Skip to content

frustrated.

August 7, 2009

sometimes when you work out 6 days a week and eat clean 90% of the time your jeans you wore last winter still don’t fit.

that was me this morning and i have no idea what is going on.  and needless to say, i am frustrated.  last winter when said jeans did fit i was working out just 4 or 5 days a week and eating clean 80% of the time, so what gives?!

i think i possessed more muscle and my metabolism was in high gear back then.  i could eat more and it burned off without lifting a dumbbell.  that is just my theory though.

i need a plan of attack, i need to figure out how to shake up my metabolism as my mom put it.  i am doing all the right things but the wrong things are happening.

i am thinking of going back on strict BFL because i know that is what works for me.  although i have been basing all my meals and workouts off the BFL principles i have not been turbo strict, i think that is what i need to do.  6 weeks until i leave for seattle.. perfect amount of time for a mini challenge.  i think that is what i will do.

i am all about being happy with the skin i am in.  i am far past the days of looking at other people and longing to look like them.  my legs will always be muscley and big, i will always be a shortie pants, my freckles are not going anywhere and my left arm will never be like it was before i broke it.  i am fine with all this, i don’t have envy of other people anymore like i once did.  but i do have envy of my prior self.  it bothers me because i know my own potential and i am not there.  i know what i am capable of because less than a year ago i was right where i wanted to be.  that is why i am frustrated, i let my ideal self slip away somehow and now i am struggling hardcore to get it back.

don’t get me wrong, i am happy with myself.  i look damn good compared to one point in my life.  but i just refuse to accept the fact that all the jeans and pants i bought last november don’t fit me now.  so i gotta figure this out.. i don’t really know why i am rambling about it here.  probably to sort it out for myself.  i need to pinpoint the problem so i can figure out a solution.

that is my little friday rant. 

if any of you have a suggestion~if you have experienced something similar and have any ideas, i am all ears.

wow. my boss just came in here and asked me if i have gained weight.  what the?  sweet.

sorry for the downer post, that little episode i experienced just sealed the deal.

here is the latest on the food front…

meals

thursday’s lunch was similar to wednesday’s.. flat out+jalepeno goat cheese+turkey+cucumber+sprouts+annie’s horseradish mustard & veggies+hummus

 IMG_2772 IMG_2773 IMG_2774

then i worked until 7:10 PM. i was off at 5.  lame. whack. ruined my night. 

i had this braeburn + naturally more upon getting home, even though randy wanted it more.

IMG_2776 it it was dinner time but i still had a cardio session to accomplish so i didn’t want to eat anything big (TWSS)

 

moves

35 minutes on the bike while i read the first charlaine harris novel. yes, i had HIIT scheduled.  i was beat after a 10 hour day at work and although i didn’t want to work out at all, i still went.  like my mom says, “something is better than nothing.”

 

back at home i baked dark chocolate coconut banana muffins for my vegan boys~ mini ones and full sized ones!

 IMG_2784

and i made some sun dried tomato basil hummus for the boating trip today~    IMG_2781 IMG_2783

meals

and as you can guess, since i got home from my workout at ten PM, i just had something simple.. cereal for dinner.

IMG_2785

today’s breakfast was a chocolate banana protein shake + coffee.

IMG_2788

sorry this post is sub par. i am just not feeling it today.

thanks for all the calf exercise suggestions! real stoked on that.

i have another hour of work and then i am off to the lake.  i hope it warms up, it is a little gloomy right now, kinda like this girl.

ohhh and since i won’t be near a computer for the next little while, i won’t be commenting on the blogs of yours.  i will be reading from my BB though, so excuse the lack of commentness.

questions..

1. what (if any) book are you reading right now? what is it about?

2. favorite flavor of hummus?

3. weekend plans???

xo. janetha b.

33 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 10:17 am

    Wow, asking a person if they’ve gained weight is heading into some murky waters!

    Have you considered your body may be stressed or suffering from some sort of adrenal fatigue? Brendan Brazier goes into it in the Thrive Diet and it made a lot of sense to me. If you’re not sleeping enough, working out TOO much, and eating too many unnatural foods, then it can stress your body into clinging on to body fat.

    I think another full-on challenge sounds like a good idea, just make sure you rest up first! Enjoy your fun weekend plans, and maybe take a week of from the gym to recoup and recover first. :)

    Oh, and I’m just going to throw it out there, but maybe those jeans were bought when you were at an “unhappy” size? As in, you were more thin than you could reasonably maintain for a long period time without completely cutting yourself off from fun food splurges and days off from the gym. I mean, ideally, I’d like to lose some of my lingering body fat, but that would mean shaking up my diet and exercise routine, and I’m more happy with the extra body fat than I would be working hard to get rid of it. Does that make sense?

    Hope you feel better Janetha!!! <3

    Oh! And the only "book" I'm reading right now is Runner's World, fave hummus is extra garlicky, and I'm going home this weekend, yay!!

  2. runeatrepeat permalink
    August 7, 2009 10:18 am

    My favorite flavors of hummus are tomato basil, sun dried tomato (it’s not the same!) and spicy!

  3. August 7, 2009 10:24 am

    Hmm, I just left the longest comment ever and I think I accidentally deleted it, boo!

    To sum: Have you ever heard of adrenal fatigue? Brendan Brazier talks about it in the Thrive Diet. Basically it’s when your body goes into stress mode and starts clinging on to fat, likely as a result of OVER-exercise, lack of sleep, or food intake. Also, maybe those jeans were just bought at an “unhappy” weight. ie, you were thinner at the time than you could reasonably manage long term. Sometimes a “happy” weight is a little more than our “ideal weight” but it at least allows us to splurge a little and skip the gym sometimes :)

    I think another challenge is a good idea, just make sure you get lots of REST first! Enjoy your weekend and maybe take a week off from the gym to recoup and recover.

    Oh, and the only book I’m reading right now is “Runner’s World,” extra-garlicky hummus is my fave, and I’m finally going home this weekend! Yay!!

    Have a great weekend Janetha!! You deserve the fun! <3

  4. August 7, 2009 10:28 am

    I HEAR YA Janetha. I know our situations aren’t exactly the same, as I have gained about 15 lbs (I cringe saying that) in the last year and it freakin’ sucks. Trying on clothes that last summer fit me beautifully, even with a little room to spare, and now I can’t even attempt to squeeze into them. I can feel your pain, I’m a shorter girl too, so any extra lbs on me certainly is felt and seen I’m sure. I KNOW my potential as well, and looking through old photos last night, I know I can be there, so what’s the issue?? I’m eating even healthier than I did then…but the quantity it probably an issue. Although I FELL healthier now, wouldn’t healthier also be 15 lbs lighter (I’m a curvy girl, so those 15lbs may push me into the overweight category :( ) It’s incredibly frustrating and irritating, and I KNOW what you’re feeling, trust me. The only thing I can think to do is just keep plugging away at it, and hope that your body and mind connect at some point and things even themselves out. I’m working out more now than I was then too, so what gives??

    Many hugs your way!! :)

  5. August 7, 2009 10:31 am

    Janetha!! Although your post was a bit more down than usual I totally understand how frustrating it can be to not fit into those beloved jeans you fit into just a year ago. Our bodies are constantly morphing and changing and we gotta just go with it! I wish you luck and happiness and gurl you look great from what I can see!!!! I don’t know what you looked like a year ago, but your beautiful and got some damn good lookin abs haha!

    1. I am currently reading Ruth Reichl’s book Garlic and Saphires. It’s really good!!!!
    2. My fav hummus is this red pepper almond hummus I made a couple months ago!
    3. I am going to Cape Cod to lounge on the beach this weekend!

  6. August 7, 2009 10:33 am

    PS: What is BFL?

  7. April (Foods of April) permalink
    August 7, 2009 10:42 am

    Aw I’m sorry your feeling down! I’ve actually heard that sometimes if you over exercise you can hold on to fat? I don’t know how true that is though!

    My favorite hummus is jalapeno!

    And I’m not reading a book at the moment.. I need to get on that!

  8. August 7, 2009 10:45 am

    Are your workouts as efficient as last year at this time? I found that when I ran/exercised 6 days a week, I didn’t put my all into every workout. Now I focus on 4 days a week and really perform at high intensity. I’ve noticed a difference in terms of definition!

    I’m sorry that this is frustrating you – believe me, I understand. I’m still trying to fit into this one pair of jeans myself.

  9. adayinthelifeofc permalink
    August 7, 2009 10:47 am

    Hi Janetha!
    Can you move to so cal so we can be best friends?? And so you can kick my ass in the gym too!! You can bring the bf, mom, and dogs.. especially Randy!!
    Don’t get so down on yourself- you are beautiful and have a killer bod!

    1. reading Russel Brand’s book- My Booky Wook?
    2. Love anything Sabra!! I am going to start making my own hummus after your rave reviews!
    3. no plans this weekend, just eat, drink, and love life!!

  10. August 7, 2009 11:18 am

    Aww sweety! I am sorry about the pants. I know how you feel, as this happened frequently to me. Now that I am eating clean, I’m hoping it doesn’t, but of course it still can!
    As far as metabolism goes … I know you probably already eat breakfast shortly after you wake up and eat small meals throughout the day (or at least meals with snacks in between) and I know you work out. The only thing I can think of is that more muscle burns more calories, and the slightest bit of muscle can matter. So maybe strength train more often if possible? Do an arms day and a legs day? I don’t know what you currently do, I just see that you do it :) Forgive me for not reading what you are working out! LOL!
    Did you know that after a strength workout, the body burns extra calories for up to 48 hours, where as after cardio it is only about 1-2 hours? That is so neat to me.
    Anyway, lol.
    Which charlene harris novel??? I am reading the sookie stackhouse series she writes and am almost done.
    SOoooo
    1. from dead to worse by charlene harris
    2. roasted red pepper!
    3. working :(
    -muffy

  11. August 7, 2009 11:32 am

    1. A Thousand Splendid Suns – just started, so don’t really know whats its about but if you read The Kite Runner, you’ll like this – same author. I have to return the book before I leave for the beach 8/21 so I need to get some reading in!

    2. roasted garlic, roasted red pepper, sundried tomato – ok i have 3 favorites – sue me.

    3. lots of family stuff and meeting up with my GF & her family in from Ireland – she just had a baby girl a month or so ago so I can’t wait to meet her!

    i’m gonna need to go back and read your calf exercise suggestions – I just realized theres only like 3 exercises I know of and its going to get old fast doing this BFL!

    don’t sweat the pants – ok i know its hard to do. have you been eating more salt? not enough water? is your period coming? those could all be reasons. maybe you’re working out TOO much? maybe you’re actually eating more than you think you are? (I’m a huge calorie counting advocate but I know it doesn’t work for everybody) goodluck! i’m with you on it all – I stalled for liek 3 weeks and prolly gained what i lost back from not running/workingout and eating like a pig! back on track this week though.

    yum on the vegan goodies – doing a vegan cupcake cookoff tonight w/ Lara – CUPCAKES!!! I’m making coconut lime, she’s doing margarita :) summery – can’t wait to taste! I might do mini cupcakes and reg cupcakes just so that I can have a taste of a mini :)

  12. August 7, 2009 12:02 pm

    Hey girl,

    Sorry you’re frustrated. I totally get it, and LOVED how you said you’re not jealous of others but you’re jealous of your past self. I feel the same way–after the layoff from surgery and all, I really want to get back to where I was, and even better with running and all. I know my potential, and how fit, lean, and muscular I can be. And I’m definitely gonna get back there, and I know you will too!

    1) Not reading anything right now :(
    2) Hmmm… I love original, but sundried tomato is great and so is caramelized onion!
    3) A race tomorrow and going up to see the grandparents on sunday :)

  13. August 7, 2009 12:22 pm

    Awww girl we have all been there!!! In fact I’ve been there too many times than I would like to admit. It seems like I have two wardrobes–my skinny clothes and my fat clothes.

    Your mom is probably right and you just need to mix things up. I had been doing spinning+weight training religiously for 6 months and then all of a sudden I noticed I wasn’t getting results anymore from it. So I started running again…longer distances than I ever have, and now my legs are starting to look more defined and my clothes are actually looser (even though the scale isn’t exactly cooperating).

    Maybe scale back slightly on the meals out? While you may still be ordering healthy options there is soooo much excess sodium in restaurant food!

    These kinds of times are seriously the HARDEST for me to just push through and stick with it becuse I just wanna say “screw it! This crap isn’t working anyway!”. But if you can just keep plugging along you will feel much better for it.

    Maybe skip standard HIIT a couple times and take a kickboxing class instead, or even a spinning class. Anyway I have written a novel so just try to enjoy your weekend girlie :)

  14. August 7, 2009 1:35 pm

    man, i know exactly how you are feeling!!!!! in the past 6 months i have gained 10 pounds and even with people telling me i look great, they cant tell, whatever, i FEEL the difference, and my clothes dont fit. i dont think there is anything wrong with my frustration or the fact that i want to be back to the weight i was at less than a year ago, which happened to be perfectly healthy and not in any way underweight. just, a weight where all my clothes fit and i felt healthy and good. now, i have definitely not been as good as you, hence the extra lbs. BUT in your case, i think something similar might work and that would be small changes. just, little things that are different from your normal routine that might shake up things a bit for your body. also taking a really close look at what you are doing now and seeing what you might want to change. it shouldnt cost you your good food or your social life, you know? but there has to be a balance so that you are feeling great about your bod at the same time! also, i hate to say it…but metabolism?? i think mine is catching up to me because weight maintenance def wasnt this hard even one year ago :(

    hope you have a great and wonderful weekend!!!!

  15. August 7, 2009 1:46 pm

    Hmm what book am I reading right now… does Pathology: Implications for the physical therapist count?? Ha. Don’t sweat the pants, girl. It’s frustrating as all heck, I know, but you are awesome at working out and eating clean and I’m sure it’s just a short-time thing that will work itself out! Have a great weekend!

  16. lookingforserenity permalink
    August 7, 2009 2:19 pm

    hey! do you have a recipe for those muffins! they look reallllly good:)

  17. jocelynsteiber permalink
    August 7, 2009 2:48 pm

    Hey babe! We get a lot of women that come into my gym who have the same problem. They are working out every day and eating healthy but are at a stand still with losing weight! The nutritionist I work with usually say it’s because they don’t switch up what they are eating and how they are exercising enough. Try doing different things!

    Questions:
    1) I’m reading The Celestine Prophecy — so good! It’s a spiritul book about life (not God spiritul) Highly recomended!!

    2)FAvorite HUmmus– usually red perpper althugh once I had a squash one and it was delisih! (haven’t been able to fnd it since though..)

    3) My parents rented out an RV so I’m staying ON the ocean this weekend!! : )

    xo
    JOcelyn

  18. August 7, 2009 4:41 pm

    I don’t have any suggestions, but know EXACTLY how you feel.

    1. I’m reading What to Eat by Marion Nestle (I feel like that’s so cliche, a food blogger reading a food book, but it’s really interesting!)

    2. I like plain hummus, specifically sabra.

    3. No real plans, just relaxing.

  19. August 7, 2009 4:52 pm

    Girl, this post rather hit home with me. I have managed to slip on a few pounds and have been struggling to get them back off. It is very frustrating especially when I school coming up just around the corner and I want to look and feel good when it starts back up. I really like the BFL concept and that I basically very similar to what I eat.

    My advice would be to possibly go back to working out 4-5 days a week, and cut back on portion sizes. I know I definitely need to watch my portion sizes. I love eating healthy food, so it’s not the type of food, but the amount that gets me in trouble!

  20. August 7, 2009 5:17 pm

    Sorry you’re feeling frustrated with the jeans/weight issues. I don’t have any suggestions but I’m giving you all my support as you figure out what works best for you :)

    I love the pupper shnozz creeping on that apple! What a cutie pie!

    1. what (if any) book are you reading right now? what is it about? Pride and Prejudice for the 5th or 6th time
    2. favorite flavor of hummus? Original Basha Hummus
    3. weekend plans??? Work, work party, friend party :)

    Have a blast at the lake!!

  21. August 7, 2009 5:34 pm

    girl I am NOT okay with your boss right now. bitch. nuh uh not cool. Your body is rockin girl! I support you though if you want to get back into your jeans! Its frustrating! I’m there with you :)

    I JUST finished Water for Elephants! SO good and now I’m on the 2nd Harry Potter (oh bc I just finished the first)

    Hummuss umm I LOVE Trader Joes roasted red pepper!

    weekend plans = work and beachhh

  22. August 7, 2009 6:16 pm

    Hey dear! I really don’t think you should stress too much over it, but do you think you may not be getting enough sleep or something? I know sleep really matters in our metabolisms, so maybe that’s it?
    And what the heck…that boss has no sense of social taboos at all!
    I’m right now reading Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult, and I’m not a fan of hummus. Weekend plans: laze abt on my lazy ass :-)

  23. August 7, 2009 6:36 pm

    I’m sorry about the jeans :(
    1. Little Chinese Seamstress
    2. Lemon + Garlic or sundried tomato
    3. Maybe going to Fairchild Tropical Garden on Sunday

  24. erinbee permalink
    August 7, 2009 8:55 pm

    i know just how you feel.
    my go to jeans that ive been
    wearing for like two years
    are far too tight due to this
    summer. its a total buzzkill.

    also. your boss is a schmuck.

    i think youre sexy. no need for pants. ;]

  25. August 7, 2009 10:07 pm

    UMM can’t believe your boss said that…what a douche dude..

    I’m reading the Time Traveler’s wife- very good, serious novel. My alltime fave is Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, really good too!
    Funny ones are anything by Augusten burroughs or David Sedaris!

  26. August 7, 2009 10:46 pm

    I’m in the same boat, girl. I try not to feel bad about my body now because I still look and feel much better than I did at one point. But I’m bigger than I was 4 months ago, and it’s frustrating when all your clothes are too tight! I don’t need to be as small as I was then, but to have my clothes fit comfortably would be nice!

    1. I just finished Time Traveler’s Wife and it was soooooooooo good!!!

    2. Fave hummus is roasted red pepper.

    3. I’m home!! and Giant’s game tomorrow.

  27. WholeBodyLove permalink
    August 7, 2009 10:49 pm

    First: who actually asks someone if she has gained weight? Who does that? As far as suggestions: one thing that we tend to forget is that calories are calories even if they are coming from a lean protein source. Some of us tend to be a little more liberal about our protein portions and forget about the overall caloric value of our food. Not that you HAVE to count calories. In fact, it can be detrimental. It all depends on the person. After years of calorie counting, I try to stay away from it because it can sometimes interfere with my healthy food choices and enjoyment of high calorie, healthy foods.

  28. marisa permalink
    August 8, 2009 12:11 am

    Well I still think you are cute even if you don’t fit into the jeans- and that means I probably won’t either, huh? The only thing I can think is that your body is used to the program and you need to switch it up. Email Bill Phillips and see what he says? Does your heart rate monitor tell you calories consumed/burned because I do know that 3500 calories is a pound or something like that. Does your boss ever ask the other girls in the office if they’ve gained weight? What in the world?! See you on Thursday? I’ll call you about details. Love you!

  29. Becky permalink
    August 9, 2009 3:42 pm

    OK seriously, your boss is a d-bag and I am so in your shoes right now. Last year at this time I was at my perfect weight and loved my body. Now, I don’t fit into those jeans anymore and its super frustrating! I feel that my schedule now makes it much harder to work out like I used to and eat how I want. It seems like you’re doing the same stuff…maybe just cut down on portion sizes and keep it really clean?
    1. I’m reading ‘In the Woods’ by Tana French
    2. Roasted Garlic or Sun-dried Tomato
    3. Weekend is pretty much over, but I hiked, ran, ran my errands, hung out with friends, drank too much beer

  30. mom permalink
    August 9, 2009 11:07 pm

    Yes I agree the boss is a schmuck-he needs to go!! You do look awesome and beautiful!!!
    I think the mixin’ it up routine will do the trick! You know exactly what is and isn’t clean and you have great gym work outs, hey you’re more than half way there – love you to the moon and back xoxoxo

  31. August 10, 2009 8:30 am

    Just catching up a bit here! I think you know how I feel about this…do whatever it is you need to do to feel your best! Is strict BFL is what will make you feel better, I fully support it :)

  32. August 11, 2009 12:25 pm

    I am going to do live comment on this post even though it’s going to involve a lot of scrolling up and down:
    ugh…I hate when stuff like that happens. It sounds like you are doing all the right things. Sometimes our bodies just change. It happens over time right? But I understand the desire to make it work again. Hmmm, reading on…

    You’re going to Seattle?! Did I miss this? For a vacay or what? Fun! I’ve always wanted to visit that city. 6 weeks is a great amount of time for a mini challenge.

    I CANNOT BELIEVE your boss just asked you that! What a douche bag. Jesus.

    Ohhh lady. I’m sorry you are so bummed. I would be too so I totally understand. I know it doesn’t help but I think you are such a hotty and totally gorgeous. I am always super envious of your strength workouts because they are so baller compared to my one-a-week class. Sigh. Sad that you’re sad- I’m hoping you cheer up by the time I reach your latest post! The only suggestion I have is completely mixing things up – new work outs and new eats: all still healthy. My body gets used to my workouts after a few months and everything plateaus and then I have to shake it up again – normally that works!

    The book I’m reading right now isn’t a novel, it’s the latest issue of Granta which is a quarterly periodical of new writing. It’s a UK magazine but they distribute in the US and I love it with all my heart.
    Heart you also. Chin up girlie x

  33. August 17, 2009 4:19 pm

    don’t know how this post slipped through my google reader!

    i vote you invent a teleporter so you can send me those pb bars.. kapeesh?! please and thank you!

    have a good one boooo <3

Leave a comment