Skip to content

utah + sunday yard sales = bust.

June 28, 2009

i should have figured extending our yard sale to sunday was a bad idea.  everything is closed on sundays in utah for a reason.  most of you know the state has a lot of mormon folks and that means no shopping on sunday.   i thought maybe we would get at least some people over to the sale today, but so far there has only been two customers.  at least i have made a cool $54.  and it has given me a chance to sit here and catch up on the blogs i suppose.. but i think we will be packing it up early and calling it a day!

instead of bringing all the unsold goods back into my house, i am bagging it all up at taking it to my mom so she can give it to some teenage girls—her friend has some girls who love getting my old clothes. sure it is hard just to give all this stuff away, i have had to argue with myself more than once about keeping all this stuff “just in case”.. but honestly janetha, you gotta get rid of all that stuff CAUSE YOU ARE NOT GOING TO WEAR IT!  haha.. i have issues, what can i say?  i actually still have boxes and boxes of stuff that i decided not to part with.. but round one of operation clothing elimination went pretty well.  at least i am $364 richer because of it. plus the stuff left over sure will make my mom’s friend’s girls happy, and i like that.

let’s talk about sex food baby!

SATURDAY!

 

after the yard sale i needed to fuel my belly and i didn’t feel like stocking up on groceries because i won’t be home much these next few days, so i went to the cupboards and the freezer and came out with a tuna sandwich on ezekeil

meals 044

i used albacore tuna and greek yogurt and pickles for the tuna salad and i threw a slice of cheddar on there for good measure, topped with s&p.

meals 045

tuna fish sandwiches remind me of elementary school.

i ended up showering and actually doing something with myself and then marshall came around with a special something for me!  raw hummus platter

meals 046

it is kind of random that he brought this to me, because just the other day i read emily’s review on the raw restaurant in SLC called omar’s rawtopia and i made a mental note that i wanted to go there!  marshall had a kung fu festival yesterday and a lot of the guys he does that with are vegan so that is where they chose to eat afterward. random!

the hummus was muy bueno.  but not as good as aristo’s friday night.  i would get this again though, it was made from almonds.. i have never had this type of hummus.

meals 047

it is hard to see the actual hummus because of the stuff on top, but i promise it is hiding in there!

meals 048

marshall’s only complaint about rawtopia was that the prices were a bit high for the amount of food he got.  he is one of those dudes who can eat 10000 calories a day and still eat more though.. sooo, ya know. dumb boyfriend metabolism!

awhile later we decided to journey up into the mountains!  best part about living in utah is the mountains.  so pretty.  sometimes i take it for granted.  my friend (and roomie) jessica actually manages the cafe up at brighton ski resort, my winter stomping grounds, and so we decided to have dinner up there and pay her a visit! 

meals 068

there is virtually nothing healthy to eat at this cafe.  haha.. grease and grill and deep fried and all that jazz.  i ended up getting a philly on wheat but i told her not to use any extra butter or grease or any of that nonsense.  she’s a peach and made it as healthy as possible. 

meals 063

steak, swiss, peppers & onions.

here are a few photos from our hang sesh.

meals 053

meals 054

meals 057

meals 066

yes, they were playing “airplane”… we are five year olds.

meals 067

no vegan eats at the cafe for dave. good thing he filled up at rawtopia before hand..

meals 050

meals 061

the cafe grill in all it’s glory.

took a few photos when we left.  everything is so green since we have had so much rain lately!

meals 071

meals 073

in the winter, the snow actually goes up past that brown log, we sit on that log as a bench. it is crazy to see my favorite lift in the summertime. but i do love brighton in the summer. so pretty!

meals 077

meals 081 meals 080

greeeeen!

the rest of the night was filled with an hour long grocery trip just getting supplies for the BBQ i am preparing at my parents’ today.  i really appreciate all your suggestions!  there were so many good recipes that you guys sent in after i already planned the menu, i wish i had asked you all sooner.  but now i have a PLETHORA of idea for my next cooking extravaganza, which is typically every sunday. what is on the menu you ask?

  • bobby flay’s california burgers (i got his burger cookbook from my mom for my birthday if you recall)
  • baby red potato salad with blue cheese
  • baked beans (from scratch)—first time i’ve tried this
  • chocolate cheesecake swirl brownies
  • raspberry white chocolate blondies (thanks coco)
  • homemade hummus! the first time i have ever attempted this, i am using a recipe from caroline’s page! i am making roasted red pepper.
  • fruit salad
  • probably some type of green salad for the veggie factor

should be a good bbq!

we came home and watched the first two episodes of true blood season 2 online.  now i am all caught up and i can stop letting that show waste my time! but i do love it. which is rare, i am not a TV person.

SUNDAY!

only a little bit to eat today. two cups of coffee (WITH cream)

meals 086

and i finally had something i have seen on the oh-so-fabulous em’s blog..

meals 084

grilled peanut butter, jam & banana sandwich!

WOW. this was bangin. something about the melty PB and the crispy bread.. phenom!! try it. dare ya.

okay, i am going to get going.. i imagine nobody else is coming to the sale, sooo.. that is that! hope everyone enjoys the last little bit of the weekend!

i am at a loss for any questions so i am going to pull a susan and ask you guys to ask me some random questions! let’s hear em.

xo.janetha b.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 12:15 pm

    I would totally have hit up your yard sale today. Sundays are so boring with nothing open!

    Almond hummus sounds amazing! If it’s raw hummus do you know how they cook the chick peas? can you eat raw chick peas? Hmm…*going to google*

    Utah always looks so pretty! Have you ever seen the show ‘Brat Camp’? They sent one group to a camp in Utah and they hiked through the mountains all day (every day for…ever, lol). I’m definitely a city gal, but day trips rock.

    Menu looks great- so American, lol. Want me to send you some haggis to serve? :P

  2. June 28, 2009 12:22 pm

    The cafe looks so cute! The views from there look incredible in pictures, which I am sure do it no justice.

  3. June 28, 2009 1:29 pm

    I’m the same way with my clothes – what if I want to wear that hideous belly shirt from middle school somewhere down the road?! Trends come back eventually, right?!

    No lies – I played airplane with my food last night at the bonfire. We’ll never grow up! Ahhh your grilled PBJ is killing me! I love it!

    Gorgeous views by the way!! Questions…hmmm…Have you always lived in Utah (if no, why did you move there)? Your name is pretty unique, where did it come from?

    PS. I’m going to email you the list of restaurants from the Clean Eating article I told you about, I just forgot so I’ll get on that!

  4. June 28, 2009 1:44 pm

    I LOVE your shirt! It reminds me of Where the sidewalk ends. Too cute!

  5. June 28, 2009 1:47 pm

    Yeah girl what were you thinkin’–it’s the sabbath yo! I’m so glad you got to try Omars! Isn’t the almond hummus weird? Yummy, but not quite what you expect right? I LOVE Brighton so much. It’s our fave place to go hiking in the summer with all the wild flowers. Watch out for moose though :)

  6. June 28, 2009 3:04 pm

    Aw, sorry no one is hitting up your yard sale! Good job for giving the rest of the stuff away. I’m a total pack rat too, and it can be hard!

    Those hummus wraps look so good! And the scenery out there is so gorgeous. I love the mountains!

    Have a lovely Sunday, girl!

  7. June 28, 2009 4:12 pm

    I do Oprah’s “if you haven’t worn it in a year, throw it out.” It’s worked pretty well for me so far. I move a lot though, so I like to keep things I’ll potentially have to pack/unpack to a minimum.

    That tuna salad sounds delish!!! I need to get some pickles. I also need to go to Utah, it’s flippin’ gorgeous there!! I would not be complaining if I worked at a cafe like that :)

    Random question: what is your favo(u)rite Natalie Dee cartoon?

    Have fun bbq-ing!!!

  8. June 28, 2009 5:11 pm

    Sucks that Sunday was a bust for the yard sale, but it sounds like it was a success overall!

    Paninied PB&J is definitely the sh!t

  9. June 28, 2009 6:04 pm

    oh Janetha…you are a lady after my own heart! LOVE the extra cheddar on top of the bread with the tuna salad! More cheese, please!
    Too bad the sunday yard sale was a bust…Haha, as a Christian myself, I wouldn’t have been able to go either.
    And man, those scenery is SO beautiful!

  10. June 28, 2009 6:50 pm

    I’m sorry about your yard sale! 2 summers ago I spent 4 weeks in Salt Lake shooting a movie and was always going out of my MIND on Sundays. Since I didn’t know anyone, and everything was closed.

  11. June 28, 2009 9:48 pm

    The hummus platter looks delicious! I am always trying to find more ways to consume hummus! You have the cutest bangs by the way.

  12. broccolihut permalink
    June 28, 2009 10:37 pm

    Yum! Grilled PBJs are the best.

  13. Julie permalink
    June 29, 2009 8:12 pm

    oh.my.god. those pictures are GORGEOUS! and that bbq sounds too good to be true.

    i’ll give you a hell yeah to your tuna melt!

  14. June 29, 2009 10:03 pm

    I am the same way with clothes. SO hard to get rid of. You never know when you one day just MIGHT want to wear that shirt or those pants… and yet when I finally DO part when those “might” pieces I very VERY rarely miss any of them. And now, because you were smart enough to sell a bunch of them off, you can buy all new stuff that you WILL wear. Sounds like a swell deal to me.

    You guys are too cute and those scenic pictures are completely GORGEOUS.

    Your BBQ menu sounds mouthwatering. You can bbq for me ANY time.

  15. June 30, 2009 12:17 pm

    Ohhhhhh myyyy….that grilled pb & j….nomnomnomnom!!!

    Check those guns out (in the knife pic hahaah), love it. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Food utah + sunday yard sales = bust. | India Restaurants
  2. welcome to the weekend! « meals & moves
  3. back to basics. « meals & moves

Leave a comment