS her color. also notice how little allie’s baby was!! she is so big now! i post her on the blog sometimes.

penny was tuckered out after, thanks mom for throwing such a fun shower!!

11-4-08 121

well that completed the third installment of flashback friday.  you guys should join in next week! i would love to see some flashbacks of your own :)

tonight i am going to start throwing the giveaway post together for tomorrow and i will be picking a random winner at midnight!  get stoked.

and yes, it is friday night and i am hanging at home with the roomies and the pooches.  the past 3 weekends have been so fun-filled that it is kind of nice just to chill.  tomorrow i have plans all day too so i am just going to take it easy tonight.  i hope you all have fun whatever you end up doing!!

couple thangs~

Qs~

1. any commercials or jingles you can’t stand? already babbled about all mine up there!

2. how do you get a song out of your head that is stuck in there that you DON’T want in there?! “ice cream and cake, ice cream and cake!” ahhhh going crazzzy…

3. do you like cinnamon flavored things or peanut butter flavored things better? yes, you have to pick. but since it is my question.. i don’t have to ;)

check ya later dudettes.

xo. janetha b.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. WholeBodyLove permalink
    August 21, 2009 11:40 pm

    The Wendy’s commercials annoy me because they are trying to market Wendy’s as if it is healthier than other fast food or as if it’s not fast food at all. I always seem to go for PB flavor over cinnamon ;)

  2. August 22, 2009 12:12 am

    Love Flashback Fridays! :) Penelope’s Puppy Shower looks like soooo much fun! And Penelope was soooo little and cute (she still is cute!).

    1. Can’t think of any at the moment, but we canceled Cable TV a few weeks ago, so that’s probably why…
    2. Just wait until it “goes away”… :)
    3. Cinnamon. But peanut butter flavored is a VERY close second.

    Happy Weekend! :)

  3. August 22, 2009 12:58 am

    I gotta get on the savory oats bandwagon!! And omg I LOVE that salsa. Best stuff ever!!! Do you not have a TJ’s by you girlie? If you send me your address I may just be able to send some salsa your way ;-) That stuff it too good NOT to have! Oh and I also love that almond butter. Have you tried that flavor? Best stuff ever!

  4. August 22, 2009 1:04 am

    that ice cream and cake song has been in my head for weeks…

  5. August 22, 2009 5:22 am

    I LOVE that your mom threw Penelope a doggy shower! That is so fun! and the food was cute cute cute.
    My FAVORITE FLAVOR is peanut butter… hands down, no questions asked! I love love love peanut butter… when I was pg with my youngest (now 12) i CRAVED grilled peanut butter sandwiches YUM!
    have a great weekend… :0)

  6. August 22, 2009 5:30 am

    OK that dog shower is just about the cutest thing ever, I want to go to a dog shower with all those good eats! And how sweet is your mom? I just love that.

    I am blanking on #1 and #2 I have NO idea!

    3. I definitely prefer PEANUT BUTTER flavored things! Well, except gum.

  7. August 22, 2009 5:32 am

    And oh yeah, we are soul sisters – you can have my cake and I’m taking your frosting! A match made in heaven.

  8. August 22, 2009 6:22 am

    I totally freaked out at the Myoplex bar the second I saw that picture! I hope that flavour comes to Canada!! (unlike every other awesome bar flavour ever made)

    That tortilla has amazing nutritional stats! Man, there are so many great wrap brands in the States. The only ones I can find here are like a bajillion carbs and 200-250 calories, that’s why I always go the pita route.

    I almost did flashback Friday yesterday but my post was getting too long, so I nixed it. Next week, I promise!! :)

    1/2. I can’t think of any off the top of my head, but if I do have a song stuck in my head, I HAVE to listen to it to get it out.

    3. This is tough, but I’m going to go with cinnamon flavour. I find manufacturers can never quite pinpoint the peanut butter flavour as perfectly as, well, straight-up PB. But everything tastes better with cinnamon!!

  9. August 22, 2009 6:41 am

    Oh, sorry Janetha!! Now everyone will hat me for putting that blasted song in their heads! But it’s been in mine too–drat! I think for sure after the race it is coming OFF my list :) I HATE the Gold’s Gym commercial, the VW ones with Hans and Frans and the Money Train ones–obnoxious!! Cinnamon v. PB? How mean! I think I’ll have to choose cinnamon though. It makes everything taste better! Thanks for the shout out and the good wishes x0x0

  10. August 22, 2009 7:25 am

    Hahaha that jingle plays pretty much every day before I go to work! I actually find it kinda catchy! LOL, definitely a stuck in your head kinda song though!

    CUTE pics of Penelope!

    1. I really can’t stand a few of the local commercials near where I live ugh.

    2. Hopefully it just goes away!

    3. Peanut butter flavored things by far ;)

    Have a great weekend!

  11. lookingforserenity permalink
    August 22, 2009 7:26 am

    AWW I love how you throw your dog a party :)

  12. August 22, 2009 7:52 am

    janetha…i love your dog shower! suriously, so cute. i think my fave part was the dogbone sammies and footprint cupcakes. ador! i seriously will jump on the flashback friday bandwagon…i just keep forgetting!

    yay for spicy oats – after seeing them blow up the blogosphere, i need to try them soon. however, i am not a big spicy fan so maybe with some salsa instead? hmmmmmm…..

    killer wraps, killer accounting skills (i wouldn’t even know where to start) and killer workout. hope you have a wonderful relaxing weekend – that is exactly what is in store for me. besides this 15 mile run i need to leave in like 10 minutes for….eeekkk!

    (1) as much as i hate annoying songs, i usually find i end up singing them. can’t think of any right now, but i am sure i will start singing them mid-run.

    (3) ahhhhhhh you CANNOT make me choose. this is like choosing between my right and left arm, how does one decide? cinnamon, peanut butter, cinnamon, peanut butter….this needs more thought. i will get back to you :)

  13. april permalink
    August 22, 2009 7:54 am

    Wow your breakfast looks really good actually! I’ve been scared to try savory oats but I think I really need to!

    And not cool for number 3! I can’t choose!! Alright alright I guess I choose peanut butter.. cause you can always add cinnamon on top :)

  14. August 22, 2009 8:20 am

    I get that Baskin Robins commercial stuck in my head. I hate it!

    I think I like peanut butter flavored things just a little bit better.

    I love that your Mom threw you a puppy shower! So cute!

  15. August 22, 2009 8:21 am

    That ice cream and cake song pisses me off because it’s a blatant rip of of the peanut butter jelly time song.

    Spicy oats = La-la-love! You know I always love me some cinn so I may have to pick up that bar.

    Puppy shower?! Oh my gosh! That’s too cute!

    3. I’d pick cinnamon just because PB flavored things tend to be SOOOOO artificial tasting at times it’s a slap in the face to the true PB that we all adore :)

  16. August 22, 2009 9:05 am

    1) Your food is awesome…love it all. Please invite me for dinner. I can’t bring salsa, but I can bring some haggis.
    2) Coolest shower ever! Ah, Penelope is so cute…totally deserving of such a celebration. Loving the theme-food!

    K. Business.

    1. any commercials or jingles you can’t stand? this is going to sound weird, but I LOVE commercials- though when I was in the US, about 95% made me switch the TV to mute during them. That one with the song about “ain’t no flies on me” and that weird grasshopper thing (?) makes me want to punch the TV.

    2. how do you get a song out of your head that is stuck in there that you DON’T want in there?! Either listen to it on repeat a few times or listen to something else- LOUD!

    3. do you like cinnamon flavored things or peanut butter flavored things better? Cinnamon. Love it. I LOVE peanut butter but as a general rule, the texture of PB is about 80% of the pleasure for me so PB flavoured stuff doesn’t make the cut.

  17. August 22, 2009 9:08 am

    You just single-handedly brightened my Saturday morning! A) Your cute comment made me chuckle B) Your pup is so frickin’ cute! What kind of dog is she? I want one just like her.

    I always procrastinate working out and then wonder why. Once I strapped on my shoes, put on my gym clothes and crawled into bed (with my feet dangling off the side). My roommate walked in and was like “huh?!”

    The jingle I always get stuck in my head is “I married my dream girl, I married my dream girl…” I think it’s for the debt/loan thing? And “1800 588 2300 EMPIIIIIIRE!!”

    I get all the annoying songs stuck in my head and it takes DAYS to get out. I’m not the one to give advice on that one :)

  18. August 22, 2009 9:33 am

    100 degrees there, dang girl i’m envying you for that right now! lovin’ those savory oats, so good.

    those pictures are adorable of the pups n’ you! annnd your coming to seattle in less than a month… say what??? amazing! we could get all bloggie and have a meet up haha! when slash how long are you staying for?

  19. August 22, 2009 10:14 am

    1. $5 footlong. UGH!
    2. Don’t try and it goes away or make up my own song.
    3. Always cinnamon!!!

  20. mom permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:05 am

    Well, that cute flashback friday brought a tear……it is SO fun to make GREAT memories and I am so glad you document them SO well!! Love you too too much and you to Penelope Peeps!! xoxoxoxo

  21. August 22, 2009 1:55 pm

    ohmigosh i am dying over that puppy shower. that is seriously maybe the cutest thing i have ever seen. did you guys make all that food yourself??? you might have to go into business!!!

  22. August 22, 2009 2:03 pm

    okay i’m going to be brutally honest right now – i kind of want to kill whoever made the freecreditreport.com commercials (f-r-e-e that spells free, credit report.com baby) i.despise.it.

    penelope is such a princess – i love! her party is legit bette than any i’ve ever had.

    lovezzzz you, J!

  23. August 22, 2009 2:13 pm

    I love the puppy shower idea! That’s so adorable!

  24. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    August 22, 2009 2:31 pm

    love that savory oats.. that’s a powerhouse of protein and yummy~~

    puppy show idea is great! I’d join you if I had a puppy! :)

  25. August 22, 2009 3:21 pm

    I know what you mean, I HATE coming up with post titles. I can stare at that blank little title box forEVER and still be at a loss for a cutesy and clever title. That myoplex bar and the tortillas look great. Love the flashback of Penelope’s puppy shower. How cute!

    1) Hmm I’m sure there’s a lot more, but one of em is for Kohls: “the more you know, the more you Kohls!” WTF??? that makes NO sense! so annoying.

    2) sing another one! hehe

    3) ugh this is a mean question! ;) It totally depends on what’s being flavored, but I’ll go with cinnamon.

  26. August 22, 2009 6:12 pm

    Oh I love it when I have more than one of your posts to catch up on. Ok, next week I plan to get involved with Flashback Friday. I think I can cobble together some embarrassing photos of yesteryear.
    Love your puppy shower – your mom is so adorable it hurts!
    Savory oats are on my list for “different” breakfasts this week! So intrigued!
    I don’t really have answers for one and two – sorry. But number 3 is peanut butter! So delicious and so right!

  27. August 22, 2009 6:24 pm

    I have got to get in on some of this savoury oats action…everyone seems to be at it….hmmmm am I brave enough???

    At the moment I have “I’m coming out, I want the world to know…” stuck in my head….noooo idea why, and it’s been there for daaaays now??? I sing it whenever I think about my hols….and then I realise it has nooo relevance at all, and backtrack to a bit of Madonna “Holiday” style…hmmm did that even slightly answer your q??

    We don’t get much pb flavour stuff over here….and not that much cinnamon either to fair….I’m not too fussed on either to be honest??? Shock, horror!!?? xx.

  28. hayleycepeda permalink
    August 22, 2009 8:08 pm

    Oh my gosh SO many fun things to respond to! First off, I love the doggie pictures!! They’re so cute! I wish I had one, but I’m sure my cat would eat it. :)

    Secondly, you look so dang cute and pretty in that hat!! Seriously it really suits you! You’re pretty anyway, but honestly you look great in that picture.

    You have such a good mom to throw such a fun shower!! All of those treats look so yummy and very creative! Big kudos to Mom on that one.

    I’d have to say that both jingles are ones with phone numbers and as much as I hate them I guess the commercials work!

    Call 1800 2372 1001..allAAAARRmmm fooooorce… UGH

    Then like your other commentor(s). 800 588 2300 EMPIIIIIRE…

    I usually try and sing another sing when I get one stuck in my head, except that results in me getting the new song stuck in my head!

    Peanut butter!! :)

  29. August 23, 2009 3:57 am

    A puppy shower…how adorable!! That is such a cute idea.
    I am going to look at your BFL page again. Now that I am tracking my food on Spark People, it should be easy to look at the carbs/protein/fats ratios.

  30. August 23, 2009 6:19 am

    woot woot! your spicy oats look extra fabby – love the addition of laughing cow – you are brilliant!!! :D

    i am so jealous of penny’s shower – and the awesome mama you have! what a great night, thanks for sharing it! loved how cute she looked in the snow.

  31. lowandbhold permalink
    August 25, 2009 9:42 am

    Oh my goodness, Penny is one lucky puppy! Haha.

    Looking at your savory oats just made my mouth water. You actually managed to make them look appetizing!

Trackbacks

  1. a dog day afternoon. « meals & moves
  2. flashback friday: flashback friday. « meals & moves

Leave a comment