Skip to content

this food would be dank if i could taste it.

July 13, 2009

well, back to the drawing board.  my throat feels waaaay better, but i still sound like a man and my smell, taste and hearing are mad at me and refuse to function properly.  geez, what did i ever do to them?!

on the upside, we are having a BBQ right now and i can’t smell the cigarettes that people are smoking. i guess there are some perks to this no senses thing after all.

here i am with another 2 days to catch up on, i wonder when i will narrow it down to daily posts again.. hmmmm.  not today, that’s for sure! let’s talk about eats because eats are good mmmmmkay?

SUNDAY!

 

rolled out of bed at noon. marshall’s room has no windows, i could have slept longer, easily.  i have no shame in the sleeping in game.  all you go getters are calling waking up at 8 AM a “sleep in”..no no my dear friends, let this narco over here show you how sleeping in is done :D

around one o’clock we decided to find some food, we hit up a spot in a really whack town called ogden, but the restaurant was pretty fantastic:

meals 142

unfortunately they did not serve breakfast all day, but they did have a couple breakfast items that were an all day thang.. so i went with the only thing that looked appealing at the moment: western omelette minus cheese plus avocado:

meals 143

doesn’t look too pretty but it tasted great! i also had some coffee.  i ate about 3/4 of the omelette and 1/4 of the potatoes. oh and i doused the whole thing in hot sauce after photographing.. of course.

marshall ordered some peach cobbler for dessert, who has breakfast dessert? funny. it was massive.. and he didn’t even make a dent in it. he is really not living up to his usual calorie intake standards!

meals 144

i bet it was good, i’ll never know.

after that we decided to do some shopping at one of my fave spots, tj maxxxxx.. such good deals! i snagged some shirts and a purse and some roxy jesus sandals. holler.

we hit up the mall as well, i stocked up on my warm vanilla sugar soap and antibac from b&b works. favorite smell ever.

after all that running around in the heat we needed to cool off with some jamba juice.. i usually never drink my calories. ever. jamba always freaks me out with their super high calories..even though they taste soo good.. i usually decline. but i seized the day and went for a small peach perfection:

meals 147

juice with a side of new jesus sandals.

and a boyfriend to match.

meals 150

hmmm let’s see.. not much else went into the mouth after that.  i did go to my brother & sister in law’s casa to give her the mail item i was talking about… here i will show you:

meals

it is a peanut charm because that is what we called her little boy that passed away last week. i got one for her, for me and for my mom.  it is a nice way to be reminded of the little dude <3

we hung out in the grass and had a grass fight.

meals 153

then it was time for sunday movie night! we saw public enemies and while it was a bit dull and slow, i still liked it.  i don’t think i would see it again but i was glad i saw it. i love johnny and christian. mmmmm. i had a zillion handfuls of this:

meals 158

after the movie i was all sorts of starving, but the only healthy-ish thing in marshall’s abode was something i had on hand.. apple+PB

meals 159

i ate a few slices and then smothered it in cinnamon

meals 160

there was more where that came from.

ugh, THEN i stayed up til 2:00 AM watching the first season of weeds.  i never watch TV, but marshall always brings home full seasons of shows he wants to see and then we end up staying awake all hours into the night watching the episodes back to back. it is bad when the alarm goes off at 5:30 AM!  but that is a good show, for sure.

MONDAY!

 

well monday morning meeting was at the original pancake house as per usual.  it is sad, our waitress who always waits on us and has our drinks on the table before we sit down and knows our “usual orders” was fired for a super whack reason.  she does fitness comps and had the 24th off for a show.. well the restaurant was bought out and the new owner did not think she should be able to take the 24th off (it is a holiday here in utah) and so instead of demoting her or something he just fired her!  um, lame.  she was the head server and got paid more than anyone else so i think he just was a cheap ass and wanted to save a buck. anyway, i thought her getting fired would force us to go elsewhere to eat.. cause i am getting real sick of the original pancake house. no such luck, so i got the likely suspects again.

coffee, egg beaters+onion+ham+spinach, buckwheat pancakes (dry)

meals 173

meals 161

meals 162

lunch came later on and was a turkey+cheddar+sprouts+LCL sandwich on wheat

meals 163

who needs mayo when you have LCL? so glad they sell it at costco!

before leaving work i had a little something i picked up awhile back because of k’s review:

meals 164

i mixed it with 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, iiiii’m breezy! (friends anyone?)

meals 165

i loved this! from what i could taste, that is. i was super into the flavor & texture and i really liked the stats:

 

meals 175

i try to balance my proteins and carbs.. this is PERFECT for my eating habits!

and although the ingredient list is long.. at least the last ingredient is <3love<3

meals 176

i will buy this again. and again and again.  i can’t wait to try it when my taste buds are fully functional!

then i went to the gyyyym! weeeee!

50 minutes on the bike, 10 miles, one oxygen magazine read. yehaw. the end.

it was a mellow workout but i am still not 100% so i didn’t want to push it too much. it felt good to sweat :)

then i went to sunflower market.. wanna see the loot??

meals 166

  • 2 BIG containers of UVAB because sunflower is the only place that stocks these big, refrigerated containers
  • 3 cans of garbanzos
  • 2 cans yellowfin tuna
  • 1 bottle of exxxpensive just cranberry.. it is pricey but it keeps the UTIs away and since i haven’t been chugging my water like i should i am in need of the cranberry’s healing powers
  • dozen eggs
  • shiratakis
  • mini pitas, SOOO cute! they are called pitettes!
  • bbq sauce
  • ziplocks
  • 3 flavors of spirutein! i was going to buy the big thing of cookies and cream but i decided to try a few other flavors before i commit to one kind

produce!

meals 177

  • 2 watermelons
  • orange cauliflower
  • stoplight bell peppers
  • spinach
  • mushrooms
  • 2 grapefruit
  • sweet potato
  • 5 braeburn apples (they are my jam lately)
  • celery
  • jicama
  • a red banana from ecuador! i just got one to try, have you guys seen these??

well i am following angharad’s footsteps and posting the total $ spent. first off i love how sunflower market prints the receipt on both sides to save paper!

meals 178

and the total came to..

meals 167

really not too bad, considering some of the expensive stuff i got! (cranberry juice, single spirutein servings, UVAB milk)

i came home and celebrated national french fry day!

meals 179

did i trick you? that is actually jicama!  i didn’t eat all of that, just a few spears and saved the rest.

i also sliced and diced my produce.. a little time saving trick i try to do before putting it all away, that way it is easy to grab & go

meals 169

meals 180

put it in ziplocks and now it is ready for prime hummus dippage!

then it was time for dinnnnner.. i did celebrate national french fry day with some cheeeetahs

meals 170

and then i made a hamburger salad!

meals 182

just showing you the size of the mixing bowl i used. ginormous. this was before i added the turkey burger and condiments.. but it included:

  • spinach
  • romaine
  • carrots
  • sprouts
  • mushrooms
  • cheddar
  • avocado
  • garbanzos
  • turkey burger w/ cumin
  • ketchup
  • mustard

allll together!

meals 171

sunkissed deliciousness. too bad my taste buds were so bad by this time that i couldn’t even taste the fabulousness of it all :( i ended up eating half and giving the rest to my homeboy. he was appreciative!

i had some watermelon with a side of unicorn mirror

meals 172

it’s ok to be jealous of my mirror.

well that sums it up!  long again, that is what i do.. long marathon posts. i promise i will be back to normal blogging soon so they arent SO SO SO dang long all the time. thanks for making it through these huuuuge ass posts though, props to you! yes you!

since you made it this far, let’s talk about some giveaways in the blogosphere shall we?!

and i know i still gots to pass on my award, but i am famished and once again THIS IS LONG! so i will leave you with more mindless questions, because it’s what i do!

1. if you had to give up one sense forEVA (taste, touch, sound, smell, sight) what would it be? ahhh.. horrible Q, no? umm i *guess* if i had to pick one it would be sound.

2. favorite B&B works scent? or fave soap/lotion scent in general? warm vanilla sugaaa all the way!

3. favorite TV series? i love dexter and the office.

XO! janetha b.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. broccolihut permalink
    July 13, 2009 10:49 pm

    YAY! Another Spirutein convert! I have been drinking the stuff for years…I don’t think I’ll ever stop.

  2. Emily permalink
    July 13, 2009 10:49 pm

    1. I would say sense of smell – my husband doesn’t have a sense of smell and he’s not too broken up about it.
    2. coconut and/or milk.
    3. I have a major major Scrubs obsession and I am newly addicted to Bones.

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

  3. July 13, 2009 11:11 pm

    I need sleep tips- it’s 6am and I am already showered, dressed, finished breakfast, cleaned the kitchen and done countless Facebook quizzes!

    Love the peanut charm- such a nice way to remember :)

    LOVE Braeburn apples. Best apple ever! Good to know about the spirutein- I found it here in I think peaches ‘n’ cream flavour? Will pick up a pack to try.

    1. if you had to give up one sense forEVA (taste, touch, sound, smell, sight) what would it be? owch, hard one. I think sound? I’d miss music but also wouldn’t have to listen to annoying people so the balance is pretty equal.

    2. favorite B&B works scent? or fave soap/lotion scent in general? anything that isn’t lavender or eucalyptus :P If it smells like food, I like it. Unless it smells like cooked fish or something…that’s kind of nasty.

    3. favorite TV series? SCRUBS! All the way. Also some British ones- QI, Mock The Week and 8 Out Of 10 Cats (check them out on youtube- awesome stuff)

  4. July 14, 2009 12:56 am

    ahhh i have found the larger containers of almond milk at whole foods, but not in unsweet :(

  5. July 14, 2009 1:18 am

    Glad you liked Weeds! Ahh, it’s amazing!!

    And hahahahh ohh… you were being quite healthy with your small peach perfection! I would know, since I make that sh!t daily! It’s one of the lightest drinks! So have noooo fear! :)

    That huge salad, the cheetah fries, the omelet, and sandwich look delicioussss. Sorry you couldn’t taste it!! Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day!

    And AHH, i LOVE the warm vanilla sugar scent….except I had the stomach flu around christmas time one year, and I remember that the scent was wayy too strong for my senses! But now I love it again!

  6. Courtney permalink
    July 14, 2009 1:25 am

    Love as an ingreed? Count me in ;) Love your Jesus sandals (that’s HEY-SUES) ;]

    You’re a girl after my own heart – warm vanilla suga suga! I had a candle burning all day today, MmmMmmm :]

  7. snackface permalink
    July 14, 2009 1:35 am

    WHY must that mix have bee pollen in it? Annoyed. I was so going to try it!

    I adore the peanut necklace. I don’t mean to sound insensitive, but ever since you told me about your tattoo, I thought, “oh my gosh. That is what I need to do so my dogs are always with me, forever and ever.” My dogs’ nicknames are Peanut and Marshmallow, so that’s what I’ve been thinking about. But back to the necklace, I adore that and the sentiment.

    I’m so bummed you can’t taste. That is SO frustrating. The sense I’d give up? None. Not choosing. I love them all. Actually, on facebook I think I have “fine tuning my senses” as one of my activities or something. Because smell and taste are attached, I need physical sensation, I like to see beautiful things and the singer/musician in me would die if I couldn’t hear. So none.

    BB scent- Coconut lime! And they only have it randomly in the winter! Such a bummer.

    TV- Sex and the City. I know. I’m an annoying girly girl sometimes.

    So when are you coming to SF!!!

  8. July 14, 2009 5:18 am

    The only good thing about being sick is when you cant smell those icky smells. Other than that being sick is no fun. I hope you feel better!!

    I am just loving
    1. the pancakes
    2. all the delicious salads
    3. the sweet potatoes :D

    I would give up touch. haha

  9. July 14, 2009 6:25 am

    They sell laughing cow at Costco??? Yippee!!! I really gotta get me a membership there.

  10. April (Foods of April) permalink
    July 14, 2009 6:34 am

    That peanut charm is absolutely precious! Such a great idea!

    I want your Sunday night dinner! It looks so yummy.. my sp obsession has gotten a little out of hand I’m afraid!

  11. July 14, 2009 6:46 am

    Mmmmm sexy man voice – I know those all too well!

    I love the breakfast dessert! I bet it would have tasted delicious as well!! What a sweet charm! That’s a great find :)

    That apple/PB/cinn combo looks FANTASTIC! WOOHOO FOR THE COOKIES AND CREME :D I’m glad you liked it!! I’m loving the cheetahs!

    1. if you had to give up one sense forEVA (taste, touch, sound, smell, sight) what would it be? I can’t pick :( I guess smell?

    2. favorite B&B works scent? Black Currant Vanilla

    3. favorite TV series? LOST! Or 30 Rock! Or The Office!

  12. July 14, 2009 7:08 am

    Favorite TV – The Office and Lost.

    Wow, I can’t pick a sense. I thought sound..but then I couldn’t hear music which would be a tragedy, and without touch, I couldn’t do my job. I don’t know – that’s a tough one!

    Favorite B & B scent…I’m more of a non-scent girl. However, love burning peppermint and grapefruit essential oils together in my oil burner. Amazing combo!

    Hope your feeling 100% again soon…it be a shame not to be able to taste all your yummy eats for much longer. Loved all the egg and avocado action.

    Jamba Juice scares me too. :)

    Thanks for the link-love and enjoy the rest of your week!

  13. Tina permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:39 am

    You know just reading your blog is totally reminding me that I’m slacking :P.. dang, I better get my ass into gear and move or something…

    Love the peanut-necklaces <3

    Onto the questions:
    1. OMG HOW CAN ANYONE SAY SOUND?! I'm a musician at heart.. but also a foodie… and i'm a touchy-feely person too so this is a hard one… I'm gonna go with smell (if I can still taste my food I'll survive… btw, does this mean I won't have hayfever anymore?)
    2. who's b&b? :P
    3. Gilmore Girls, Friends, All of the Cartoon Network Oldies, Southpark!… and many more (oh, did I have to pick one?)

    I'm a Jonagold/ Elstar (but they're local here, so that's mostly why)

    Thanks for the Blackberry tip, question: how's the organizer?

    Hugs and kisses,

    Tina

    • July 14, 2009 8:49 am

      Hey Tina!

      The organizer is pretty good, I use it for all my work meetings and other appointments. It also has a Task Organizer and a Memo Pad that I use a lot. If you do look into Blackberry Phones make sure NOT to get the Pearl, it is THE WORST.. and the World Phone does not have a camera. The Curve is probably your best bet.

      xo Janetha

  14. jocelynsteiber permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:48 am

    Hey Pretty Lady-

    I noticed you bought some gallon size almond milk. I just discovered this myself and it’s quite life changing : ) haha I love almond milk and drink it like a dessert!

    Ps Weeds is such a great show! You should also watch Cailfornication…I watched the first 2 seasons in 2 days..THAT GOOD : )

  15. July 14, 2009 7:51 am

    Hamburger salad is genius! I’m sorry you’re still not feeling 100% :(
    Tat giant almond milk carton is awesome!!

  16. July 14, 2009 7:51 am

    P.S. Your comment on my last post CRACKED me up! Masturbation. Hehe.

  17. July 14, 2009 8:34 am

    I have begun to actually enjoy sleeping in occasionally, except for the fact that it makes me miss my fave meal of the day, breakfast, I can work it ;)

    1. smell- I couldn’t give up sound, I love music too much!
    2. warm vanilla sugar too!! or sandalwood vanilla
    3. HBO’s “Hung” and “True Blood” have my heart right now

  18. July 14, 2009 8:52 am

    oh girl…i LURVE your long posts! especially when they come chock full of pancakes, omelets, cheetahs, jamba, coffee and unicorn mirrors. yes, i AM insanely jealous of that mirror. awesome.

    those lil’ peanut charms are adorable. what a perfect way to always keep peanut close to your hearts :)

    (1) smell. worst of the best.
    (2) anything clean…like fresh laundry. i love feelin’ so fresh and so clean clean.
    (3) normal TV season: the office, LOST. summer tv season: currently the bachelorette and so you think you can dance.

    sad but oh so true.

  19. July 14, 2009 9:23 am

    The peanut charm is beautiful!

    1. I guess smell. But that would still totally suck.
    2. I haven’t been to b&b in forever! I used to like the freesia lotion, I think?
    3. Californication (on his way home last night, hub rode his bike through a Cali shoot. I would have been kinda psyched); 30 Rock; The Office; Lost; South Park

  20. July 14, 2009 9:42 am

    Wow, it sucks that you’re still sick! I hope you feel better soon. No taste buds = no fun! Ahahaha, breakfast dessert? Guys are too funny.

    Aww, the peanut charm is adorable. That’s a great way to remember peanut <3

    haha, that's awesome that they put "love" at the end of that crazy ingredient list. It kinda makes up for how long it is!

    Love your burger salad and the cheetahs. Yum! Haha, I have to say, that mirror IS pretty awesome.
    1) Ahhh, tough question! I guess I'd give up smell, cause I'd still have taste and stuff. It doesn't seem like it'd be too debilitating.

    2) Hmm I really like christmas scents! Haha.

    3) Geez, I don't know. I don't watch all that much tv… prob. the office.

  21. July 14, 2009 9:50 am

    Lady lovely,

    I LOVE your long posts. Most times I lose concentration on big posts…not yours.

    I also LOVE the look of dems fries. Might have to put my sweet po-tat to similar use tonight…was it really national french fry day?? How the heck did I miss this?!

    Also – amazing grocery totallings. That is money well spent friend! I’m impressed. Ya know what’ll be interesting? Seeing the difference in prices round the country (interesting to me, bcos I am a looozer).

    Q’s:
    1. Touch. I think. That’s a mean question.
    2. I also love vanilla. And coconut.
    3. The Wire.

  22. mom permalink
    July 14, 2009 1:47 pm

    I love you long, long posts too! Forgot one question yesterday, peaches and watermelon, hands down! I’d give up smell as long as I could taste (that would be a tricky one) The peanut charm is totally perfect, hope Linds loves it too….
    Wish I wasn’t such a loser cook and could get in gear to go buy some better food. Had some tuna, onions, and sugar free bread and butter pickles for lunch……oh well!
    Love you by the gobs!! xoxo

  23. July 14, 2009 3:43 pm

    Hmm, if I had to lose one sense I’d saaay… taste. At least I could still smell stuff. And my fave show of all time is Seinfeld. I’ve seen every episode a gajillion times and still laugh like crazy at the reruns.

    I wish I could sleep that long!! I used to be so good at it… then I got all old and boring and can no longer sleep till noon. Let alone 9am :( And I think every meal should have a dessert!! :P

    That’s a pretty good price for all that food!! I spend crazy money on groceries. I’m wondering if it’s just cause food is more expensive here? Or maybe I just eat way too much… :P

    PS LOVE your long posts!! However, they always lead to long comments from me. So long as you don’t mind readin’

  24. July 14, 2009 4:19 pm

    Dexter is the best!!!! Love that show. And I am super psyched because Entourage just premiered and I am in love with that show. Bomb ass burger salad. Looks delish. I hope your summer living is treating you well!

  25. July 14, 2009 4:55 pm

    i love your salad – always looking for more excuses to use ketchup and mustard. hope you feel better!

  26. July 14, 2009 7:41 pm

    your post is hilarious!!! :D
    I need to try Spirutein, sounds so interesting!!!

  27. peanutbutterprerogative permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:51 pm

    that hamburger salad looks outta this world good. hope you’re feeling better soon!

  28. emilydh211 permalink
    July 15, 2009 7:56 am

    oooo gurrlll warm vanilla sugar candles from bath and body works makes me wanna melt! haha. That and this mocha scent that they have sometimes.

    I love that charm necklace it is such a cute idea and so sweet!

    I have been dying to see Public Enemies, Im so disappointed that you didn’t really like it! Ill probably go see it anyways because no matter how bad it sucks I will be happy with the two hours of my life spent with Johnny. haha.

    Hope your feeling better dear, tell that cold Im gonna kick its ASS if it doesn’t leave my janetha alone <333

Trackbacks

  1. sleeping beauty. « meals & moves

Leave a comment