Skip to content

why didn’t i think of that??

July 31, 2009

hi! happy friday to one and all.  i have been and continue to be ultra busy so this is going to be a less than entertaining post but it will include some AMAZING food, which is all you guys care about anyway, right? (you are thinking.. finally, she isn’t going to ramble on for once!)

first a few items of business!

  • today is the last day to enter my 100th post giveaway for a free personalized SIGG water bottle from greensender!  enter by midnight tonight and remember you can get an extra entry by linking back to the giveaway.  the winner will be announced the next time i get around to posting again ;)
  • my local farmers market is usually only on saturday but i just got an email informing me there will now be an additional farmers market tuesday nights!! this is great news! i can’t wait to go on tuesday as i cannot go tomorrow morning. hooray!
  • michelle is having a giveaway with some fabulous loot over on her blog, learn, run, eat..repeat so go check it out and tell her you heard it here first! (unless you heard it elsewhere, in which case disregard this item of business)
  • erin posted a great post today and i think you all should go read it.

onto the meals, the moves, everything in between.

THURSDAY!

meals

lunch was an uneventful repeat of ground turkey stir fry but it was still just as great the second time around.

IMG_2372

moves

yesterday was a high intensity interval training day and i did it on the treadmill.  so my HR monitor was all sorts of jacked up and said i was at 187 bpm two minutes into my workout. um, no. i took it off and am hoping it works today, the thing is brand spanking new.

i didn’t keep track of my workout. *gasp* shocking, i know. i ran in intervals of 2 minutes turbo fast/1 minute slow jog for 18 minutes. on the 19th minute i ran for one minute at 10 miles per hour. i did it! i have nevvvver done my final minute of HIIT that fast so i wad really stoked! and really sweaty.

raced home to get all dolled up and go out to sushi & the free sonic youth concert

meals

i hadn’t had sushi since my birthday on june 1! what?! waaaay too long.

four of us split four rolls~

IMG_2381

firecracker roll

spicy tuna, cucumber, avocado rolled in tempura bits and covered in sriracha

IMG_2379

playboy roll

shrimp, tuna, avocado, cucumber and tobiko covered in spicy eel sauce

IMG_2375

mars roll

tempura shrimp wrapped with tuna, avocado and crab covered in eel sauce

IMG_2376

california roll

avocado and crab rolled in seaweed sprinkled with sesame seeds

IMG_2378

okay, we like avocado, obv.  you will notice the rolls are all very similar and i would have liked to be a little more adventurous and gotten some of the more raw rolls that had no tempura in them, but i am not one to argue about sushi picks! i like it all!

can you believe this: one of the girls i was with had never had sushi (which is pretty normal) but she had also never in her life tried avocado!  that was just insane to me!

the meal was delish as sushi always is and then i headed out to the concert. left my camera at the sushi house, walked BACK to get it and then headed back to the concert. good thing it was all real close!

the concert was good times with good friends! no photos this week, sometimes i just don’t feel like being paparazzi.

came home and had my downfall, bowl of mixed cereal

IMG_2387

but i wanted to tell you TJ’s shoppers to go buy this cereal.. i get multiple boxes of it when at TJs~sooo good! and has lots of protein and fiber.

IMG_2382

FRIDAY!

i bring you to the reason for my title!  the other day i saw jenny from the lovely peanut butter and jenny feature some pb&j oats and then later in the day i saw that cei put a scoop of jam in her oats.  wow, why did i never think to put jam in oats? i mean i put PB in them on the regular, it just makes sense

so today i made my usual protein oats and topped them with maranatha PB and some of  my mom’s homemade raspberry jam

IMG_2388

ay ay ay! this was DIVINE!  two for two on trying other bloggie’s oats! thanks alli for the spicy idea and jenny for this one! try it, you’ll like it :)

IMG_2391 IMG_2389

all mixed up..

IMG_2392

nom nom nom

lunch was nothing special but it was delicious none the less..

IMG_2396

cottage cheese+garbanzos+ranch seasoning (i told you it was going to be on here a lot, i love it!) two slices of turkey & two mini pitas (the last of the little guys~i will have to get more!)

IMG_2395

it was fun to eat. i like interactive lunches.

i am slacking on the water today~i need to chug since it is already 4 PM!

well i have to get going, lots of stuff on the agenda!!  hopefully i can sneak another post in before i go to the taste of the nation charitable culinary event on sunday.

OH! today is national raspberry filled cake day so you will be seeing some vegan raspberry filled cupcakes later on :D

questions:

1. what phrase do you use a lot that, when you think about it, makes no real sense? in this post i used “brand spanking new” and i often use “the bees knees” when referring to something fabulous. these both make no sense when you break them down!

2. is there a food you or a close friend/family member has never tried and it is a bit on the shocking side that such foul play is going on? i couldn’t believe the girl i was with had never tried avocado! that is a crime.

3. weekend plans?! i’ve got lower body workout, shopping, poker night, baby shower, swimming, culinary event, dad’s birthday celebration and movie night! hooray for the weekend!

xo. janetha b.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. lookingforserenity permalink
    July 31, 2009 5:36 pm

    my only plans this weekend are work & more work! your food looks really good though :)

  2. July 31, 2009 6:15 pm

    Those oats look fantastic!

    Other than hitting up the farmers market and grocery shopping I have no plans! I am thrilled to pieces to have an entire weekend to do nothing!

  3. July 31, 2009 6:28 pm

    Girl I love all your meals! I love how you always have such a good balance between protein and carbs.

    My husband cringes every time I eat cottage cheese. I can’t understand why! I eat it almost every day.

    This weekend I have a BBQ tomorrow and a Bachelorette party tomorrow night. Should be a fun day!

  4. July 31, 2009 6:48 pm

    hahah I use ALOT of phrases alot I just can’t think of any right now. mmmm I’m trying! haha I just can’t think but I know I overuse stuff a lot.

    same as Therese my fam HATES the idea of cottage cheese! I’m like peopleee it’s JUST cottage cheese!

    This weekend I haveee a volleyball party at my summer cottage and RELAXATION!

    have a SUPAH weekend

  5. July 31, 2009 6:50 pm

    you are quite welcome :)

    that sushi looks fabulous!!

  6. July 31, 2009 7:47 pm

    I’ve seen that cereal everytime I go to Traders! Glad to know it’s so great – when I run out of my current stash I’ll be sure to buy some!!

    1. Hmmm I can’t place anything right now.
    2. My family is super picky and I’m sure someone in my fam hasn’t tried avocado! I don’t think my roommate has as well. Crazy people!!
    3. Work tomorrow, cleaning, errands, and getting my car washed!!

  7. snackface permalink
    July 31, 2009 7:50 pm

    UHHHH! Sushi is one thing I miss terribly. I know I can get vegan sush, but really, all kinds of sushi are so damn good.

    I just caught up from the delicious porcupine post and want to share my favorite brews: Blue Moon, Summer Brew (from tjs), Sierra Nevada. Sierra Nevada Summerfest (or something like that), Miller Chill, Bud Light Lime. It all depends on the mood.

    And whichever post it was with all the baby pictures…aren’t dogs just the most beautiful beings in the world?

    PB & J oats look ridic. Why have I not done that yet, either! Insanity.

    Oh F! And your lunch just reminded me that I truly did love cottage cheese. They haven’t veganized that yet, but someone will.

    I love this phrase question. I probably use a lot of them. Like, “what’s popping?” Nothing’s ever technically popping, but I like to say it. I also say “that kills me” or “I’m dead” when I love something, something makes me laugh, or something is too good/delicious. I’m clearly the very opposite of dead in those instances. Thanks for making me realize I’m an idiota.

    The food Q- I’m pretty sure my little broskie hasn’t tried half the foods I consider normal: oat bran, almond butter, cados, faux-meats, tempeh, tofu, coconut. It’s a shame, but I’ll get him to come around. He’s young.

    Weekend plans- laundry? I dunno, I’m supposed to go out tonight, but I’m really feeling some alone time right now.

    I should apologize for always so thoroughly answering these questions. They just make me think, and writing helps me figure it all out. And I just have mad love for some Janetha, that’s all.

  8. July 31, 2009 8:48 pm

    Hee hee, I only just discovered avocados about 2 months back, Janetha! Are you shocked yet?

    1. what phrase do you use a lot that, when you think about it, makes no real sense?
    When I’m excited, I like to scream out “HOT DOG!” Umm…what the heck is that? And when I’m shocked, I go, “Oh my freaking God.” How can God be freaking when he is so wonderful? I gotta stop that. lol.

    2. is there a food you or a close friend/family member has never tried and it is a bit on the shocking side that such foul play is going on?
    None of my friends have learned to appreciate oatmeal yet. Um, hello? Why are you living in this world without oatmeal? I would DIE!

    3. weekend plans?!
    Laze around on my ass!

  9. July 31, 2009 9:20 pm

    Hey girl– have you tried washing the HR monitor strap? Sometimes the electrode sensors go funky when it needs to be washed. You have a cloth strap, right? If you already wet the electrode patches before workout out, it just prob. needs to be washed in the washing machine.

    Those pb & j oats look delish! Love it :D

    1) geez I can’t think of any right now! I’m sure there are, though.

    2) I pretty much make my family try my fave foods, haha. But a lot of my friends haven’t had greek yogurt or delicious oatmeal bowls–shocking!

    3) no idea yet! haha!

  10. July 31, 2009 10:23 pm

    OMG I LOVE sushi and I LOVE eel sauce.
    1. i dont really … i say a lot of stupid stuff. lol. sometimes i say Zom. Like, OMG but with a Z (zomg) and without the G. I learned that from world of warcraft tho and we wont go there …
    2. well my bf hadnt tried sushi when i met him and i thought he was nutso then he pretended to not like it … now he likes it but still wont admit to it enough to get it for himself. lol.
    3.working is my weekend.. blah.

  11. July 31, 2009 10:26 pm

    LOVE sushi! yummy!!!!!!!!

    hehe those phrases are too cute– i havent heard the bees knees in forever! :) you are such a sweetpea!

  12. broccolihut permalink
    July 31, 2009 10:59 pm

    A. You have the same bday as my mom.
    B. Totally nuts that she had never tried avocado. It’s kind of a tragedy really.
    1. I use nonsense words more than actual phrases. Cripes! and Schnikeys are all too common in my vocab.
    2. I am the only one in my family who has ever had tofu–and I practically live on the stuff! All the more for me:)
    3. I am perhaps going to the lake again this weekend…otherwise just studying for my damn chem final. Have fun for me!

  13. July 31, 2009 11:04 pm

    never tried avocado?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! REALLY?!?!?!? wow. just. wow. hubby and I <3 avocado. I actually used to hate it, and only eat it in guacamole…but now I love avocado !!!!

  14. August 1, 2009 12:01 am

    Firstly, thanks for your kind words lady. Feelin better – it’s nice to have lovely fellow bloggers to put things in perspective and be nice to me!

    Yeah, your stir fry still looks real good. And that sushi! I haven’t had sushi in forever – need to work on that!

    Jam on oatmeal is definitely an old school choice for me – it’s how I first “mixed things up” with oatmeal and moved away from just adding brown sugar. Delish, no?

    GOOD q’s love!
    1) I say a lot of things that a lot of people don’t understand. Such as: “hells bells”, “bloody hell”, and sometimes instead of saying “for real?” I say “for cereal?” I think I’m cool but sadly I’m not….
    2) My best friend doesn’t eat fruit. She “doesn’t like it”. She has NEVER eaten an orange because they “look weird”. Still my BFF4EV4L.
    3) Breakfast with the boy, 6 mile run, dinner with Ms Holly, friend’s fringe theater show, and exploring the area I’m moving to.

    Hearts to you love, have a fabu weekend. x

  15. August 1, 2009 4:58 am

    YAY on the new HIIT speed record!!! 10 mph is super duper crazy. Oh wait, there’s the answer to the first question. Super duper makes no sense does it?

    2. My best friend has only ever had rice a couple times in her life. She’s a weird eater though. I think it’s cause she grew up in Newfoundland and all they eat there is boiled dinners. She also doesn’t know how to make spaghetti.

    3. Working all weekend! Think I may get in some form of activity today though, and am going on a looooong bike ride tomorrow. Monday is a holiday here, and I actually have it off. Except it’s going to rain and everything is going to be closed, so I’m going to get started on my packing. Funfun! :P

    Have super duper weekend Janetha!! ;)

  16. August 1, 2009 5:40 am

    PB&J oats sounds so good!!! I’m definitely going to have to try that one.
    My weekend plans include learning how to ride a bike! So exciting!

  17. August 1, 2009 7:01 am

    1. I make up my own words a lot. they usually make kind of sense within the context, but are still ridiculous. Like last week when I started using ginormulous to describe extra-large items. I also tend to use a lot of superlatives like fantastic! amazing! awesome! which DO make sense, but sometimes I wonder why I feel the need to be so darn peppy about stuff :)

    2. You will laugh, but up until I went to college, I had never eaten mac and cheese from a box, poptarts, ramen noodles or Taco Bell. Fortunately, I never really developed a taste for those foods after I tried them either!

    3. I’m major excited for my weekend. We just got the keys to our new house, so I will be over there cleaning away so we will hopefully be able to paint NEXT weekend. It’s hubby’s b-day on Sunday, so I get to make cupcakes with divine chocolate frosting. Plus I think he wants to go to our fave Mexican restaurant (Tres Hombres–been there?) on Sunday, so I can’t wait!

  18. april permalink
    August 1, 2009 7:28 am

    Those oats look sooo good! Can you taste the pb when you mix it up?

    Oh and I’m going to be emailing you about the ab workout :)

  19. August 1, 2009 8:56 am

    I am obsessed with sushi! I crave it prob. three times a week!!!

    My best friend just tried edamame not too long ago, and she thought they were boiled peanuts!

  20. Holly permalink
    August 1, 2009 9:00 am

    janeth….i love sushi. now i have a monster craving for it. also, awesome on the farmer’s market – i wish there were more weekday ones so i could pick up the goods when i actually need them!

    okay…onto the q’s – i gots 10 miles ahead of me still.

    (1) gosh, half my language doesn’t make sense. even my basic, “what up?” nothing is actually up. “what up with dat?” – “whassup?” – yeah, none of it makes sense.

    (2) i also had a work compadre who didn’t KNOW what avocado was. i about passed out on the spot. i think i was a bit over-dramatic about it b/c she like apologized. haha…ooops, that’s the food blogger in me coming out!

    (3) weeeekkkennnnddd: 10 mile run, hang out with my friend meg, hang out with angharad, drink vino, organize my stuff, run errands, finish up some bloggy thangs, fit in a couple nice walks, yoga + SLEEP

    happy weekend love :)

  21. August 1, 2009 9:11 am

    oh my god. i just cried a little. i haven’t had sushi in so long and it is calling out to me from this computer screen. must. eat. it. now. haha!
    oh and pb and j on ya’ oat bran, you know wassup lady!
    have a good weekend and enjoy yo’ sleep :)

  22. runeatrepeat permalink
    August 1, 2009 1:34 pm

    I say a bunch of random things that Ben calls me out on, but I can’t remember them now…

  23. August 1, 2009 2:56 pm

    wow sushi and pb & j oats – you’ve got some great eats girlie!

  24. August 1, 2009 4:35 pm

    Um, so I totally want that firecracker roll! I’ve never seen that one. Loverly. Sushi is so good. Mm.

    Ack? People that don’t eat avocado? Wha…???

    Weekend is full of shit to do for my sista’s wedding shower in 2 weeks and a visit from the inlaws tomorrw.

    Happy Saturday girlfriend, and super YAY for the Tuesday farmers market!

  25. August 1, 2009 4:41 pm

    Damn! I need make up another round of pb & j oats. My last attempt was eh….but maybe I need to give it another shottt! Your pic and jenny’s pic looked too divine to pass up on! Furrr real. :)

    And what! That girl had never tried avocado?? That IS a crime.

    1. I can’t think of a specific phrase at the moment, but I do abbreviate A LOT. My friends were making fun of me for it yesterday, when I abbreviated the word “abbreviate” with abbreve. Did that make sense?? Oh man….love you janetha!

  26. August 1, 2009 4:48 pm

    My husband has never tried an apple… probably more fruit than that and he refuses to try them. He practically grew up by himself… microwaving frozen food by the time he was 5. No parents to force the veggies and fruit on him.

  27. Jenny permalink
    August 2, 2009 1:58 pm

    pb&j oats — ballin! thanks for the shout out mama ;)

    my fav. phrase that doesn’t make sense: “cream of the crop” wtf?!

Trackbacks

  1. winner winner chicken dinner. « meals & moves

Leave a comment